Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you stay inside?

• 16-10-2017 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

Did you heed the advise today?

Did you stay indoors 69 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 69 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

Feck no I had a days work to do. Mind you I'm a plumber and not a farmer and was in other people's houses today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

nope , milked cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Be honest! I heard of a few lads today that were either clearing roads or working as normal.

In 2014 I was stupidly out in the hight of the storm clearing road. It got fairly scary . One stage I saw a tree up the road come down . I got in quickly and said never again .

Today I stayed well inside once I had things sorted by 11. Saw a tree down blocking the road but left it there till it claimed down at 2.30

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 152 ✭✭Karangue

Stayed in bed with herself till 4 o clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I cleared a tree from the neighbours drive to let him in and out.
    Then I cleared a big ash tree that blocked the road. In between I tidied up anything around the place that took flight. Not much thankfully, a few small things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Was in work till Twelve-ish. Then in and out for a bit till about four. Then I went for a snooze!
    Still a bit windy out but it’s safe enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Heard Midwives Ireland are dreading July 2018 .... their of thinking this was duvet day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

In by 10.30am this morning. Had done some preparing Saturday

Had to head out to "save" a large shed door.

Wasn't on the road at all till I walked to neightbour this evening so see was she ok. But it wind had died at that stage

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Fed, checked cattle, pulled/shoved trees off the roads twice.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just fed and checked a few cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Stayed in from 10:30-5. Checked cattle and on smaller animals and on the brother and his family.

We didn't get the extreme high wind storm at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Same as above just kept a check on the place and sorted the cattle with a bit of meal.

Thankfully the dept of ed has decided I can stay in tomorrow too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Heard Midwives Ireland are dreading July 2018 .... their of thinking this was duvet day

You mean something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭dzer2

Had to go into work for a few hours. Came back to trees down on road. Finished that by 6pm got a phone call at 7.30 from a neighbour he wanted help removing one on his drive. 3 more down on road between us. its like armegedon here.

dzer2 wrote: »
    Had to go into work for a few hours. Came back to trees down on road. Finished that by 6pm got a phone call at 7.30 from a neighbour he wanted help removing one on his drive. 3 more down on road between us. its like armegedon here.

Not one tree fell here

Reggie. wrote: »
    Not one tree fell here

Life is just perfect in Reggie world.

Karangue wrote: »
    Life is just perfect in Reggie world.

Nope I'm raging actually.

Wanted abit of firewood. Westmeath coco went on abit of a mad one after the last storm in 2014 and directed all landowners to remove any dangerous trees from the roadside after a woman was killed by a tree.

I'd say that's why there's very little trees down around this area.

Fell a tree if you want firewood. If you are depending on windfall for firewood then ditch the chainsaw. You will become another death statistic.

Nope as you need permission to do that and i won't just cut down a tree for the sake of it.

Why do you think I'll become another death statistic if I rather cut up fallen trees over healthy or non dangerous ones?

Have you city and guilds to deal with wind blown trees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Oh Lord Jesus

Permission from whom or do you mean a felling license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Give it a rest Jack....

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Oh Lord Jesus

Lord Jesus is right, one family is without a father tonight after dying dealing with a wind blown tree today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

City and guilds oh dear 😂

City and guilds as in a qualification in dealing with wind blown trees. Oviously we are dealing with heroes here so drive on lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Minimal jobs outdoors today.
    Seen stock and fed meal, left them to it.

Working from home so paperwork most of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Picked the old pair up from the airport after checking stock. Got home at 1 and waited it out till 5. Had a scout round and cleared some branches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Picked the old pair up from the airport after checking stock. Got home at 1 and waited it out till 5. Had a scout round and cleared some branches

Your mother and father I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Took a tour out around 6 to check if there was any trees down blocking the road. None luckily. I've met more traffic at 4 in the morning than rush hour today :P

Give it a rest Jack....

Ok Mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: Karangue, stop posting in this thread. You have made your point and it's time to move on!

Buford

Ok will do Butford T justice n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I cleared a tree from the neighbours drive to let him in and out.
    Then I cleared a big ash tree that blocked the road. In between I tidied up anything around the place that took flight. Not much thankfully, a few small things.

Fair play to you and anyone else that did clearing like this. Very brave and civic minded, your community must value you so much with those skills, knowledge and machinery.

Sadly one of the three lives lost was tragically a like minded brave soul clearing fallen trees from a road with a chainsaw, so although, I don't live rural I do appreciate your efforts and I'm sure your community sees you as lifesavers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

worst of the weather around me was forecast from 12-3pm. Was inside for this period. Was at work for a few hours am, checked cattle from 3.30-5pm. Kids returned to college thsi evening after 6pm. Both texted everything ok a few hours ago. Was called into work for a few hours this evening. But home now and off to the leaba.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Spent the day in the pub along with half the parish, great country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Stayed in for the worst of it here.was just after putting in silage and a tree from a neighbours ditch narrowly missed two cars.went out with tractor and hauled it off the road straight away.stayed in till 5 to do milking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

went for a walk on my local beach around 3pm , quite spectacular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

BoatMad wrote: »
    went for a walk on my local beach around 3pm , quite spectacular

Fair play to you! Can't have been easy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Fed everything and checked everything and closed up all the gates and got petrol. Stayed in between 1 till 4.30, played cards and that. Had a drive around the roads to see if anything was down. Then headed to the pub for the night.