Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fireworks

• 05-10-2017 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭

Just chatting about fireworks and where you can get them up the north.
    Lad said there was a factory/premises selling them in Enniskillen and it may have a mechanics garage attached or beside it does this ring any bells with anyone?

Any supermarkets selling them or is that just in the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

nice try copper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 DodgerOfSheep

From what I've heard, they sell them on the side of the road once you cross the border; especially this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Der Stier

But can you take them back across the border ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You get them on Moore Street off the aul ones selling the chocalit baaaaaars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Moore street, thomas street, chinese phone shops etc.. You don't have to go north. Fella knocks around here door to door every year selling them actually hasn't been around yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

walking home earlier this week and someone drove past me and threw a firework at me. Next time it happens I'll ask where they got them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭JonnyM

Grayson wrote: »
    walking home earlier this week and someone drove past me and threw a firework at me. Next time it happens I'll ask where they got them.

Or just pick it up next time and see what it says on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

All Fireworks banned in the ROI since the late 60s.

Black market fireworks available at this time of year in Moore Street, Dublin (at a price)!

Only real way to get your hands on them is to travel up North & smuggle them back across the border, otherwise travel by ferry to Britain & fill up your car boot.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

And a fine day to you too, Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Der Stier wrote: »

They are illegal in Republic of Ireland so what do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

You can fire them across. Only problem is they aren't up to much then when you collect them on the other side:D

Just stick them in the boot and drive home - it's not a bazooka you're buying, what exactly do you think is going to happen!

nice try copper

You got me there. I'll have to set up another account... beware!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

There is a reason they are banned here. I love it when one of you incondsiderate pricks lose your sight or worse. **** you and your fireworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

You can but it's illegal and customs will lift them off you if your caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Where is this customs or border you lads are all talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

LordSutch wrote: »
    All Fireworks banned in the ROI since the late 60s.

Black market fireworks available at this time of year in Moore Street, Dublin (at a price)!

Only real way to get your hands on them is to travel up North & smuggle them back across the border, otherwise travel by ferry to Britain & fill up your car boot.

Good luck.

a car boot packed with fireworks on a ferry

Sure what could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

RustyNut wrote: »

The law changed a while back too. They now have the power to seize your car.

Be warned.

Tzardine wrote: »
    The law changed a while back too. They now have the power to seize your car.

Be warned.

There's no more room for any more guards in this thread!

Rick Shaw wrote: »

You could get a flat tyre and have to take all the fireworks out of the boot to get at the spare tyre and sure everybody would see you had fireworks then and want some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

GreeBo wrote: »
    Where is this customs or border you lads are all talking about?
    https://goo.gl/maps/FKUfxWBu6uC2
    When you cross the river, you've crossed the border.

=-=

OP, drive 5km past the border, get your fireworks, and drive back another route. If you come back the same route, you'll be stopped by the Gardai.

Also, if you buy fireworks near enough to the border, the Gardai will see you, and stop you when you come back into the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There are no systematic customs checks at the border. You'd have to be unlucky to be stopped. Even then if you keep the stuff in a sportsbag covered with clothes the chances of them bothering to go through your stuff is minimal. Customs only want to catch people with vans full of booze and boots filled with fireworks.
    LordSutch wrote: »
    Are they still though? Certainly up to the 90s they were sold openly in the Moore St area and they were everywhere. Dublin on Halloween used sound like a warzone between 4pm and 2am.
    The Gardai seemed to crack down on it then and there was very little fireworks on Halloween during the boom. Does seem to be making a bit of a comeback now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

the_syco wrote: »

=-=

OP, drive 5km past the border, get your fireworks, and drive back another route. If you come back the same route, you'll be stopped by the Gardai.

Also, if you buy fireworks near enough to the border, the Gardai will see you, and stop you when you come back into the Republic.

When was the last time you saw an actual border between the two countries rather than a geographical border?

There isnt even a feckin line on the ground anymore, never mind customs or Gardai.

Where are these Gardai that are going to watch what route people take and pull them over...because I've never seen them despite many trips up to Newry...maybe there were taking a break from hiding in the trees when I went by...or you could be scaremongering out your ar$e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Friend told me he tried to buy some in a shop in Derry last year. The assistant asked for ID as proof of age and when he produced his driving licence informed him they weren't allowed to sell to people from "the south".

the_syco wrote: »

=-=

Trolling level: Expert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I used to buy them from travelers in fairyhouse market then sell them on to the parents on my estate.

It was funny having grown men knock on the door of a 14 year old to buy the stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

There is a reason they are banned here. I love it when one of you incondsiderate pricks lose your sight or worse. **** you and your fireworks.

It's funny though that those reasons don't apply in the north, or in the UK isn't it?
    It's almost as if they aren't actually good reasons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Yeah whatever grandma. Guess who's gaff is getting egged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Rick Shaw wrote: »

You could be unlucky, with Customs picking your car 'at random' to check.

Filled many a car boot with firework selection boxes back in my youff.

Might/might not take a trip across the border this year?

Would love my kids to experience them (from a distance).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Lets see here. Quiet September. Ploughing championships. Illegal Fireworks everywhere just in time for October.

