Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man City v Liverpool, 12.30pm live on Sky Sport

• 09-09-2017 7:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭suffering golfer

Obviously the game of the weekend. With Kompany out through injury (again!), this heavyweight clash feature two teams with suspect (weak) defence, but also two of the most exciting attacking teams in the league. So goals galore!! Both set of fans will be cowardicing behind the couch when the other team enter their half. The neutrals will love it.

Prediction 3-3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Should be a good match. I reckon Liverpool might win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Take a draw now, pool defence is dodgy, but so is city's .
    2-2 perhaps

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I feel somewhat optimistic about Liverpools chances, therefore City will win 3-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Two attack minded managers and teams that seem incapable of defending. Hopefully a 4-4 thriller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Kompany will be a huge loss for City. If Liverpool can defend like they did against arsenal, I can only see Liverpool winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,593 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

4-4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

3-1 to Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

We'll get stuffed. ****ing stuffed. I hope I'm wrong mind.

Can't see us getting stuffed TBH unless pep perfectly balances great defending with clinical finishing.

Can see us conceding of course. But equally reckon we'll score a goal or two.

Away to man city this early in season isn't a game that the result of which should be overly significant IMO :)

Both teams to lose...if only

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 17,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

0-0

Moderator: Forum Games

astradave wrote: »
    0-0

There were only 3 goals in the 2 games between these last season, so it wouldn't totally shock me. There was very little between the teams in the games, with Liverpool employing bus parking tactics a bit at the game at Anfield. I remember though that the game at City had loads of chances, so 1-1 was not really representative, could well have been 4-4.

2-2

Line-ups in 9 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,289 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

3-1 to pool ,

DJRnXG9XUAIvneD.jpg

DJRoVrmX0AAGe_k.png
    #LFC substitutes against @ManCity: Karius, Lovren, Gomez, Milner, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Solanke, Sturridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

5starpool wrote: »
    DJRnXG9XUAIvneD.jpg

DJRoVrmX0AAGe_k.png
    #LFC substitutes against @ManCity: Karius, Lovren, Gomez, Milner, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Solanke, Sturridge.

FFS.. is Lovern injured again ?

mada999 wrote: »
    FFS.. is Lovern injured again ?

On the bench, so tactical I assume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I'm trying to figure out what tactics would involve dropping our poorest starting CB for a poorer reserve one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Finding this hard to predict. Liverpool play most attacking brand of football around and don't particularly rate City's backline. But City far too much ammunition themselves not to hurt Liverpool. I'm going with a 2-3 away win, will likely come down to who is less wasteful with their abundance of chances.

I'm trying to figure out what tactics would involve dropping our poorest starting CB for a poorer reserve one?

Beats me. Klavan is slow and cumbersome,which could be trouble, but Lovren does have more high profile brain farts generally. It will obviously be a talking point anyhow if there is a mistake from Klavan leading to a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

aye Klopp just said there that Lovern is tired after playing Intl matches

Whats wrong with Robertson?

2 of Liverpools weakest defenders in a back 4 against Man City is baffling.

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Both teams to lose...if only

It's the most neutral ye will get this season probably :D

Beats me. Klavan is slow and cumbersome,which could be trouble, but Lovren does have more high profile brain farts generally. It will obviously be a talking point anyhow if there is a mistake from Klavan leading to a goal.
    I'm going to assume Lovren has a slight knock which means he wouldn't start the game but would be able to come on for the last 15 minutes to protect the 3 goal lead.

Yeah.

I'm going to assume Lovren has a slight knock which means he wouldn't start the game but would be able to come on for the last 15 minutes to protect the 3 goal lead.

Yeah.

I'll go with that too.

Then after he comes on we let in 4 late goals :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Not particularly looking forward to this. The scousers are our bogey side in recent seasons. And especially with Vinny out injured. I'd pull your arms out of the sockets if you offered me a scrappy 1-0 win right now.

Probably the best time to face this City side. Half that side playing over in South American the past week, serious amount of air miles clocked up there. Obviously Liverpool have one of their own and the African lads but still nothing like the overall amount of travel involved.

https://twitter.com/DanielTyrer/status/906466318630748161

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Mystery man Lovern missing again for some secret reason.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Jaysus, thats some tackle from Otamendi....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,893 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Matip needed to buuy a freekick there

Need to run at Otamendi all game now. Himself and Stones are the least inspiring central defenders I've ever seen in title favourites.

Rekop dog wrote: »
    Need to run at Otamendi all game now. Himself and Stones are the least inspiring central defenders I've ever seen in title favourites.

Thats why I struggle the concept of them favourites. Cant see past United or Chelsea for that accolade.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Thats why I struggle the concept of them favourites. Cant see past United or Chelsea for that accolade.

Especially coupled with the fact their captain seems to spend more time injured than anything these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,130 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Trent's feeling the heat

Alexander Arnold is a bit shaky so far, hopefully he settles down. Bad corner to give away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

Trent's feeling the heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,130 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

City with the best chances so far, haven't seen too much from Liverpool. Our midfield's getting bypassed quite easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Have a feeling it aint gonna be our day......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Should have done better there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Can't see why Pep wanting wingers to whip over crosses for small guys like Jesus and Kun. Should have kept Dzeko at tha rate

John stones, awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭limnam

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    John stones, awful

Money for old rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

TAA is having some mare so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Arnolds weakness exposed there, De bryune did well

Things not quite coming off for either team in attack so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Arnold very dodgey looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Salah needs end product. Wastes too many of those situations.