Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best second hand Jeep

• 02-01-2018 7:12pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,
    Long time reader first time poster. I need to change my current car as it is no longer suitable for my needs. I am considering a 4x4 as I believe it would be more suited to my day to day work.
    I currently farm a small holding which I hope to expand and do a fair amount of towing. The extra load space, ground clearance and towing ability would make a real difference to my daily activities.
    I am leaning towards a lwb land cruiser but have limited knowledge of diesel engines so am open to suggestions. My yearly mileage would br roughly 35,000km and i would have a budget of €10,000. I am situated in the northwest, sorry about the long post and would appreciate any feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Hi folks,
    Long time reader first time poster. I need to change my current car as it is no longer suitable for my needs. I am considering a 4x4 as I believe it would be more suited to my day to day work.
    I currently farm a small holding which I hope to expand and do a fair amount of towing. The extra load space, ground clearance and towing ability would make a real difference to my daily activities.
    I am leaning towards a lwb land cruiser but have limited knowledge of diesel engines so am open to suggestions. My yearly mileage would br roughly 35,000km and i would have a budget of €10,000. I am situated in the northwest, sorry about the long post and would appreciate any feedback.
    You do allot of traveling, when you say a fair bit of towing, what sort of loads, how often & what distance. The land cruiser is a good Jeep for towing but you might get 30MPG with the 3L engine

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

The mileage doesn't be long adding up between everything. At the minute I'm limited to what can reasonably be towed behind a car so around 1500kg or there abouts max. I tow different loads such as livestock, farm and work supplies for my fledgling business.
    However if I had a jeep I could cut down on the journeys and have more comfort.
    I see the point about fuel economy but I think that's something I could deal with given the other benefits. I am also looking to future proof things a little and hope to have a reliable workhorse for years to come. That's why I want to make an informed choice. Hopefully that's answers some of your questions!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

You would do well to get 30mpg. Have a 3lt Hilux, at best 30mpg at worst could be low as 10mpg towing around the 3t mark. Ave 300miles to a fill costing 70euro. For 10k you will be looking at a 10yr old or older landcruiser for a clean one.
    Personally I'd take poor mpg and good reliability over vise versa.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I saw a 01 LandCruiser with 175,000 miles in reportedly good order with a new NCT advertised on FB for €4K. That model would have the reputation of being the most reliable.
    My own, of the same year, has over 250,000 miles done, drives very nicely and I'd like to double that figure if the chassis holds out. Does a constant 27 mpg on roadwork, usually short distances; closer to 30 mpg on a long run.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Crewcab pick-up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I have steered clear of the landcruiser for years due to fuel economy etc but bought a swb there this year and they a great yoke no doubt and I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

greysides wrote: »
    I saw a 01 LandCruiser with 175,000 miles in reportedly good order with a new NCT advertised on FB for €4K. That model would have the reputation of being the most reliable.
    My own, of the same year, has over 250,000 miles done, drives very nicely and I'd like to double that figure if the chassis holds out. Does a constant 27 mpg on roadwork, usually short distances; closer to 30 mpg on a long run.

A neighbour spent a lot of money on his 01 LC chassis last year to get it through the test and now he;s got a rip off insurance quote because of age and has to buy another one

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mine is with Zurich. Around €750, I think.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think op you should clarify a bit what “jeep” you have in mind.

I’ve a 4motion Tiguan which tows well but it’s no Landcruiser. But will do 45mpg no longer runs, 40mpg tipping about.
    Now, reliability is “good” but not brilliant, certainly not as trouble free as the wife’s Mondeo.

Sorry if my previous posts have lacked information.
    I was looking at some more crossover type jeeps such as the Suzuki grand vitara and toyota rava but felt they kinda fell between two stools. The engine size and power seemed limited coupled with the fact that parts seemed as expensive as those for more "full fat" jeeps such as the land cruiser or pajero.
    This has lead me more towards a land cruiser or similar. I would welcome views on the merits of a dedicated 4x4 or a more crossover type vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

_Brian wrote: »
    I think op you should clarify a bit what “jeep” you have in mind.

I’ve a 4motion Tiguan which tows well but it’s no Landcruiser. But will do 45mpg no longer runs, 40mpg tipping about.
    Now, reliability is “good” but not brilliant, certainly not as trouble free as the wife’s Mondeo.

Have a Mondeo myself and shes bullet proof so far. But need somethin that can tow a wee bit more so was looking at 4x4 kuga or tiguan. What kinda trouble have you had with yours?

