Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland Racist ?

• 28-10-2017 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

Over Flogged topic right ?

I am immigrant and I have lived in Ireland for few years, and I believe the answer to that question is YES and NO at the same time.

I have certainly experienced racism, but more of institutional and subtle racism, being a black man myself, I have not really experienced anyone use the N-word on me, except in very freindly situations, so Irish people are not racist right ? (racism is NOT all about using the N-word, sadly racism is much more than that).

(institutional racism, like when I apply for a Job, and the human resource department looks at my name, and say to themselves, it does not sound Irish, so he will not be able to do the work, even though he may have a PhD and relevant work experience in the vacancy the are advertising for)
    I actually did this experiment, I use my name and applied for a job, I was not contacted, I then used an irish name and applied for the same job, I even removed some qualification, but I still received a mail to come in for interview, lol (not bad though, Citizens must be employed first, that's the right thing!!)

In my interactions with many Irish people, I have found out in particular that their main problem with immigrants, is that they feel we cheat the social welfare, this is the line I have heard over a million times, on how we (immigrants) are corrupting the welfare system, the funny thing about this is that, it is actually a conspiracy theory, a myth, with no empirical evidence.

Anytime I ask for evidence, I hear the usual narrative of 'my aunt works at the welfare office, she told me' 'my friend who stays in Limerick told me about this'

Ireland is a developed Country, with modern day sophisticated technology, and highly qualified and meticulous workers, I still wonder how people believe that some immigrants from 3rd world countries, with low quality education or no education at all, will come to Ireland, and outsmart YOU all, and CHEAT your GOVERNMENT, wow.

This myth of immigrants cheating the social welfare system, has helped formed prejudice amongst some Irish people towards the immigrant populace, very sad.
    so any person they see who is not from Ireland (even naturalized Irish citizens are not left out) , is certainly receiving some level of welfare support from the Government.

And sincerely I can't blame them for this, nobody will be happy that foreigners are scamming their Government, and getting unnecessary benefits, from Taxes and other revenues.
    But a little in depth research or investigation will help, but nobody has the time for that, all we know is go back to Africa, you are a scammer

Secondly, I believe 'some' Irish people have problems with black people, they can easily welcome other Race(s), but black is a big NO, will I blame them ? not actually...
    Prejudice once again, fallacy of hasty generalization not guided by first hand experience or empirical evidence.

The have probably heard tales of how black people are aggressive, criminals, more likely to be muslims (i don't see a problem in that), more likely to be scammers (Nigerian prince)
    so before meeting this black people, the already form an opinion that they (blacks) are not nice people.

People actually think any mail the receive from a Nigerian prince, king or princess is actually a Nigerian ???? Really ??
    I am from a neighbouring country to Nigeria, I know a lot about them, the are nearly 200 million in number, and You feel the are all sitting down in their lobby, trying to scam people ???
    I don't want to mention any particular country, but I am 100% sure of scammers in other nationalities (in Europe, Asia and America) who also uses 'I am a Nigerian prince' when the are trying to scam people online...
    but NO, any scammer on the internet is black and from Nigeria...

Another Issue, taking our JOBS, you took my JOB, you are making us jobless, how exactly ?
    I have been to various big companies/agencies in Ireland, you can hardly see any immigrant in any good position or any position at all, lol (except indians in the Information, computer and technology sector)

so I don't actually understand, or are you referring to your job we took in starbucks or the dishwasher in Mcdonalds, hahaha
    or taxi jobs we took in Dublin, limerick, cork and sligo..
    (I did not say these are not good jobs, there is dignity in labour)

Most of this issues stems from lack of holistic knowledge about the subject matter, people just jump on the train of assumption that immigrants have taken all the jobs in Ireland, when in truth and evidence, immigrants are actually the most underemployed in Ireland (which should not be sad, at least the are in Ireland making a living)

In my opinion about racism in Ireland, Ireland is the LEAST racist country, especially when compared to their countries like Poland, Russia, Ukraine, Germany, Saudi Arabia, etc

Now, the major question, why not go back to your country, if you feel you are not welcomed in Ireland, the sad truth is that no matter what some immigrants pass through in Ireland, it is still very much better when compared to their Country of origin, I am no hypocrite, neither I am trying to be politically correct, Ireland is certainly better than my own country in many aspects, though my own country is also better in some aspects.

