Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My friend's co-worker may be summoned to court for careless driving

• 27-09-2017 9:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭

I'm not up for a discussion around rights and wrongs of it, I'm just letting everyone know what happened.

It was about 5 AM and my friend and his co-worker were car-pooling together to work, they were requested to go to a certain branch of the company they both work for somewhere in the Midlands and they had to be there relatively early for an audit preparation that they were helping out with (we're all from Dublin).

His co-worker was driving the car. When they entered the M50, she went straight into the middle lane, there wasn't a sinner on the road. She then went over the to the outside lane. My friend politely commented on this and she ate the head off him telling him that she is the driver etc.

A car appeared behind them and they flashed the headlights, she slowed down a bit, they flashed more and she stayed put. They gave a little beep of the horn and she dropped the anchors and slammed on and started cursing about the "tailgater".

And ..... on came the blues and twos ... it turned out to be an unmarked Garda car, and where does she stop? In the outside lane instead of moving over to the inside lane / hard shoulder.

The female Garda's eyes were nearly popping out of her head from what my friend told me when she was giving out to my friend's co-worker (the driver). The Garda said she might be getting a summons for "careless driving".

From what I've heard, this is a mandatory court appearance. I've met this girl a few times and I hope they don't throw the book at her. I hope they go easy on her or better the summons doesn't go through. She's learnt her lesson I think.

I just want this to be a lesson to her and everyone else who reads this. KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Personally I hope they ban her off the road for being a dizzy **** and that's putting it nicely. One moron off the road will be a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I'll bite. Good enough for her :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If you dont know to pull left when pulled over, tear up that licence and get the bloody bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

just amazes me that she didn't seem to think she was doing anything wrong

Keep left unless overtaking, or dont act the prick on the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

The summons when it arrives will hit home that she was bang out of order for her road behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Ffs stop telling people to keep left.

Otherwise the driving lane will have other cars in it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

Oh my, this really is a popcorn situation.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Keep left unless overtaking, or dont act the prick on the M50.

I think, actually I know Gerrup Outta Dat! knows this from reading his/her post, he/she's just wondering what will happen.

I really don't know what will happen.

I've been a passenger in a car where the driver did this and it's the most stressful position to in be ever! (as a motorists)

I was cringing so much when people undertook us in the driving lane glaring over at us that my arse nearly ate the seat. I had my head in my hands as I glanced over and tried to gather my facial muscles together in a grimace of apology, understanding, shame, and embarrassment with one hand hiding the other hand that was pointing at the driver in an accusatory "he hasn't a clue" fashion..

There were gouge marks on the passenger floor mat where my toes had dug "morto grooves" right down to the metal of the floor. I'd say they'd be noticed by a good engineer and reduce the resale of the car.

He was ADAMANT that he was right!! "fecking gob****es think the own the road" comments along with "I'm doing the speed limit anyway" and "plenty of room in the other lane" and "if they had Audi power like me they'd be away in a hack" He even accelerated to outpace undertakers.

Never carpooled with him again.

I'd rather scut on a skateboard with three wheels wearing a 80's style leotard hanging on to a reversing high-speed steamroller with huge, rusty spikes pointing at my testicles and eyeballs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'm not up for a discussion around rights and wrongs of it, I'm just letting everyone know what happened.

It was about 5 AM and my friend and his co-worker were.. ,who was driving the car,...entered the M50, straight into the middle lane, there wasn't a sinner on the road. She then went over the to the outside lane....
    A car appeared behind them and they flashed the headlights, she slowed down a bit, they flashed more and she stayed put. They gave a little beep of the horn and she dropped the anchors and slammed on and started cursing about the "tailgater".

And ..... on came the blues and twos ... it turned out to be an unmarked Garda car, and where does she stop? In the outside lane instead of moving over to the inside lane / hard shoulder...The Garda said she might be getting a summons for "careless driving"...I just want this to be a lesson to her and everyone else who reads this. KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING :)

I cut out the unneeded detail. So you think we need to be told the very basics of motoring? OK but I hope they throw the book at her because she shouldn't be on the road. Only a moron would drive as you described at that time on an empty motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Careless driving! She should be done for dangerous driving, banned for 3 yrs and made retake the theory and driving test. She clearly has zero knowledge or regard for the rules of the road and therefore does not deserve to be allowed to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Meeoow

I drive the m1 to work daily. There's one fella works in same place as me who does exactly the same. Hogs the overtaking lane the whole way up the road. One morning I was behind him on slip road entering motorway and he drove across the empty left lane and into the overtaking lane.
    Some day he's going to piss someone off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

It was about 5 AM and my friend and his co-worker were car-pooling together to work, they were requested to go to a certain branch of the company they both work for somewhere in the Midlands and they had to be there relatively early for an audit preparation that they were helping out with (we're all from Dublin).