Outside of Toyota or Mitsubishi what other makes would be recommend? Any vehicle must be capable of the following

•Towing at Least 2 tonne
    •Have 4 wheel drive
    •Preferably have an enclosed cargo area.

At the minute I'm single and childless so so 2 seats would suffice and I would prefer reliability to mpg within reason. I was hoping to buy something around 10 year old max as I can see insurance becoming more of a problem on older vehicles and I would like to have a few years motoring before upgrading again.
    Since land cruisers seem so popular especially in the second hand market would I be as well to follow the trend? Or would a pajero or shogun be as effective of a work horse. Sorry about all the questions.

Outside of Toyota or Mitsubishi what other makes would be recommend? Any vehicle must be capable of the following

•Towing at Least 2 tonne
    •Have 4 wheel drive

At the minute I'm single and childless so so 2 seats would suffice and I would prefer reliability to mpg within reason. I was hoping to buy something around 10 year old max as I can see insurance becoming more of a problem on older vehicles and I would like to have a few years motoring before upgrading again.
    Since land cruisers seem so popular especially in the second hand market would I be as well to follow the trend? Or would a pajero or shogun be as effective of a work horse. Sorry about all the questions.

One of the advantages I see in crewcabs is the fact that you don't have farm smells in the cab, wash it and pull off the seat covers and you can go anywhere or bring any one, but then I suppose not everyone has dogs but spilt ration can ffairly stink too

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

•Towing at Least 2 tonne
    •Have 4 wheel drive

All I'll say is go to any mart and just count the different makes of jeep 4x4, if you follow the crowd you won't be too far wrong. Try get insurance quotes as well before you buy.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Ard_MC wrote: »
    Have a Mondeo myself and shes bullet proof so far. But need somethin that can tow a wee bit more so was looking at 4x4 kuga or tiguan. What kinda trouble have you had with yours?

We’re looking at a Kuga to replace the Mondeo here too.

Throttle body had a fault and cost €500, other silly engine lights that mightn’t cost much but time in and out of the garage. Is in today because a calliper seized when idle over Christmas, I expect a new calliper and disc. Dpf needed cleaning another €350. I’d say dual mass flywheel will need doing in next short time too.

Have the Mondeo near four years and bar one sensor for €350 it’s been trouble free, that over 80k miles.

Just this morning was talking to the mechanic and he said the 2.0 140bhp fords are very reliable compared to the VW, and that’s exactly what we see here ourselves.

Not sure I’d buy another Tiguan even though it’s a joy to drive and tows easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

_Brian wrote: »
    We’re looking at a Kuga to replace the Mondeo here too.

Throttle body had a fault and cost €500, other silly engine lights that mightn’t cost much but time in and out of the garage. Is in today because a calliper seized when idle over Christmas, I expect a new calliper and disc. Dpf needed cleaning another €350. I’d say dual mass flywheel will need doing in next short time too.

Have the Mondeo near four years and bar one sensor for €350 it’s been trouble free, that over 80k miles.

Just this morning was talking to the mechanic and he said the 2.0 140bhp fords are very reliable compared to the VW, and that’s exactly what we see here ourselves.

Not sure I’d buy another Tiguan even though it’s a joy to drive and tows easily.

Looks to be good value in Kugas up north. Can tow 2 tonne. Is all i need. Mondeo can tow well but days of changing it are over.

Going test drive an outlander at the wkend but had a pajero before and wasnt to impressed with its reliability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Mtx

£6k will buy you an 12 year old land cruiser with about 220,000 miles (up north).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

As a farmer what are the tax benefits ofa 4x4 jeep/crewcab over a car.i have a 08 Passat 2.0l diesel and am thinking of changing it this yr.i give my accountant my diesel receipts when doing up the books and he asks if I own a jeep.would look at trying to pick up an VW amarok if I went down this route,otherwise I would upgrade to a 14/15 Passat again.

Mtx wrote: »
    £6k will buy you an 12 year old land cruiser with about 220,000 miles (up north).

Going up north or importing from the Uk would be a route I'd be interested in. There seems to be better value along with more of a selection of vehicles.
    However I have zero connections or knowledge of what's involved in sourcing and importing a 4x4 in these markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

boggerman1 wrote: »
    As a farmer what are the tax benefits ofa 4x4 jeep/crewcab over a car.i have a 08 Passat 2.0l diesel and am thinking of changing it this yr.i give my accountant my diesel receipts when doing up the books and he asks if I own a jeep.would look at trying to pick up an VW amarok if I went down this route,otherwise I would upgrade to a 14/15 Passat again.

