Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do I get to America by tractor.

• 25-09-2017 7:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

Well lads I've decided to gather the gear and hit off to America. Ive sold the home place and everything else I didn't want to keep. What I am keeping is my fiat 110-90 / low loader and my zaxis 130. I will bringing this with me and is my main mode transport to get there.
    My new site is located in Oregon which is in a the far mid west. My main problem is how to get there. is there ferrys to America preferably to Los Angeles or San Francisco. I'm aware there's ferrys to New York. But it's a bit of a drive across country but I will do it if I have to.
    The main reason why bringing the kit is because you won't get a fiat over there. You might say buy a different tractor. No I won't because they want two prices for it and it's not the same as a European machine. Same with the hitachi. And yes I do need them. And hire machines is far to costly. Any advice on problems I could run into would be appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Poclain 90 wrote: »
    Well lads I've decided to gather the gear and hit off to America. Ive sold the home place and everything else I didn't want to keep. What I am keeping is my fiat 110-90 / low loader and my zaxis 130. I will bringing this with me and is my main mode transport to get there.
    My new site is located in Oregon which is in a the far mid west. My main problem is how to get there. is there ferrys to America preferably to Los Angeles or San Francisco. I'm aware there's ferrys to New York. But it's a bit of a drive across country but I will do it if I have to.
    The main reason why bringing the kit is because you won't get a fiat over there. You might say buy a different tractor. No I won't because they want two prices for it and it's not the same as a European machine. Same with the hitachi. And yes I do need them. And hire machines is far to costly. Any advice on problems I could run into would be appreciated

Import a fiat from nz into America? And Hitachi (and komatsus) are cheap af in nz aswel....get from central north island and rust issue will be minimal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ferry to Cali?
    Are you sure you're ready for this trip?

Look up these boys when you get there.....

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=m-glMLXWHPU&app=m&persist_app=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

I think you turn off junction 5 of the m50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Fair play to ye. Manifest Destiny and all that.
    Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Great thread title. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I'm assuming you'd get the Fiat into a shipping container, no idea about the digger, just ship them to your destination,
    How're you gonna get parts or spares easily over,?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Poclain 90 wrote:
    Well lads I've decided to gather the gear and hit off to America. Ive sold the home place and everything else I didn't want to keep. What I am keeping is my fiat 110-90 / low loader and my zaxis 130. I will bringing this with me and is my main mode transport to get there. My new site is located in Oregon which is in a the far mid west. My main problem is how to get there. is there ferrys to America preferably to Los Angeles or San Francisco. I'm aware there's ferrys to New York. But it's a bit of a drive across country but I will do it if I have to. The main reason why bringing the kit is because you won't get a fiat over there. You might say buy a different tractor. No I won't because they want two prices for it and it's not the same as a European machine. Same with the hitachi. And yes I do need them. And hire machines is far to costly. Any advice on problems I could run into would be appreciated

Fire them both into a container and ship them across. You'll probably have to take the cabs off the machines but easier than driving across America. Maybe you'll have to get two containers but still less hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Markcheese wrote: »
    I'm assuming you'd get the Fiat into a shipping container, no idea about the digger, just ship them to your destination,
    How're you gonna get parts or spares easily over,?

I hear storks are gonna be out of business now with the maternity hospital going up, shir they could deliver agri parts instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Mooooo wrote:
    I hear storks are gonna be out of business now with the maternity hospital going up, shir they could deliver agri parts instead

Yes, I had vaguely heard of couriers and online ordering.. But shipping heavy stuff from Europe to the States ain't usually cheap or quick..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Didn't the Top Gear lads drive a MF to the North Pole a few years back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Container is best way. All other options sound mad and I'll taught out. It's how the Africans all get the 13t diggers. Big job to split the digger and get it into container without having other diggers to lift the parts in so maybe get an exporter who sends diggers to africa to do it for you.

Forget about low loader unless it fits with the Fiat on top after cab is took off. It's just a trailer. And may cost as much as it's worth to get it over.

To be honest the whole thing is mad. Just sell and buy again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Birdnuts wrote: »

They drove hiluxes

There was a lady that drove a mf down through Africa and down to the South Pole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

st1979 wrote: »

To be honest the whole thing is mad. Just sell and buy again

Ya but imagine the sound of the 110 climbing a big Oregon hill with the zx behind her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Poclain 90

How much would it cost to ship the fiat and the zaxis in a container Also the trouble of talking it apart and reassemble. If I could get as far as Los Angeles or San Fran I would drive it up the country I might take a few days. I could put an old caravan on the end of the low loader. Or hotels. All I know is I've to get there somehow. Getting stuff from nz is nearly the same process as bringing stuff from Ireland.

And I'll bring an old oil tank with me for extra diesel. The fiat is final desision as I've great trust in it unlike that dirty tourag of a 7840. I'd be some site stuck on the side of the road troubleshooting through gearbox problems.

mayota wrote: »
    Ya but imagine the sound of the 110 climbing a big Oregon hill with the zx behind her.

