Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clocks going back early

• 26-10-2017 12:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭

So I have an old radio alarm clock on my bedside table which adjusts to/from daylight savings time automatically. So sometime overnight it went all Game of Thrones and decided that winter was here and put itself an hour back, two days early. Did this happen to anyone else?

I believe the function is controlled by a radio signal. Not sure who looks after that in Ireland, RTE? Did someone **** up or did this just happen to my piece of junk?

Fortunately, I had my alarm set on my phone and not the bedside clock so despite some initial bleary-eyed confusion, I managed not to be late for work.

Exciting stuff, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

I checked out npl.co.uk who would be responsible for the signal in the British Isles, but there doesn't seem to be any mention of an issue on their site.

http://www.npl.co.uk/science-technology/time-frequency/products-and-services/time/msf-radio-time-signal

I looked at their twitter @NPL too, but nothing!

I have a few RC clocks at home, but won't be able to see if they are wrong until later this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

My clock radio is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Yes. Alarm bells are ringing.

branie2 wrote: »
    My clock radio is fine

His clock might be ok. It seems like the satellite is not working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

The clocks went back last Saturday 28th Oct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

marcbrophy wrote: »
    I checked out npl.co.uk who would be responsible for the signal in the British Isles, but there doesn't seem to be any mention of an issue on their site.

http://www.npl.co.uk/science-technology/time-frequency/products-and-services/time/msf-radio-time-signal

I looked at their twitter @NPL too, but nothing!

I have a few RC clocks at home, but won't be able to see if they are wrong until later this evening!

Where is this? I do not recognise this term.

Time to bring back Dublin Mean Time, which was Irish time until 1916 until that, too, went the way of other distinctive Irish things under the British Act of Union/colonisation.

Better still bring in some new EU time just to make the eejits feel more under siege.

Time to bring back Dublin Mean Time, which was Irish time until 1916

Yes. But just the 26 counties. The UK can stay in their own Time Zone.

#Hard Border

Time to bring back Dublin Mean Time, which was Irish time until 1916 until that, too, went the way of other distinctive Irish things under the British Act of Union/colonisation.

Better still bring in some new EU time just to make the eejits feel more under siege.

Dublin mean time applied, I assume, to Dublin only.

I like DST, we gain evening sunlight and we have plenty in the morning in Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Central European time would suit us better, Sundown nearly 11PM in the Summer and be done with stupid sun up time at 5AM

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

murpho999 wrote: »
    Where is this? I do not recognise this term.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_islands_of_the_British_Isles

440px-British_Isles_all.svg.png

It's not a political reference btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Should be renamed the British and Irish Isles in my opinion.

recyclebin wrote: »

The Irish and British Isles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

I speak to a few Americans and I'm always a little surprised and amused that some of them think that Ireland is near London :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    The Irish and British Isles.

Britain and Ireland/Ireland and Britain. Everyone knows they are ****ing islands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

recyclebin wrote: »

it's not an official term for anything anywhere either way so I wouldn't get too worried about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I like Irish Isles.

Let's go with that.

Anyway - clocks back - fine. Clocks ought to go forward at end of Feb though, not March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Of course it’s a political reference. Otherwise why would the Channel Islands (just off the French coast) be included?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Of course it’s a political reference. Otherwise why would the Channel Islands (just off the French coast) be included?

what do you mean by political reference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Shup ye gowls, the lot of ye! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Are we putting the clocks back or changing the name of something ?

I'm thinking Sky Sports Land or maybe Orchard Thief Islands.

That's what people always say but it's 100% politically loaded.

People say it's a 'geographical term" but it was coined by the British when they ruled here.

It would be like calling the Iberian peninsula " The Spanish Peninsula" or Scandanavia 'The Swedish Peninsula". That doesn't happen.

British Isles.... It's not a political reference btw.

Well, let's see, the Irish people misruled over for centuries by the British state and its army in the name of that same British state and British monarch, and "British Isles", a term which can only be dated in the English language to the year 1577 when an English imperialist named John Dee claimed ownership of Ireland for the Tudor crown (i.e. it's political in origin), is not political after all that? It's just a harmless name which suddenly has no imperialist/supremacist/jingoistic connotations? How magically convenient to try and normalise the jingoistic terminology of British colonial rule in Ireland. Is the Swastika also still some harmless ancient Asian symbol of good fortune, or do you accept that political events have changed its meaning?

I've yet to meet any Irish person in real life who A) uses the term "British Isles" or B) uses the term and is not a poppy-wearing, Brexit-supporting arch apologist for the thugs and thuggery of the British Empire in Ireland and across this planet.