Can it be written off as a capital expense?

Friend called this evening in a 181 Kuga Titanium, my god it’s a nice motor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Ard_MC wrote: »
    Looks to be good value in Kugas up north. Can tow 2 tonne. Is all i need. Mondeo can tow well but days of changing it are over.

Going test drive an outlander at the wkend but had a pajero before and wasnt to impressed with its reliability.

Friend of mine went from a passet to a new 12 kuga a few years back. Said couldn’t keep front tyres on kuga, sold it after 2 years and went back to new Mondeos. Loves them and says way more economical. I know there’s a newer version of kuga out now. Probably more economical then his 12 one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Getting back to the OP's question, 10k and looking for something less than 10yrs old for towing 2 tonnes and presumably half decent (for Saturday night courting and mass on Sunday!!). My own personal experience, Land Cruiser & Pajero are favourites of farmers .... and for that reason I wouldn't touch one, because you are going to be buying a junker, thats been thrashed to hell and back. Buy some other brand of yoke from someone in a different occupation and you'll probably work out far better. What about a 10 or 11 Hyundai Santa Fe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Hi folks,

I was in a similar position a few years ago. I picked up a clean old 03 cruiser commercial with 90k on the clock. I kept the car for the long journeys. My insurer mirrored the no claims so the running cost for both isn’t too bad.

This solution works well for me. I do about 8/10k pa in the land cruiser and 20k on the car. The Toyota returns about 30mpg unladen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Which insurer mirrored your no claims bonus from the car onto the jeep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

tanko wrote: »
    Which insurer mirrored your no claims bonus from the car onto the jeep?

Axa

Apart from the usual problems with second hand purchases what would the main faults be to look out for in for example a land cruiser or pajero of let's say 2006 onwards?
    A lot of lads say the newer and in particular cruisers aren't a patch on the older models, pre 2003. Is there some substance to this or is it a case of rose tinted spectacles?
    Apart from the possible insurance and rust issues an older cruiser in particular would most probably do my work with ease. Perhaps I'm being over cautious with my choices. Finally does lwb or swb make much difference to towing ability or stability?
    Again sorry for all the questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

A 2.5 litre VW Touareg would be a good bet, plus loads of 2-seat commercials around. Expect around 27 to 30 MPG depending on how you drive it. Parts are readily available and surprisingly cheap, as some components are shared with the Transporter van.
    Whatever brand you go for, I'd be avoiding anything with a manual transmission after getting stung by a Dual Mass Flywheel in a Pajero a while back. I would also avoid any SWB like the plague - A Golf van will have as much load space, plus they're uncomfortably bouncy - After 8 years and 160K miles in one, I never want to go there again!

A lot of lads say the newer and in particular cruisers aren't a patch on the older models, pre 2003. Is there some substance to this or is it a case of rose tinted spectacles?
    I believe this is like the John Deere 10-series syndrome. Some lads would tell you that a 6910 runs on fresh air, drives itself, makes your lunch for you and will milk the cows, while a 6920 or 6930 is only fit for the scrapyard! :D

A 2.5 litre VW Touareg would be a good bet, plus loads of 2-seat commercials around. Expect around 27 to 30 MPG depending on how you drive it. Parts are readily available and surprisingly cheap, as some components are shared with the Transporter van.
    Whatever brand you go for, I'd be avoiding anything with a manual transmission after getting stung by a Dual Mass Flywheel in a Pajero a while back. I would also avoid any SWB like the plague - A Golf van will have as much load space, plus they're uncomfortably bouncy - After 8 years and 160K miles in one, I never want to go there again!

A Touareg wouldn't have been something I'd ever have considered but after a quick scout on donedeal they at least look the business anyway.
    My own personal preference would be to lwb so I think that's settled unless there's some other compelling argument for swb.
    Finally I have very limited experience of driving an auto. What are people's views on them? I can understand their purpose in a car but for towing is manual gear selection a better bet for tricky situations. Again I have no real experience so maybe I'm misguided on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

A Touareg wouldn't have been something I'd ever have considered but after a quick scout on donedeal they at least look the business anyway.
    My own personal preference would be to lwb so I think that's settled unless there's some other compelling argument for swb.
    Finally I have very limited experience of driving an auto. What are people's views on them? I can understand their purpose in a car but for towing is manual gear selection a better bet for tricky situations. Again I have no real experience so maybe I'm misguided on the matter.

