Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts.ie theft scam

• 11-12-2017 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭

Thought I’d post this here as a bit of a warning for anybody selling on Adverts. I’ve been using Adverts for a number of years and never had any issues, was always careful with sales etc.

TL;DR: Arranged to sell iPhone, seller never showed, followed me home and stole the phone.

I had an iPhone 7 for sale recently, it had dropped down the rankings with no interest for a few days so I paid for a premium bump. A day or so later I got an offer close to asking so accepted. Buyer was a new page with only 3 comments on other iPhones asking questions etc. Seemed normal enough though as I’ve dealt with pages like this in the past with no issues. Plus wanted to sell before Xmas.

I messaged back and forth throughout the morning and arranged to meet on O’ Connell Street. I sent my number but didn’t receive one in return. The whole conversation was very normal, told me they couldn’t get a lift and asked to meet in the city centre, as it was originally to be collected from my home.

Got a message telling me they were on the bus and just there and I made my way up. I arrived and sent a message to let them know I was there. They told me what they were wearing, generic clothing, black jacket and glasses. I walked around a bit looking but couldn’t find anybody. Then the messages just stopped. I waited about 15 mins and was sending messages, got one or two back saying they would be there in 2 mins and what was I wearing but again 10 minutes passed and nothing. No replies or contact.

I had to leave at this point, and made my way home. Went into three shops on the way home and collected my 4 year old niece (reason I couldn’t wait) from school. Afterwards I made my way home, this was a total of about 25 minute journey from where I was waiting for the buyer.

I had just got home, about 60 seconds from my front door when two scum came from behind and ripped the bag out of my hand. Unfortunately it was a paper bag so they were able to rip the whole thing. Made there way off with the phone.

It all happened so fast that I didn’t see their faces (they grabbed it from behind) and I couldn’t do anything as I had my 4 year old niece with me and couldn’t leave her. The worse part was they knocked her to the ground when grabbing the phone. Luckily she just had a grazed knee and was oblivious to what had happened.

By time I got her home and went back out they were long gone. I’m 99% sure they had followed me all the way home, even waiting outside the school for me. There was the odd chance that they had just spotted the bag in passing but I had another in my hand and they only went for that one. Also the Adverts profile went dead after they stopped texting and never came back online.

What really bothered me was how easily it was to get away, as I couldn’t persue them at all. I run regularly too so wouldn’t of had any problems keeping up with them.

Contacted Adverts and the Gardai but that’s all I could do really. Still waiting to hear back to make an official statement.

It’s a smart scam, one that I honestly didn’t expect. The iPhone was wiped, unlocked and had iCloud activation disabled so was 100% sellable for them. Tried contacting Apple to blacklist the phone but they don’t seem to offer any help in that regard.

This all happened on Friday, and despite asking around it’s more than likely long gone. I don’t think they lived local due to where they wanted to meet and they’d waited so long to grab it, even though there would of been easier places for them to try it and get away on the way home.

I just thought posting it here might mean a few might read it and be a bit cautious with future sales. Hope this is the right place to post, I thought the Adverts forum would only be for questions for staff.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

That's a horrible experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

From Motor's Buying and Selling section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭DubDJ

Mr.S wrote: »
    Jesus that’s rough.

Definitely follow up with the guards to see if they can get any details from Adverts on the person who contacted you.

Do you have a record of the IMEI of the phone? Worth keeping an eye on adverts for the same mobile and seeing if you can check the IMEI.

I had an invoice on my Apple account but was only able to get the serial number. I gave up on actually getting the phone back almost right away though. I’d imagine they went straight to a phone shop and sold it, in case I was able to block it. Unfortunately for me they got a great conditioned phone with the brand new accessories in the box so a shop would probably take it no questions asked.

I’d like to see some type of follow up from the Gardai but I know they’ve more important things going on so I won’t push it. Just hoping nobody else gets caught in the same situation.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

DubDJ wrote: »
    I had an invoice on my Apple account but was only able to get the serial number. I gave up on actually getting the phone back almost right away though. I’d imagine they went straight to a phone shop and sold it, in case I was able to block it. Unfortunately for me they got a great conditioned phone with the brand new accessories in the box so a shop would probably take it no questions asked.

I’d like to see some type of follow up from the Gardai but I know they’ve more important things going on so I won’t push it. Just hoping nobody else gets caught in the same situation.

