Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Agros - Fraudulent selling

• 17-10-2017 2:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wintertime

Hi there, Looking for some advice. Ordered something through the Agros website and got a reservation number. Went to collect it today (could collect yesterday, today or tomorrow) and they didn't have it. Spoke to the manager and he said that they had no stock and no stock was ever assigned to my reservation number. In my book that is FRAUD if you are selling an item you don't have in stock. I was told to re order but as i had got this item at a discount I would miss this discount if I have to re order. I am also very annoyed having to travel to their shop which also cost me time and money. I believe they have a duty to honour this reservation!

Who should I report this to? Argos doesn't have a head office here in Ireland which is also a bit weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Forget about it and move on. Invitation to treat and all that, nothing you can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Fraud?

If the item is not in stock they can't sell it.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

wintertime wrote:
    Hi there, Looking for some advice. Ordered something through the Agros website and got a reservation number. Went to collect it today (could collect yesterday, today or tomorrow) and they didn't have it. Spoke to the manager and he said that they had no stock and no stock was ever assigned to my reservation number. In my book that is FRAUD if you are selling an item you don't have in stock. I was told to re order but as i had got this item at a discount I would miss this discount if I have to re order. I am also very annoyed having to travel to their shop which also cost me time and money. I believe they have a duty to honour this reservation!

I'd have someone qualified look at that book of yours. It's not fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

OP
    fraud
    frɔːd/Submit
    noun
    wrongful or criminal deception intended to result in financial or personal gain.
    "he was convicted of fraud"

You reserved something and they had a stock issue (or whatever way they want to call it). You didnt pay for it. As above it was an invitation to treat - Nothing more. It is far from fraud. It is annoying but far from fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

fraud is deliberate deception to secure unfair or unlawful gain, or to deprive a victim of a legal right.

Not having something in stock is not fraud...

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

what's your (book's) definition of "fraud"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭fdevine

Wrong place to bring up the matter in any case but as others have rightly stated; this is not fraud. It's an inconvenience to you but nothing more.

Also nothing at all "weird" about a UK company not having a head office or any office in the ROI.

Suck it up and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Wrong forum! Try consumer issues - where you'll also be told this isn't fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭marko99

Even if you're not a lawyer, you could just check a dictionary before losing the run of yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Why did you post this in bargain alerts ? It belongs in consumer affairs.

And as stated, it happened. Move on.

I mean it's not fraud but I'd be ticked off if I successfully reserved an item and made the trip and they just shrug at me. If there's no stock it shouldn't have gone through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Fraud?

LOL

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

wintertime wrote: »

Who should I report this to? Argos doesn't have a head office here in Ireland which is also a bit weird.

Oh dear, oh dear,
    Step away from the keyboard and stop showing yourself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Argos terms and conditions which you agreed too when you used the website.
    4. Payment
    4.1 We take payment from your card at the time we receive your order, once we have checked your card details and stock availability. Goods are subject to availability. In the event that we are unable to supply the goods, we will inform you of this as soon as possible. A full refund will be given where you have already paid for the goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

As per your title post, you need to chill out, no need for the Agro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭cavemeister

It's not fraud.
    Poor stock management at best but not fraud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭etselbbuns

OheMGe. Call the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

etselbbuns wrote: »
    OheMGe. Call the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau immediately!

There's two e's in "Gee" caller. Can't see how this would cause any confusion. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

It would be annoying as hell to travel a long way for something though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Yeah and was probably worthwhile discount for the OP to travel for. But its not the first time this has happened with Argos - the Argos Chat thread would have many examples of it. But as its been said annoying, but definitely not fraud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Ok while it isn't fraud, if the item is in stock at the higher price Argos should (and have before) sell it to you at the lower price if you have proof of that price, which is why you should always take a screenshot of the price you're reserving the item at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's a pain in the arse, it's a mistake, but it's hardly a scam now.