Collected the wife’s Touareg from the garage this am.
    €680 + vat for a set of front brake pads...

Doing 18 mpg to boot.

It's hard to argue with statistics like that. Am I in for a rude awakening when it comes to maintenance costs over my current car? I understand that an older vehicle will need some level of maintenance but the above example is somewhat extreme. I want to go in to this with my eyes open.
    I could deal with decreased mpg over what I'm used to but maintenance costs are a worry. Obviously I'd try to buy a reasonably cared for vehicle but brake pads, tyres and other bits and pieces will need regular replacing. Maybe I'm over complicating the process.

My Hilux is a 3lt auto, have thousands of miles up on it plenty of hard towing, they are very easy to drive, for towing your always in the right gear as it selects it for you to suit the load and speed, only minor annoyance I'd have is if your travelling at 80km with 3t behind it it has a habit of flicking up and down through the two top gears as if it can't make it's mind up as to which it wants to be in, easy fix is speed up or slow down 5kmh and that sorts it.or turn off the overdrive(extra gear)

Other thing is off road your always in gear so you don't loose momentum while changing gear which could lead to loss of traction thus getting stuck.

All is just my opinion.

Tyres are anywhere from 100 to 150e for any decent brand of Tyre for the likes of a hilux
    Service parts for an 04 hilux to buy not fit from main dealer are roughly as follews
    Oil change 50e for 7lts
    brake pads 50e
    Oil filter 10e
    Fuel filter 40e
    Air filter 60e
    Shock 120e
    Rear leaf spring 100e per leaf from main dealer there are 5 in a spring, or complete spring from around 130 spurious,

You WILL break them no matter how hard you try not to.

I do all my own work so don't know cost of actually getting the work done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

have a swb l/c here it has a great turning circle and as i only pull a 12 ft cattle trailer or flat bed trailer its perfect and not to swingy at all,maybe slightly when going to factory with 4 finished bulls wrestling about in the trailer but then a lwb would aswell .....the only thing i dont like about it is the clutch is fairly heavy which the toyota garage tells me that cant be cured apparently

Doing 18 mpg to boot.

Yep.
    My sister has a 171 Touareg and running costs are frightening.

Friend has a 2010 from new and its starting to give a bit of bother, he complains about mpg too.

Tyres are anywhere from 100 to 150e for any decent brand of Tyre for the likes of a hilux
    Service parts for an 04 hilux to buy not fit from main dealer are roughly as follews
    Oil change 50e for 7lts
    brake pads 50e
    Oil filter 10e
    Fuel filter 40e
    Air filter 60e
    Shock 120e
    Rear leaf spring 100e per leaf from main dealer there are 5 in a spring, or complete spring from around 130 spurious,

You WILL break them no matter how hard you try not to.

I do all my own work so don't know cost of actually getting the work done

Thanks for such a comprehensive breakdown. That's the sort of information I was longing for. I know labour can be the real killer but I have a reasonable mechanic who isn't too hard on cash. There's nothing in that which seems extortionate to me anyway and I could live with those sort of maintenance figures.
    Larger faults can occur in any class of a vehicle and parts aren't that cheap for anything in my experience. Hopefully sourcing a well cared for vehicle should minimise any big bills for awhile at least.

I am interested in the auto option, I can see it's benefits and maybe it would be something I could get accustomed to. It might take some of the fun out of driving but I am a glutton for hardship.

Doing 18 mpg to boot.

You were robbed blind. Set of front pads for a Touareg can be got for less than 100 euro, even performance pads would be less than 200 euro. labour would be minimal.

The cost of parts for a 4x4 is really not that much differennt to a car despite the tenency for people think otherwise. Tyres might be more expensive but if you have big low profile tyres on your car then they won't even be that different with some parts costing a little bit more but nothing major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Discs could have been scored or warped as she 'never heard anything.'.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Doing 18 mpg to boot.

Check on the docket, sounds like they replaced the brake discs as well. Often garages will suggest this if the disks are damaged or badly worn as putting new pads on b*llixed disks makes no sense. Maybe they just went ahead and did it without specifically mentioning it.