So I am still here, LEGALLY, and not on any WELFARE scheme or free money, from the day I came into land, I have been paying for every single service I have used, be it food, transportation, tuition, rents, light bills, hospital bills, just name it, In fact as an immigrant I paid MORE tuition than Irish people or EU citizens, if the paid €7,000 for tuition, we are made to pay €14-15,000 for the same classes (is this bad ? NO, the Government probably subsidized the education fee for their citizens)

Do I hate Irish people ? certainly not, I have not been Lynched yet, lol...seriously Irish people are nice, I remember back then, when I was new in town, trying to locate some places, people were so happy to help me no matter how busy the were, the will even bring out google maps on their phone, just to explain to me, you cannot easily find that in my own country,

At the end of the day, many people don't give a damn about race or whatever orientation or religion you are, just be cool and nice

my British friend will say "he hates everyone equally", hahaha

Disclaimer, this was not meant to offend any person, agency or school of thought, this is my personal opinion, and does not represent the views of any race, group or agency, Country.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

TLDR.

we're a great bunch of lads btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

8DWOZ9k.gif

24cfb12b3fb39fe8593487b21f7b11740f5917c94f8e7646ab216b63ac174468.jpg

Another one where you just knew it was "Joined Oct 2017. Posts 1".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Is "Ireland" racist. Totally calling racism on that thread title!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 logical2019

Another one where you just knew it was "Joined Oct 2017. Posts 1".
    I don't understand..
    Are you saying because I just joined this month, I should not create a topic, what if it was creating this topic that made me join boards.ie ??

Is "Ireland" racist. Totally calling racism on that thread title!

read the narrative first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Some people are racist in Ireland and elsewhere. That's life.
    Ireland has anti-discrimination law, so no, Ireland is not racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

There are some very racist people in Ireland but also people who aren't racist at all. You just have to mention travellers to bring out the nasty side of some

Some people are racist in Ireland and elsewhere. That's life.
    Ireland has anti-discrimination law, so no, Ireland is not racist.
    Lol, so in your opinion any country that has a law against discrimination, does not discriminate..

Like USA has laws against gun violence, so people don't get shot in Chicago, because there is a law, lol ??

I don't understand..
    Are you saying because I just joined this month, I should not create a topic, what if it was creating this topic that made me join boards.ie ??

A long day's journey into night in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Plenty of lazy Irish cheat the system and bleed the workers of the country for what they can.

I'll put my head on the chopping board. My local town has almost an equal number of immigrants as Irish from every where. It's just the type of work there that draws them to factory's etc. I've worked in said factory's when I had too.

I don't judge them as I was one for five years when I lost my job in 2010 I packed my bags and left Ireland for work. I was treated fairly so I would do the same.

I hired some one last week. Put the job up and I got one cv in. ONE. Believe it or not we have a labour shortage at the moment and it's not from the lack of people but too many with either their Mam's tit to suck on or the governments.

What I really hate though is the immigrants from certain countries that get dropped off outside the factory. Work for a few days to get their pps number and walk into the social welfare office then clame everything from the weekly wage to a free house, medical cards everything. Mostly our pick pocket capital of the world people. They should be fu#ked out of the country.

If they want to come over and work and contribute to society that's fine. If you want to bleed the system then fuc# off. No irish go to any other countries and bleed the welfare. They work, that's why they are allowed to obtain visas for said countries.

Lol, so in your opinion any country that has a law against discrimination, does not discriminate..

Like USA has laws against gun violence, so people don't get shot in Chicago, because there is a law, lol ??

Ireland is the country, the state. It is not racist. Now, do you want to discuss some Irish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Some people are racist and some are not, there's your answer OP and you said it from the start.

There is no scheme or plan of the state for people from the 3rd world to move to Ireland to find work.
    Should there be one?
    Why should there be one?

Even though no scheme exists we have a strong Nigerian population in Ireland, as many Nigerians as Spanish people.
    Both Ireland and Spain are members of the EU and have trading links going back thousands of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

read the narrative first

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

There's a fine line between racism and having the crack but you don't know where that line is until you cross it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

It’s a very good post actually. Probably a bit too long op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Yes

imme wrote: »
    Some people are racist and some are not, there's your answer OP and you said it from the start.

There is no scheme or plan of the state for people from the 3rd world to move to Ireland to find work.
    Should there be one?
    Why should there be one?

Even though no scheme exists we have a strong Nigerian population in Ireland, as many Nigerians as Spanish people.
    Both Ireland and Spain are members of the EU and have trading links going back thousands of years.
    There should not be one, I support that.

But should there be equal opportunities for legally resident immigrants ? or should the be considered least/last ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Laugh all you like, I don't give a bollix.
    You obviously don't comprehend basic facts.
    Are there segregated restaurants,parks, public toilets enforced by laws in Ireland?
    People can be racist in Ireland, the state is factually not racist!

EPAndlee wrote: »
    There's a fine line between racism and having the crack but you don't know where that line is until you cross it

True, what you'll have banter with one lad, with him/her giving it back as good, could send another home crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Some of us don't see black or white...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

In my opinion about racism in Ireland, Ireland is the LEAST racist country, especially when compared to their countries like Poland, Russia, Ukraine, Germany, Saudi Arabia, etc

Plenty of lazy Irish cheat the system and bleed the workers of the country for what they can.

