Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S/h trailer prices (extortionate)

• 11-09-2017 2:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or are used livestock trailers fetching rediculous money.
    In some cases a small percentage off the cost of new for battered boxes and no brakes etc etc.
    In the market for a clean 8x5, have a budget of upto 2k and thought I'd get something reasonably clean but they're few and far between.
    I'm now considering doing up our own but tbh it'll involve alot of work and isn't plated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

We went up the north for ours and got it at 1900. In very good condition, a crooks one. But admittedly it was our uncle who found it as he imports them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

We went up the north for ours and got it at 1900. In very good condition, a crooks one. But admittedly it was our uncle who found it as he imports them!

Yeah been up there so much already this year for gear I wanted to avoid the journey lol. Looks like I'll have to rely upon them again.
    How do ya find the crooks?

kay 9 wrote: »
    Yeah been up there so much already this year for gear I wanted to avoid the journey lol. Looks like I'll have to rely upon them again.
    How do ya find the crooks?

Not bad at all, have only had one puncture in 3yrs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

10 years ago I was looking for an 8X5 at the height of the boom. Ended up ringing a dealer in the north ordering a box and going up and collecting it. Saved about 700 compared to buying one down here. Sterling is good at present. Loads of 10-20 year old tractors imported by lads who are over and back. At present they are looking for top Irish prices how long it will last is anyone's opinion.

Slava Ukrainii

See a nugent 8x5 on dd at the moment in Tyrone for just under 1600 pound. Be about 1700 euro I suppose with the current exchange rate.
    Looks ok in the pic.

I keep reading the thread title as shīt trailer :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭kk.man

I bought a 8x5 ifor W with sheep decks off done deal back in the spring .. for 2k..genuine guy..very happy with it. Sold my old 8x4 afterwards for 1100...I was happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

kk.man wrote: »
    I bought a 8x5 if or with sheep decks off done deal back in the spring .. for 2k..genuine guy..very happy with it. Sold my old 8x4 afterwards for 1100...I was happy out.

Trying to sell an 8x4 here with brakes that just need the bar replaced and every donedeal muppet has called me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Who2

Think about new, i recently ordered a new porter trailer, by the time i knocked off the vat, ran it through the books and found what i was looking for it wasnt much more than the price of an average second hand one. only difference is it should see me out unless they bring in some silly regulation to ban cattle trailers.

I keep reading the thread title as shīt trailer :/

Lol, some of the trailers advertised are just that :D

kk.man wrote: »
    I bought a 8x5 ifor W with sheep decks off done deal back in the spring .. for 2k..genuine guy..very happy with it. Sold my old 8x4 afterwards for 1100...I was happy out.

That wasn't spoiled for 2k

Trying to sell an 8x4 here with brakes that just need the bar replaced and every donedeal muppet has called me.

Have a car for sale at the moment myself and it's more of a nuisance than anything with all the time wasters tbh.

Who2 wrote: »
    Think about new, i recently ordered a new porter trailer, by the time i knocked off the vat, ran it through the books and found what i was looking for it wasnt much more than the price of an average second hand one. only difference is it should see me out unless they bring in some silly regulation to ban cattle trailers.

I don't qualify to get vat off though. Is there much variation in the different brands price wise? Between nugent, iw, Porter, Hamilton, Murphy etc etc. I'm guessing they're all around the 3800 mark inclusive of vat.

I bought a 12. 6. Very little in the price but a lot in the build quality. Most were 5k plus as far as 6400 plus for the worst built one. The tax benefit was the main reason that swung it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Just rang about a tractor drawn cattle trailer with no price . I told him I was only spending around 4k and he told me alls I'd get would be a trailer held together with twine and pallets ! Come out and look at this anyway and bring the 7 k he said .
    There is a finer one up for 6800 right under his ad so I told him I'd look at that first

Have a car for sale at the moment myself and it's more of a nuisance than anything with all the time wasters tbh.

What type of car and what money. Was looking for a car for the young lad lately. I was looking for a small diesel car 10 years oldish. Most of the stuff on DD was overpriced. Bought off a lad that imports English cars. 6 month warranty, full service history, low milage nice clean car. Sterling weakness is hammering 2nd hand value of everything.

