Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2018 AXA Raheny 5

• 01-12-2017 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭

Hi folks

Entry Open for 2018 AXA Raheny 5 taking place on 28 January.

Logon to www.rahenyshamrock.ie to enter.

Entry for Juvenile races open on race day!

Facebook page - @axaraheny5

Twitter- @axaraheny5

Any questions emails to info@ rahenyshamrock.ie please as I will not be monitoring this page.

thanks
    Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Cheers, just signed up, such a fantastic race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Lazare wrote: »
    Cheers, just signed up, such a fantastic race.

I signed up last week, really looking forward to it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Great race, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

I'm in, and doing the race number on the day... Playing my part :)

pac_man wrote: »
    Is the course still the same as a few years ago? You hit a hill coming off the coast road (Watermill road?) that's around 4 miles in.

Last year (and I think the year before) it ran into the park instead of the coast road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

RayCun wrote: »
    Last year (and I think the year before) it ran into the park instead of the coast road

Wasn't that because of road works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Wasn't that because of road works?

Yes, but I think the road works were to narrow the road and add a 2 lane cycle path meaning that it is no longer feasible to run that section of the race along the hard shoulder. In some ways, its a pity because it was the traditional course but the new course is definitely flatter and faster. If only they could get rid of the 180 turn in the park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭purelike

That hairpin is tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

purelike wrote: »
    That hairpin is tough.

Almost as tough as the seemingly never-ending (less than a mile) drag up to the turn.....but then I suppose we get to fly back down the way we came

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Duanington wrote: »
    Almost as tough as the seemingly never-ending (less than a mile) drag up to the turn.....but then I suppose we get to fly back down the way we came

I think it can be more disheartening watching the fast runners whizzing down the other side as you're starting the drag. Trick of course is to just keep focusing on what's in front :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Hubbie told me yesterday that he has us registered!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Won't be doing it this year. Its a great race with a sugar over load goody bag afterwards!

Just giving this a bump.

Probably my favourite race of the year, along with Dunboyne, Dunsaughlin the Strawberry and Frank Duffy.

Always a great field of runners, from the elites to the Fun day runners.

the Strawberry? Cad é?

purelike wrote: »
    the Strawberry? Cad é?

Strawberry Half Marathon, June, Eniscorthy. Though but very scenic.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Looking forward to this.

+1 on that. Worth it alone for the shopping bag full of sweets afterwards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭AAD

Has anybody seen the route for this years race?? I hear there is a slight change to the previous two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

AAD wrote: »
    Has anybody seen the route for this years race?? I hear there is a slight change to the previous two years.

Spot on, it has been announced. It will only be my 2nd Raheny run so not sure if it’s a good change or not.

http://rahenyshamrock.ie/?p=2441

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

The race will start as normal on All Saints park and takes its usual left hand turn down All Saints Saint Road and onto Watermill road.

The race will then turn left onto Watermill drive at the junction between Scoil Ide and Raheny Garda Station, the race than progresses past the start finish area turning left onto Wades Avenue (One Mile Marker).

The moves down Wades avenue and right up along All Saints Road, then moving onto the Howth Road for a short stretch then moving left onto Vernon avenue, past the two mile marker, then turning left onto Mount Prospect avenue.

Runners then continue down Mount Prospect avenue past the three mile marker before moving into St. Anne’s Park, with a back loop in the main avenue of St. Anne’s Park.

The race then moves throw St. Anne’s Park before turning left onto All Saints Road into the final 400 metres moving right onto Wades Avenue and then finishing as normal on All Saints Park.

Raheny18Map.png

Ill be on the Race number collection on Sunday from early on in Scoil Aine.

Can people try to have their race number available when getting up the Desks, it just speeds up the whole collection process.

Queues tend to build from 1:30 until about 2:40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

One update - the map is correct but the wording is incorrect.

The race will start as normal on All Saints park and takes its usual left hand turn down All Saints Saint Road and onto Watermill road.

The race will then turn left onto All Saints Drive not Watermill Drive, at the junction between Scoil Ide and Raheny Garda Station, the race than progresses past the start finish area turning left onto Wades Avenue (One Mile Marker).

