Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Coffee Day Tuesday in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

While you are 100% on Starbucks being horrific coffee, I did like the new blend they had recently. Very very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

The list to save you clicking the link:

The Clockwork Door (Temple Bar)
    Foam Cafe (Strand Street)
    Coco Brew (Temple Bar)
    Il Fornaio Enoteca (Liffey Street)
    Celtic Cookie Company (Abbey Street)
    Coffee Cartel Coffee Cart (Abbey Street)
    Gallaher and Co (D'Olier Street)
    Shoe Lane Cafe (Tara Street)
    Dwarf Jar (Wellington Quay)
    The Joy Of Cha (Temple Bar)
    The Stage Door (Temple Bar)
    The Tram Cafe (Jervis Street)
    The Bus Stop Cafe (Essex Quay)
    Metro Cafe (South William Street)
    BG Cafe and Deli (Pearse Street)
    IFI Cafe (Temple Bar)
    Tamp and stitch (Temple Bar)
    The Yellow Cup (Pearse Street)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭tea_and_cake

Unless you've to ask for it Shoe Lane on Tara St aren't giving out free coffee.

Just FYI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭tea_and_cake

OSI wrote: »
    Seems they knew nothing of it. Wouldn't be surprised if it was all horse****, wouldn't be the first time LovinDublin have talked out their hoop

Oh wow! Bad form Lovin Dublin. I'm happy to pay because it's where I go but I won't trust Lovin Dublin anymore...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

OSI wrote: »
    Seems they knew nothing of it. Wouldn't be surprised if it was all horse****, wouldn't be the first time LovinDublin have talked out their hoop.

I steer well clear of LovinDublin after this carry on.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/5etnlz/lovin_dublin_are_at_it_again/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

From comments on lovindublin, it seems Metro cafe knew nothing of this and don't know why they are on any list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

me_irl wrote: »
    I steer well clear of LovinDublin after this carry on.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/5etnlz/lovin_dublin_are_at_it_again/

Yep an awful resource for info on Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Would not give Lovin Dublin any time of day, very untrustworthy IMO.

98fm have a list on their site too iirc

Officially there's 3 key times when you can grab a free coffee but each coffee shop is free to participate how they choose.

The Clockwork Door (Temple Bar
    Coco Brew (Temple Bar)
    IFI Cafe (Temple Bar)

The times are between 8am-9am, 1pm-2pm and 5pm-7pm.

http://www.98fm.com/17-Independent-Dublin-Coffee-Shops-Giving-Away-Free-Coffee-Tomorrow

spurious wrote: »
    From comments on lovindublin, it seems Metro cafe knew nothing of this and don't know why they are on any list.
    Augeo wrote: »
    98fm have a list on their site too iirc

Officially there's 3 key times when you can grab a free coffee but each coffee shop is free to participate how they choose.

The Clockwork Door (Temple Bar
    Coco Brew (Temple Bar)
    IFI Cafe (Temple Bar)

The times are between 8am-9am, 1pm-2pm and 5pm-7pm.

http://www.98fm.com/17-Independent-Dublin-Coffee-Shops-Giving-Away-Free-Coffee-Tomorrow

I wonder what list both sites are working from if the two above aren't part of this promotion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Lovin' Dublin has been an abortion of a website for years. Absolute shower of eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I saw it on the Irish Times website last night

Weird, was just reading it there.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/dublin-cafes-to-give-away-coffees-in-starbucks-protest-1.3209383

Only mentions The Clockwork Door as well as...
    Coffee shops and cafes handing out free coffee on Tuesday include Foam Cafe on Strand Street (1-2pm), CoCo Brew in Temple Bar (8-11am) and Gallagher & Co on D’Olier Street (1-2pm and 5-7pm).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Pity theres none near me, I would be donating the cost of the coffee to them anyway, anything to go against those vacuous p1ss merchants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Total mess, I'm just going to Starbucks. Less hassle :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,526 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

not from Dublin, and only go there the odd time, but 50 starbucks ?!?! Never thought there would be close to that many !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭sergiotheonly

Seems a whole load of these cafes aren't involved in the promotion, only The Clockwork Door confirmed. Bit of a snafu!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

The link I provided earlier isnt working any more!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Great Thread!

Particularly in light of a certain franchise which I won't name establishing a store in South Dublin. Good Food and Coffee, and good friendly staff too - to begin with.

...Cue 2 years down the road with the same store ...same quality food. The staff though - scripted and virtually process driven automaton service.

98fm seemed to have removed the list too.

Wonder who started that rumour!?!

The same radio station was responsible for running "Best Dublin Bus Driver Competition" a few months ago.
    At time I had a conversation on a Dublin Bus journey with a veteran Dublin Bus driver who was driving. When I told him about the competition he said it was the first thing he heard about the competition.
    Now I know some buses had the poster studded wit the 98fm notice with blood red background mind you advertising the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    The same radio station was responsible for running "Best Dublin Bus Driver Competition" a few months ago.
    At time I had a conversation on a Dublin Bus journey with a veteran Dublin Bus driver who was driving. When I told him about the competition he said it was the first thing he heard about the competition.
    Now I know some buses had the poster studded wit the 98fm notice with blood red background mind you advertising the competition.

They obviously can't count either since the URL mentions "17 Independent Coffee Shops" but there's 18 on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Starbucks? :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Thinly veiled Starbucks promotion.

Also **** lovindublin. They are the worst. They have a bad history of this type of crap

98fm gave it a verbal speel this morning, that's how I heard about it. They said the list was on their website.

Remember to rate this thread as EXCELLENT.

Unless you're a Starbucks fan then rate it as Terrible

Just sayin' ;D