Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sell the Cruiser buy a Kuga

• 18-01-2018 12:28am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16

So a Ford sales rep said to me earlier, he said Kugas are the new farming Jeep. Fine looking machine so I’m tempted. Anyone got one? Will it pull a tuff trailer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Jerry Mac wrote: »
    So a Ford sales rep said to me earlier, he said Kugas are the new farming Jeep. Fine looking machine so I’m tempted. Anyone got one? Will it pull a tuff trailer?

Much of a price difference for a ranger? It would be a much better job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ask the Ford rep can you put a tow hitch on it. Receantly I was informed a lad was asked to sign a waiver on his warranty when he requested a tow hitch on it. I have heard of issue's with wearing the rear tyres when towing. They have a completely independent back suspension ( no back axle).

Ford are spinning the Kuga targeted the Nissan Quasqai/crossover market but failed miserably as the car tax was colossal on the Kuga.

Slava Ukrainii

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 Jerry Mac

Last ranger I had was a heap of scutter. 2.5 underpowered, head made from chocolate.

Bass Reeves, wake up a small bit independent rear suspension is the way forward. Let’s all buy a horse and trap altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Bass Reeves, wake up a small bit independent rear suspension is the way forward. Let’s all buy a horse and trap altogether.

It's a great job until you have to replace all the bushings and wishbones. Can't see how you could compare a kuga to a landcruiser to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No problem with Independent rear suspension (apart from the multitude of bushings to wear) but the monocoque chassis construction does not inspire confidence.
    I think the Kuga is only rated to tow 2 ton, while your Cruiser would be nearer 3.5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nearly all the New Kuga are all 1.5diesel with the turbo spooled up high to give 120bhp. The power to weight ratio would make anDacia Duster feel more powerful.

So as a farming jeep I’d say it would be disappointing when you have 2ton of trailer and livestock behind it.

Was talking to my mechanic just this week and he said the number of new cars being sold with 2.0 Diesels is very small. In a few years the diesel market will consist of a load of high mileage 1.5/1.6 Diesels where the guts have been pushed out of them with huge turbos to try and make them driveable.

Look online and say a Skoda Superb/Octavia and it’s near impossible to get anything Post 141 with a 2L engine. Similarly Mondeo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

_Brian wrote: »
    Nearly all the New Kuga are all 1.5diesel with the turbo spooled up high to give 120bhp. The power to weight ratio would make anDacia Duster feel more powerful.

So as a farming jeep I’d say it would be disappointing when you have 2ton of trailer and livestock behind it.

Was talking to my mechanic just this week and he said the number of new cars being sold with 2.0 Diesels is very small. In a few years the diesel market will consist of a load of high mileage 1.5/1.6 Diesels where the guts have been pushed out of them with huge turbos to try and make them driveable.

Look online and say a Skoda Superb/Octavia and it’s near impossible to get anything Post 141 with a 2L engine. Similarly Mondeo.

Plenty of new 2l diesels out there. Skoda offer a 2l TDI in 150 and 190bhp for the Superb and Octavia. If you are looking at nearly new ones... there are not as many because people are buying the bare bones 1.6l instead.

The vast majority being sold aren’t 2L, already if you look at 141 onwards they are like hens teeth.

With so few new 2L being bought the numbers of nearly new decent tow cars going forward will be very small indeed.

While there may be an option to buy the 2L, essentially no one is buying them.

Post Brexit who knows how importing a car from the U.K. will fair out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

I think the bit in bold says it all. New farming jeep? Is he having a laugh?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'll bet he has 3 buyers lined up for your old one:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Wouldn't like to have anything bigger than a 8x5 livestock trailer on a kuga.
    Have they a 4L range and diff lock? Torque range is another challenge.
    I also doubt ground clearance is adequate.
    Not a true 4x4 imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

I've one. Never had a tow bar. But the car itself wouldn't pull you out of bed! Won't be buying a second one.

Peatys wrote: »
    I've one. Never had a tow bar. But the car itself wouldn't pull you out of bed! Won't be buying a second one.

What engine is that.

We have a 2L 140 bhp Mondeo and it pulls great, good MPG too. We’re looking for a 13/14 Kuga with the same engine at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I have a 2.0 diesel Kuga. I got a towbar fitted and have pulled a trailer (about 8 x 5) with wood and garden waste with no problems, but I wouldn't want to rely on it for general farming work, transporting livestock and the like.

What engine is that.

We have a 2L 140 bhp Mondeo and it pulls great, good MPG too. We’re looking for a 13/14 Kuga with the same engine at the moment.

It's a 161 2L. 110bhp. Very underpowered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

nearly bought one last year but stuck to jeep even though i wouldnt do a huge amount of towing..think the kuga is a lovely machine however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

blue5000 wrote: »
    I'll bet he has 3 buyers lined up for your old one:D

Exactly. The Land Cruiser is a gold plated trade in if it is half ok!

Friend of mine has one for work it is an AWD(4wd)version it is 6 yeras old. He has over 200K kilometres on it.Taught it was the bee's knnes at the start. He is not doing a huge amount of towing with it mabe 8-10 times a year. It is wearing tyres (2-3 sets /front change) even though the IRS and tracking is showing perfect at CVRT and in tracking.
    kay 9 wrote: »
    Wouldn't like to have anything bigger than a 8x5 livestock trailer on a kuga.
    Have they a 4L range and diff lock? Torque range is another challenge.
    I also doubt ground clearance is adequate.
    Not a true 4x4 imo.

