Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knuckledraggers giving motorists a bad name

• 09-01-2018 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭

About 10 minutes to four these guys went out of their way to badly splash school kids on their way home from school.

On the corbally road, at the petrol station before the roundabout into town they swerved into the flood.

I pulled up alongside them and sure enough, car held a bunch of lads that won't be troubling the Nobel committee. Driver looked like the kid's brother from home alone, with his buzz cut.

Hate pricks like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Why would the actions of one individual give all motorists a bad name?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

It was raining. They got wet. World gone mad.

Next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Why would the actions of one individual give all motorists a bad name?

Do you think it helps?

No need to be so defensive.

beertons wrote: »
    It was raining. They got wet. World gone mad.

Next.

No, it wasn't raining. There was water on the ground though.

Do I need to post up the Fr Ted Near and Far meme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Wonder if the drivers folks would give a ****e?

vicwatson wrote: »
    Wonder if the drivers folks would give a ****e?

Possibly not, but one can hope :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

About 10 minutes to four these guys went out of their way to badly splash school kids on their way home from school.

On the corbally road, at the petrol station before the roundabout into town they swerved into the flood.

I pulled up alongside them and sure enough, car held a bunch of lads that won't be troubling the Nobel committee. Driver looked like the kid's brother from home alone, with his buzz cut.

Hate pricks like this.

Would you consider making a complaint to the gardai?

Offence wasn't committed against me and not serious enough to make a third party complaint. Would like if someone that knew the reg would ask them why they were acting like degenerates... and then explained to them what degenerate means :)

However, a good few years back my wife and I were out walking with our baby in a buggy and we were deliberately splashed. They went around the roundabout pulled up along side of us and started laughing at us. I went over to them and they drove off.

I reported it to the guards. And they said they contacted the driver and asked if I wanted to press charges. I said no, happy the little scrote was brought to the attention of the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

If you contact Traffic Watch you might get somewhere whereby the owner of the car will be cautioned by the Gardai. You won't need to make a formal statement but if you want to go that extra bit further and insist on action being taken then you will have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s Athlunkard Street in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

The spelling is off in the title....went off after the first 2 letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

So it's happened to someone else and you're not pursuing it, it's happened to you and you're not pursuing it. The deterrent not to do it is what exactly? Okay there's being a decent human being but let's not kid ourselves here, plenty of scum about. All you're doing with this post though, if they see it, it reinforcing the behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Veloce wrote: »
    If you contact Traffic Watch you might get somewhere whereby the owner of the car will be cautioned by the Gardai. You won't need to make a formal statement but if you want to go that extra bit further and insist on action being taken then you will have to.
    Waste of time bar op is willing to go to the station and make a statement.
    I think op would be better off getting a shovel and opening the drain outside the topaz garage and clearing the puddle.

kona wrote: »
    The spelling is off in the title....went off after the first 2 letters.

Thank you.

By the way, an an ellipsis is three dots. Just sharing the love.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It’s Athlunkard Street in Limerick.

It took a while to catch up to them.

All you're doing with this post though, if they see it, it reinforcing the behaviour.

So cynical, what about if someone they respect sees it and remonstrates them? Glass half full. Better than shrugging shoulders and thinking, 'such is life'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

So cynical, what about if someone they respect sees it and remonstrates them? Glass half full. Better than shrugging shoulders and thinking, 'such is life'.

If they do that sort of thing there's very little likelihood of there being anyone they respect unless you think Conor McGregor is going to have a word. Reporting it to the guards and spending a bit of time making a statement is the way to stop these fools.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

It took a while to catch up to them.

Did the pitch fork inhibit your gear changes?

My gear shift IS a pitchfork.