Loads of lads with the tractors are yapping on about Vat reciepts on 15-20 year old tractors around the 100HP mark but very few farmers are vat registered. The boys importing the cars know the game turn them over make a profit and go again.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Just as a matter of curiosity how much is a 16ft cattle trailer new.one for a tractor?

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Just as a matter of curiosity how much is a 16ft cattle trailer new.one for a tractor?

Yer man on the phone told me it would be 10k for a new one but didn't say what size or spec

Bullocks wrote: »
    Just rang about a tractor drawn cattle trailer with no price . I told him I was only spending around 4k and he told me alls I'd get would be a trailer held together with twine and pallets ! Come out and look at this anyway and bring the 7 k he said .
    There is a finer one up for 6800 right under his ad so I told him I'd look at that first

some lads don't make little of there stuff.

Tuffmac seem to make a nice 18/20ft twin axle trailer

I know a client who has one and he moves a lot of cows and heavy beef animals and its 5 years old and very happy with it. and its being pulled by both a 40 & 50k tractors

Yer man on the phone told me it would be 10k for a new one but didn't say what size or spec

if someone was willing to spend that sort of money it would be hard to pass buying a joskin on hydraulics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

10k is not ott. I priced a broughan 20ft at €12,800 last year. Short phone call let me tell you.

I generally don't ring them boys with no prices as ya need to be sitting down when you get the price or have to go see it first. Most people have a price on their head so I don't why they say that.

What type of car and what money. Was looking for a car for the young lad lately. I was looking for a small diesel car 10 years oldish. Most of the stuff on DD was overpriced. Bought off a lad that imports English cars. 6 month warranty, full service history, low milage nice clean car. Sterling weakness is hammering 2nd hand value of everything.

Loads of lads with the tractors are yapping on about Vat reciepts on 15-20 year old tractors around the 100HP mark but very few farmers are vat registered. The boys importing the cars know the game turn them over make a profit and go again.
    Pm'd you bass. Nice little Honda civic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Iv been watching done deal like a hawk for one and there doesn't seem to be much value in them second hand. Contractor has a 16ft eamon power one for 3.5k but it needs a good bit of tidying.

Will you get many extra cows in a 16' over an 14' trailer behind the jeep ? I suppose the extra width would be worth more space alright but I'd be looking for an 18' or even 20' if its going behind the tractor

A 14' behind a jeep is 14X6 which is 84sq feet. A 16X*8 tractor trailer is 128 sq feet or 50% larger. It may also be more efficient space wise as cattle will turn more easy to sort themselves out. However a 14X6 loaded is totally illegal to tow with a jeep. As well lots of lads moving cattle are only at it now and again and all have a tractor sitting in the yard. I am looking at getting a tractor trailer if I came across one. But when I look at the cost it cheaper to hire lads to do my haulage.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

6 cows and calves in 16ft comfortably, an awful squash to put four into a 14x6. I'd rather an 18/20ft myself aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

6 cows and calves in 16ft comfortably, an awful squash to put four into a 14x6. I'd rather an 18/20ft myself aswell.

What size tractor would be needed to pull an 18ft trailer? Would 95hp be good enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Parishlad wrote: »
    What size tractor would be needed to pull an 18ft trailer? Would 95hp be good enough?

Itz not the pulling but the stopping but it shouldbe plenty good id have thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was driving from Edgeworthstown to Kilcullen (via Enfield) yesterday and somewhere on the journey I noticed to the left, a good looking cattle trailer in a field with a advertisement/notice board attached to it.
    I can't tell you what the ad was for but I did notice the trailer sitting in the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

For the op. There are 2 8x5 ifor williams on dd today st reasonable money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Has anyone here ever considered a livestock body that straps to a flat bale trailer? I've seen them a lot over in England but never over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Let me guess half of them rang for a chat. When they hear the word repair it brings out the cheapskates. I bought a 10x5 repairable cattle/horse trailer in 2012 for €300 and I curse the day I bought it :mad: Fcuking thing is always in the way in the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

sea12 wrote: »
    For the op. There are 2 8x5 ifor williams on dd today st reasonable money.
    Make things a bit easier and post the links.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Let me guess half of them rang for a chat. When they hear the word repair it brings out the cheapskates. I bought a 10x5 repairable cattle/horse trailer in 2012 for €300 and I curse the day I bought it :mad: Fcuking thing is always in the way in the yard.

I have the bar ordered. Going to replace it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Make things a bit easier and post the links.