This is a mugging, not just a phone scam. The Gardai should take an interest in this

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

whiterebel wrote: »
    This is a mugging, not just a phone scam. The Gardai should take an interest in this
    I've no doubt they'd bloody love to, but the way they're really stretched these days and the all too culturally based Irish attitude to property crime(IE meh, so long as you weren't hurt. Are you insured?) vibe on top, I'd not hold my breath TBH. And sad to say it.

Though grateful to hear DubD exposing this scam(and sympathy for their experience) in the hope others read it and are more careful. Always buy the buyer, not the product is a good judge. Only "trust" sellers with history and feedback. I know this will exclude new genuine folks who are selling, but it's a good yardstick. And one I live by myself.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I agree with you, better to be cautious rather than take the risk. It’s just, after years of using Adverts with the biggest problem being time wasters, I’d never of expected it. Going forward i’d definitely be a lot more hesitant to deal with newer profiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

To be honest I’ve seen a lot of people on adverts state, if you haven’t got good feedback then don’t bother offering. I’d be weary these days with someone who has only just joined and zero feedback.

mad m wrote: »
    To be honest I’ve seen a lot of people on adverts state, if you haven’t got good feedback then don’t bother offering. I’d be weary these days with someone who has only just joined and zero feedback.

I’d seen that too but I mainly thought it was down to avoiding the time wasters that use Adverts. I think in the future I’ll be doing the same though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

That's why when I sell on adverts its always PayPal and I post

I don't do cash, I don't meet...

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

I’m always hesitant to sell this way, with PayPal usually siding with the buyer when it comes to disputes. I’d be worried they’d claim it didn’t arrive and claim the money back. I’ve only sold smaller, less valuable items this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

I have approaching 650 positive reps and no negs or is it 600... cant rememeber anyway its loads probably over 600 . I did wonder why some people can be awkward to deal with even though they live like 10 minutes drive away . I posted an item to someone who lived less than 15 minutes away once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

It’s a bit late in the day, but was it boxed when you were assaulted? If not the imei number (basically the MAC address of the network card) is written on the back of the box, you could get back onto apple with this and with the guarda report and have it stopped.
    It won’t get it back, but would render it useless.
    I despair of these conniving thugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I would get the IMEI number and get it blacklisted.

And get the Gardaí to contact Adverts for details such as email address and IP addresses used.

It was boxed up and I had no record of the IMEI. I wasn’t even sure if it could be blacklisted, I thought maybe this would only work for network locked phones, mine was unlocked from Apple.

Adverts did contact me about giving the IP address etc but the Garda still haven’t contacted me about it so I haven’t been able to pass on the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Would Apple not have the ability to 'grey list' the phone in some way, considering when it does eventually come back to life, it *has* to run through their online service hardware.. and I'm quite sure that it probably has a hard coded serial of some sort, apart from the IMEI.

Don't feel bad about giving up the phone so easily, at the grab, a missing phone is better than a couple of loose teeth on your driveway, or an injured child.

I've not had many problems on adverts, I used to use a burner SIM for a while, as I noticed any people that were a bit shady, would pass other users numbers on as theirs, to fob off other members. I've had a few odd late night calls, on a burner that would have been used *just* on Adverts.

I do, sadly, judge people on their language use, how they talk to other members and deal with any issues, I tend to skate over their comment history to see how they interact with the board in general. If I get a scobe vibe, I move on.

Amalgam wrote: »
    Would Apple not have the ability to 'grey list' the phone in some way, considering when it does eventually come back to life, it *has* to run through their online service hardware.. and I'm quite sure that it probably has a hard coded serial of some sort, apart from the IMEI.

I originally thought the same, but the Apple support page basically tells you to contact the guards and leave it to them. I tried called customer support but was prompted for device details which I didn’t have so I gave up. I don’t think blacklisting would of helped in my situation, I assumed it sold within a few hours in a phone shop etc. Unfortunately weeks after and the Garda still hasn’t contacted me so even the chance of tracking them down is probably long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Mention the internet to the guards from the get go and their eyes will glaze over.

Just report it as an assault and theft and give the other details later when making a full report.

Do report it though and ask if there will be a follow up/pulse number. Guard thanked me before for reporting an attempted theft when I told him I wasnt going to bother. The fewer that report the less chance of resources being allocated.

Mention the internet to the guards from the get go and their eyes will glaze over.

Just report it as an assault and theft and give the other details later when making a full report.

Do report it though and ask if there will be a follow up/pulse number. Guard thanked me before for reporting an attempted theft when I told him I wasnt going to bother. The fewer that report the less chance of resources being allocated.

I did report it about an hour after it happened, was told I’d get a call and letter to make the official report and pass on full details but still waiting to hear from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Follow up with the Gardaí, speak to a senior member in the station if you have to.