Say nutin ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

your car seized and a 3k fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 DodgerOfSheep

Just because some idiots don't know how to handle fireworks doesn't mean the whole country shouldn't have access to them. They should be illegal for kids, but adults should be able to decide if they want to use them. I'd swear the irish government would try and ban sharp edges if they could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

You sound like a lovely person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

When was the last time you saw an actual border between the two countries rather than a geographical border?
    Was a few decades ago, when the UK army was at them.
    There isnt even a feckin line on the ground anymore, never mind customs or Gardai.
    Pretty much the same when driving from France to Italy.
    Where are these Gardai that are going to watch what route people take and pull them over...because I've never seen them despite many trips up to Newry
    https://goo.gl/maps/wUMKmL4VcLy
    People would drive up in the two weeks before Halloween, get their fireworks at the first place that sold them off the R132/B113, and drive back. It was shooting fish in a barrel at the time, but don't know if it's still watched. If you went up at any other time apart from October, you'd be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You need to be a better border fox than Dessie O'Hare himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

G C Battery Works,
    Just off the Enniskillen to Belfast road, close to the Maguiresbridge junction.

Robert (or George) Coulter are the lads, they are the registered licenced dealer for Co. Fermanagh, and also has a company that puts on public displays, weddings etc.
    100% legal to buy off him, you could buy by the pallet if you liked.

https://www.facebook.com/gcbatteryworks/

Illegal to bring back to the South though.
    As with many things, banned here in case they were bought and used to make pipe bombs etc, and possibly used to overthrow the Government. (Ammonium Nitrate agri fertilizer is another such banned product)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

JonnyM wrote: »
    Just chatting about fireworks and where you can get them up the north.
    Lad said there was a factory/premises selling them in Enniskillen and it may have a mechanics garage attached or beside it does this ring any bells with anyone?

Any supermarkets selling them or is that just in the UK?

See post above....

This Government page lists all Registered Licenced sellers in N.I. by county.

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/fireworks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I saw them for sale on facebook a few weeks ago. They were basically travelling around to different town and I think you met them in a car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Pro tip : don't set off fireworks while drunk.

A bloke I know got hit by a rocket that he set off while drunk.
    I got burnt , I mean he got burnt on his face and ears were ringing for three days afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

You can fire them across. Only problem is they aren't up to much then when you collect them on the other side:D

The trick is to attach extra fuse, light them lying down.
    Drive a hundred or so metres down the road in the car and be ready with a fire extinguisher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Der Stier

murpho999 wrote: »
    They are illegal in Republic of Ireland so what do you think?

Ah ! OK sorry, I am a German !

So I did not know these rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭sheepo

I hate them. They terrify my dog. Last year we took her down to a relation's farm for the weekend so it wasn't too bad but they've started already in my area.

Ideally I'd set her on the little b*****ds setting them off in the estate but it'd probably be frowned upon by PC types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

sheepo wrote: »
    I hate them. They terrify my dog. Last year we took her down to a relation's farm for the weekend so it wasn't too bad but they've started already in my area.

Ideally I'd set her on the little b*****ds setting them off in the estate but it'd probably be frowned upon by PC types.

My lad gets nervy with the noises around Halloween.

Though treats calm him so it could easily be a trick!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

sheepo wrote: »

Be glad you don't live in Germany, new year's (or Silvester as its called here) it's like a warzone.
    €133 million was spent on fireworks here last year.
    My dogs aren't happy about it either, but what can you do, it's only one night.
    It's probably better properly regulated, people buy fireworks that conform to safety standards and in a lot of towns there is a designated area to let them off.
    The Irish solution as usual is to just ban it, ignore it and hope it goes away. Which never works.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

And they can take your car too.

And enter your house without a warrant if they want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

And they can take your car too.

And enter your house without a warrant if they want.

The difference between customs and the Gardai is all down to money.
    Someone robs your house, steals your stuff, assaults you or drunken arseholes causing trouble round town, druggies, maniacs on the road, OK, call the Guards and a disinterested officer may or may not call out, usually once any trouble has died down and explain something like "civil matter, nothing we can do" with a stifled yawn.
    Now do something that could cost the state 5 cent in tax and you have customs who can take your car, enter your property without warrant and confiscate just about anything they fancy and will pursue you like the devil the poor souls and usually do. They are like Gardai with actual powers and resources that care about their job.
    I'm just not sure why they care about fireworks, but that maybe an Irish ideological thing like the Magdalene laundries and a complete refusal to build any parking facilities for sports and concert venues.

Now do something that could cost the state 5 cent in tax and you have customs who can take your car, enter your property without warrant and confiscate just about anything they fancy and will pursue you like the devil the poor souls and usually do.

Only if you are one of the little people. If your Apple on the other hand.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Mod: Since everyone's aware that fireworks are illegal in Ireland, closing thread that amounts to discussion of smuggling illegal stuff over the border. Going to assume this comes as a surprise to no-one! If anyone wants to continue the conversation of whether this is a daft law or not, feel free to start a thread on it, just no discussion of sourcing/smuggling them, please.