Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

famers journal

• 31-08-2017 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭

What's peoples opinions-will the price of the farmers journal go up again this year-normaly does at the ploughing.. its @€;3 now, to me to much + less content(farming) in it these days....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

wiggy123 wrote: »
    What's peoples opinions-will the price of the farmers journal go up again this year-normaly does at the ploughing.. its @€;3 now, to me to much + less content(farming) in it these days....

Only noticed it today when i was buying it, its only €3 once a week. its still miles ahead of the rubbish that is in the online publications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

someone posted the same topic to a discussion group on Facebook :D

I buy the IFJ about 3 times a year now. I was buying it and not reading it at all.
    Agriland is good I find but a little over the top with articles that are pure advertising . recent 2 was agrigear and landini/mccormick articles . nothing of any use only waffle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I gave up on the journal years ago, I did buy it two weeks ago it had a topic about milking parlours when I took the country living mag out of it there was feck all journal left, pure waste of money, nothing like it was back in the 90's. Con Hurley always had some interesting article about dairying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

ah that was me also lakill farm

hear ya's! they claim sales figures never was a high-odd, as content is less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

There is enough farming in it imv. The articles on farming are all basically the same every year. I still buy it as it seems cheap once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I gave up on the journal years ago, I did buy it two weeks ago it had a topic about milking parlours when I took the country living mag out of it there was feck all journal left, pure waste of money, nothing like it was back in the 90's. Con Hurley always had some interesting article about dairying.

I have heaps of old journals and happened to flick trough one of them from 2004 where a worried person wrote in with a query about having savings invested in irish nationwide and it was con hurley advising it was so ''safe'' and went on tell us about how profitable i.n. and anglo were .It was such farce when you look back no wonder so many lads ended up broke reading that rubbish .
    Just as well they have stoped giving investment advice but at the same time you wont get much nowadays for your €3 ,it gives great mart coverage but maybe a bit of over the top prices .I remember local mart was covered one week and mart manager said there was great demand for heifers ,what harm there was no one around the ring except myself and a few haglers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Some lads could do with reading it every now and then when you see some of the age to weight of some cattle at the marts. Fair enough some of the stuff is copied and pasted at the same time every year but find the features from different farmers good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I've gone from reading it cover to cover a few years ago, to only flicking through it now. Still continue to buy it now, even though I'm considering it more a waste of money every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

agree patsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Any of ye who have kids doing ag science in secondary school. They get a special price of €20/school year for the journal. Great saving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »
    Any of ye who have kids doing ag science in secondary school. They get a special price of €20/school year for the journal. Great saving

Eldest lad had his first double ag science today. I'd better get him on to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

whelan2 wrote:

Yeah that's an excellent deal or 50euro and you also get a heap of books with it which are excellent. My old ag teacher reckoned they did it so cheap to keep the readership figures up and maybe it's working as someone mentioned above about the sales going up and content going down

Ye. He doesn't get to bring it home until a Friday but I wonder do all schools do it?

whelan2 wrote:
    Ye. He doesn't get to bring it home until a Friday but I wonder do all schools do it?

I think so, all schools with ag science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Yeah that's an excellent deal or 50euro and you also get a heap of books with it which are excellent. My old ag teacher reckoned they did it so cheap to keep the readership figures up and maybe it's working as someone mentioned above about the sales going up and content going down

Brother got a heap of books and posters plus the IFJ every week for €30. Gets it on a thursday.

Must tell him to ask about the extras tomorrow

You can also put the cost of the journal as an expense for tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Must tell him to ask about the extras tomorrow

I wpuldnt buy them, itd the same as whats in the book anyways

Use to get the financial times daily in college for about the same price.

Have never read it since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

Have never read it since

Ya probably would have been better off if u had continued with the FT rather than the FJ !

kk.man wrote: »
    Ya probably would have been better off if u had continued with the FT rather than the FJ !

I hardly ever buy the farmers journal.

I was in college in 2001-2006 full time. Access to news , especially business news and markets (commodities and shares ) updates are close to live/instant now. Not a day behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

You don't have to buy it to do that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Buy it most weeks more out of habit than anything else. Usually glance through it but would only read a couple of bits in it (like 'The Dealer) or maybe milk league. Enjoy the crossword. The odd time look at the page where guys and gals are looking for prospective partners and ask myself 'should I put in an ad? Just to frighten people:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Have never read it since

Only ever get it for the crosswords.

