Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classroom corporal punishment

• 01-10-2017 7:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭

I'm only 26 so I've never been on the receiving end of corporal punishment. I did have a teacher in fifth and sixth class (between 2001 and 2003) who would manhandle kids and push them against the board, he'd overturn tables when he lost his temper or rip up copies or throw chairs. One time he threw a bunch of copies in the air and a fluorescent light came down and smashed into smithereens on the floor. Apart from that, no teacher ever laid a finger on us.

Even in secondary school, most of the teachers who screamed and frothed at the mouth had no respect or control and some of the easier softer teachers had great respect, even one teacher who let students call him by his first name (seniors only) had great control and respect and everyone did very well with him (Maths).

Does corporal punishment actually get control or is it just a channel for sadistic bastards to hurt people weaker than them?

What are your thoughts on this? I'm sure that there are more senior posters here who received it and they'd have more of an insight.

Should corpora punishment be used? 306 votes

I never experienced corporal punishment and it should NOT be allowed
    0%
    I never experience corporal punishment but it should be allowed
    38%
    Simi_Kaiser_the_sycoseamusLa_GordyAkrasiaLia_liaJupiterKidZiyconatilladehuniguanaO'Neillelefanthatrickpatrickrandomname2005MorporkShenshenSabre0001GLaDOS[Deleted User] 117 votes
    I experienced corporal punishment but it should NOT be allowed
    2%
    crustyjugglerSquall LeonhartFrStone1hnr79jr65Grab All AssociationThe_ValeyardAtoms for PeaceChicken2JCLC 9 votes
    I experienced corporal punishment and it should be allowed
    45%
    VictorGer RoeSkatedudehomerzeroglynfAglomeradomalpasenda1Tony HMeleftoneel_gauchoSnickers ManolerasLordSutchIompairRiesen_MealdeisemumTiggerLirangePrincess Consuela Bananahammock 138 votes
    I never experience corporal punishment but it should only be allowed in extreme circumstances
    10%
    [Deleted User]flintashRoenhomerjay2005Sam KadephilstarUlysses GazefergiesfollymookishboyBronsonTBfryupjudeboy101BeastySVI40old_aussiesully2010JedeyeWailinofcorkDecoda 31 votes
    I experienced corporal punishment and it should only be allowed in extreme circumstances
    3%
    SqueeonlineCorcaigh84wendydollricimakiTuco88coconnellzJames Bond JuniorSexual ChocolateBitches Be TrypsinDubliner101Rudley Duddley 11 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I'm sure there are plenty BDSM mistresses who can cater for your needs OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I'm only 26 so I've never been on the receiving end of corporal punishment. I did have a teacher in fifth and sixth class (between 2001 and 2003) who would manhandle kids and push them against the board, he'd overturn tables when he lost his temper or rip up copies or throw chairs. One time he threw a bunch of copies in the air and a fluorescent light came down and smashed into smithereens on the floor. Apart from that, no teacher ever laid a finger on us.

Even in secondary school, most of the teachers who screamed and frothed at the mouth had no respect or control and some of the easier softer teachers had great respect, even one teacher who let students call him by his first name (seniors only) had great control and respect and everyone did very well with him (Maths).

Does corporal punishment actually get control or is it just a channel for sadistic bastards to hurt people weaker than them?

What are your thoughts on this? I'm sure that there are more senior posters here who received it and they'd have more of an insight.

It hurts and frightens the child. Apart from that, it's grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I had a few teachers who could get physical.

Never bothered me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I never experience corporal punishment but it should only be allowed in extreme circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Had a maths teacher who spun round and in one clean movement nailed the class clown in the head with a blackboard eraser from across the room, we all clapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have had friends who are teachers and studied this in detail and used various studies from around the world and the response I generally get from them is it has no benefit at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

I'm 25 and the only incidents I know of in my school happened when I was in 3rd class. The teacher used a pool cue as a pointer for the projector and once hit a one of the girls in the side of the head with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I think we should bring back corporal punishment and implement National Service as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Firing chalk and dusters around when they lost control of themselves was what I remember

Never happened with the teachers who could teach though

I think we should bring back corporal punishment and implement National Service as well.

