Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Ireland is a Kip" - Eamon Dunphy

• 22-09-2017 11:58am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭

[font=Georgia, serif]Eamon Dunphy calls Ireland a 'kip' and demands 'state of emergency' is declared[/font]
    [font=Georgia, serif]The veteran broadcaster began by saying that he was "not optimistic" about Ireland's future before going on to defend its people, saying they are "amazing" in how they deal with things.[/font]
    [font=Georgia, serif]He then said that the crash will "never end for our grandchildren" as there is €200bn debt still being carried by the nation.
    The 72-year old soccer pundit then said that Ireland needs to declare a "state of emergency" before passionately listing the many problems the country has, from nurses emigrating to the homelessness crisis to hospital waiting lists.[/font]

[font=Georgia, serif]He finished with a question: "What on earth did we fight for our freedom for? To live in a kip like this?"[/font]

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/watch-eamon-dunphy-calls-ireland-a-kip-and-demands-state-of-emergency-is-declared-36154748.html

Surprised he said this, thought the Irish economy was improving. But the homeless issue sounds horrific

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Ireland is one of the safest, most stable places on earth. He should travel outside Western Europe and see what real kips are like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 152 ✭✭Karangue

Eamonn likes block capitals too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Shock as Dunphy comes out with controversial statements, was never a headline anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

Eamonn Dunphy needs to be put out in the kennels. He's been barking at the moon for a long time now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

'Dunphy is a gobshyte' - Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Huexotzingo

Ah Eamon, you can't say that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

297.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Im sure from his multimillion euro home in ranelagh, ireland does indeed look a kip.

Absolute pillock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Have to agree with him despite his rudimentary view of economics, I pay my bills each month why can't the government? Despite best interests it just highlights the fact that it's a vessel of inefficiency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Have to agree with him despite his rudimentary view of economics, I pay my bills each month why can't the government? Despite best interests it just highlights the fact that it's a vessel of inefficiency.

You have never had a mortgagee, car loan, or such like, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Who gives a sh1t about that alcohol induced clowns opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Ireland is one of the safest, most stable places on earth. He should travel outside Western Europe and see what real kips are like.

Yea but our soccer team are shyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

You're a fùcking kip, Eamonn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

What bills are you referring to for the government? National debt doesn't work like personal debt. It's never going to be paid back. It's going to be continually rolled over at the best interest rate we can get and let inflation eat into it.

Nope never even had a credit card, All our taxes are doing are plugging a growing gap in our budget deficit caused by such things as poor quality consumer credit. Why would I contribute to the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

428587.JPG

What bills are you referring to for the government? National debt doesn't work like personal debt. It's never going to be paid back. It's going to be continually rolled over at the best interest rate we can get and let inflation eat into it.

A bill that's never going to be paid back sounds sustainable, like an unclosable bartab which is surrounded by politicians. How can other countries run with a surplus I'm Wondering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

It could be a fantastic country for everyone. But it's not. A small few are doing fantastic, and the rest of us hoping we never get ill, and worry about what quality of life will our kids have. Even will they be able to afford a house? Even the very basic things life are getting harder in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I love Ireland. I'm always delighted to come back home, no matter where I'm arriving back from.

Sure, it has it's downsides - crap weather, infrastructure leaves a lot to be desired etc...

But we live in an extremely safe, democratic and free society.

A few right gobshytes around the place, but you find them everywhere.

We're fúcking blessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I see that his rant is being enthusiastically reported in the Daily Express as an anti- EU diatribe.

Stay classy, Eamonn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

just after taking a look at dunphys accounts in the CRO - Festuca limited. €372,537 in the bank as at 31/8/2016. not too bad for a company in a country thats a kip. imagine what it would be like if the country was run right!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

The issues with this country, which I love incidently, is it's citizens sense of entitlement. How many people are in reciept of rent allowance over €1000 per month and working off the books? How many people have Medical Cards who use them whenever it suits to stock up on pain killers/sell medication on? How many 'homeless' in hotels who put themselves in that position to secure their 'Forever Home'? How many working claiming benefits? How many claiming single parents allowance when living with a significant other? How many fathers/mothers ****1ng off, leaving a partner with kids relying on the state to provide for their children. How many businesses out there are cooking the books, not paying their way despite making a fortune day in day out. How many people drive uninsured/untaxed?

