Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget - motor tax

• 10-10-2017 9:05am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭

Any rumblings on Motor tax changing or will they leave it alone?

A reduction would be a great thing, not a hope of that I don't think... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Tax seems set to be left alone, including the price of fuel.
    Not surprised cigarettes have been targeted again, 50c is quite a jump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭FUBO

and all the neigh sayers saying car tax on diesels will jump not a chance was that gonna happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Would seem il be keeping both my diesel cars in this house with my cheap tax/fuel then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

Unless our hauliers are going to change to electric vehicles, diesel is not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

I see they're increasing the incentives for electric cars by offering 0% BIK for company car owners and €17m in grants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I wonder if the grants have gone up in value per vehicle, or if there is just more of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Pity they wouldn't drop the rate for Barges..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Truckermal wrote: »
    Pity they wouldn't drop the rate for Barges..!

Agreed, we have a fantastic and under-utilised canal network :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I see they're increasing the incentives for electric cars by offering 0% BIK for company car owners and €17m in grants

Which is in itself a nonsense, most company car drivers would be putting up the sort of mileage that wouldn't lend itself to having to stop to fill the car with electricity several times along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

40% income tax bracket increased €750, better than nothing I guess. The €33k bracket is very low. I never see anyone talking about it, it's €50-70k in a lot of other EU countries. You'd swear a 30k grand salary was big money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Which is in itself a nonsense, most company car drivers would be putting up the sort of mileage that wouldn't lend itself to having to stop to fill the car with electricity several times along the way.

There's a load of drivers who could have company cars but take a cash allowance rather than pay BIK, as they do feck all mileage.

Definition of electric vehicle that qualifies needs to be clarified. Probably just 0 emission vehicles but there's still a hope that ULEV might qualify, and that brings interesting useful vehicles in to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

We are ok for now but not exactly out of the woods yet.

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/legislative-train/theme-resilient-energy-union-with-a-climate-change-policy/file-co2-emissions-standards-for-cars-and-vans

When the EU decide on this our bright sparks will use it to make sure they can protect revenues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

R.O.R wrote: »
    There's a load of drivers who could have company cars but take a cash allowance rather than pay BIK, as they do feck all mileage.

Definition of electric vehicle that qualifies needs to be clarified. Probably just 0 emission vehicles but there's still a hope that ULEV might qualify, and that brings interesting useful vehicles in to play.

A read an article (will try and find it) that a group comprising of the revenue, SEAI etc., will be set up to advice on allowing hybrids to be incentivized. But any recommendations will be for 2019 budget.

Edit: Correction it was about a more comprehensive review of BIK
    In his speech the Minister for Finance, Paschal Donohoe, said the move will allow time for a comprehensive review of BIK on motor vehicles in time for the next budget.

R.O.R wrote: »

I can see the 0% for 0 emissions yokes being accompanied with a 10% flat rate for plug in hybrids etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

I'm just waiting for used Tesla S to drop in price.