Do you want to ban divorce and the homosexuals as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

We used to get hit with a cane for the most mundane reasons (less that 80% on a math test for example). Would draw blood on occasion.

It’s taken me 30 years to find my love for maths. Back then I hated it with a passion.

Yeah, if they touched my kids like the did me it would be the last thing they do (no I don’t harbour any resentment :-) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Leather straps... Bamboo cane....metal tipped ruler...drum stick....
    once got my head banged off a desk...tbf, he did apologize straight away and after class as well...it was out of character for him and I never held it against him, but....yep, school in the 80's wasnt all fun and games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Smacked with hands, rulers, folded up books, plimsol, at school and I wasn't a particularly naughty child

Did it do me any harm, well, I still reserve a place in hell for eternal damnation for a couple of those old bitches, but other than that I'm pretty well adjusted as an adult

Did it do me any good? Well given i kept getting punished, i.e. I wasn't learning to avoid punishment probably not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I was in school when it was abolished and it made feck all difference. Teachers who could control a class still could, teachers who couldn't control a class still couldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Wasn't on the receiving end of corporal punishment. Did get a few prods and pokes from frustrated teachers that couldn't control classes. Anything more serious than that and I can honestly say that I would have been expelled for retaliation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

A teacher threw a heavy book at a girl in my class once. That was about 2004. Nothing said about it. That teacher was an awful c*nt.

A certain Kerry footballer threw a duster at a student in my brother's school. That was funny.

Anyway, don't agree with it. The stories I hear from my Mom's time in school are mad. She went to the same school as me so we would have had some of the same teachers.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Firing chalk and dusters around when they lost control of themselves was what I remember

Chalk and dusters were par for the course when I was in primary school (mid 90s). One teacher once lost the rag with one kid (who admittedly was a little fecker) and threw a chair at him. Unfortunately for both, he was a pretty decent shot, and the chair hit the kid like something out of a WWF match - kid went down like a bag of sh*te although didn't seem physically injured, you could totally tell he was absolutely kacking himself.

That same night, we were just finished having dinner and the doorbell rang, it was two Gardai looking to speak to myself and my sister to ask what we'd seen in the class that day. Seemingly the kid went home and told his parents what happened, they promptly freaked out (as you would) and called the cops. Next morning we found out that all the houses had been called to that night, and the teacher was "off sick" for a few weeks. We never found out if anything actually came of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Had a chair thrown at me in secondary school but was meant to hit the ground. Poor teacher had just buried a child and was quite a mad teacher anyway and one day she lost it. She was nearly in tears by the time she apologised to me. i thought nothing of it but still if I meet an old school mate and its mentioned without fail. Besides a playful slap of a book to the head to wake up never happened to me or anyone I've been in a class with. I did end up riding my old business teacher a few years after school who made sh*t of me with her nails and bite marks. Nasty woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

I was present when The woodwork teacher fired a hammer yes an actual HAMMER across the room luckily it didn't make contact with its target he'd of been killed and I'm only 29! Wasn't that long ago never anything said about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,433 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Like anything else - discipline works when it's implemented properly. When it's implemented in a haphazard fashion, you get haphazard results.

BBDBB wrote: »
    Smacked with hands, rulers, folded up books, plimsol, at school and I wasn't a particularly naughty child

Did it do me any harm, well, I still reserve a place in hell for eternal damnation for a couple of those old bitches, but other than that I'm pretty well adjusted as an adult

Did it do me any good? Well given i kept getting punished, i.e. I wasn't learning to avoid punishment probably not

I saw children being beaten with sticks and leathers for not having homework done or knowing tables, Irish, poetry etc. Some of them would have diagnoses of Asperger's, ADHD, learning disability etc. these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Capital punishment is what some of the little scrotes need . :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Some people just aren't cut out to be teachers. If you don't have patience you should never be one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

It's amazing to think that part of teachers job description was to assault children.

