Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who wants a game of Quake? DM4???

• 12-11-2017 10:12pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I've been on boards for 13 years and in that time I've definitely noticed a shift in some forums, but AH in particular. What used to be lighthearted and jocular seems now to be populated by posts that are antagonistic, bitter and adversarial.

Don't get me wrong, debate and arguement are healthy but there really does seem to be a rather nasty undertone to some of the posts. I long for the old days of After Hours where threads were jovial and not full of rather bitter rows over issues like abortion, virtue signalling, housing and that old chestnut, social welfare.

I miss the old AH. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I've been on boards for 13 years and in that time I've definitely noticed a shift in some forums, but AH in particular. What used to be lighthearted and jocular seems now to be populated by posts that are antagonistic, bitter and adversarial.

Don't get me wrong, debate and arguement are healthy but there really does seem to be a rather nasty undertone to some of the posts. I long for the old days of After Hours where threads were jovial and not full of rather bitter rows over issues like abortion, virtue signalling, housing and that old chestnut, social welfare.

lets dig upmold threwds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

So start some lighthearted threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I member.

latest?cb=20170130113816

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Somewhat difficult to be light hearted when yous say this about people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Your ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Member when people were not falling over themselves to be offended by everything? I think you’ll find that was when it used to be fun.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yore Ma© blasted me with piss™ only last week. I see no changes JK... :D

I suppose it's just how things evolve. In the past *cue harp music* more of the other forums like politics, humanities and the like were more populated and active, so subjects had a bigger spread of natural homes. That was then. The interwebs has changed a lot in that time, so there is less of the "this subject goes here" than was the case in the past. I reckon that's much of it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Ah go **** yourself you ****ing ****er

Bleedin spoofers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,110 ✭✭✭✭elperello

People certainly seem to be a bit trigger happy dissing others posts.

That's rubbish.
    Drivel
    You don't know what you are talking about

etc etc.

Seem to be getting more common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The first time I ever looked at After Hours was in 2008 and there posts about dole scroungers all over the place. Maybe it was radically different four years earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You're talking about the internet as a whole, not just Boards TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

tennyears ago this was the state of play

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055166829

probably should be locked somno one posts in it ive never understood why threads dont pocknif they are dead for annywar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Tommy Ferguson

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yore Ma© blasted me with piss™ only last week. I see no changes JK... :D

I suppose it's just how things evolve. In the past *cue harp music* more of the other forums like politics, humanities and the like were more populated and active, so subjects had a bigger spread of natural homes. That was then. The interwebs has changed a lot in that time, so there is less of the "this subject goes here" than was the case in the past. I reckon that's much of it.

Have you someone keeping you’re account going 24/7 you’re thanking and posting everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The first time I ever looked at After Hours was in 2008 and there posts about dole scroungers all over the place. Maybe it was radically different four years earlier.

I remember when all this was fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I don't know what yere on about I do be having a great laugh at ye

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Things change with the times. No need for rose tinted glasses, things are grand, same as it was 10-15 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I blame the right

(First time I think that's ever been written in AH....!!)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I miss the characters like Trent, Facekicker and Pighead.*

*I actually don't give a fcuk about any of them, it's just always said on these threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Ah it depends on the threads that you frequent. I usually don't even bother with abortion/feminism/dole threads because it's the same old fighting and arguments and crap. I just ignore them and post in the lovely threads, like TH, TA and "Where are you now?" where arseholes are generally not welcome and are given short shrift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

don't forget feaky and the grinds teacher, a beacon of hope back in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Arbitrary

As tempting as it is to post a clip of Grandpa Simpson reminiscing of the good old times, I have to agree. Remember the old for sale forum? Compare that with adverts now. :eek:

What happened between then and now is the interweb went mainstream. Businesses use forums for research, to scrape stories, curate opinions, general market research, product placement and you name it.

None of that went on back then because it was much easier to make money on the net, you didn't need to go to all that trouble. Just stuff your site full of keywords and start printing money.

Then you have political gaming on forums and social media to add to all the above. And the trolls, the trolls just don't have the same level of nuance to their game these days.

As old fart would say, they were simpler times, to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Kinda reads like that Socrates quote about his observations between generations that went before, and those who came after, think it went something like -

"You're old JupiterKid, you're beginning to see things the way your parents saw them when you were a kid and didn't see these things for yourself"

Something like that anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It reminds me a bit of my adult life , long periods of boring calm interspersed with moments of terror.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Tommy Ferguson

Ah it depends on the threads that you frequent. I usually don't even bother with abortion/feminism/dole threads because it's the same old fighting and arguments and crap. I just ignore them and post in the lovely threads, like TH, TA and "Where are you now?" where arseholes are generally not welcome and are given short shrift.