The 4wd is on a syncro mesh type set up. The 4WD is quite good he says very good in snow and slush. He says if he had grass tyres on it he considered he go most places, clearance is adequate for medium to low use towing. However he is having an issue at present with an engine managment light( she is not doing the emissions cleaning cycle even thought the DPFwas replaced). Central locking control had to be replaced and he has had a couple more issues with it.
    I have a 2.0 diesel Kuga. I got a towbar fitted and have pulled a trailer (about 8 x 5) with wood and garden waste with no problems, but I wouldn't want to rely on it for general farming work, transporting livestock and the like.

He considers it would be a grand vehice for a lad faming and working putting up highish milage as it will do 40mpg but for the issues above.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭flc37ie6ojwkh8

I will stick with the Cruiser, much more car than the kuga.

The catch with the LC is fuel economy. Take a lad doing 40k/ year on an LC compared to something like a Kuga. His extra diesel would be costing nearly 1500/ year along with extra first time cost. Was with the otherhalf look at a Quasqai for her(however since we have decided not to change) and taught the figure on the newer type XTrail were ok. 44mpg( still find it easier to deal in old money at times) 2ton towing but only a 1.6 engine. Anybody any info on them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

My SWB Landcruiser and 12 ft ifor williams weighed 3040 kg in a recent weighing. (Dumping off old furniture at a waste depot)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Ask the Ford rep can you put a tow hitch on it. Receantly I was informed a lad was asked to sign a waiver on his warranty when he requested a tow hitch on it. I have heard of issue's with wearing the rear tyres when towing. They have a completely independent back suspension ( no back axle).

Ford are spinning the Kuga targeted the Nissan Quasqai/crossover market but failed miserably as the car tax was colossal on the Kuga.

I wouldn’t say the tax is colossal at all. The folks have a 2ltr 140 bhp and it’s only 280, my own 2ltr golf is 200 because it’s a stupid stop start bluemotion but if it was the same age without the blue motion it’d also be 280. Sure even at that it’s actually cheaper to have it as a passenger than to tax it as a commercial vehicle

As for power the 140bhp isn’t shy to move in fairness to it. It’s a fairly comfortable yoke too but they did make one major mistake in the mk2 in that with the reclining back seats they left a fairly large gap between the rear seats and the book cover yoke, wouldn’t be ideal for anyone in a farming manner that would carry a few tools around in the boot as they’d easily be on show. A simple cover and Velcro to the seat backs would have been a simple fix that would hardly have cost Ford a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

So the salesman thinks an suv can replace a 4x4 workhorse :rolleyes:
    That salesman was talking through the arse of his britches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

My SWB Landcruiser and 12 ft ifor williams weighed 3040 kg in a recent weighing. (Dumping off old furniture at a waste depot)

2800kg max towing weight?! 🀀
    Was that empty?!

I pulled a tonne of ration in an 8x5 double axle with a Mitsubishi Galant 1.8TD years ago no problem. Not much weight in garden waste.

A local lad wants to buy the cruiser and we have trashed out a price so need to make a move on this. Test driving a Kia Sportage in the morning. See a few them in the mart lately so another contender.

What size engine in the sportage?

There is a 1.7 and 2.0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 brandonw123

larthehar wrote: »
    2800kg max towing weight?! 🀀
    Was that empty?!

You can have a maximum allowable mass (MAM) of 7000 kg ( jeep, trailer and payload)
    Or 2800kg behind the jeep ( trailer and payload) if that is the towing capacity of the jeep and if the hitch is rated for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That engine in the Mondeo is shocking at low speed take off, so would really struggle with a trailer. The 75PS version in the (much lighter to be fair) small vans like the courier and connect don’t suffer that, but you’d nearly have to slip the clutch on the Mondeo to get going.

The main thing the Kuga has going for it is the questionable removal of the centre rear seatbelt which somehow makes it qualify as a crewcab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Once pulled 3 ton of fertilizer home from the co-op on a 12 foot Ifor Williams behind a 1995 Mercedes e300 diesel.
    That was a one off, but she handled it quite well.

Unsurprisingly, and quite possibly related to the above trip, the chassis cracked across above the rear axle 6 months later.

I was sorry to have to scrap her, it was a tank of a car and super comfortable.
    330,000 miles on the engine at that stage, and still running perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Once pulled 3 ton of fertilizer home from the co-op on a 12 foot Ifor Williams behind a 1995 Mercedes e300 diesel.
    That was a one off, but she handled it quite well.

Unsurprisingly, and quite possibly related to the above trip, the chassis cracked across above the rear axle 6 months later.

I was sorry to have to scrap her, it was a tank of a car and super comfortable.
    330,000 miles on the engine at that stage, and still running perfectly.

Pulled 2 ton of sand in a 8x4 double axle behind my 2.0 09 passat last year. When I went back for a second load I asked that they only put in 1.5ton. She was under pressure with the 2 ton as it was very hilly from the quarry to home. The car has 290,000 miles up on it, and she's going grand.
    But I have get rid of her as my boss rang me on Monday and said they are giving me a company car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

But I have get rid of her as my boss rang me on Monday and said they are giving me a company car.

Fuel card ? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Fuel card ? :cool:

The works..... Jerry can in the boot and fill herselfs car too ;)

My boss has no idea how much of a cowboy I am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭cycle4fun

The works..... Jerry can in the boot and fill herselfs car too ;)

My boss has no idea how much of a cowboy I am

Or maybe he does and lets ye away with it.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    .The main thing the Kuga has going for it is the questionable removal of the centre rear seatbelt which somehow makes it qualify as a crewcab.

Now to just get the seatbelt put back in and log book changed so i can sell it as a passenger car..

I wish