If a 110 climbs a hill in Oregon and roars its head off and there's nobody else to hear it, has it made a sound??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭TalkingBull

How much would it cost to ship the fiat and the zaxis in a container Also the trouble of talking it apart and reassemble. If I could get as far as Los Angeles or San Fran I would drive it up the country I might take a few days. I could put an old caravan on the end of the low loader. Or hotels. All I know is I've to get there somehow. Getting stuff from nz is nearly the same process as bringing stuff from Ireland.

head for mexico instead, i hear theres a wall going up somewhere down there, youll get a start

And I'll bring an old oil tank with me for extra diesel. The fiat is final desision as I've great trust in it unlike that dirty tourag of a 7840. I'd be some site stuck on the side of the road troubleshooting through gearbox problems.

You're going to need to contact an intermediary company to take care of customs requirements. Probably same company will most likely have a transport company too and they'll deliver the container to your farm and take back
    the container when you have it empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Is this Donald Trumps thread, I know a few lads that are as mad as a bag of cats but this takes the biscuit.
    I can't comprehend driving across America in a 110-90 with a 30-40k box. Lol

40k box. Los Angeles to Oregon could be done in a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Five Green Bottles

sounds like a job for the Antonov

Where will they land. I'm driven to get there soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Get it shipped, less hassle and ya won't have the tyres eaten off it.

You'd be shot dead before you get out of L.A.
    Wear a vest.

San Fran to Portland is about 1000k
    Roscommon to Dublin or cork is a short drive this is definitely possible.

San Fran to Portland is about 1000k
    Roscommon to Dublin or cork is a short drive this is definitely possible.

By interstate but you cant use it, it will be considerably further avoiding urban areas.

What's interstate. I've drove down the motorway to Dublin before and no one came after me

What kind of place did you buy?
    Many acres?

(Sorry for being very nosey).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Stop taking the blue tablets and take a half a pink every other day they are a bit stronger and I think you need it

83 acres with forestry and a old shed house is in poor enough state but I think I'll build new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

83 acres with forestry and a old shed house is in poor enough state but I think I'll build new.

Pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Hector will be doing a documentary this fall..
    One Man and His Tractor...

To thine own self be true

Don't forget road tax and insurance in the U.S. and Canada.

Edit and somewhere to put the tractor back together on the dock.
    I think you should consider some protection as well.

Believe it or not I have none

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Birdnuts wrote: »

Thought it was a hillux to the north pole and the Massey to the south?!

Floki wrote: »
    Don't forget road tax and insurance in the U.S. and Canada.

Edit and somewhere to put the tractor back together on the dock.
    I think you should consider some protection as well.

What do you mean by protection

A wavin pipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Floki wrote: »
    A wavin pipe.

I literally laughed out loud. Too bloody funny:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I hope he keeps us updated. This is the most interesting thread I've read in a while. 10 km spin in a fiat is tough going let alone 1,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Any advice on problems I could run into would be appreciated

...... I still laughing so hard , that I cant list all the issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

One of these.

gZ567FD.jpg

Nekarsulm wrote: »

One of these.

gZ567FD.jpg

The trooper wouldn’t fit on the low loader with the digger and buckets and wouldn’t be much use as protection anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

The main reason why bringing the kit is because you won't get a fiat over there

err, isnt the New Holland 110-90 sold in the US , its certainly advertised on the 2nd hand markets, New holland is Fiat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Any advice on problems I could run into would be appreciated...

iceberg-khjB--621x414@LiveMint.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

The thread title brought me in. It's class. Best of luck what ever you do.

Ya can never have enough Wavin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Load up, get the ferry to France, then head east young man, you will eventually get to the Bering sea, with a bit of luck it might be frozen and you can drive across to Alaska, then turn right for Canada and keep going till you arrive at your destination. On a cautionary note, just be sure that the Diff is working.

Poclain 90 wrote:
    What's interstate. I've drove down the motorway to Dublin before and no one came after me

Ah yeah sure the cops in America would be the same as here. You have nothing to worry about. Just ask them who their father was and sure you probably played hurling with them. Very easy going cops around LA. And on those nice interstates with 5 lanes each way just stick her in the middle one and relax. 60 hrs later home and dry

You wouldn't be related to Jack Hoffman (he is from oregan) by any chance he had an unhealthy obsession with a Hitachi digger as well.

Now there is an idea. Talk to Hoffman and the discovery team and see if they will film you on your adventure.
    Would you be religious cause a prayer every morning to get rich quick helps the ratings. And you need to tell God you want the money sooner rather than later. Then slap your flat cap off the bonnet of the 110 and off you roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

......have you tried Google maps for directions to Oregan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

My Brother in Law and his brother have just finished driving a couple of old sports cars from New York to Texas. They seem to have had a whale of a time.

Let's see how you get on and I'll suggest to them they take a tractor or two next time.

Would the Panama canal get in the way of the ferry from here.