British Isles naming dispute

stimpson wrote: »
    Britain and Ireland/Ireland and Britain. Everyone knows they are ****ing islands.

I was just joking. Don't be an a22hole like some kind of english person or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Steve F wrote: »
    I speak to a few Americans and I'm always a little surprised and amused that some of them think that Ireland is near London :0)

Relative to American cities, it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

People say it's a 'geographical term" but it was coined by the British when they ruled here.

It would be like calling the Iberian peninsula " The Spanish Peninsula" or Scandanavia 'The Swedish Peninsula". That doesn't happen.

Who cares? Are we REALLY not past this 800 years stuff yet?

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Don't you feckin' start , the Poppy thread is just around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Another riveting, thought provoking thread ruined.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Of course we're not, look at how the island is still partitioned.

Also wanting to have our island's Irish identity recognised as it warrants is nothing to do with an 800 year hang up.

Have you never been abroad where 95% of people think we're British?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Did your mammy not tell to stop messing with your Time Machine ... :D

Who cares ? , I don't lose sleep over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Of course we're not, look at how the island is still partitioned.

Also wanting to have our island's Irish identity recognised as it warrants is nothing to do with an 800 year hang up.

Have you never been abroad where 95% of people think we're British?

We're a small island on the edge of Europe. Despite the "everyone loves the Irish" notion, it's not surprising most people abroad aren't aware of the internal politics.

As for partition itself.. it happened in a different age when conquest of the weak by the strong and the seizing of territory by force WAS politics, and it happened all over the world. If fate had been different, are you telling me that the Irish of those days wouldn't have done the same?

Besides, I'd rather peace and relative stability in the North than the days of the Troubles, wouldn't you, and isn't there a clause in the Good Friday Agreement to allow for a change in the current status of NI should the majority wish it? Yet successive opinion polls show more in favour of remaining in the UK.

The better question though is how this is at all relevant to a thread about the clocks going back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Unbelievable - even a query about clocks going back becomes a republican issue after about 6 posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

begbysback wrote: »
    Unbelievable - even a query about clocks going back becomes a republican issue after about 6 posts

Remember to set your clock back 800 years.

Not your ornery onager

topper75 wrote: »
    I like Irish Isles.

Let's go with that.

Anyway - clocks back - fine. Clocks ought to go forward at end of Feb though, not March.

Absolutely. 5 months makes no sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

Horribly offensive map

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Horribly offensive map

I'm seeing red too.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭youreadthat

Horribly offensive map

I know, poor doggerland. #neverforget

The terms “British isles” is as offensive as the Irish Sea or English Channel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

The terms “British isles” is as offensive as the Irish Sea or English Channel.

Seas are not sovereign territory.

Would be ok to call the Netherlands “Nazi-Netherlands”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Steve F wrote: »

How ridiculous, everyone knows London is near Leitrim.

What’s your feeling about Clocks going back early, though?

NAZI CLOCKS IN GOING BACK EARLY OUTRAGE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Etc

No, it would be just fcuking stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Horribly offensive map

Hahaha, not getting much support in your other thread, so you came here for companionship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Well, let's see, the Irish people misruled over for centuries by the British state and its army in the name of that same British state and British monarch, and "British Isles", a term which can only be dated in the English language to the year 1577 when an English imperialist named John Dee claimed ownership of Ireland for the Tudor crown (i.e. it's political in origin), is not political after all that? It's just a harmless name which suddenly has no imperialist/supremacist/jingoistic connotations? How magically convenient to try and normalise the jingoistic terminology of British colonial rule in Ireland. Is the Swastika also still some harmless ancient Asian symbol of good fortune, or do you accept that political events have changed its meaning?

I've yet to meet any Irish person in real life who A) uses the term "British Isles" or B) uses the term and is not a poppy-wearing, Brexit-supporting arch apologist for the thugs and thuggery of the British Empire in Ireland and across this planet.

British Isles naming dispute
    Didn't Dee coin the term 'British Empire' in the same work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

#sed -i 's/\OPTIONS="u\b/& -x/' /etc/sysconfig/ntpd

#service ntpd restart
    Your server should be grand after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

circadian wrote: »
    #sed -i 's/\OPTIONS="u\b/& -x/' /etc/sysconfig/ntpd

#service ntpd restart
    Your server should be grand after that.

I love how appropriate (in a way) your username is to this thread :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Cry all you want about it, but the British Isles is the widely known and accepted form and that will never change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭alan1963

Cry all you want about it, but the British Isles is the widely known and accepted form and that will never change.
    the term used these days is"These islands".