Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gloves on the farm

• 09-12-2017 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭

Do many of ye wear gloves around the farm ?
    I used never wear them and would put my hands anywhere but I've been thinking lately . My grandfather was good and healthy , lived til his late eighties but his hands were shook with arthritis from manual work in all types of weather more than likely . I see my father more or less the same way but his hands wouldn't be as bad yet (in his late sixties ) and he does wear gloves if he is rising walls or throwing in turf for the last few years
    My own little crubeens are going well so far even though I wouldn't have minded them when I was younger and they do get probably more than average work I reckon between plastering / smathering around the buildings in general and farming when I'm not at work .
    Anyway I find I'm wearing through the normal gloves a bit fast and started trying out better ones that wont let water through too easily without being too ignorant to do the trickier things . Also dont want a glove thats too warm and leaves me sweating and just taking them off .
    So far the best gloves I'm using are "Showa 306" ,they are a nice fit , nice bit of dexterity in the fingers still and can handle a bit of wet stuff without soaking through , they are $6.50 so a bit steep but do out last the the $2 gloves easily and arent fully waterproof
    I picked up a pair of waterproof "Showa 600" gloves today that are waterproof but not nearly as easy to use the fingers through . The only thing I did was a quick clean out of a water trough and they were spot on for that but I will have to try and do a few hours in them to see if they can be worn for long .
    I use the gripster skins aswell for greasing and throwaway jobs

What about yerselves ? Any good recommendations ?
    Could be an idea as a stocking filler for Christmas too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

https://goo.gl/images/86XvcU

I use milking gloves for cleaning out water troughs and then wear them inside a pair of 3M work gloves (not waterproof). Herself got me then in the states but im sure thry can be got online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Muckit wrote: »
    https://goo.gl/images/86XvcU

I use milking gloves for cleaning out water troughs and then wear them inside a pair of 3M work gloves (not waterproof). Herself got me then in the states but im sure thry can be got online.
    I tried a pair of them type work gloves but found them a bit restrictive , I see lads wearing them a fair bit though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

The black milking gloves in the coop i find best as i dont sweat in them, if you wear them under the heavy gloves hands should be dry without sweat. Dunno about the arthiritis that could be associated more with the lifting/ pulling than lack of gloves, could be wrong on that tho

Mooooo wrote: »
    The black milking gloves in the coop i find best as i dont sweat in them, if you wear them under the heavy gloves hands should be dry without sweat. Dunno about the arthiritis that could be associated more with the lifting/ pulling than lack of gloves, could be wrong on that tho
    You might be right about the arthiritis , I was thinking the damp hands might'nt be a help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Wear milking gloves all the time when outside. No cracks in my hands anymore. Could go through ten pairs a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Most days would only ever wear these PVC types with knitted wrist. Also have a box of disposable ones for the real dirty jobs, sewage, dog/cat sh1te etc etc.....:)

gloves%20pvc%20knit%20wrist.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

whelan2 wrote: »
    Wear milking gloves all the time when outside. No cracks in my hands anymore. Could go through ten pairs a day

I wear Gripster Skins around the yard. That little bit tougher than milking gloves so don't tear as easily. Get them on Mick's Garage.com. About €10 a box....

Only ever wear these PVC types with knitted wrist.

gloves%20pvc%20knit%20wrist.jpg

Grand to keep out the water but I dont find them great for using for the smaller jobs when the fingers are needed

Bullocks wrote: »
    Grand to keep out the water but I dont find them great for using for the smaller jobs when the fingers are needed

Agreed, find them great for opening the silage bales, slurry etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I wear neoprene hunting gloves.
    The finger tips fold back if ya want to do some delicate stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I have only started wearing gloves lately and have to admit to have been a fool for years for not wearing them. I now realise work is much easier to do in them and your warm on the cold. Also, I 'm only starting to think about the bacteria and pathogens we as farmers expose ourselves to on a day to day basis between dung, slurry dead animals etc. The vapour in cattle sheds as well. We vaccinate our stock so they don't get sick and think nothing about spending hours in these sheds ourselves. I have developed an auto immune disorder and am convinced it was due to some bug I picked up farming or exposure to OP chemicals or sprays. We would want to start taking protective clothing seriously .
    Also, for the winter, a merino wool base layer is fantastic. Dear the first day you buy them but you won't be able to go back to normal clothing. They last for years as they don't need to be washed as often cause of the natural fabric and you never feel damp in them cause them put perspiration to the outside. Put the expense down to farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

435723.pngPolyco Grip-it 884

I find them neater than those Patsy posted above. I get them in a local agri store. IMO the best I've found so far. Even OK for heavier mechanic work but not ones for rebuilding your chainsaw carburetor!

While fairly water resistant, they can get a bit damp if you're working in the wet for a long time so keep a spare pair on the utility radiator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

https://www.woodies.ie/garden-and-outdoor/gardening/gloves-and-wellies/skytec-argon-large-glove-1078485

These are what I use to pick sprouts.
    Takes a lot for the damp to get through.
    Sorta fluffy on the inside so they’re comfy but they can be a divil for going inside out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Wear gloves milking and have been wearing work gloves for a good while. Have a pair in every tractor and digger for changing implements and have heavier duty ones for fencing. Got into the habit of wearing them and now I'd hardly work without them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

I hate wearing them and rarely do. Putting on pour on is the only time I make sure I use them otherwise I've a bursting headache if the pour on soaks in. But chances are I don't have fluke or worms.