I left school in 1982 and they were allowed to beat us up to around 1981. Can you imagine leathers a canes were part of the school budget. I'd imagine you'd have to go into a sex store to source items like that nowadays

Some people just aren't cut out to be teachers. If you don't have patience you should never be one.

I know of a lot of teachers and they became teachers because they want a cushy job or mammy/daddy are teachers and they'll always get them into a job and then they hate there job/teaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Punched, slapped , thumped , hit with a meter stick and hit with a bamboo cane , all in primary school.

I went to school with the son of a famous Dublin footballer in the seventies and that child was hammered regularly by a sadistic prick from Kerry, who delighted in reducing him to tears.

Some teachers were animals, there's three in particular I hope are roaring in hell.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    It's amazing to think that part of teachers job description was to assault children.

I left school in 1982 and they were allowed to beat us up to around 1981. Can you imagine leathers a canes were part of the school budget. I'd imagine you'd have to go into a sex store to source items like that nowadays

I think my great grand father used make some kind of leather strap for the schools!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I'm 25 and the only incidents I know of in my school happened when I was in 3rd class. The teacher used a pool cue as a pointer for the projector and once hit a one of the girls in the side of the head with it.

I don't know why but I think this is hilarious. I think it's the pool cue bit.

I saw children being beaten with sticks and leathers for not having homework done or knowing tables, Irish, poetry etc. Some of them would have diagnoses of Asperger's, ADHD, learning disability etc. these days.

Yes, these days, when we now understand more about these conditions than we did 30 years ago when I was called a retard in school for being dyslexic. You simply can't moralise about the past like that, you can only learn from it. Personally, I think we've gone so far that we're now actually over-compensating for children's disruptive behaviour in schools and we have child psychologists using terms like "emotional behavioural disorder" for children who just have no respect for anyone and helicopter parents who enable their children's disruptive behaviour and expect that the schools should have to do the same.

I've had teachers complain that they and other students in the schools have been physically assaulted and verbally abused in class and in the playground, and if it were any other occupation, that kind of behaviour simply wouldn't be tolerated. Teachers nowadays have to put up with an inordinate amount of shìte, it's not nearly so simple as you're making out at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Its an outdated ill-conceived method of disciplining children

Agree, thinking of the kids the "master" used to beat, were surely passed that and more developed as a nation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I experienced corporal punishment but it should NOT be allowed
    Lia_lia wrote: »
    A teacher threw a heavy book at a girl in my class once. That was about 2004. Nothing said about it. That teacher was an awful c*nt.

A certain Kerry footballer threw a duster at a student in my brother's school. That was funny.

Anyway, don't agree with it. The stories I hear from my Mom's time in school are mad. She went to the same school as me so we would have had some of the same teachers.

Actually my history teacher used to throw dusters. Never actually hit you. More a way to get attention. Great teacher though, sound chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

We got slashed for not knowing the third person past pluperfect of an irregular verb. One student refused to hold out his hand one day saying his father said he didn't have to. Us macho idiots continued to put out our hands for canes and leathers. Flying dusters, hair and ear pulling and rulers on the backs of knuckles were other things to look forward to.

snowflaker wrote: »
    Agree, thinking of the kids the "master" used to beat, were surely passed that and more developed as a nation?

Thankfully, I think we are. What is heartening is that, in the poll above, 48% of people have voted that they never experienced corporal punishment but that it should never be allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Do you want to ban divorce and the homosexuals as well?

No just boards posters that jump to far-out conclusions based on a one line post.

Yes, these days, when we now understand more about these conditions than we did 30 years ago when I was called a retard in school for being dyslexic. You simply can't moralise about the past like that, you can only learn from it. Personally, I think we've gone so far that we're now actually over-compensating for children's disruptive behaviour in schools and we have child psychologists using terms like "emotional behavioural disorder" for children who just have no respect for anyone and helicopter parents who enable their children's disruptive behaviour and expect that the schools should have to do the same.