It's written by Brussels shills.

Buy it most weeks more out of habit than anything else. Usually glance through it but would only read a couple of bits in it (like 'The Dealer) or maybe milk league. Enjoy the crossword. The odd time look at the page where guys and gals are looking for prospective partners and ask myself 'should I put in an ad? Just to frighten people:eek:

So daisy. Write up your column inch for the "guys and girls " looking page. The way the journal robs ideas they might publish it for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Future Farmer

I buy the IFJ about once or twice a year.

"The huge salaries and the massive number of staff can be shocking" that is what a IFJ Employee said to me last week, off the record! In general, I find a lot of people working in there are pushing there own boring unwavering agendas, plus the fact that about 90% of the journalists went to UCD is a bit much, no?

My parents by it week in week out, I wouldn't even flick through it 95% of the time, plus they seem to be making a balls of the online thing IMO. Will definitely be in a different form in 10 - 15 yrs.

I buy the IFJ about once or twice a year.

"The huge salaries and the massive number of staff can be shocking" that is what a IFJ Employee said to me last week, off the record! In general, I find a lot of people working in there are pushing there own boring unwavering agendas, plus the fact that about 90% of the journalists went to UCD is a bit much, no?

My parents by it week in week out, I wouldn't even flick through it 95% of the time, plus they seem to be making a balls of the online thing IMO. Will definitely be in a different form in 10 - 15 yrs.

We get it from the school. When we are finished with it, my parents get it. We are not allowed to do the crossword as my mother likes to do it. Only get irish independent 2days a week and it goes to my parents house when we have read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

I'd say most do. It's a popular subject choice even in the south Dublin girls schools!
    Used to read it cover to cover in school every Thursday. Would still have a good read through it most weeks this weather.
    I put the code into the phone every week, nothing more annoying than seeing an interesting FJ article on Facebook or somewhere and then realizing you can't read it with the pay wall...
    Their Snapchat account is good too.
    In fairness the content is a good bit better than Agriland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

So daisy. Write up your column inch for the "guys and girls " looking page. The way the journal robs ideas they might publish it for the craic

But what do I say? OK, I'm a NS and ND (you have to abbreviate) but what else? Do I say I have money and am good looking or do I tell the truth?
    Would you write it for me? You are good with words. Looking at it this morning it €30 per ad. Thought I might be charged by the inch:o:o

A Liz kavanagh susessor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Would you have to keep a receipt everytime you buy it? I suppose €156 to write off at the end of the year isn't bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

In general, I find a lot of people working in there are pushing there own boring unwavering agendas, plus the fact that about 90% of the journalists went to UCD is a bit much, no?

Teagasc is the exact same, it's more about having a face that fits rather ability.

I went to UCD i must have no ability then?
    The reason most of the lads in teagasc/journal went to ucd is it was the only place to to degree in agriculture for a long tine in ireland. Its not a big conspiracy.
    Any of the commerical nutitrion guys i know also went to ucd, you could also add department,ai companies and fertiliser companies as places dominated by ucd graduates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

yewtree wrote: »
    I went to UCD i must have no ability then?
    The reason most of the lads in teagasc/journal went to ucd is it was the only place to to degree in agriculture for a long tine in ireland. Its not a big conspiracy.
    Any of the commerical nutitrion guys i know also went to ucd, you could also add department,ai companies and fertiliser companies as places dominated by ucd graduates.

I went to Ucd, some of my friends went to Ucd. Two of my friends has been mentioned on here for their research with Teagasc.
    It's not a good thing when everyone in the supply and research trade come from the one club. So long as your face fits your all good.

I went to Ucd, some of my friends went to Ucd. Two of my friends has been mentioned on here for their research with Teagasc.
    It's not a good thing when everyone in the supply and research trade come from the one club. So long as your face fits your all good.

