Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tattoo's and employment

• 07-11-2017 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭

would you hire someone if they have visible tattoos?

I have quite a few myself, back, legs, arms none visible if I wear a long sleeve shirt or T-shirt.

I don't think I've been hindered in employment with mine as I dress for interviews and don't flaunt them openly through out the process.

that being said I've noticed a huge boom in youngsters (18-23) getting fairly large visible pieces on their necks, hands, fingers and faces. I've always seen this as a fairly short sighted move as trends move on and even my opinions on stuff I felt strongly about when I was 18-23 have also changed with age.

I'm fairly sure that these type of tattoos would drastically effect someone's ability to find employment.

would you hire someone with visable tattoos 124 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    58% 72 votes
    within reason
    41% 52 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Depends on the type of work and the type of tattoo. If it's public facing then probably not anything on the face, and the hands would depend on if it's a jailhouse job or something properly done. The neck I wouldn't be too worried about.

I don't have any but have nothing against them and have considered it myself in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

The answer should always be yes. You shouldn't judge a potential employee on their body ink.

I would imagine a large amount of people share this view, but subconsciously do discriminate against people with tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Depends on what job they have applied for.
    But you're essentially right, it doesn't look business proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I wouldn't not hire someone purely because they have tattoos. I would hire the right person for the job regardless of tattoos, piercings or any of the other trappings of individuals who promote their individuality by looking like every other individual out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

It depends on the person seeking the job. If they can come across as interested and trustworthy maybe the employer could see past the tatts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

It depends on the position I guess.

I'd imagine certain businesses might have clientele that wouldn't be happy seeing tattoos on staff.

If the person is qualified then that should trump all else IMO.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cina wrote: »
    The answer should always be yes. You shouldn't judge a potential employee on their body ink.

I would imagine a large amount of people share this view, but subconsciously do discriminate against people with tattoos.

If it's a customer/client facing role I think it's fair enough to discriminate based on it. I've no problem with tattoos myself, but they don't look "professional" and that's gonna be a problem in certain roles.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

it totally depends onnthe work you do, Chefs and mechanics can definatly do what they want but people that face the public or work in business clothing should be able to cover up
    why; well the same reason you dont wear a bright orange suit as an undertaker it just looks wrong and makes people feel that you are a real "rebel"
    i have a mate thats a tatoo artist, he has ink on his face and even he calls any ink thats visable when you are wearing a suit a "Jobstopper"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

It would have to be within reason.

You should always hire on suitability first but people do discriminate subconsciously.

I also find that people also prefer looking at big healthy breasts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

GLaDOS wrote: »
    If it's a customer/client facing role I think it's fair enough to discriminate based on it. I've no problem with tattoos myself, but they don't look "professional" and that's gonna be a problem in certain roles.

This. I've a load of tattoos but none below the wrist or above the neck.

In a client facing role I would not hire someone with neck/hand/visible tattoos regardless of their qualifications.

At the end of the day it's about the customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Tigger wrote: »
    it totally depends onnthe work you do, Chefs and mechanics can definatly do what they want but people that face the public or work in business clothing should be able to cover up
    why; well the same reason you dont wear a bright orange suit as an undertaker it just looks wrong and makes people feel that you are a real "rebel"
    i have a mate thats a tatoo artist, he has ink on his face and even he calls any ink thats visable when you are wearing a suit a "Jobstopper"

up until recently the only people I've known personally to have any tattoos on their faces were tattoo artists.

I know the lad that does my tattoos does question people getting this type of stuff done and tells them of the possible impact later on from it.

he's told me he's flat refused to tattoo faces on occasion too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Context is everything.
    A "normal" tattoo - of course, no problem.
    A swastika on their forehead - no, I'd probably leave them jog on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I prefer not to hire people that have poor judgement. If during the interview process you demonstrate signs of poor judgement then I will probably hire the other candidate, the one who doesn't appear to have poor judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

greenflash wrote: »
    I wouldn't not hire someone purely because they have tattoos. I would hire the right person for the job regardless of tattoos, piercings or any of the other trappings of individuals who promote their individuality by looking like every other individual out there.