They didn't have it to give you, but they also didn't charge you for it.
    Not being charged for something you didn't get is not anybodys definition of fraud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

January wrote: »
    Ok while it isn't fraud, if the item is in stock at the higher price Argos should (and have before) sell it to you at the lower price if you have proof of that price, which is why you should always take a screenshot of the price you're reserving the item at.

Technically (and legally for the OP) they don't have to sell at the lower price, but they have a history of goodwill on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭fdevine

Absolutely, but it's not fraud. Complete overreaction from OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭etselbbuns

OP, you need to call the Joe Duffy Show about this travesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Why does everyone pull out the scam or fraud card these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Jeez.... First World Problems!!

(I love that term!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Well, I personally wouldn't buy anything in Agros. It's obviously a fake Argos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Firstly. I isn't fraud.
    Second. This isn't a bargain alert.
    Finally. You may want to consider an anger management course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

wintertime wrote:
    . I was told to re order but as i had got this item at a discount I would miss this discount if I have to re order. I am also very annoyed having to travel to their shop which also cost me time and money. I believe they have a duty to honour this reservation!

More than once I've gone into argos with a reservation after they sold out at the normal price and put the price back up. I explained I had reserved at the discounted price, they checked and gave me the items at that price.

So go back again when it is in stock but keep the whinging tone at bay as they are usually very good unless you become awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

January wrote: »

They don't even have to sell it at the current price if don't they want to, invitation to treat can be refused by either party, but that would defeat the purpose of being a shop.

What should the store do if the OP had reserved at a higher price than the current price, should they insist that it's bought at the reserved price?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

bluewolf wrote: »
    I mean it's not fraud but I'd be ticked off if I successfully reserved an item and made the trip and they just shrug at me. If there's no stock it shouldn't have gone through
    Happened to me last year when I went up to Newry for an item I thought I had reserved. Complete PITA but certainly not fraud. Ended up buying on Amazon.

I know the company very well. I know they have invested massively in improving their stock management systems. Alas there is always a human element when they are picking stock and no system is ever completely foolproof.

Having said I know them very well (and know a number of their most senior management) it's put me off them. I'll head back in at some stage to see if they have improved but ultimately bad customer service loses custom.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Their HQ is in Milton Keynes. I would suggest contacting customer services there and explain the issue. They are under new ownership now and are part of the Sainsbury group. Both businesses know the importance of good customer service and you may well get some kind of goodwill gesture from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

LOL.. Get a proper solicitor ...Ohhh wait you dont need one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

jimmynokia wrote: »
    LOL.. Get a proper solicitor ...Ohhh wait you dont need one.

Jaysus, if the OP hasn't realized he doesn't have a case from the previous 30 posts I don't think adding to this will make any difference.

Can the mods please lock or move this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

wintertime wrote: »
    In my book that is FRAUD if you are selling an item you don't have in stock.
    In my book that's manslaughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Suggesting people pretend (or FRAUDulently claim) they have breathing problems to skip a queue in kdoc - now that's plain dishonest.

OP should looks at oneself before throwing stones at others

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104704466

eeguy wrote: »
    Jaysus, if the OP hasn't realized he doesn't have a case from the previous 30 posts I don't think adding to this will make any difference.

Can the mods please lock or move this?
    Only seen the thread now so adding my thoughts I am entitled to it or are you going to be a keyboard warrior/backseat mod and sue me??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Only seen the thread now so adding my thoughts I am entitled to it or are you going to be a keyboard warrior/backseat mod and sue me??

Two days off school and you think you can take on the world ;)

eeguy wrote: »
    Two days off school and you think you can take on the world ;)
    Grow up..:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

You spelled it wrong

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

To be fair if you order something off Agros you've only yourself to blame..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

colm18 wrote:
    To be fair if you order something off Agros you've only yourself to blame..

Luckily he tried to buy off Argos, I've heard Agros though are a shower of cnuts to deal with. ; )