I'll put my head on the chopping board. My local town has almost an equal number of immigrants as Irish from every where. It's just the type of work there that draws them to factory's etc. I've worked in said factory's when I had too.

I don't judge them as I was one for five years when I lost my job in 2010 I packed my bags and left Ireland for work. I was treated fairly so I would do the same.

I hired some one last week. Put the job up and I got one cv in. ONE. Believe it or not we have a labour shortage at the moment and it's not from the lack of people but too many with either their Mam's tit to suck on or the governments.

What I really hate though is the immigrants from certain countries that get dropped off outside the factory. Work for a few days to get their pps number and walk into the social welfare office then clame everything from the weekly wage to a free house, medical cards everything. Mostly our pick pocket capital of the world people. They should be fu#ked out of the country.

If they want to come over and work and contribute to society that's fine. If you want to bleed the system then fuc# off. No irish go to any other countries and bleed the welfare. They work, that's why they are allowed to obtain visas for said countries.

What percentage of the immigrants cheat the system, and why can't the be easily identified, I have a PPS number, I did not get that through working in any factory for few days, as a student you can get a PPS number, that how I got mine, and I have never gone to claim anything, and I know many other immigrants like myself who are like me..

and saying NO irish goes anywhere in the world to bleed the system, is a bit myopic (no offense), do you have the statistics of every single Irish emigrant ??
    Do you know what every individual emigrant Irish person is doing ??

Believe it or not, there are few Irish people in my Country, most of them are in Top positions, screwing us along with our own government..

who is without sin, should cast the first stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Not enough in my opinion

Some of us don't see black or white...
    hahahahahaha..you are crazy and racist, lmao
    where did you get the picture from

hahahahahaha..you are crazy and racist, lmao
    where did you get the picture from

Your arrogant opinion??

Ever hear of the internet providing pictures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I find it very liberating to admit ones prejudices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

(institutional racism, like when I apply for a Job, and the human resource department looks at my name, and say to themselves, it does not sound Irish, so he will not be able to do the work, even though he may have a phd and relevant work experience in the vacancy the are advertising for
    Do they have PhDs back there in Asia?
    Also, people holding PhDs rarely find themselves applying for jobs, usually the jobs apply for them. Unless its that kind of PhD that only lands you in McD.

Laugh all you like, I don't give a bollix.
    You obviously don't comprehend basic facts.
    Are their segregated restaurants,parks, public toilets enforced by laws in Ireland?
    People can be racist in Ireland, the state is factually not racist!

No need getting angry or butthurt

Now you are talking about segregated parks and all that, where exactly does that happen again ??
    c'mon this is 2017, 21st century, hope you know Hitler is dead..

I am actually expecting you to give me more logical examples, but you are giving me shallow bases.
    next example you will give me will be, you telling me that there is no more slave trade or no more symbols saying "pets and niggas not allowed", lol

people make up a state, few Iraqis are terrorist, USA classified IRAQ as a terrorist state, does this mean that all Citizens of Iraq are terrorist ?
    Trump at a point gave them a travel ban ?

please note, I did not say Ireland is racist or not, but if you want to prove Ireland is not racist, you should talk about factual things, not telling me that there are no restricted parks, who does that now, even the most extreme Islamic countries don't really have such in this modern age

but if you want to prove Ireland is not racist
    I think it works the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭rustynutz

What percentage of the immigrants cheat the system, and why can't the be easily identified, I have a PPS number, I did not get that through working in any factory for few days, as a student you can get a PPS number, that how I got mine, and I have never gone to claim anything, and I know many other immigrants like myself who are like me..

and saying NO irish goes anywhere in the world to bleed the system, is a bit myopic (no offense), do you have the statistics of every single Irish emigrant ??
    Do you know what every individual emigrant Irish person is doing ??

Id say the reason he is so confident that Irish aren't screwing the system in other countries, is because there aren't any other countries that have a soft social welfare system like ours. But that's our governments fault, not immigrants. And I reckon more Irish people are screwing our system that foreigners.

Personally, I welcome anyone to our country that is here to work, and looking for a better life, and in my experience, the vast majority of immigrants fall into that category.

No need getting angry or butthurt

My my, a few hours in and newbie is getting brave.

He'll grow up to be big and strong. Or get carded within hours of his arrival...

I don't know the exact percentages but at a guess in my town less than %5. In fact I'd say less than Irish. But that %5 I'd love to see put back on a plain. They are easily identified but the country is too pc and to afraid of being labelled racist if they touch them. I wouldn't give a crap, I'd lob them out.

The few Irish you talk about I'm guessing are in CEO positions or like that for multinational company's? Guess what, they are multinational companies, they do it every where. Look at the pharmacy company's here or Facebook, no tax etc.