This must be one of them 1600 Cork

https://www.donedeal.ie/cattletrailers-for-sale/cattle-trailer/16664242

Wouldn't mind having a look at that myself if it wasn't 200 miles away

I don't see another one with a price quoted

Farmer wrote: »

I say the other one was a few days older older in Donegal.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cattletrailers-for-sale/ifor-williams-8x5/16631596

However the Cork looks a fresher box. With 200 miles you must be near the border I think you should be looking in NI. Having said that while 200 miles might be a long distance if you made an appointment with the seller and left at 6am you be outside his door around 10am giving bad roads. Get his name a draft for 1400 euro and bit of cash. You can lodge a draft into the account it was purchased out of no matter what name is on it.
    If you do a deal hitch up trailer onto back of car and away you go. A day gone but a trailer bought.

Slava Ukrainii

What are the bateson trailers like, one not too far from me which seems to be pretty clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

Way too cheap for that model in that condition with keys. Something odd there.

Odelay wrote: »
    Way too cheap for that model in that condition with keys. Something odd there.

That's another problem with buying one s/h. It could melt on the way home Anyway, It's not there anymore, it has morphed into a horsebox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

That's another problem with buying one s/h. It could melt on the way home Anyway, It's not there anymore, it has morphed into a horsebox

Yep and the photograph of the keys in the hitch is not the same hitch as the next photograph. No red breakaway cable in that one. Hmmmm wonder does it's owner work on an oil rig ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Bought a 20ft eamon power off dd couple years ago, no price on ad so reluctantly rang, told me she has brand new gates and a new floor also told me 5k, long story short bought it for 3500, this time last yr we painted it and put new lights on it, had a 12ft box and jeep prior to this and would only take 10/15 mins longer to get most places I want to go on a tractor and can go to factory with 10-12 cattle, plus tractors used green diesel, is taxed and insured anyway where as jeep, tax and ins- min of 1k doe €112 or something, tyres/maintenance etc.

simx wrote: »
    Bought a 20ft eamon power off dd couple years ago, no price on ad so reluctantly rang, told me she has brand new gates and a new floor also told me 5k, long story short bought it for 3500, this time last yr we painted it and put new lights on it, had a 12ft box and jeep prior to this and would only take 10/15 mins longer to get most places I want to go on a tractor and can go to factory with 10-12 cattle, plus tractors used green diesel, is taxed and insured anyway where as jeep, tax and ins- min of 1k doe €112 or something, tyres/maintenance etc.

Did you get rid of the jeep altogether ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Did you get rid of the jeep altogether ?

Yep, no need for it, too hard on diesel, know plenty of farmers could do without them too

simx wrote: »
    Yep, no need for it, too hard on diesel, know plenty of farmers could do without them too

Ye they are all sows on diesel. Jeep here doing 4000/6000 km a year. 95% is with a trailer.

However I'd be lost without it. But that's because of fragmented land and also use it for work going to shows etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭josephsoap

https://www.donedeal.ie/cattletrailers-for-sale/8x5-livestock-trailer/16459452

Tidy looking 8x5 there, not sure of the make but might be priced a bit strong ?

josephsoap wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cattletrailers-for-sale/8x5-livestock-trailer/16459452

Tidy looking 8x5 there, not sure of the make but might be priced a bit strong ?

Seen that one. Be as well go new as give that money. The more I look, it's hard enough find a straight clean used one. Beggars can't be choosers I guess

I think most secondhand car sized trailers are overpriced at the moment as we are all looking for them to try to keep ahead of the new regulations (not so new now)

Lads with jeeps and bigger trailers who get more use from them were in that space much earlier so now it's sometimes cheaper to buy something like a 10 x 5 which might only weigh 100-120 kgs extra

One way or another, unless one has something with a towing capacity of 2000 kgs or more, the traditional 'two cow trailer' is now only legally a one cow

She'd be lonely in the 10 x 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

What are the bateson trailers like, one not too far from me which seems to be pretty clean.
    strong trailers, had one for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

I would kind of put these in the same category as a mower in that you will get years and years out of them if you buy new and look after them. We have a 12 x 6 ifor that the boss bought in 1988 and it is still in perfect condition (bar needing 4 new shoes). I reckon a new one even let it take a small loan over 3 years and go brand new is the answer. Just my opinion.