This is a theft and assault, involving a minor even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

I did report it about an hour after it happened, was told I’d get a call and letter to make the official report and pass on full details but still waiting to hear from them.

Three weeks later?
    That's really disappointing that someone who gets mugged can't get a call back.
    Majourly understaffed.

dudara wrote: »
    Follow up with the Gardaí, speak to a senior member in the station if you have to.

This is a theft and assault, involving a minor even

If I don’t hear back in the next few weeks I will. I don’t like bothering them, especially over what in the end was stolen property and no major injuries.

I’d just hope a few read it and are a bit more cautious when selling on Adverts. I’d normally be careful myself and know of possible scams etc but I honestly never heard or expected anything like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

..just to say, DubDJ, talk to someone about the experience, if you feel a bit anxious. That sort of event can sit under your skin for a while and cause issues later.

I was in a right state after a burglary, not directly after, but weeks/months later, my behaviour was changed, for the worse, because of it.

Talk it through with someone and try to rationalise it. Don't let the experience take hold of you when you're dealing with people/out and about.

chrismon wrote: »
    Three weeks later?
    That's really disappointing that someone who gets mugged can't get a call back.
    Majourly understaffed.

Happened on the 8th so nearly 4 weeks but they could be busy with the Christmas and with so much time passed now I think the point of it actually leading to anything is long gone. I’d be surprised if most CCTV would be kept for this long, so I think they got away with a nice payday this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Happened on the 8th so nearly 4 weeks but they could be busy with the Christmas and with so much time passed now I think the point of it actually leading to anything is long gone. I’d be surprised if most CCTV would be kept for this long, so I think they got away with a nice payday this time.

That is terrible, I’d be down my local station demanding action and wouldn’t have waited 4 weeks to return

Amalgam wrote: »
    ..just to say, DubDJ, talk to someone about the experience, if you feel a bit anxious. That sort of event can sit under your skin for a while and cause issues later.

I was in a right state after a burglary, not directly after, but weeks/months later, my behaviour was changed, for the worse, because of it.

Talk it through with someone and try to rationalise it. Don't let the experience take hold of you when you're dealing with people/out and about.

Appreciate the excellent advice. I have suffered with pretty bad anxiety for the last few years but gladly come a long way from how I originally was, and luckily this didn’t really affect me at all. I will be mindful of it though, but I think your advice is spot on for anybody else who might be in a similar situation.

Thanks to all the replies on here with advice too, one reason I think Boards is a great place is the replies like these. People always eager to help out, appreciate it all. :)

We’re the two lads who took it on foot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,074 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Just a tip for everyone.....

Dial *#06# into your phone.
    Screenshot and email to yourself and you will always have the imei number, even if your phone gets stolen.

MrMac84 wrote: »
    We’re the two lads who took it on foot?

Yeah, jackets hats and scarves to block their faces too. Took off running with it so definately had no transport or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭keyboard_cat

It was boxed up and I had no record of the IMEI. I wasn’t even sure if it could be blacklisted, I thought maybe this would only work for network locked phones, mine was unlocked from Apple.

Adverts did contact me about giving the IP address etc but the Garda still haven’t contacted me about it so I haven’t been able to pass on the details.

If you ever backed up the phone on your computer you can find the imei number its stored in an xml style file somewhere in the backup folder i am not sure what the file was called but you can start opening files with notepad until you get something readable and then ctrl+f for 'Imei' https://support.apple.com/en-ie/HT204215
    (My little sister had her phone stolen recently and i found the Imei this way)

Just a tip for everyone.....

Dial *#06# into your phone.
    Screenshot and email to yourself and you will always have the imei number, even if your phone gets stolen.

Done thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Yeah I thought this was the normal process especially when selling items like phones and such.

Zero need to be meeting up with people for those kind of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Grimsvotn

If you contact Apple again they might be able to give you the serial/IMEI as long as your details were registered to the device, i.e. if they find your serial number they can offer to call the number it was registered to

Grimsvotn wrote: »
    If you contact Apple again they might be able to give you the serial/IMEI as long as your details were registered to the device, i.e. if they find your serial number they can offer to call the number it was registered to
    Thanks, I actually already have the serial from the Apple invoice in my account. They just don’t offer any help in that regard, and basically tell you to contact the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Guys, what ever about the Garda following up or not because they are busy, still report it. By you not reporting an incident, it will not feed into statistics and will actually show 'thief' for example as being down on last year if people continuously don't bother reporting stuff to the Garda. Get a Pulse number also, that way it's on the system.