I'm not criticising the genuine people that all of the above (apart from the driving uninsured/untaxed) who genuinely need to avail of the services out there. Everyone needs a helping hand now and then. When these services are supporting people for decades, there is something very wrong.

I disagree with multi millionare Eamon Dunphy's comments regarding Ireland being a kip. Our people did'nt fight for the country to end up this way. Nor did they expect that a few generations down the line, a vast majority of their decendants would turn into an entitled bunch of p1ss takers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Dunphy is not even an expert analyst when it comes to the one thing he is supposed to be an expert at. Football.

Why the hell should anyone listen to him about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ireland the only country in the world where mid level sports stars become top political pundits. I wonder what George hook and Joe Brolly have to say on the matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The guy has a point alright and anyone who can't see it needs to take off the nationalist pride glasses.
    No, it's not the worst country in the world, yes there are a lot of things to like about the place... but there are some serious flaws too.

- The constant, never-ending scandals that emerge (be it Gardai, politics, charities, civil service etc) but which are never really addressed

- The waste and mismanagement of public taxes.. from Irish Water, to e-Voting machines, to the stuff emerging from RTE lately. Again, all just "tolerated"

- The fact that despite being in "recovery", we have a massive homelessness and working poor crisis, the never-ending mess that is health, piss-poor public transport in the capital etc

- The "ah shure it'll be grand" approach to pretty much EVERYTHING which both enables the above, AND accounts for why nothing is ever really done about it

Dunphy comes out with a lot of stuff I'd disagree with, but on this one he isn't far off the mark to be fair.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The only good thing about Dunphy is the Apres Match parody of him, and for that I am grateful to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Another of the 'straight talkers' who 'say it as it is' that are so beloved of cretins in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

The don't-like-the message, shoot the messenger brigade are really getting their knickers in a twist. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,871 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He's exaggerating, but he has a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

He clearly meant that those situations make the place seems like a kip ! And he would be right, lots of money floating around and corruption is rife from the guards to the politicians.
    People of this country are sheep, do as you are told and baa baa among yourselves about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

"You can't get good coke in this town!"

So we have a guy with a casual attitude to illegal drugs as well as being a repeat drink driving offender holding court about the state of the nation???

Unbelievable!

Guy has zero credibility in my opinion, he has gone from indulging the likes of Shane Ross to flirting with the loony left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

What poor people ?
    Everytime I go home everyone has a 172D 4x4 Jeep + at least one other car, a €600,000 house, is getting a massive extension ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

He should leave then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

What poor people ?
    Everytime I go home everyone has a 172D 4x4 Jeep + at least one other car, a €600,000 house, is getting a massive extension ....

Sure, sure..:rolleyes:

Ah yeah, Eamon Dunphy. Never mind the alcoholism; find me a sober journalist and I'll find you an honest one.

If, however, somebody could link to his attacks on John Hume in the early 1990s they would be a fine epitaph for Dunphy's life work. It doesn't matter that Dunphy, when he saw the political climate changing and only then, apologised for being one of many bootboys for the now bankrupt Tony O'Reilly and his Sunday Independent rag. The sustained Sunday Independent attacks on Hume were of lynch mob proportions. Dunphy is a really vile little thug who got paid extraordinarily well for his thuggery. The fact that Shane Ross was best man at his wedding is a very good measure of Dunphy's abject knacker status.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

He called it that when speaking to Ryan Tubridy on the LLS a good few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Sure, sure..:rolleyes:

Seriously ... go to Raheny/MAywood/Bettyglen estates ... not exactly posh territory either ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

In the 1980's Eamonn was an incisive writer and pundit. Sadly, the years and the bottle have not been kind. An attention seeking parody of his former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

Arghus wrote: »
    He's exaggerating, but he has a point.

Agreed. The systematic mismanagement of most areas of our public services is ridiculous. Between this and the inflexibility of public service workers millions of euro are being wasted. The politicians won't do anything because they ate more interested in keeping their seats than improving the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

A lot of people saying other countries are worse of la la la and that we're not really that bad.

Pretty bad attitude tbh, surely we should be worrying about ourselves and if we think we are getting what we deserve in Ireland, not compared to any other country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    He should leave then.

Why? Because you don't like the message?

