Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MF 290

• 13-09-2017 1:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31

Lookin to change tractor as my own yoke has a lot of small things wrong with it and im not sure its worth puttin more money into it. Its a MF565. Tis grand for what i need it for mostly although it struggles with a heavy round bale.
    What do ye think of 290s?
    Or any suggestions for something similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Hillman86 wrote: »
    Lookin to change tractor as my own yoke has a lot of small things wrong with it and im not sure its worth puttin more money into it. Its a MF565. Tis grand for what i need it for mostly although it struggles with a heavy round bale.

Pick up an Ursus 4514 (4wd ) or 4512 (2wd) cheaper than a 290. And more or less the same tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Pick up an Ursus 4514 (4wd ) or 4512 (2wd) cheaper than a 290. And more or less the same tractor

As far as I know those models of ursus have the 4.236 Perkins engine. That would be equating them to the massey 275.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

As far as I know those models of ursus have the 4.236 Perkins engine. That would be equating them to the massey 275.

No idea. But able to handle bales. And reliable and priced fairly good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Hillman86 wrote: »

bales on front or rear?

2wd or 4wd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Wessel3

mf 675. 4.236 perkins. very reliable tractors also 3T so stable with a bale on. few on done deal. also 690 etc. look for a clean cab and youll be thankful over 500 series equivalents, possibly even 200 series too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Sami23

What sort of budget have you in mind ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Hillman86

Sami23 wrote: »
    What sort of budget have you in mind ?

Nothin more than 7000 anyway
    Dont do an awful lot of tractor work so not worth spendin a lot of cash on it!
    Just my own yoke is burstin my head when i do use it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

We have a 265 here. I would recommend them. Brilliant tractor and have had very little problems with it since we bought it 17 years ago. A 290 would be the same only bigger. Down side to them is they can be expensive enough.