Can anyone tell me if it still runs up Sybil hill rd? According to the map it seems to but it's not mentioned in that text.

runs down Sybill Hill Road

RayCun wrote: »
    runs down Sybill Hill Road

Haha, oh yeah. So it does then?

don't know :D

er, even if we discount the map, I think it has to, the only ways to run on Vernon Avenue would involve adding either a lot of distance or an out-and-back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭eoinín

It runs down Sybil Hill Road, which changes its name to Vernon Avenue at some point, so the text would read better as:

"The race moves down Wades avenue and right up along All Saints Road, then moving onto the Howth Road for a short stretch then moving left onto Sybil Hill Road / Vernon avenue, past the two mile marker, then turning left onto Mount Prospect avenue."

Will you be taking a few snaps as per usual eoinín ?

Some great ones from the start (and rest of the race obviously :p) last year...

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Will you be taking a few snaps as per usual eoin?

Some great ones from the start (and rest of the race obviously :p) last year...

That's the plan! Everyone needs to smile as they cross the finish line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭diego_b

Good luck to all racing tomorrow, won't make it myself this year unfortunately. I suspect the course is a bit faster this year with those changes, fingers crossed on the weather front!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

How fecked am I?

I can't find my race number. I've searched everywhere. I have a horrible feeling I left it in work and the office is locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    How fecked am I?

I can't find my race number. I've searched everywhere. I have a horrible feeling I left it in work and the office is locked up.

Did you pick it up today? Raheny is a pick-up affair. Even if you already picked it up and left it somewhere, I'm sure if you show up early enough tomorrow they'll sort you out.

Singer wrote: »
    Did you pick it up today? Raheny is a pick-up affair. Even if you already picked it up and left it somewhere, I'm sure if you show up early enough tomorrow they'll sort you out.

No, I paid to have it posted out to me. I got it last week in the post.

Thanks for the reply. Ive contacted them on FB so am hoping for a reply but will head out early tomorrow too.

I contacted them on their Facebook page and they thankfully told me there is a helpdesk I can go to tomorrow to get a replacement. Phew!!

Is this a championship race for club runners?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I don't think so but there is a team element to the race for club teams.

adrian522 wrote: »
    I don't think so but there is a team element to the race for club teams.

Ah grand. Just heard someone refer to it as the first championship race of the year and my OH who wasn't planning to run nearly had a seizure! Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Best of luck everyone running today. Missing it for the first time since making my debut in 2013. Course changes should help. Lots of PBs to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭colin32

It's a bit blowy here this morning, hopefully won't be to bad come 3pm

1st race this year, so I'll be happy to get round in reasonable time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Best of luck gang. Happy running.

As always, a great race from Raheny!

Happy with my run today & well organised as always

Downside was my goody bag wasn't as good as usual :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Is there some AAI by-law that requires manky cheesy crisps in the Raheny race bag every year!!

Preferred the slight change of route, always hated that main road.

You got cheesy crisps?? I got 3 different types of water & a protein bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭AAD

I got a bag of protein crisps, three bottles of water (one of which was busted and had the bag soaked) and two Lucozade gels. The bag has definitely gone down hill.

The course change was much better than I expected, I thought it would be congested until we were back on the Howth road but it wasn’t too busy at all from the start to finish.

Another plaque to the collection and another good race by Raheny Shamrocks, well done to them and all the volunteers out and around the course.

AAD wrote: »
    I got a bag of protein crisps, three bottles of water (one of which was busted and had the bag soaked) and two Lucozade gels. The bag has definitely gone down hill.

The course change was much better than I expected, I thought it would be congested until we were back on the Howth road but it wasn’t too busy at all from the start to finish.

Another plaque to the collection and another good race by Raheny Shamrocks, well done to them and all the volunteers out and around the course.

I got way more than that. Can't comment on previous years as it was my first. I got 3 bags of crisps, biscuits, bars, big cookie, water, lucozade, bcaa drink and a few gels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Where was the chocolate in the bag? Too much protein sheite in it for my liking!

Great race though, brilliant atmosphere from everyone around as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    Where was the chocolate in the bag? Too much protein sheite in it for my liking!

Great race though, brilliant atmosphere from everyone around as well.

The ginger/chocolate biscuits were really good though. I managed to grab one before the family hoovered them.

There's some finish line photos here, with loads more to follow in the next day or 2:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/86489211@N00/sets/72157668964095999/with/39240851444/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Wottle

Super pics, thank you.