You put up a battle fado fado in those kind of threads though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Member when people were not falling over themselves to be offended by everything? I think you’ll find that was when it used to be fun.

Yeh this really. Its a shift in society(most evident online though) not just AH!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,381 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Silverbling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I'm not gonna say that it's not funny. It's funny. It's actually gas I think. Why is it so funny though?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

Even the re reg trolls don't make an effort any more. Stick out like a sore thumb so they do. Same sh1te different name. You'd spot them a mile off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Omackeral wrote: »
    I'm not gonna say that it's not funny. It's funny. It's actually gas I think. Why is it so funny though?!?

I don't get it. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

But op aren't you part of the problem. Waltzing into threads throwing out one liner antagonistic posts and then expecting not to get a response.

I mean the forum is a product of its posts

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I actually don't like those types of threads at all, they seem too chatty and sometimes I wonder if they are detrimental to new content generation on AH, it's not so bad at the moment but sometimes the main page is just covered in megathreads. But that's just my 2c

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Have you someone keeping you’re account going 24/7 you’re thanking and posting everywhere.
    Over the last few years I've too much time on my hands T, so its either posting and thanking on Boards or I'd **** myself to death. Or at least to the local casualty department.

Me. Earlier.

newjackcity2.jpg

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

When I joined Boards I was strongly advised to stay out of After Hours, because it was just full of morons and idiots. The Cuckoo's Nest was where the intelligentsia went for their fun. They never needed a Thanks button either, when that came in. Not many of that old gang around these days, not with their original accounts anyway.

A lot has changed in 11 years. And even then there were often threads saying that After Hours, and, indeed, Boards.ie had changed from even earlier times.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

When I joined Boards I was strongly advised to stay out of After Hours, because it was just full of morons and idiots. The Cuckoo's Nest was where the intelligentsia went for their fun. They never needed a Thanks button either, when that came in. Not many of that old gang around these days, not with their original accounts anyway.

A lot has changed in 11 years. And even then there were often threads saying that After Hours, and, indeed, Boards.ie had changed from even earlier times.
    That attitude to AH still exists in many other forums here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Grayson wrote: »
    I remember when all this was fields

....fields littered with the free prams of asylum seekers and the discarded old sky satellite dishes of the unemployed.

I actually don't like those types of threads at all, they seem too chatty and sometimes I wonder if they are detrimental to new content generation on AH, it's not so bad at the moment but sometimes the main page is just covered in megathreads. But that's just my 2c

I'm not really sure how a thread can be too chatty, for me that's the purpose of boards, I'm not here to argue with everyone.

Speak for yourself woman! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

Oh yes you are

Wibbs wrote: »
    Speak for yourself woman! :D
    Oh yes you are

I see what ye are doing there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

I see what ye are doing there :D

I don't have to mansplain it to you so?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

It all happened around the time the other social forums kicked off. BGRH, The Ladies Lounge, C&H, etc. A few n00bs felt left out because they weren't "in" on some of the in-jokes, and so started a long campaign to shut down "cliques". Flirting was outlawed too. It never made a whole lot of sense to me. Memes (like the ones Wibbs highlighted above) were banned too.

The things that added to a sense of community were cut because some new users didn't feel like they could be part of that community. Be careful what you wish for, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Sometimes Ive had a few glasses of veno when I post on here.. I try not to offend anyone...

(btw. your ma is so fat that when she fell down the stairs I thought East Enders was starting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Agree. Otherwise we'd never have met and wouldn't be boards besties :) :pac:

One thing I miss is those old spam threads with titles like "Is this dress too sexy for my sister". Now we only get one spam thread a week about maximising your potential with the ladies or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

anna080 wrote: »

Agree. Otherwise we'd never have met and wouldn't be boards besties :) :pac:

Bit more than that hmmm ???

We've heard talk of dreams!!!!!

Possibly one of the biggest overreactions in the history of Boards. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64942653
    G-Money wrote: »
    I'm 99.9% sure they had them in the tuck shop in our primary school up home when I was growing up. But I don't think anyone else has ever heard of them.

Did I imagine it or is there some truth to my mutterings?
    Steel Pump wrote: »
    Chocolate covered mini fcukin pretzels u dumb cunt - or where u thinkin of the pringle shaped chocalte pricks? I dont thin there was no crips in them, just chocolate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Possibly one of the biggest overreactions in the history of Boards. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64942653

Trying to not burst out laughing here as the missus is asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

circadian wrote: »

Trying to not burst out laughing here as the missus is asleep.

Pillow! It'll muffle most of it!!!