I am actually expecting you to give me more logical examples, but you are giving me shallow bases.
    next example you will give me will be, you telling me that there is no more slave trade or no more symbols saying "pets and niggas not allowed", lol

You do realise that we were slaves in our own country before? We were slaves trades across the water too. Plenty of signs once said No Irish need apply also? There was no famine, we were starved in our own country.

rustynutz wrote: »
    Id say the reason he is so confident that Irish aren't screwing the system in other countries, is because there aren't any other countries that have a soft social welfare system like ours. But that's our governments fault, not immigrants. And I reckon more Irish people are screwing our system that foreigners.

Personally, I welcome anyone to our country that is here to work, and looking for a better life, and in my experience, the vast majority of immigrants fall into that category.

nice write-up .
    Especially, when you said a VAST MAJORITY of immigrants, and you are actually right..

Believe me, Ireland has one of the best sets of immigrants, go to America, Italy, France etc, then you'll what some immigrants are doing, you'll be amazed..

Real crimes, killings, gang, raping, prostitution

all we hear in Ireland is the are taking our jobs, the cheat the welfare system
    Btw, I did not know the welfare system is very soft or easy to cheat, and as you rightly said, It is not the immigrants own doing, the Government should upgrade

Cordell wrote: »
    Do they have PhDs back there in Asia?
    Also, people holding PhDs rarely find themselves applying for jobs, usually the jobs apply for them. Unless its that kind of PhD that only lands you in McD.
    I am not from Asia.
    way blacker.
    So a PhD guarantees you a good Job, wow, when I thought I have seen it all, this line of thought comes along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Everyone is racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

(institutional racism, like when I apply for a Job, and the human resource department looks at my name, and say to themselves, it does not sound Irish, so he will not be able to do the work, even though he may have a phd and relevant work experience in the vacancy the are advertising for)
    I actually did this experiment, I use my name and applied for a job, I was not contacted, I then used an irish name and applied for the same job, I even removed some qualification, but I still received a mail to come in for interview, lol ( not bad though, Citizens must be employed first, that's the right thing!!)
    Are you an Irish citizen or have a work visa, and if so, does it say so on your CV? If the answer is no, be aware that by law the company has to show that they tried to employ an Irish citizen first, and then after that have to fill out lots of paperwork should the person not be a citizen, not be on a visa, etc.

People will take the easiest route, so if you supply them with the info at the top of the CV, you may get more job offers.

I am not from Asia.
    way blacker.
    So a Phd guarantees you a good Job, wow, when I thought I have seen it all, this line of thought comes along

As long as it's not arts then ya.

I am not from Asia.
    way blacker
    You're from Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Everyone is racist.

In which case do you think we could agree on a list of who we like and don't like as I can often get confused.

As long as it's not arts then ya.
    lol, seriously, I never this
    Btw
    I am actually employed..
    But open to upgrades

Cordell wrote: »
    You're from Donegal?
    I believe you're trolling..
    How on earth will I be from Donegal, I told you I am an immigrant and I am black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭penno

I would like to think the Irish are not racist.
    If you are from another culture that is very different to ours then it's fair to say it will be a lot harder for you to fit in. We will make efforts to welcome you, respect your values/beliefs/customs but we will find it hard to 'get you' and this leaves an immigrant feeling like they don't really belong.
    For the first time ever we have not too many but thankfully a few young adults who are of African/Asian/East Euro descent and they are wonderfully Irish, with loud Dublin accents, enjoying the craic and while they have weird hard to pronounce surnames and still look foreign they are as Irish as a bottle of Jemmy and thankfully so.
    I guess I am trying to say that if a person decides for whatever reason to live in another country the onus is an them to make the effort to integrate and fit in, and while it is very hard (having very little in common/limited English etc) it's not that they are not wanted or looked down on, it's more to do with fitting in.
    Just keep saying "you're grand" and "I will in me arse" and nobody will know the difference.

the_syco wrote: »
    Are you an Irish citizen or have a work visa, and if so, does it say so on your CV? If the answer is no, be aware that by law the company has to show that they tried to employ an Irish citizen first, and then after that have to fill out lots of paperwork should the person not be a citizen, not be on a visa, etc.

People will take the easiest route, so if you supply them with the info at the top of the CV, you may get more job offers.
    I know this, You are actually right, I actually had to edit my CV, and put this in

But most people can't get a work visa if the don't have a work/job offer, so how does the company expect them to have a work visa ?
    when nobody will employ them, because the don't want to fill any paper work, really sad

I believe you're trolling..
    Takes one to know one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

I must say it was rather enjoyable to read some first hand experience rather than what we normally have around here which is two groups batting the same tired arguments at each other, back and forth, until we all get tired. I'd comment more but I'm too exhausted at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog