Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Walking Dead | Season 8 | Episode 6 | The King, the Widow... [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• 26-11-2017 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

The Walking Dead - Season 8

Episode 6 - "The King, the Widow, and Rick"

Airdate - November 26th on AMC at 9/8c | November 27th on FOX UK at 9PM

An argument breaks out at the Hilltop; the consequences of the decision are life versus death.

Promo

Sneak Peek

How did you rate this episode? 57 votes

0%
    0%
    0%
    1%
    sabhail 1 vote
    10%
    A New earthAOH77AGTTDI GODcrustyblaRosie Rantjrkb 6 votes
    12%
    duridianbig sykecharlietheminxxRoger HassenfordercoolisinduffysfarmNoel82 7 votes
    22%
    ArmaniJeanssNUTZZRiskymoveFreudianSlippersHande hoche!mojesiusSudden ValleyfranklyonMonifeCiaranW[Deleted User]Keplar240BOkon 13 votes
    21%
    Collie Dcampowillowthewispterryduff12Banjaxed82brianregan09Maravilla33Foreign SportsMac BDial HardWalter E GONikoTopps 12 votes
    19%
    geeceeHippostorkerJimmy BottleheadBlazerclaivaskipper_GrayfitzharrisDarth MelkorParkman77Brego888 11 votes
    12%
    TinCoolDempseymountainElChe32ebbsyGwynplainesteveshort 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

The Fear The Walking Dead crossover character will be revealed tonight on The Talking Dead after the main show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Well I thought that was a random pile of ****e, A bunch of odds and ends put together to make an episode. I put this in the filler category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

Wow what a review - cant wait to watch it now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

The explosion from the RPG was hilariously poor.

Sub film-student-project stuff.

This show is some sort of tax scam or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Spent most of that on my phone , so stupid I get the idea that they are trying to hold on to there humanity but for **** sake kill the saviours there's no chance of reintegrating them into society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

any reasoning behind Rick's plan there? Just looked really dumb from the beginning to the end of the episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

any reasoning behind Rick's plan there? Just looked really dumb from the beginning to the end of the episode.

Awful rubbish. The sooner this show gets canned the better. Thank Christ agent of shield are back at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Trash people in the nip nip nip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Jobs OXO wrote: »

tok 2 much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

the idea that all the saviours who are heavily armed are unable to fight back and defend themselves with any success is laughable.

and team rick are so better at fighting too - unbelievable

I know it's Sci Fi / Horror but ffs

Notice my fb which used to be full of comment and spoilers about TWD each monday is silent now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

More feckin speeches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

The main characters were grouped off again, but at least they were all in the same episode which made for a much better flow. The walkers felt like an actual threat in this one, especially in the Carl and Siddiq scene.

I'm assuming Rick has a bigger plan, seeing as it was almost a certainty that if he walked into the Trash Heap on his own that he would be killed or imprisoned.

I'm interested to see what Aaron and Enid will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Jobs OXO wrote: »

Anyone go up up up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Blazer wrote: »
    Awful rubbish. The sooner this show gets canned the better. Thank Christ agent of shield are back at the weekend.

Time and channel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Rosita has an RPG, surely she's going to blow up the truck with massive speakers. Right? Riiiiiight? No, no of course she won't.

Aside from that moment of glorious idiocy my favourites the garbage patch kids made a return. They are awful, the pidgin English is just plain stupid. Episode was fairly crap crap crap

Edit: just to add, the most engaged I was during the episode was when I was shouting at the Walkers to eat Carl. No such luck

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Not all that enjoyable tbh. Nowhere near as good as last week, but I guess it was padding to bring us closer to the mid-season finale. Hoping things get better for the next two episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ok what the **** have I just watched?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Walter E GO

skipper_G wrote: »
    The garbage patch kids made a return. They are awful, the pidgin English is just plain stupid. Episode was fairly crap crap crap.
    Seriously, how long ago was the first outbreak? And she looses the ability to speak fckn English in that amount of time with others as company. The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

After last week's return to form I thought this was back to being awfully dull fare. Actually fast forwarded through some sections. Really felt like a filler episode.

The CGI explosion from the RPG was like something Adam and Joe would do on their show back in the late 90's for a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Disappointing to see a resurgence of hero kids 'im coming with you to fight', only to become a complete liability within 5 minutes. Fcuk off kid and get back behind those gates because you're useless out in the wilderness. This episode we had the little dude from the kingdom following Carol, who herself has watched dozens of kids meet their fate at this stage. And Enid the hero , wtf is she going to achieve? Karl back to his annoying ways of nearly getting eaten so he can be the hero. I wouldn't have cared if all three had died this episode.

Rick going into the dump...why bother? Just blow them up, plenty of flammable material surrounding them if you get rosalita around with the rocket launcher.

But by far the most infuriating storyline is Jesus trying to keep the saviours alive and the endless debates about it. At least shoot your man with the long hair, he'll never change.

I'm really not sure why I still watch this...

Rosita has an RPG, surely she's going to blow up the truck with massive speakers. Right? Riiiiiight? No, no of course she won't.

Aside from that moment of glorious idiocy my favourites the garbage patch kids made a return. They are awful, the pidgin English is just plain stupid. Episode was fairly crap crap crap

Edit: just to add, the most engaged I was during the episode was when I was shouting at the Walkers to eat Carl. No such luck

To be fair, that RPG would probably have done about as much damage as a bird flying into the truck by the looks of things.

Also, of course the writers on this show think people would lose command of the English language within a couple of years of society collapsing because they are ****ing terrible writers.

The RPG was epic I thought, amazing the technology these days that you can fire an RPG at a human and not even a splatter of blood visible.. nor body parts or even a blast wave.
    Good stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

That episode was a return to form - i.e. total crap. Don't know what they were thinking/smoking/injecting when they came up with the bin people. Don't care if it's in the comics, it makes zero sense in the context of the TV show.

That's the thing, it isn't in the comics.

It's original, pure-strain stupidity from the showrunners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

bear1 wrote: »
    The RPG was epic I thought, amazing the technology these days that you can fire an RPG at a human and not even a splatter of blood visible.. nor body parts or even a blast wave.
    Good stuff.

yes....a rocket just means your target dissapears in a puff of flame....no explosion...no impact despite firing indoors!!

Shooter not in anyway affected

truly a low moment for the show and that's saying something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Noel82 wrote: »
    More feckin speeches.

worse...speeches by letter and voiceover!!

somebody watched the orignal version of Bladerunner recently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Once I heard the trash people were going to be in it I steeled myself but dear god almighty...it's going to take a while to wipe that episode off my shoe. Absolute tripe. And the worst thing is you know the producers realised it was going to be tripe but they still went ahead and made it anyway cos, you know, they're setting it all up for a mid-season finale blockbuster or some such bollox.

What is there even to discuss? The truly abysmal 'story at bedtime' narration at the start set the tone for what was to follow. The crying baby had more presence than any other character in that episode. Shame on Scott Gimple and the rest of them for subjecting the viewers to that garbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

This series has been good but that episode was the drizzling ****s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭theoldbreed

Such a terrible episode. I've been a huge fan since the beginning but every week I get a little more bored with it.
    Maggie used to be a favourite of mine but I cannot stand her anymore. Maybe it's the actress but I don't find her credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Filler episode, no progress. 2/10. Dirt.
    What do the scrap yard people live on? Old tires and waste oil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Such a terrible episode. I've been a huge fan since the beginning but every week I get a little more bored with it.
    Maggie used to be a favourite of mine but I cannot stand her anymore. Maybe it's the actress but I don't find her credible.

Back in season two she gave a pretty good southern accent now she sounds like she couldn't be bothered, you can hear her real accent come trough.

Something tells me the main cast are probably getting tired of doing this show just a feeling I have.

Jon Bernthal went on to do better things movies etc even his Punisher series is very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Something tells me i can skip this episode and not miss much story line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

As if Monday's aren't bad enough, Walking Dead rubs salt in the wound. Watching it has actually turned into a punishment at this stage.

Please just cancel the show and spare my endless hope that it will actually improve. It's devolved into an absolute embarrassment.

jonon9 wrote: »
    Back in season two she gave a pretty good southern accent now she sounds like she couldn't be bothered, you can hear her real accent come trough.

Something tells me the main cast are probably getting tired of doing this show just a feeling I have.

Jon Bernthal went on to do better things movies etc even his Punisher series is very good.

It was a mistake getting rid of him.
    He'd have been perfect for this show, his no bull**** attitude and in general interesting character would be a breath of fresh air.
    I mean that scene with Carol and the king, that lasted 5mins and in the end I still understand the need for the character.
    Fear the walking dead wasn't supposed to last this long if I remember correctly but it's numbers are impressive and story line much more interesting.
    The cliffhanger at the end of the season was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

The low number of posts on this thread 36 hours after it aired on this side of the Atlantic says it all. Half watched that episode and don't think I missed much. Shame because I thought the previous two were good but this was the worst in a while.

I haven't watched FTWD yet as I didn't think I could concentrate on two similar shows at once but I'll watch this until mid season and then check that out and if it's any good I think I'll switch. Had planned to see TWD through as I've watched from day one but I pretty much just want them to either find the cure or be wiped out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Rick needs to be killed off. He sucks the life out of every scene he's in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

We're bored, because the actors look bored. They walk by walkers, might knock a few to the ground if they're arsed...

Bit of suspence would go a long way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I'm *almost* hate-watching at this stage. Rick deserves a Darwin Award for going back to Jadis. Alone, for fcuking fcuk's sake. Maggie continues to have the neverending invisible pregnancy. Rosie fires an RPG in an armoury with absolutely no consequences whatsoever. Ezekiel remembers he's from the block. And, in possibly the most unbelievable part of the entire episode, Coral isn't the most annoying character in it.

What the actual fcuk has happened this show the last couple of seasons??? I used to LOVE it, I still want to love it, but the writers and producers just keep crapping all over it and themselves and us and err'body and they need to just STOP ALREADY BEFORE IT'S IRREPARABLE!!!!!

*breathes*

ebbsy wrote: »
    This series has been good but that episode was the drizzling ****s.

Are you sure you've been watching the same series as the rest of us???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    As if Monday's aren't bad enough, Walking Dead rubs salt in the wound. Watching it has actually turned into a punishment at this stage.

Please just cancel the show and spare my endless hope that it will actually improve. It's devolved into an absolute embarrassment.

Just stop watching it so? I don't get this need to watch something just to b***h about it. If you aren't enjoying it and want it to end you can effectively have your wish by never watching it again. Nobody is forcing you to turn the thing on.

As for the complaints about things being unrealistic, it's a show about zombies FFS. People can get over the zombies but not unrealistic explosions? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

I was shouting at the Walkers to eat Carl. No such luck

You weren't alone there. My reaction to that..."Uh oh, this looks realy bad for Corl, maybe he's about to be written out...<shrug>...pfft big deal..."
    mojesius wrote: »
    But by far the most infuriating storyline is Jesus trying to keep the saviours alive and the endless debates about it. At least shoot your man with the long hair, he'll never change.

That was super-stupid. She's made it clear she thinks they should be killed, but when one of them makes a move for a gun, she lets him off with a smack of a rifle but. He would have been the perfect candidate for making an example of to help keep the rest in line. All she's done is make him more confident..."They're not gonna kill us."

And the bone-headedness of people going off on their own unannounced to do...stuuuff and thangs...continues. I've lost track of how many are going walkabout now. Aaron and Enid, Carol and that walk-fodder kid, Michonne and sulky-face, Rick...who did I miss? :rolleyes:

Writer A: "We need to generate more drama and tension. I know, left's have someone leave where they're supposed to be and wander off."

Writer B: "And let's have someone tag along even though they're not wanted"

Writer A: "Cool...the viewers will never see that coming..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

molloyjh wrote: »
    As for the complaints about things being unrealistic, it's a show about zombies FFS. People can get over the zombies but not unrealistic explosions? Seriously?

This point has been made and dealt with a number of times already. Even fantasy fiction has to be plausible even if a principal feature of the premise is unrealistic. In short, just because something has supernatural (or in this case pseudo-scientific) content doesn't mean anything goes. The actions of characters must make sense even when occurring within a framework of fantasy. There is plenty of fantasy and horror fiction since the days of Shelley and Stoker and before that has managed this balance perfectly well. There's no excuse for TWD not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Just stop watching it so? I don't get this need to watch something just to b***h about it. If you aren't enjoying it and want it to end you can effectively have your wish by never watching it again. Nobody is forcing you to turn the thing on.

My "b!tching" is based on the extremely high standards the show has set itself in earlier seasons. I can accept a show not sustaining the high standards the longer it goes on, but TWD has just gone off a fookin cliff.

Let's not get granular about this, or specifics within the show. As far as the bigger picture goes, the writing, the fundamental storytelling in the show; story, character, plotting, structure - it's all turned to sh!te.

If you're happy with this mediocity, then fair enough. My disappointment is the show's fall from grace and the pitiful hope that it will return to its former glory.

Really? I ache for the days when it was about zombies. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

That scene with the RPG is a classic example of the show's laziness and just not giving a fcuk. He was vaporised, it was like something from a cartoon.

All they had to do with this scene to make it more believable was have her shoot, then a quick POV shot of the grenade coming at him, then back to her dripping in his blood and brains and everything else. It would have been effective and, yes, believable because she should have been covered in his remains. It's the little things like that which count but they just can't be bothered anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Seriously, how long ago was the first outbreak? And she looses the ability to speak fckn English in that amount of time with others as company. The mind boggles.
    Less than 2 years. The feckin' Belters in The Expanse are more intelligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Collie D wrote: »
    The low number of posts on this thread 36 hours after it aired on this side of the Atlantic says it all.

I've noticed that for the past couple for seasons. We're lucky to get to four pages here now, five max.

edit: just noticed that this post tipped this thread over into the four pages category :D