His co-worker was driving the car. When they entered the M50, she went straight into the middle lane, there wasn't a sinner on the road. She then went over the to the outside lane. My friend politely commented on this and she ate the head off him telling him that she is the driver etc.

And ..... on came the blues and twos ... it turned out to be an unmarked Garda car, and where does she stop? In the outside lane instead of moving over to the inside lane / hard shoulder.

The female Garda's eyes were nearly popping out of her head from what my friend told me when she was giving out to my friend's co-worker (the driver). The Garda said she might be getting a summons for "careless driving".

From what I've heard, this is a mandatory court appearance. I've met this girl a few times and I hope they don't throw the book at her. I hope they go easy on her or better the summons doesn't go through. She's learnt her lesson I think.

I just want this to be a lesson to her and everyone else who reads this. KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING :)

or dont brake check the shades
    acualky dont brake check anyone but especially them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I cut out the unneeded detail. So you think we need to be told the very basics of motoring? OK but I hope they throw the book at her because she shouldn't be on the road. Only a moron would drive as you described at that time on an empty motorway.

Come on Jonas Straight Sorcery... This is most unlike you!!
    I'm not up for a discussion around rights and wrongs of it, I'm just letting everyone know what happened

He/she's just letting us know what happened. He/she certainly didn't think "we" (or you) needed to be told the very basics of motoring.

Gerrup Outta Dat! Thanks for letting us know what happened. And "we" or at least I appreciate you for telling us what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

E/// I suspect

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Come on Srameen... This is most unlike you!!

He/she's just letting us know what happened. He/she certainly didn't think "we" (or you) needed to be told the very basics of motoring.

Gerrup Outta Dat! Thanks for letting us know what happened. And "we" or at least I appreciate you for telling us what happened.

You're very welcome :P Maybe Smareen is just narky today :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

That's very bad driving, especially the breaking bit which is just dangerous.

You should offer to drive her down to the local Garda station so she can hand her license in to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Op, it was you wasn't it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Give the address of this idiot so we can all take turns to remove the wheels of her car every day.
    If the people who should take her off the road dont take action, we have to do it ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Driving in the rightmost lane is probably careless driving; voluntarily stopping (ie no mechanical defect) is dangerous driving (ie far below what would be considered acceptable driving by a reasonably competent driver). I would hope that they charge with dangerous driving so they can be removed from the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

We should introduce hanging just for this person, on the roof of the dall, on a Saturday afternoon, televised, with a caption at the bottom of the screen and banners up saying 'don't be like me'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Tenigate

She doesn't have the temperament or judgement required for driving. Careless driving .. it was downright dangerous driving. A few penalty points should calm her down a little.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

For stopping in overtaking lane on a motorway I'd hope to see a 6 month ban and retake of test, the person is clueless and dangerous

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Cabaal wrote: »
    For stopping in overtaking lane on a motorway I'd hope to see a 6 month ban and retake of test, the person is clueless and dangerous

But neither issue is addressed in a test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I'm pretty sure slamming the brakes is reckless endangerment if that's the correct term? It is indeed a mandatory court appearance. A friend of mine was brake tested last year on the M50. Contacted traffic watch, Gardai phone call later said driver would be brought to court because of the seriousness of it.

Some psychopaths out there alright. You never know who's around you unfortunately.

I don't understand people driving in the right lane on the M50 that early in the morning. Saw it myself when driving to the airport at 4am. Middle lane empty but some people feel the need to go straight to the right lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Very lucky lady, TBH a brake check could easily be seen as deliberately attempting to cause a crash, book getting thrown etc.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Surely this incident deserves an appearance on the Garda Twitter page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I've met this girl a few times and I hope they don't throw the book at her. I hope they go easy on her or better the summons doesn't go through. She's learnt her lesson I think.

