Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour smeared dogsh** on our door

• 05-01-2018 9:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Looking for guidance
    Woke at 7.30am this morn by a German lady knocking on our door,had never seen her before
    She asks do I have a dog.i say yes. She then starts a bit of a rant about “anal deposits” on the footpath outside her front door
    I told her that this wasn’t our dog,that there is another dog in the estate responsible for this.ours is trained only to go on grass,there is a large green area with a gate which we leave him into and he only poos there (we pay for upkeep of this green area and the person who organizes the upkeep has said she has no problem with this nor has anyone else.nobody actually uses this area)

I explained that there is another dog on the estate which has been seen ****ting on footpaths all over the estate. This wasn’t good enough for her and she launched into a bit of a tirade about how we could be sure it wasn’t our dog. At no stage did she actually say she had seen our dog doing the deed .
    I could see this was going nowhere told her it was a bit early in the morning for this kind of conversation and could we talk later. This sent her off the deep end ranting and I just told her thanks for calling and closed the door on her and went back to bed. She stood outside the door shouting for 3-4 minutes then shouting stopped
    3 minutes later again I heard her briefly outside the front door and had a fair idea what she was at and sure enough she had gone and smeared dog **** on the door,letterbox and also left some on the step. ( with the way she was ranting I wouldn’t be surprised if this was done with bare hands

Thoughts on where to go next?i understand this is a contentious issue but she has kind of skipped a few steps in the escalation process here . It is 99.99% our dog and this woman seems unbalanced. If our dog was the culprit we would have heard about it by now as we have a Some other neighbors who are not shy in pulling people up on stuff (and they pulled up the owner of the likely guilty dog for this before)
    Honestly thinking of calling guards ,this one seems like the type who will be leaving poisoned meat out next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

So you let your dog shít on common area grass and think that's fine?
    How do you know it isn't your dog leaving these deposits? Not sure I'd trust your dog's word on where it goes.
    If I was the German lady though I'd have a bit more evidence before doing anything. Though maybe she has already witnessed which dog it is.
    My neighbours dog used to do massive poos on our front lawn. I'd just toss them back onto their lawn with a shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

Dogship wrote: »
    Looking for guidance
    Woke at 7.30am this morn by a German lady knocking on our door
    She asks do I have a dog.i say yes. She then starts a bit of a rant about “anal deposits” on the footpath outside her front door
    I told her that this wasn’t our dog,that there is another dog in the estate responsible for this.ours is trained only to go on grass,there is a large green area with a gate which we leave him into and he only poos there (we pay for upkeep of this green area and the person who organizes the upkeep has said she has no problem with this nor has anyone else.nobody actually uses this area)

Do you pick up the poo from this area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Dogship

Effects wrote: »
    How do you know it isn't your dog leaving these deposits? Not sure I'd trust your dog's word on where it goes.
    If I was the German lady though I'd have a bit more evidence before doing anything. Though maybe she has already witnessed which dog it is.
    My neighbours dog used to do massive poos on our front lawn. I'd just toss them back onto their lawn with a shovel.

No I don’t pick up from the grass area ,it’s a large walled off area on a slope,nobody goes up there.there is trees and flowers planted there and when my dog needs to use it I walk over ,open the gate and let him in.we only really use it in winter,and use a wasteland area a bit further away in summer. No neighbor has ever expressed any issue with us doing this, if they did or if there was kids playing up there etc we would not use it
    He only ever pops on grass ,when out walking he will go off footpath and poo on grass (which I do pick up)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭jjpep

I imagine no one uses this green area because its covered in dog ****. You need to clean up after your animal or just admit that your not responsible enough to have one and give it to someone who is.

Effects wrote: »

She did not say she had seen our dog doing this. There is another dog who is known in the estate for ****ting on footpaths,he is not let up to green area by owners ,and is let outside to roam for hours on end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Neighbour complains that your dog pooed in a public place, you're highly indignant because your dog does not poo in that public place, he poos in another public place. In fact he has a winter public pooing place and a summer public pooing place. Have I got that right?

Does your dog not sh1t on your own grass then?

jjpep wrote: »
    I imagine no one uses this green area because its covered in dog ****. You need to clean up after your animal or just admit that your not responsible enough to have one and give it to someone who is.

Lol knew I’d get replies like this, nobody uses it full stop as it’s on a heavy slope and only s handful of people pay the money for upkeep of the trees etc. tbh if someone did complain if only listen to them if they were one of the handful of people who actually stumps up the money
    Don’t see how any of this justifies smeaing dog**** on a letterbox with no evidence and putting a postman at risk of contracting something

Lol knew I’d get replies like this, nobody uses it full stop as it’s on a heavy slope and only s handful of people pay the money for upkeep of the trees etc. tbh if someone did complain if only listen to them if they were one of the handful of people who actually stumps up the money
    Don’t see how any of this justifies smeaing dog**** on a letterbox with no evidence and putting a postman at risk of contracting something

So if a child wanders in to this sloped are with trees (sounds like a young lads ideal hang out) are you not putting them at risk of contracting something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

There is a filthy animal in this story and it’s not your dog. There is a parasite in dog shit that can cause blindness in children.

Pick up after your dog FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

With all due respect, if your dog is defecating on any common area outside your property, you need to clean it up even if nobody uses the common area or all other dog owners do a similar practice.