You definitely have a better grip of hand implements when you wear glooves. Also good protection against the likes of weils disease from rats urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Farmer wrote: »
    435723.pngPolyco Grip-it 884

I find them neater than those Patsy posted above. I get them in a local agri store. IMO the best I've found so far. Even OK for heavier mechanic work but not ones for rebuilding your chainsaw carburetor!

While fairly water resistant, they can get a bit damp if you're working in the wet for a long time so keep a spare pair on the utility radiator

I use the non water proof version of them all the time, same as your self keep a few pairs on the go.
    When it wet I still use them but put a pair of nitrile gloves over them, keep a box larger than normal gloves just for the job warm waterproof and do just about everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Black builders gloves something like the ones above ^^^^^^ with milkers gloves underneath. Every day regardless of the weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Black builders gloves something like the ones above ^^^^^^ with milkers gloves underneath. Every day regardless of the weather.

Same here. Been wearing gloves 5 or 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Use sergical gloves under normal builders gloves. This lad still sticking with the auld marigolds.☺

I wear the Marigold's myself at work when I'm sponging out of the bucket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Bullocks wrote: »
    I wear the Marigold's myself at work when I'm sponging out of the bucket

I still see lads napping without gloves. Then they do be wondering why they are cracking and bleeding on a cold day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

10 pairs a day :eek:
    I cry if A hole comes in my first pair
    Often get 2 or 3 days a pair
    Hands are in great order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Biscuitus

Gloves have saved my hands so many times. Splinters, thorns, nettle stings, ragweed(its poisonous!), littles bits of weld on gates that would live your finger open, sides of thin sheeting, hands being bashed from an animal etc etc

On top of that no horrible flaky rash filled skin and ripped up fingernails that I see so many other farmers cursing endlessly about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Biscuitus wrote: »
    Gloves have saved my hands so many times. Splinters, thorns, nettle stings, ragweed(its poisonous!)....

I learned the hard way when I went at clearing an acre site of weeds and scrub; the next day I had blisters up my arms from hogweed. Got to the back of my neck as well. I was relatively lucky but the scars took a few years to disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Suckler wrote: »
    I learned the hard way when I went at clearing an acre site of weeds and scrub; the next day I had blisters up my arms from hogweed. Got to the back of my neck as well. I was relatively lucky but the scars took a few years to disappear.

Do the scars disappear? My young fella come in contactt with it on his arm. Bloody hell it looked like he was scalded with hot oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

jimini0 wrote: »
    Do the scars disappear? My young fella come in contactt with it on his arm. Bloody hell it looked like he was scalded with hot oil.

Yes eventually. Took about 18 months, the blisters cleared up quick enough but I could still see the scars for a long time. I woke up the next day with blisters and sores all up my arms and on the back of my neck like burns you describe. If it was a child I think they are supposed to get treated properly. I was lathering myself with sudocrem and savlon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Suckler wrote: »
    Yes eventually. Took about 18 months, the blisters cleared up quick enough but I could still see the scars for a long time. I woke up the next day with blisters and sores all up my arms and on the back of my neck like burns you describe. If it was a child I think they are supposed to get treated properly. I was lathering myself with sudocrem and savlon.
    Brought him to doc he got some pills and creams. It's a bad dose never knew about hogweed before.
    I was a bit worried about the scars cos he blames me for it. I kicked the ball Into the ditch and made him go in after it. That cost me 20 packs of match attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Hands are in great order

Two pairs for morning milking. Have to go into house during milking, so gloves off, new pair when I come back out. Then a new pair after breakfast. New pair after lunch. Then back in house to do homework. New pair when I go back out. New pair more than likely for milking again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Two pairs for morning milking. Have to go into house during milking, so gloves off, new pair when I come back out. Then a new pair after breakfast. New pair after lunch. Then back in house to do homework. New pair when I go back out. New pair more than likely for milking again.

I take my one pair off 3 times a day washing them before I do so and washing my hands before going inside

Repeat next day until a hole comes in one and then I replace that with a single new glove :D

Does it help for SCC if you wear disposable milking glooves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Does it help for SCC if you wear disposable milking glooves?

Idea is they are easier to keep clean than your hands would be so less chance of transfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

https://www.ie.screwfix.com/skytec-aria-nitrile-coated-gloves-grey-black-medium.html

I have these atm, had a pair before and they deffinitely are one of the better lasting pairs I’ve had over the last 3years that I’ve been using gloves more. There fairly nimble once warmed up but can be a bit stiff when you put them on first time each day. There neat enough for most stuff and when taking them off I always fold them into each other and they fit grand in the back pocket.

I got a pair of the red skytec beta version a while ago and they are crap compared to the aria, the coating was cracking off where they move most around the thumb and fingers within a few hours.

If I’m at anything very mucky I’ll throw a set of disposables over them. Find disposables always sweat my hands if I have them on by themselves but over the other gloves there grand, plus it keeps the work gloves dry so I can wear them the rest of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Hands are in great order

When I was in the college we had a lady in for the cell check course thing, she was telling us when she used to do relief milking she would start the milking with six pairs of gloves on, and each time she came into contact with a problem cow, when she was finished dealing with it off the top pair of gloves would come!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Sounds good but you wouldnt have much dexterity with 6 pairs of gloves on I'd imagine and sure they'd have to be different sizes or super stretchy!

Muckit wrote: »
    Sounds good but you wouldnt have much dexterity with 6 pairs of gloves on I'd imagine and sure they'd have to be different sizes or super stretchy!

I have a job getting the one pair of disposable on my chubby hands not to mind get another pair over them again alright :D

Got impact resistant gloves today for using on the kango or in my case a scabbler. They really do work well in keeping out the vibrations but expensive @ €72 +VAT per pair