Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Timewasters on Donedeal

• 08-01-2018 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

How do you get around time wasters when selling a car online.. I'm on my way...call at 7..i'll give the asking price.. no shows no call backs etc etc...driving me insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’ve only ever made a time for them to come when it really suited me and I’d be around anyway, that way if they don’t show I’m not hanging about.

After that it’s first person with cash gets the goods. Don’t take deposits, first person with agreed amount gets it.

Some lads like to talk about the weather, price of petrol and the Uk top 40, it’s about steering the conversation.

Nobody takes a test drive unless they have a license with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unfortunately when your buying or selling stuff to the public you have to deal with messers and idiots. All you can really do is rely on your gut instinct to try to weed out the chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Sold something of high value a few years ago on Adverts, Chap showed up eager to get it in the boot while I was counting the cash that was €50 short. I think he was hoping I'd say ah sure it's grand, nope. Feck off to an ATM and come back to me. This was in a gated apartment car park mind you so he couldn't get out unless I rang the number on my phone.

Some chancers our there. Luck of the draw really, other three lads I dealt with were sound and no hassle.

Obviously cars seem to attract more attention, for better and for worse!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Before I finally bought my current car, in the Summer of '16, I was to see three other cars, none of whom turned up, despite waiting for a long time in one instance and travelling a good distance in another.
    They just didn't give a sh1te.

I have sold stuff to "mates" who have tried the "I'm a bit short" malarkey, and I just walked with them to the ATM while they took out the extra funds.
    All in all, buying and selling is wide open to opportunists and @ssholery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Zipppy

I honestly can't figure out why people bother.. are their lives so awful they only get enjoyment from annoying others?
    Anytime I've arranged to view a car or bike I be either attended or let them know if I couldn't.. common courtesy..
    I still have people who didn't show up, texting to view car..ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've been lucky I suppose in that people have showed up when they said they would.
    I usually use Adverts and guess people there value their feedback that can can a hit if they don't show up. I don't think DD has such a system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Technique

I sold a car on Done Deal last year and deliberately gave my landline number instead of my mobile number. It saved me the grief of all the "wats ur lowest price" texts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The last time I had an ad on DD I got so desperate I would have welcomed a chat with a time waster!

(sold eventually)