Doing 18 mpg to boot.
    That was either for a much bigger job, or you were had. I did pads last year and don't remember what they cost, so it was unremarkable. Main dealer pad replacement shouldn't cost more than €200.
    I can't comment on running costs or MPG for the newer model, but I've had a 2.5 old shape Touareg for nearly 4 years now. I've had first hand experience of a 3.0 Trooper and a 3.2 Pajero, and been around a 2001 and a 2009 Land Cruiser extensively.
    The Trooper was a great jeep, left down badly by a terribly unreliable engine
    The Pajero was powerful but expensive to maintain and bouncy as it was a SWB. If it was a LWB automatic, I'd probably be raving about it.
    The 2001 Land Cruiser was unstoppable, unbreakable and cheap to maintain.
    The 2009 was similar, but was moved on before it hit big mileage.
    The Touareg has silly known issues like some 4WD sensors, door locks and the propshaft carrier bearing. I've experienced all of these. The 2.5 TDI is a good engine, gear driven, so no timing belt or chain, just 2 elastic couplings for the A/C compressor and the alternator. Being on top of oil changes is important.
    My point is, it has no more or no less issues than other 4x4's. Every 4x4 guzzles fuel, uses bigger more expensive tyres than a car and has stuff which goes wrong. Sometimes, a lot of the noise about running costs originates when car drivers switch to a 4x4 and get a shock.

The other thing to factor in is for getting commerical tax on a vehicle you either need to be self employed, vat registered, or have a herd no, in your own name, the days of just going in taxing a yoke as commerical is gone if your an employee of a bank or something simmillar.

Doe is also 112e every year and 333e for tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

The other thing to factor in is for getting commerical tax on a vehicle you either need to be self employed, vat registered, or have a herd no, in your own name, the days of just going in taxing a yoke as commerical is gone if your an employee of a bank or something simmillar.

Is there a towbar on the council van , better again if u could use that haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Muckit wrote: »
    Discs could have been scored or warped as she 'never heard anything.'.....

Are you speaking from experience???

It's hard to get clarity on the whole commercial tax issue. Some tax offices have no heed and will tax anything commercially for anyone while others stick to the letter of the law as it were.
    Has anyone any recent experience of taxing commercially for the first time and what was required.

That was either for a much bigger job, or you were had. I did pads last year and don't remember what they cost, so it was unremarkable. Main dealer pad replacement shouldn't cost more than €200.
    I can't comment on running costs or MPG for the newer model, but I've had a 2.5 old shape Touareg for nearly 4 years now. I've had first hand experience of a 3.0 Trooper and a 3.2 Pajero, and been around a 2001 and a 2009 Land Cruiser extensively.
    The Trooper was a great jeep, left down badly by a terribly unreliable engine
    The Pajero was powerful but expensive to maintain and bouncy as it was a SWB. If it was a LWB automatic, I'd probably be raving about it.
    The 2001 Land Cruiser was unstoppable, unbreakable and cheap to maintain.
    The 2009 was similar, but was moved on before it hit big mileage.
    The Touareg has silly known issues like some 4WD sensors, door locks and the propshaft carrier bearing. I've experienced all of these. The 2.5 TDI is a good engine, gear driven, so no timing belt or chain, just 2 elastic couplings for the A/C compressor and the alternator. Being on top of oil changes is important.
    My point is, it has no more or no less issues than other 4x4's. Every 4x4 guzzles fuel, uses bigger more expensive tyres than a car and has stuff which goes wrong. Sometimes, a lot of the noise about running costs originates when car drivers switch to a 4x4 and get a shock.

toureg was called toe rag around here...probably for good reason

Bullocks wrote:
    Is there a towbar on the council van , better again if u could use that haha

No towbar on the council van, plus they are tracked by GPS. If only they weren't it would be the stuff of dreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Lads how would ye rate a 3.0l 06 dmax? My 00 landcruiser is turning into a bit of a money pit and thinking of trading up a bit. Would go for a newer landcruiser but they are making mad money and I'd nearly prefer a crew cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

No towbar on the council van, plus they are tracked by GPS. If only they weren't it would be the stuff of dreams

I think I know a lad working in ur area that got reported for towing a horsebox with a council jeep . Am I in the right neighbourhood ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

It's hard to get clarity on the whole commercial tax issue. Some tax offices have no heed and will tax anything commercially for anyone while others stick to the letter of the law as it were.
    Has anyone any recent experience of taxing commercially for the first time and what was required.
    There is a huge variation between local authorities regarding the requirements for commercial tax. Our COCO requires a print off from your accountant that you are tax compliant if you are a farmer whereas a friend who lives a few miles down the road and lives in another county only needs his herd number. In both cases you need the Garda to sign the form.
    With reference to second hand jeeps what do people think of the Rextons. There is a guy who comes to our place every other weekend to buy a few bales and he has one. He reckons that it's far easier on diesel than a Pajero or Landcruiser.