A far better idea would be that we as a country stop accepting the corruption, the waste and general incompetence that pervades pretty much EVERYTHING in this State and start asking TDs and other elected officials what they plan to do about it, and vote accordingly - holding them to account if they don't live up to it.

It's attitudes like this and the "ah it's only Dunphy" sentiments that allow this culture to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

The thing about Eamon Dunphy is that there is no conceivable situation where he say Ireland isnt a kip......

No matter how good things got here, he would still be saying Ireland is a kip.

Based on all the stuff he reads in the newspaper about how ordinary Irish people live, he ought to know....

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Why? Because you don't like the message?

A far better idea would be that we as a country stop accepting the corruption, the waste and general incompetence that pervades pretty much EVERYTHING in this State and start asking TDs and other elected officials what they plan to do about it, and vote accordingly - holding them to account if they don't live up to it.

It's attitudes like this and the "ah it's only Dunphy" sentiments that allow this culture to continue.

The problem is.....

What does that look like, in the real world.

Where is the real life situation of where people have tried to do this, and it didnt end up in 60 years of dictatorship.

What poor people ?

If by everybody you mean 1% of people, then yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

If only wes was taoiseach.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Champagne socialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

_Kaiser_ wrote:

I'd change my attitude of someone could specify a country that we should be like, where they may not have some of our problems but a whole host of other replacements.

In the meantime I'll happily live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

A head on him like a chewed up toffee.

Hasn't a clue how good he has it. Gets paid a fortune to mouth off nonsense egotistical coke fuelled shyte.

Coked up to the gills most of the time.

If Ireland's a kip like to see live in Baghdad or somewhere for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Thats a poor comparison.

Ireland national debit is 195 billion (http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/ireland)

It was its lowest in 2006 just before the crash at 35 billion (http://www.ntma.ie/business-areas/funding-and-debt-management/debt-profile/historical-debt/) and its been rising every year since.

Its been rising every year since 2006 and its still rising even tough the country is apparently recovering.

Your comparison to a mortgage , car loan etc is that usually you take out the loan and repay it without taking on more debt.

Ireland on the other hand has been taking on more debt and cannot reduce its national debt.

Currently it represents about 80% of GDP and its increasing not decreasing.

Its the equivalent of you having a mortgage, a car loan and a bunch of other loans outstanding and you're still unable to pay the electric bill so you need to go and get another loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    The guy has a point alright and anyone who can't see it needs to take off the nationalist pride glasses.
    No, it's not the worst country in the world, yes there are a lot of things to like about the place... but there are some serious flaws too.

- The constant, never-ending scandals that emerge (be it Gardai, politics, charities, civil service etc) but which are never really addressed

- The waste and mismanagement of public taxes.. from Irish Water, to e-Voting machines, to the stuff emerging from RTE lately. Again, all just "tolerated"

- The fact that despite being in "recovery", we have a massive homelessness and working poor crisis, the never-ending mess that is health, piss-poor public transport in the capital etc

- The "ah shure it'll be grand" approach to pretty much EVERYTHING which both enables the above, AND accounts for why nothing is ever really done about it

Dunphy comes out with a lot of stuff I'd disagree with, but on this one he isn't far off the mark to be fair.

Good summary. Sure he's over-egging the pudding, but that shouldn't distract people from what he's saying. It's also bad logic to judge a statement on the identity of the person making it, rather than on its own merits.

The "it'll be grand" attitude to problems and the "it'll do" attitude to half-baked solutions are indeed at the root of a lot of it, and I believe this is why we are sleepwalking into setting up the next generation to be the first in a long time which will be worse off than the previous one. In fact, I suspect that our leaders are walking into it with their eyes wide open, because their kids will be OK whatever happens.

What they're not seeing is that they're sending a very clear message that ordinary people don't matter. This is not something that's unique to Ireland, though. It fed into Trump's election win in the US, it fed into the Brexit result un the UK, and it fed into FG's precarious reliance on FF good will to keep it in power. The problem is, that the great and the good seem to be illiterate when it comes to reading the writing on the wall, as Leo sets up his new spin machine to "get the message across". The last time I heard that kind of talk it was when the Tories in Britain were nose-diving in the polls. "People just aren't getting the message," they consoled themselves. But people were getting the message; it was just that they'd decided that the message sucked. This was followed by a long period in opposition for the Tories...