I've had teachers complain that they and other students in the schools have been physically assaulted and verbally abused in class and in the playground, and if it were any other occupation, that kind of behaviour simply wouldn't be tolerated. Teachers nowadays have to put up with an inordinate amount of shìte, it's not nearly so simple as you're making out at all.

Indeed. But hitting a child in order to modify their behaviour in a classroom is still wrong.

5521859355_8d6aa042bb.jpg
    I think my great grand father used make some kind of leather strap for the schools!

Indeed. But hitting a child in order to modify their behaviour in a classroom is still wrong.

Honestly, it depends. I think the argument for or against any type of disciplinary method is more nuanced than just 'wrong' or 'right' that can be applied to all situations at all times. As I said earlier - if implemented properly, it can be effective, but when implemented in a haphazard fashion, it has the opposite effect. The issue is in the implementation, not in the method itself.

No just boards posters that jump to far-out conclusions based on a one line post.

In my experience people with similar views regarding corporal punishment, generally have similar views regarding homosexuality/divorce. They want to take Ireland back to the good old days.

Honestly, it depends. I think the argument for or against any type of disciplinary method is more nuanced than just 'wrong' or 'right' that can be applied to all situations at all times. As I said earlier - if implemented properly, it can be effective, but when implemented in a haphazard fashion, it has the opposite effect. The issue is in the implementation, not in the method itself.

When is it ok to hit children?

Who would be the arbiter of corporal punishment "implemented properly"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Fair enough, but how do you stop corporal punishment from becoming abuse? Where do you draw the lines?

Also, how do you avoid teaching kids that the best way to resolve conflict is with violence?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

snowflaker wrote: »
    When is it ok to hit children?
    Who would be the arbiter of corporal punishment "implemented properly"?

As I said - it would depend entirely upon the circumstances of each case. I'm not suggesting we go to extremes like walloping children out of their chairs, etc, often all that was necessary when my mother was teaching was a smack across the back of the head to keep the child and the rest of the class in line and paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

As I said - it would depend entirely upon the circumstances of each case. I'm not suggesting we go to extremes like walloping children out of their chairs, etc, often all that was necessary when my mother was teaching was a smack across the back of the head to keep the child and the rest of the class in line and paying attention.

To be honest, I wouldn't even class that as corporal punishment and a tap on the shoulder would probably have the same effect.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Was your mother happy for you to be hit on the back of your head by teachers? Are you happy for your child to be hit on the back of their head by teachers? How hard should they be hit by the teachers? How is the force of the hitting to be assessed and monitored?

What does a smack across the head achieve???

A child that wouldn't be used to physical punishment - how do you think they'd react to this?

When is it ok to smack a child across the back of the head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Given three or four slaps of a drumstick( choice of that or leather strap. It's a mistake I wouldn't make again) by a teacher in fourth class as a punishment for bad behaviour.
    Same teacher never punished anyone for being late, not having homework or making a mistake in class. He only used "the cane" when other methods weren't working and I can count on one hand where it was used. Everyone knew the score and the consequences for bad behaviour.
    His punishments were administered cooly, calmly and without malice.
    He was as a great teacher, patient, hardworking and who was well thought of by all the class and I have the height of respect for him.
    I have known others who were either clearly unhinged or on a power trip who shouldn't have been let within an asses roar of of a classroom full of children.
    I have no problem with a controlled use of corporal punishment, where parent, child and school are involved in the process.

To be honest, I wouldn't even class that as corporal punishment and a tap on the shoulder would probably have the same effect.

I would, I'm trying to think how my 7 year old nephew would react to a teacher smacking him across the back of his head.

Firstly, its from behind so unexpected, and its bound to unnerve the child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

if an adult ever hits my kid beforee he's big enough to stand up for himself i'd put them on the ground and stamp on their thumbs

i was in one of the wifes friends house the othe week and little Tigger decided to do something dangerous
    i was about to grab him when the man of the house grabbed him first
    he was just minding the kid but my reptile brain flashed (someone is handaling your son in a rough manner)
    it was a funny feeling

tiger-dad.jpg.650x0_q70_crop-smart.jpg