Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prefer betting online or in-shop?

• 28-09-2017 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

Do you lads prefer doing your betting in the shop or online?

I would say in the shop for myself, I seem to value my money a lot less when I deposit it’ into a betting account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Shops are full of numptys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Shops are full of numptys

Nobody can have a bet online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Fanny **** wrote: »
    Nobody can have a bet online

What?

I like the way online adds my accumulator as I go

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 Lickin2me

Do u ever cash out? Pure mugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Lickin2me wrote: »
    Do u ever cash out? Pure mugs

Yeah sometimes.

Who's mugs ? Every gambler ?

Most open accounts never withdraw. They dont even realise the bookies are only short of bring your grandoarents in with id before they payout. But no problem depositing money.

Bookmaker shops have brought in every kind mickey mouse racing and dodgy bingo roullette every few seconds and open longer hours to make sure people give any winnings give it back. Very few leave with profit. There is an explosion of hidden gambling addicts who are suffering with gambling. Goverment is standing idol making promises for new gambling bill. Thats still on hold. Many people every year take tgere lifes over gambling addiction but its never realesed to public

Looks easy make money. But far from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Lickin2me.
    I think you're confusing someone who likes a punt with degenerates of which there are quite a lot in shops but not every punter is an idiot that bets on cartoons or roulette.

Bookmaker shops have brought in every kind mickey mouse racing and dodgy bingo roullette every few seconds and open longer hours to make sure people give any winnings give it back. Very few leave with profit. There is an explosion of hidden gambling addicts who are suffering with gambling. Goverment is standing idol making promises for new gambling bill. Thats still on hold. Many people every year take tgere lifes over gambling addiction but its never realesed to public

Open longer to make sure punters give any winnings back? They're a business of course they're going to try make money.
    The way you said that you'd think there was a bouncer on the door not letting people out until their pockets were empty.
    Anybody that wins in a bookies and gives back on a regular basis is either a total idiot or has issues or in some cases a touch of both but there's no gun to their head.

Unless u have huge amount of self disipline and patience and can take a hit. Then its a sorry sad road you will end up on. Ive seen friends take there lifes, friends losing family and homes. Even people that were rich ending up with nothing, they didnt need the money they needed the buzz, rush and adrenaline. Gambling addiction is like a cocaine hit in brain. Dont be fooled by it. For Gods sake wake up. If this helps one person il be happy. Tip stop gambling online order a new bank card get someone scrape of new ccv number on back. U cant use ur card online anymore but can use it in atms and shops

Lickin2me should people not take any responsibility for themselves? Should we shut down pubs because there are alcoholics or because some people act like neanderthals when they're drunk?

See its ignorant fools like you. gambling is worse than drugs. Drink. But u just dont see the suffering they go threw. Would u say its ok to give a drunk person more drink if u knew he was going to hurt himself being drunk. Of course not. But its ok to keep taking money from people that clearly have a gambling problem no questions asked. Even though u know dam well he is distressed and more likely is throwing his family mortgage and childrens food money over counter. Ur probaly just a person living alone or with his parents. When u have a family to support and your an addict things are very different

Ive had a quick glance through some of your other posts and as i suspected youre a Wum/troll.
    I gave you the benefit of the doubt when you were mentioning personal experiences through friends of yours but i shouldnt have.
    You're a disgusting human being using stuff like that as trolling material.
    Get help.

Posturpoint! This is to you ive read ur recent posts. Just as i thought a single 40 year old who is self centred and full of himself. But in fact is a lonely person. Obviously no family, children. Just stuck in playing on computer. You seem think you know it all. get a proper life. Dont ever think any good comes from bookmakers. Take ur blinkers off you and look around you next time your in a bookmakers. Watch the suffering. Thousands family in ireland tonight are suffering. But u wouldnt know what that was

I know youre only messing and we all like a wind up now and again but Go speak to a friend of yours, a family member, generally anybody you care about and tell them you've pretended to have numerous friends kill themselves over gambling just to try stir a response from strangers and see how they respond.
    Seriously go say that to your other half or brother etc. and see how they feel about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

Lickin2me wrote:

Then if you have a gambling addiction won't you just withdraw money and go to the bookies.

It is easy to get sucked in though.

I personally have a set amount each month that I use for my flutters.

I will not go over this amount unless I have a few winners then might pit something back in. It's all about control, yes people do ruin their lives gambling, just like some with Drugs, alchool or even cigarettes. The vast majority of punter like myself just love watching horse racing and to make it interesting we have a small wager now and again.

As for the original question, it depends.

Been from a small town in Cavan we the bookies is generally full on a Saturday but a lot of auld fellas so the craic is good. Friday night pints with the odd trip to have a punt on Dundalk is good craic.

Would always play ante post online though as I have been known to misplace a slip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

This thread should be moved to the gambling forum in fairness.

Posturpat. Get a bloody life. U think your great at everything. I bet ur bed is cold tonight. I do actually no poor ****ers that killed themselves over gambling. Gambling isnt taking serious enough as a serious illness addiction. So u pretend it doesnt exist and so what. While u compare how u can eat lettuce while ur work collegues enjoy themselves. BORING

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

This thread has gone completely of topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Closing this while we decide what to do with the thread.