I think its just a fuction of the size of the country most people interested in getting a degree in ag go to ucd and these are the people that end up going into the sg industry. Lots of the lads i went to in ucd have different opinions on how the ag industry should work. Its not like we all come out and think exactly the same way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭tractorporn

yewtree wrote:
    I went to UCD i must have no ability then? The reason most of the lads in teagasc/journal went to ucd is it was the only place to to degree in agriculture for a long tine in ireland. Its not a big conspiracy. Any of the commerical nutitrion guys i know also went to ucd, you could also add department,ai companies and fertiliser companies as places dominated by ucd graduates.

Eh the department, the Journal and Teagasc are proper UCD old boys club. I applied for a job in Teagasc once upon a time and they wouldn't recognise my degree because it was from an English university.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

But what do I say? OK, I'm a NS and ND (you have to abbreviate) but what else? Do I say I have money and am good looking or do I tell the truth?
    Would you write it for me? You are good with words. Looking at it this morning it €30 per ad. Thought I might be charged by the inch:o:o
    Jaysus, I'd be broke:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

yewtree wrote: »
    I think its just a fuction of the size of the country most people interested in getting a degree in ag go to ucd and these are the people that end up going into the sg industry. Lots of the lads i went to in ucd have different opinions on how the ag industry should work. Its not like we all come out and think exactly the same way

I find the IFJ appears to suffer from "groupthink" and takes a very narrow view of Irish farming which still appears stuck in the 80's. Same goes for Teagasc. That is not a criticism of UCD grads(I'm one myself), I think the problem lies at the top level of both entities in the area of editorship, policy bias and recruitment. The IFJ also comes across as having a bias when it comes to reporting on Farming "politics". But I'm not going to open that can of worms here;). I prefer the Farming Indo myself - far from perfect but it does at least provide for alternative views on most matters.

Do UCD have a farm up there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Don't forget GSOH and WLTS.;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Do UCD have a farm up there?

Think they have a working farm near Naas called the Lyons Estate.

arctictree wrote: »
    Would you have to keep a receipt everytime you buy it? I suppose €156 to write off at the end of the year isn't bad.

Not for the accountant but you would need it in case of an audit. A yearly subscription would be better as you only have one receipt.

Not many revenue auditors would get that picky over paying for the a weekly paper.

NorMally it's something bigger but if it's only down to 3e a week your not going to have much of an issue at the end

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I'm a returnee to farming so I buy the Journal every week and always pick up something from it. This might change over time but I'll be spending the €3 per week for the foreseeable anyway.

The Tullamore farm project should give them a better sense of commercial reality too so looking forward to seeing how they react when things go wrong there. Assuming they don't just throw money at it (as they did to get up and running)

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

There is as much sound and knowledgeable advice on here as on the Journal. The stories on here are way more craic.☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭adam14

I don't buy it much anymore. It's not down to price, it's down to the poor quality for most of it and reproduced articles. I did buy it over my holidays when I had time to read it and might occasionally during the winter when work is quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

There is as much sound and knowledgeable advice on here as on the Journal. The stories on here are way more craic.☺

You need your BS detector working a lot more here than when you're reading the journal.
    I've said it before here, If it's worth three euros to you buy it, if it's not don't.
    Darren, Justin and the farmer contributors are all sound, don't know any more of them. if the opinions on here were the norm they wouldn't be 60 years on the go.

I'm a returnee to farming so I buy the Journal every week and always pick up something from it. This might change over time but I'll be spending the €3 per week for the foreseeable anyway.

The Tullamore farm project should give them a better sense of commercial reality too so looking forward to seeing how they react when things go wrong there. Assuming they don't just throw money at it (as they did to get up and running)

Plus I believe they are having a dedicated sales of weanlings. That's unrealistic for 99% of farms in the country so is not been run commercially

rangler1 wrote: »
    You need your BS detector working a lot more here than when you're reading the journal.
    I've said it before here, If it's worth three euros to you buy it, if it's not don't.
    Darren, Justin and the farmer contributors are all sound, don't know any more of them. if the opinions on here were the norm they wouldn't be 60 years on the go.

I know a lad who use to write for the journal and he would not agree to what you have said.

He openly would say the opposite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I know a lad who use to write for the journal and he would not agree to what you have said.

He openly would say the opposite

A disgruntled ex employee wouldn't be a great reference.
    IFJ will be grand, it doesn't have to sell to every farmer.
    There's anonymous posters on here that have more agendas than IFJ ever had.