You can say that all you want, but if your're running a white collar office and someone applies for a job and their face is covered in tattoos and have something stupid on the knuckles like Love/Hate then are you really saying that that wont be a consideration regardless of how nice they came across in an interview.

I have no problem with tattoos on anyone as long as theyre not visible when you're dressed for the office.

There are plenty of non office jobs where tattoos are a benefit eg. Pubs/clubs, entertainment industries. Anything that wants to be visually seen as edgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

If they've tattoos on their face, neck or hands then no I wouldn't hire them. On their arms or whatever, fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Iv always thought Tattoo's shouldn't be an issue if someone is qualified ,
    But then as someone has already said here it would make you think does the person have poor judgement, Everyone I know with hand or neck Tattoo regret them a few years later , but make the same mistake a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

GLaDOS wrote: »
    It's OK to discriminate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If i ran a brothel or a pirate ship I would have no problem with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Depends on the job, and the tattoos.

There's lots of hatred for hand tattoos in this thread which I'm surprised by, I know a good few people with tattoos on their wrists or on the edge of a finger and I wouldn't consider that a problem at all. Obviously a little different if it's LOVE HATE tattooed on knuckles! Same for tattoos on behind an ear or at the nape of your neck, I wouldn't see them as a problem. I do understand that face tattoos could be an issue many jobs, but that usually isn't important for the types of people that get face tattoos. Plus, some girls get their eyebrows tattooed now so there's that. :pac:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's OK to discriminate?

Based on visible tattoos, yes.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

If i ran a brothel or a pirate ship I would have no problem with it

Is being an inmate in a state correctional facility also considered employment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yesto24

Like everything it depends.
    Things like what the job is and where the tattoo is and what the tattoo is.
    I find nearly all tattoos on hands and fingers just look bad. I am not sure why.
    Another factor would be the quality of the tattoo, poor quality tattoos are a sign of poor judgment.
    Also what the tattoo looks like on you. A tattoo on a toned fit body looks way better that on a fat slab of meat. But again that comes down to good and poor judgment of the person with the tattoo and if hiring I want to hire a person who can make good choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

It's OK to discriminate?

Yeah, it's generally ok to discriminate based on things people have done as opposed to what they were born with.

And generally, it's not the employer as such, but what the employer knows the customers expect.

I'll be hiring a salesperson soon for a product I have spent over three years of my free time developing and have pinned all my hopes on. I'd have to be a right eejit to hire someone with tattoos everywhere and sent them schools to sell my product. I have tattoos, I don't care about tattoos, but people do, and it's my time and effort that went into creating the job, not the employee's.

If you want to put your life into a business, and risk it all based on your employee's freedom to tattoo their face, go ahead. Have fun throwing away your investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

You can say that all you want, but if your're running a white collar office and someone applies for a job and their face is covered in tattoos and have something stupid on the knuckles like Love/Hate then are you really saying that that wont be a consideration regardless of how nice they came across in an interview.

I have no problem with tattoos on anyone as long as theyre not visible when you're dressed for the office.

There are plenty of non office jobs where tattoos are a benefit eg. Pubs/clubs, entertainment industries. Anything that wants to be visually seen as edgy.

That is an 'if' though. I work in the engineering side of construction. If someone is qualified, experienced and able then they will be considered. Someone with "Erie 32" and an Ivory Coast flag on their forearm is probably not the right candidate in any situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I would bave thought getting your boyfriend's name tattood on your body, and his initials on your arm would imply that someone wasn't smart enough to think through the potential repercussions of their actions in your eyes, no?

Yet you said previously that that's what your girlfriend had when you took her on as an employee and subsequently a life partner.

The logic doesn't follow through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

If you owned a tattoo studio, would you hire someone without tattoos?;):D

I don't disagree with your original reasoning, that you could potentially lose clients if your employee has visible tattoos.

What I don't understand is equating it with intelligence and putting forward the idea that people with one kind of tattoo aren't smart enough to work with you but another type which, imo, is far worse, is not a measure of how smart they might be. The two dont correlate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Had mine done a few years ago, for work.

916.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Depends on the tattoo I mean if it was small/discrete then I'd have no issue with it but if it was on her hand or a big vulgar looking piece on her arm then no, she's not for me.