You're giving other dog owners a bad name by not picking up after them, fuelling bad behaviour by other dog owners in your estate 'no one else picks up so why should I' and causing bad (or mad) reactions from neighbours such as this one.

Sorry but you can't really take the high moral ground here if you're letting your dog **** in area a and not cleaning it up and not letting your dog **** in area b. Said neighbour is probably sick of the collective dog owner behaviour and is lashing out.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    So if a child wanders in to this sloped are with trees (sounds like a young lads ideal hang out) are you not putting them at risk of contracting something?

There is one child on the whole estate,we know the parents,he doesn’t go up there,parents said they don’t have a problem with us using the area.the trees are shrubs.

mojesius wrote: »
    With all due respect, if your dog is defecating on any common area outside your property, you need to clean it up even if nobody uses the common area or all other dog owners do a similar practice.

You're giving other dog owners a bad name by not picking up after them, fuelling bad behaviour by other dog owners in your estate 'no one else picks up so why should I'm and causing bad (or mad) reactions from neighbours such as this one.

Sorry but you can't really take the high moral ground here if you're letting your dog **** in area a and not cleaning it up and not letting your dog **** in area b. Said neighbour is probably sick of the collective dog owner behaviour and is lashing out.
    It’s a public area in legal mumbo jumbo terms only ffs. It’s an estate in the country side.
    The issue this woman has is with the ****ting on footpaths that is going on. Don’t see how what she did is justifiable
    Seems I’m getting lots of replies from frustrated suburbanites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

I'd really hope you're planning on cleaning this up, at least.

Kablamo! wrote: »
    I'd really hope you're planning on cleaning this up, at least.

No,I’m planning on getting that crazy German to do it actually

It’s a public area in legal mumbo jumbo terms only ffs. It’s an estate in the country side.
    The issue this woman has is with the ****ting on footpaths that is going on. Don’t see how what she did is justifiable

The issue people have is that you seem to think it's acceptable for your dog to defecate in public areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Not that it's relevant, but I also live in an estate in the countryside, own three dogs and they will do their business anywhere when nature calls, in shrubbery, bushes, fields, forests, on paths. Regardless of their chosen spot, I pick up their **** and put it in a bin.

You're confusing frustration with taking responsibility as a dog owner.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    The issue people have is that you seem to think it's acceptable for your dog to defecate in public areas.

How is the main talking point on this thread me letting my dog poo on what is practical terms a private garden and not the crazy bitch smearing dog**** on a door 🙄
    I pick up on walks ,and if this was your standard public green in the middle of the estate I would pick up
    Jeez lads I’m not that guy on your estate who lets his dog foul your public green/garden who you don’t have the balls to confront so less of the internet bravado

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Report her to the guards and let them decide if you should be fined for not picking up after your dog.

tk123 wrote: »
    Report her to the guards and let them decide if you should be fined for not picking up after your dog.

Would anyone who doesn’t have a chip on their shoulder like to weigh in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Op whatever you do don't mention the war, she's a krazy Kraut.

....... wrote: »
    How do you know it wasnt your dog? Sounds like the dog can poo wherever and you dont bother picking it up? Thats really disgusting and hugely irresponsible. Other people dogs, children, cats etc could easily tread in your dogs poo and spread it everywhere/be made ill from it.

Im with the german woman and I applaud her solution to the problem.

I know it wasnt my dog because I let him into the green area then let him out after ,that’s the only place he goes (other than walks)
    Anyway not bothering the guards with this,jthink I’m ust going to resmear the **** she left on my doorstep onto her front door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Would anyone who doesn’t have a chip on their shoulder like to weigh in?

In fairness, I'm not really sure what else you expected after admitting you don't pick up after your dog. It's unacceptable, regardless of where he goes.

Now, yer woman's reaction was completely over the top and she certainly could have comported herself a bit better. But it sounds like she may well have seen you not picking up after your dog in his "designated" spot on several occasions, finally got annoyed enough to confront you over it, and then had a meltdown when you fobbed her off over it, which, let's face it, you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Try and talk to her again when she is calm and explain that there's another dog that does it. Talk to that dog's owner, and don't let him get away with it. And perhaps the neighbor would see sense (or may not it was your dog, trying to establish dominance over the other dog, although that's usually done with piss not poo, but just in case).

A smile and friendly words can disarm even the craziest of people, costs you nothing to be the better person anyway.

My 2c.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    In fairness, I'm not really sure what else you expected after admitting you don't pick up after your dog. It's unacceptable, regardless of where he goes.

Now, yer woman's reaction was completely over the top and she certainly could have comported herself a bit better. But it sounds like she may well have seen you not picking up after your dog in his "designated" spot on several occasions, finally got annoyed enough to confront you over it, and then had a meltdown when you fobbed her off over it, which, let's face it, you did.

No she came to our door over dog**** on the footpath directly outside her front door.which is DEFINITELY not my dog

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

I'm at a loss to understand what you hoped to achieve by posting here op.
    A woman has defaced your property. In the cold light of day, how she defaced it is irrelevant really, and I fail to see how anyone in this forum can help you, other than advising you to contact the guards.
    If she had sprayed graffiti on your house, you'd call the guards.
    If she had pulled up all your plants, you'd call the guards.
    She has defaced your front door... So call the guards!

If you started this thread to have a pisstake-style discussion, you're also in the wrong forum.
    Either way, the tone of posts here, your own included, falls short of our requirement that posters treat each other with respect.
    Thread closed.