Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GARDA FITNESS TEST 2018

• 21-01-2018 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

Hi guys

I have a Garda Fitness test coming up and was wondering the best way to get ready for it.

Looking for the best way to train

Any help will be great

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Can you post the details of the test?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

You might find more advice in this Emergency Services forum.

Have AGS issued any guidance for applicants?.. I know we (defence forces) have a lot of videos and guidelines for those intending to take our fitness tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It would be interesting to know how strict they are about how you do them.

e.g. there was a time I could rattle off maybe 75pushups, really fast and using momentum, you get a sort of rhythm going, but if some ultra strict personal trainer was in charge I would have managed maybe only 15 very deep, very slow ones. I would have expected a garda to sign off on my faster ones.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=12379&Lang=1

Not only are the women required to do less pushups but seems they can do them on their knees. So the numbers do not appear too hard. The situp test might be tougher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

My son joined the guards September 2016. He had average fitness but he started doing some gym work and running after he passed the online assesment. He found the test quite easy. You have to repeat the rest again when in college in T'more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 ericoh97

Hi guys

I have a Garda Fitness test coming up and was wondering the best way to get ready for it.

Looking for the best way to train

Any help will be great

Can I ask what your oom is ? I passed my medical on 11th December and went to the physical open day in templemore in January but haven't received a date for my physical yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 minionpower

Hi Guys

Do any of you know what 20 meter beep test app the gardas use in the training

as there is a few out there but want to work with the one they use so i no i will achieve it

thanks so much

rubadub wrote: »

e.g. there was a time I could rattle off maybe 75pushups, really fast and using momentum, you get a sort of rhythm going, but if some ultra strict personal trainer was in charge I would have managed maybe only 15 very deep, very slow ones. I would have expected a garda to sign off on my faster ones.

I can only talk about army fitness tests and my advice to young lads hoping to take it.

Over the years I've had young lads who've trained with me from both MMA and Judo clubs who've been selected to take the army fitness test.

They're mostly very fit young lads but I work on their strict form in push ups, sit ups and running.

There's nothing worse than thinking you're fitter and stronger than you actually are then you're being tested & your civilian standard push ups are way off what the army require.

Then the tester tells you you're not going down far enough, or your bum is in the air and you're hearing 1,2,3,4,5,5,5 'down further',6,7,8 'bum down, straight back', 9,10,11,11,11, ~ your confidence is getting shot and you're dying on the mat and your arms are turning to jelly.

I'd imagine the guards aren't as strict as the army, but anyone going for either would be well advised to get personnel training from someone experienced in either.

Some bootcamps are run by serving and ex members of the defence forces, seek one out and get their advice and private lessons.

Looking at the guard video and its looks fairly handy, but Templemore is a long way to travel to just chance your arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Not only are the women required to do less pushups but seems they can do them on their knees. So the numbers do not appear too hard. The situp test might be tougher.

Push ups off their knees.

What a complete farce.

I can understand girls doing less than the boys but they should be at least proper pushups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭BadBannana

For the circuit test there's nothing specific to do that will help you do better. It's best to get stronger, faster, and better conditioned ("fit")

Do a basic gym routine of compound lifts, squat, deadlifts, pullups/chinups, overhead press, bench, etc

On a different day do cardio, some sessions go jogging, some sessions do hill sprinting.

If you feel like it do some jumps and stuff for explosive power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Push ups off their knees.

What a complete farce.

I can understand girls doing less than the boys but they should be at least proper pushups.

Absolutely. No problem at all having females in the guards but they should have to reach a common standard to be able to enter.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

The pushups in the video are really bad form that everybody does too (they have elbows flaring intsead of at your sides), not proper ones which are much harder for people generally. There is also no time limit so you can just do one now and again til you make it.

Push up's and sit ups for candidates wishing to join the defence forces.

After you qualify as a soldier the goals change (upwards) and vary according to sex and age.

This is the test for recruitment, it changes for a soldiers yearly fitness test. The run increases to 3.2km (times vary according to sex and age).

The push ups and sit ups targets are also increased, and like the run they're adjusted according to age and sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

So even the army accept these 'modified' pushups for women. That really shocks me.

I've a 22yr old gym mad sister who can do more proper pushups than I can.

There's no reason why women shouldn't be able to do them with proper training and conditioning.

Soldiers should be the fittess people in the country.

So even the army accept these 'modified' pushups for women. That really shocks me.

I've a 22yr old gym mad sister who can do more proper pushups than I can.

There's no reason why women shouldn't be able to do them with proper training and conditioning.

Soldiers should be the fittess people in the country.

Yup, but them's the rulz.

They're not something I worry myself about, and I've heard medical reason (pelvic floor issues or something) why modified push ups should be done by women. Whether I believe it or not I can't say here.

Personally I don't think a modified push up is a push up. Try it and see, they're ridiculously easy.

But in fairness to females and over 40's in work, I rarely see anyone opting for the modified push up.

The over 40's can opt out of the 3.2km run and choose walk instead, I think its something like five km. But its exceptionally hard, you're not allowed run to make up time but without running at least some of it its a very tough walk so most take the 3.2km run.

If you're out around the Phoenix Park you'll see soldiers training, and taking their fitness tests all the time.

Unlike the DF, AGS are required to pass an annual fitness test.

There's consequences to failing your fitness test too, I think after three attempts you're given personal training, very experienced and qualified guys who'll go over all aspects of your training & life style.

You can go on a three week health related fitness course and take the tests again.. Fail and you're considered 'below army fitness standards' and you're on the dole (who said public servants can never be fired?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Yup, but them's the rulz.

They're not something I worry myself about, and I've heard medical reason (pelvic floor issues or something) why modified push ups should be done by women. Whether I believe it or not I can't say here.

Personally I don't think a modified push up is a push up. Try it and see, they're ridiculously easy.

But in fairness to females and over 40's in work, I rarely see anyone opting for the modified push up.

The over 40's can opt out of the 3.2km run and choose walk instead, I think its something like five km. But its exceptionally hard, you're not allowed run to make up time but without running at least some of it its a very tough walk so most take the 3.2km run.

If you're out around the Phoenix Park you'll see soldiers training, and taking their fitness tests all the time.

Unlike the DF, AGS are required to pass an annual fitness test.

There's consequences to failing your fitness test too, I think after three attempts you're given personal training, very experienced and qualified guys who'll go over all aspects of your training & life style.

You can go on a three week health related fitness course and take the tests again.. Fail and you're considered 'below army fitness standards' and you're on the dole (who said public servants can never be fired?).

Gardai don't have an annual test. They have to pass it three times during their probation period and they are sorted then. You never hear of a Garda in his 40's doing a fitness test.

Thanks, reading back that was a typo (I'll correct it).

The DF have an annual fitness test, unlike AGS.

**Too late, can't be edited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 hopefullLad

I have passed all stages and met with the local superintendent but I am still waiting for a fitness test date I am from the June 17 batch any idea why I haven't received a date yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭EmmetWhitey

Just out curiosity two applicants go for the fitness test.

Person A scores the minimum requirements on the bleep test, sit ups and push pull machine.
    Person B scores way higher in all fitness tests.

Are they both just marked pass or does person B be accepted into the college before person A ?