You think she's learned her lesson because you met her once or twice before and she seemed nice :confused: It's a good thing you're not a judge. This woman is clearly an utter fucking idiot and a danger to other road users. Honestly, how stupid do you have to be to brake-test a police car in the overtaking lane on an empty motorway? She shouldn't be on the road so hopefully the judge goes through her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

It's ok guys. She was just having a bad day and feeling the pressures of life.......

....and the book will hopefully be thrown at her with some force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Hopefully the driver is taken off the road for good! Not long before they cause a serious crash or even worse kill someone :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Just have "common sense" addressed in that test then.
    Covers both and everything else idiots like that think is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The worst thing about this story is the person caught for this isnt the only person on the roads to do similar.

More of those type off the road the better, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If you need a driving tester to tell you not to stop on a motorway, you shouldn't be at the point of taking a test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you need a driving tester to tell you not to stop on a motorway, you shouldn't be at the point of taking a test.

That's not the point. Someone said she should reset her driving test. This issue isn't a part of the driving test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Nothing will happen to her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That's not the point. Someone said she should reset her driving test. This issue isn't a part of the driving test.

It doesn't need to be. This falls under the heading of **** everyone knows is stupid and dangerous , so don't do it .if they had to explain everything you shouldn't do during the test you'd be there for days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

There is a GOD afterall!!

What a stupid gob****e of a "co-worker" .. not only does she not have a clue about the rules of the road, but also arrogant and righteous enough to think she's in the right and to brake check the car behind.

Nothing infuriates me more than stupid ***ers that think they know everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

I not only hope they throw the book at her.... I hope it hits her :p

It doesn't need to be. This falls under the heading of **** everyone knows is stupid and dangerous , so don't do it .if they had to explain everything you shouldn't do during the test you'd be there for days.

Youre looking at this informed about this drivers behaviour, an examiner is not. It won't change what happened. Nor will it stop them from doing it again after passing a driving test, as it's not something that comes up in a test, so they won't get a fail on it.

There's very little use of a dual carraigeway, so incorrect lane usage is unlikely to come up.

People who drive around test routes are more aware of learners, so tend to be less likely to force a reaction from them, so no frustrated brake checking.

All she'd need to do is keep watch of gears, mirrors, kerbs and that's it for the drive.

So what will her resitting the test acheive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

great story, glad to hear she was pulled in.

one important aspect not covered yet though......

was the ban garda tidy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Mmmm sleep sleep audit tomorrow early rise zzzzzzz she obviously thought>> mmmm lights flashing big road all mine, this is all a dream lol

All she'd need to do is keep watch of gears, mirrors, kerbs and that's it for the drive.

So what will her resitting the test acheive?

There was a rules of the road bit or has that been done away with now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

The most disturbing part of this story is that this woman slammed on the brakes without any regard for the safety of the helpless passenger in the car with her. She was seriously lucky the guard driving behind reacted quickly and hit the brakes in time because it could have easily been someone else that would have ploughed straight into the car.

OP, if I were you (or your friend - whoever this story is about) I would never ever get into a car with that lunatic again.

bladespin wrote: »
    There was a rules of the road bit or has that been done away with now?

When we are talking about her driving and attitude in this incident, none of it covers what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

When we are talking about her driving and attitude in this incident, none of it covers what happened.

having do to a theory test, 12 lessons, and sit a test might soften her cough though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I'm not up for a discussion around rights and wrongs of it, I'm just letting everyone know what happened....

0ec4db12860a3ee1529a546b804d18fd75a9f71f148b0126.jpg

If you're talking about improper lane use or stopping in the overtaking lane it is.

having do to a theory test, 12 lessons, and sit a test might soften her cough though

It'd probably seen more so, as an affront. But there's no point clogging up the system that is meant to be for bringing in new drivers. Especially when it's not going to address the issue. You think the cost of all that will be the punishment, make the fine harsher then.
    bladespin wrote: »
    If you're talking about improper lane use or stopping in the overtaking lane it is.

I did it 2 months ago. These issues won't come up. Someone who has driven and now faces having to do a test again will be familiar with Road Signs, Road Markings and how to drive the car. Then that's it. There is nothing about a persons attitude, or how they react against others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

But surely if she was driving fast enough the fast lane is where she should be? That Garda really needs to get off their high horse.