In answer to the OP.

It would depend entirely on the job and the tattoo.

I work in IT and hire staff. The sector I am is one filled with clients who would expect a particular "standard" so if I was hiring service desk staff who would be out facing clients then I would be hesitant in hiring someone with certain kinds of tattoos. If I was hiring behind the scenes guys then it would make no odds what the looked like. The same as I expect the guys going out and about to be dressed extremely smartly, the office based lads can wear what they like.

I have tattoos that I don't cover up in day to day in work, but can do easily if the need arises and would do at board meetings etc simply by virtue of the fact I would have a suit jacket on anyway.

I also got a tattoo of my boyfriend's name when I was 17. Total gobshyte move but sure we all did stupid things when we were younger and it certainly doesn't define my intelligence nowadays :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

Tattoos are really a sign of mental deficiency, loose moral standards and illegal drug usage. Why anyone would hire any person with one is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I feel like I know more about her than I do about my own friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Doltanian wrote: »
    Tattoos are really a sign of mental deficiency, loose moral standards and illegal drug usage. Why anyone would hire any person with one is beyond me.

Bs

Do you think it is a smart or intelligent decision to get someone's name permanently etched onto your body?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

if your a customer hiring someone like a tradesman then it doesn't matter once your happy.

if you are an employer then that person is representing the company and the boss.
    I hate tattoos but respect someone's right to have them.

I would not employ anyone with visible tattoos for any job. if they are well covered then ok that their choice.
    I would go as far as to say it should be in the contract that they cant get visible tattoos.

its the same as long hair dreadlocks, excessive piercings, stupid hair colours, etc.
    you have to look presentable to represent a company
    you cant do that if you don't respect the company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As others say, I'd question the overall life attitude of someone who got tattooed above the collarbone or above the wrists. It's possible to be tasteful, to get tattoos in these locations that aren't trashy, are meaningful and won't be filled with regret in a decade. But most of the time you end up looking like this guy who'll find himself unemployable at 40.

Face is another matter altogether. Nothing says, "I'm a complete psycho" like a tattooed face.

It's not about what clients will think, it's about what crazy sh1t you'll have to deal with if you hire someone who makes terrible long-term decisions like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

In what way?

I know two doctors, both have tattoos and one is a full sleeve. My ex boss was global head of revenue for a global media company and had several tattoos and had no issues.

Why would anyone hire them you ask? Well because they were top of their game in their respective fields!

A question for you, say you are about to have life saving open heart surgery and there is only one surgeon available but they are head to toe covered in ink, you cant see one bit of natural skin. They can save your life...

How do you proceed?Would you assume they have a mental deficiency, loose morals and a drug problem?

In what way?

In a narrow minded sheltered virgin kinda way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

lol
    i dont have any tats i must be none of them things

They were not always top of their game, it took a lot of training and dedication all the while with tattoos...

They started on the same level playing field as everyone else, moved past average to being top of their game! Tattoos did not hold them back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

frag420 wrote: »
    A question for you, say you are about to have life saving open heart surgery and there is only one surgeon available but they are head to toe covered in ink, you cant see one bit of natural skin. They can save your life...

How do you proceed?Would you assume they have a mental deficiency, loose morals and a drug problem?

Well there's only one surgeon available... If there were two, and all other things being equal, I'd go with the one who didn't have a spidersweb tattooed over his head.

c_man wrote: »
    Well there's only one surgeon available... If there were two, and all other things being equal, I'd go with the one who didn't have a spidersweb tattooed over his head.

But there isnt two, there is only one!!

But I will entertain your prejudice for a moment, what if the one with the spider web was No1 surgeon in the world and the other guy was not, he only qualified a few years ago...

Its life saving surgery!!

Do you let your prejudices get in the way of saving your life or would you take a risk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Most of the time it's easy enough to differentiate from the tattoo enthusiasts who range from being a bit 'new-agey and spiritual' to serious music aficionado's or the sort of respectable young guys who take on the sleeve-tattooed Premiership footballer look from the sort of Dublin Finglasesque types who'd have something a bit unsettling like a spiders web on their necks, the sort of tat's they tend to have look second rate as well.