Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag Party thats a house party!

• 01-10-2017 12:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

i am starting to plan my mates stag party and want to do something a little different. We basically want to do a weekend long house party, that way we won't have to worry about people splitting up, getting in places etc.etc.

I don't know where to start looking for a venue. We are fairly flexible on location, although most of us will will be coming from Clare and Dublin. Another friend of mine has done something similar to this before, rented a big old manor near waterville in Kerry and we had a great time. I wouldn't like to do it in exacty the same place but would anybody have any suggestions?? Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Airbnb.

/Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Something like that would be my preference for a stag party by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

If I was renting out my house, I sure as hell wouldn't want a stag party coming for the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Snotty wrote: »
    If I was renting out my house, I sure as hell wouldn't want a stag party coming for the weekend

A big group of lads drinking in your house for the weekend, what could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Are you just going to sit around the house all day, or would you go out doing stuff - hiking, fishing, beach, something like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Airbnb.

/Thread.

Yeah no.

Only if its a house away from other people or families

Its a dick move to rent a gaff in an area and be up drinking n shouting all night while others are putting babies to bed, or up early for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Hugh Hefners place will more than likely be free in the upcoming weekemds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Hugh Hefners place will more than likely be free in the upcoming weekemds.

May want to clean the beds first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Claude Wilton

Something like that would be my preference for a stag party by a mile.

A remote house full of men only.

Well, whatever cranks your shaft..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭the_sonandmoon

My husband did something like that for his stag a few years ago. A gang of lads, decks and guitars, slabs of beer +, garden games, footballs, hurleys, hiking boots, fishing rods, local pub for day 2 pints... A few of the same group have done similar since. That's those lads ideal party though.

They rented a little place in the middle of nowhere in connemara for his. Have done similar in leitrim and Sligo since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I wouldn’t poo poo the idea as much as others here. I’ve heard of stags and hens doing this. Just make sure it’s a detached house a decent distance from other houses, you don’t want to disturb local residents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

went to a great stag in kerry in feb last
    rented a house - slept 16 .
    house was huge - It's not waterville btw

we did hit the niteclubs but was mainly a 2 day house party/bender.

host was top notch.
    although we were all 35 years plus and had some decorum leaving the house in good nick.

PM me if you want link. I'm not putting it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

My husband did something like that for his stag a few years ago. A gang of lads, decks and guitars, slabs of beer +, garden games, footballs, hurleys, hiking boots, fishing rods, local pub for day 2 pints... A few of the same group have done similar since. That's those lads ideal party though.

They rented a little place in the middle of nowhere in connemara for his. Have done similar in leitrim and Sligo since.

The one and only stag I ever enjoyed was like that. Great weekend. We had a draw at dinner each day to decide who'd be first up to get the rashers on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

wow, very imaginative and i thought stags couldnt get anymore boring than the usual weekend away, moving from pub to pub, and from pub to pub! jesus irish people are incredibly boring with this kinna stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    wow, very imaginative and i thought stags couldnt get anymore boring than the usual weekend away, moving from pub to pub, and from pub to pub! jesus irish people are incredibly boring with this kinna stuff

Oh the horror...a bunch of lads just wanting to chill out and have a few drinks together. How awful. Each to their own and all that.

Did that for a hen a few years ago near Carlingford. Cool house had a pool table, games room etc. Brought a playstation with us. We did go out in town but it was full of kids so just headed back to the house for the craic.brilliant weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

A stags weekend .......... in a house??? I'd put one in my head by Sunday morning ........ after I've put everybody else there out of their misery first!!!

Call me old fashioned but what's wrong with drugs, hookers and waking up in a cell all of a sudden!??!! Kids today!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

I imagine some amount of narcotics are consumed at these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Was at one like this a few years back... weekend in a cottage in the middle of nowhere... Everyone was happy to leave early Sunday morning having had enough. It was okay, I only knew 3-4 people really well that were at it... but here is only so much sitting chatting/drinking you can do in a house all day with nothing to break it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

mloc123 wrote: »
    Was at one like this a few years back... weekend in a cottage in the middle of nowhere... Everyone was happy to leave early Sunday morning having had enough. It was okay, I only knew 3-4 people really well that were at it... but here is only so much sitting chatting/drinking you can do in a house all day with nothing to break it up.

A bunch of friends who can't even stand each others company while drunk.

You need new friends bro. Or is it "brah" these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sunday morning in the depths of hell after.drinking solid for two days trying to fix broken things

No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Sounds good to me.

What i can't stand with stags i go to these days is arriving and having a long list of events we have to do each day and a time table to follow, what a pain in the hole.
    One event and then party away would be quite sufficient.
    I had a stag back in April where we went playing football with big balloons around us, then paintballing and then go karting before having to go to a specific pub as there was a barbecue for us there, i was ****ed by the time we got drinking properly.
    Next day we were expected to go do some obstacle course,needless to say most of us found an early house and let the other few at it.

copeyhagen wrote: »

Followed by riding eachother .......... great! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Just man up and go on a proper stag.

sh1tty drug deals and fights with bouncers will only add to the experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

dresden8 wrote: »
    A bunch of friends who can't even stand each others company while drunk.

You need new friends bro. Or is it "brah" these days.

The problem with stags/hens is that they often bring together different friendship circles who don’t know each other very well. That’s the awkward part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Rockapotomus

@the_sonandmoon would you have the names/ details of the places the rented please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭The Aul Switcharoo

You forgot strippers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Rockapotomus

Cheers for the helpful replies and "constructive" criticism everyone! Some of you seem to get what we are trying to do, sure whats better than being in the one place with a group of your best friends partying for two days?? We are obviously looking for somewhere remote where we won't be bothering people and are mature enough not to destroy the place. The one I went on that was similar was hands down the best stag I've ever been on!

Several places ........ ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

copeyhagen wrote: »

I thought that went without saying....
    MadDog76 wrote: »
    Followed by riding eachother .......... great! :rolleyes:

any port in a storm my friend....any port....:pac:

arayess wrote: »
    I thought that went without saying....

any port in a storm my friend....any port....:pac:

And that is a port I wish to avoid! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Would you ask him for the name of the hookers/strippers that deliver to those addresses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭the_sonandmoon

dreamers75 wrote:
    Would you ask him for the name of the hookers/strippers that deliver to those addresses?

That deliver what? The hard drugs? Ill ask him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Sounds like the same gender ratio for most house parties I've been to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Wanderer78 wrote: »

Give us your ideal stag so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Wildcard7

Is money a problem? No? Grand, then: http://www.riversideparadise.com/

Otherwise:
    http://www.cottages.com/
    https://www.sykescottages.co.uk

You might have to rent for an entire week in any case though. Gives you time to prepare and clean up though.

My own stag and two of my best mates were in big cottages in the forrest in the middle of nowhere. Barbecue, beers and music. I'd take that over a pub crawl with the stag in a womans swimsuit or a ballerina costume any time.