Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phone masts

• 29-08-2017 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭

I've been approached by Cignal to place a mast in the land. Wondering has anyone dealt with them and how did it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I've been approached by Cignal to place a mast in the land. Wondering has anyone dealt with them and how did it go.

Do you already have masts/ rebounders on your land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭johnnyfruitcake

No, we don't have anything at present. This will be started from scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Know of two brothers that were approached about a mobile mast- no way anyway so now they have to look at it in they're neighbours field and he getting the cheque for it 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

simx wrote: »
    Know of two brothers that were approached about a mobile mast- no way anyway so now they have to look at it in they're neighbours field and he getting the cheque for it ��

the cheques have being getting smaller and smaller over the years however its a nice top up

Have one lad and the mast needed to be up a hill. they put in a good roadway to it. about 800km he said it cost them a fortune and he has full usage of it .

the cheques have being getting smaller and smaller over the years however its a nice top up

Have one lad and the mast needed to be up a hill. they put in a good roadway to it. about 800km he said it cost them a fortune and he has full usage of it .
    A few of the companies are amalgamating

whelan2 wrote: »

yes, but even if its just a single payment its been eroded away.

However its still the most profitable land on any farm , unless your growing cannabis plants along with the maize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

yes, but even if its just a single payment its been eroded away.

However its still the most profitable land on any farm , unless your growing cannabis plants along with the maize

Ffs.....i told you to keep that to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

A lad with a farm that size would hardly need a top up.

whelan2 wrote:

There looking at 30 year lease for 40k, 6 weeks to construct and then service maybe 4 times a year. Just wondering where they messy with the construction or was it neat and quick.

mayota wrote: »
    A lad with a farm that size would hardly need a top up.

:rolleyes: true . 800m :p

There looking at 30 year lease for 40k, 6 weeks to construct and then service maybe 4 times a year. Just wondering where they messy with the construction or was it neat and quick.

Paid up front ? or yearly? factor in inflation over 30 years

I see rates from 3.5k - 18K Per annum

I remember doing work for a building company owed by a developer in Dublin city centre and you could retire on the annual rental :o. Alas NAMA ruined that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Tax would take half of it, I was plagued by them, most were on around 5k/year. I reckoned it was useless at that money, I told them to come back when the offer was €10k/year so that finished it

rangler1 wrote: »
    Tax would take half of it, I was plagued by them, most were on around 5k/year. I reckoned it was useless at that money, I told them to come back when the offer was €10k/year so that finished it

Handiest 5k you could have ever got apart from SFP.

On average the fences in area of a mast and the shed area is under 25m squared

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Two questions,who are cignal and are they a mobile company or this some other form of communication.from what i know you must have a valuable location for 40k a year.factors like the area a mast can catch unobstructed,population density,adjacent to major roads,or an ability to cover a certain black spot.i wouldnt sign up for thirty years though

K.G. wrote: »
    Two questions,who are cignal and are they a mobile company or this some other form of communication.from what i know you must have a valuable location for 40k a year.factors like the area a mast can catch unobstructed,population density,adjacent to major roads,or an ability to cover a certain black spot.i wouldnt sign up for thirty years though

I took it as 40k altogether? Is it a mast? Are there many neighbours? If its such a good location why isnt there one there already?

I would have been thinking the same. 40k over 30 years.

If it is. I would decline the offer.

That's upfront, yearly I think is €2,500 to €3,500. Tried pushing for more as this seems to be the only suitable site, but wouldn't budge much.

Paid up front, yearly is around €2,500 it's not great, tried pushing for more but he didn't budge much. I think it's the only location suitable so was hoping for more.

Afaik they rent the site from you and then deal with the phone operators. Rent would be normally in the region from €7k/ year to alot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Happened us as well-we turned it down and neighbour for the cheque!! We would have been b unpopular if we went for it but the neighbour who took it doesn't seem too bothered!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

The funny thing about phone masts is nobody wants them near their house because of "the radiation" but have no problem with having the radiation next to their ear every time the make a call. Or next to privates in the pocket.
    There was a meeting in local pub a few years about a proposed mast in the area. Everybody was against the mast. The noise and radiation were main cause. Anyways one fella was very vocal about it. He was going to have a sit down protest outside the local Td's office.
    Fast forward 6 months the mast got planning on his land. He was offered big money he couldn't refuse. It's shared by the three mobile company's so I guess the cheque is a nice one.
    I only wish I had a nice high hill and they can put whatever they want up there and I get my cheque. They dont take up alot of land 50 square metres and a road that you have full use of. Basically if you don't do it a neighbour will and he reaps the rewards and you left thinking why didn't I do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Slighty off topic

But while we are talking about nimbyism (not in my back yard) i see people giving out about solar farms. Heard people give out and signs up saying no to solar farms.

What are people problems with them or do they just like giving out

K.G. wrote:

Cignal are a new company, they construct and maintain the masts, I think a French company owns them, they bought all the Coillte masts a few years ago.

They lease the mast to 3 provider's, meteor, Vodafone and 1 other.

They are decommissioning 2 masts near by and this is the best location to replace them.

Not 40k a year, I'd be signed up if so. It's a lump sum, or around 2,500 payment per year, 30 year lease.

Wont be anywhere near a house, beside a wooded area above the town.

I don't think it's enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

There paying peanuts . I taugh it was 40 up front and then couple of grand a year . I tell them go feck off

They are way off the mark with 2500, what would 2500 be worth in 30 years time. Tell them to come back when they have a sensible offer

whelan2 wrote:
    They are way off the mark with 2500, what would 2500 be worth in 30 years time. Tell them to come back when they have a sensible offer

Yea I agree, I tried pushing for more so I'll wait and see what they say.

Do you know what other people are getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Yea I agree, I tried pushing for more so I'll wait and see what they say.

Do you know what other people are getting?

Ask your accountant or solicitor. They obviously won't be able to give you specifics but they'll know the ballpark figures. Population density, proximity to main rds, lines of sight to other masts or dead areas will have a bearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

Consider building your own mast and renting them space. That way you can also rent to other carriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

thegills wrote: »
    Consider building your own mast and renting them space. That way you can also rent to other carriers.

Cignal would be providing all high site services to the telcos, its not just a steel structure. A sole farmer cant provide those kind of SLAs.

The masts their replacing,how old are they,whats coverage like in their areas,are there issues or is it a simple cost saving measure.refer to the potential value selection i posted earlier.for what its worth be very open to any proposal they have at first in order to get them to"invest"in your site and park the money discussions.but from what i knowa potential site that can replace two is worth in the region of 20 k per year.subject to plus or minus depending on area.i suspect they are just fishing at the moment unless there are issues with existing site because new sites bring potential for planning issues whereas existing sites can generalby up graded hassle free.pm me if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭jerryg

There is a mast in for planning in our area on Coillte land, I was wondering if you live within 1Km.
    1. What health risk is there from such a mast ?
    2.What criteria could one use in an observation?
    3.Has anyone been successful in stopping one being erected?
    e.g.
    Devaluing land,
    Health issues,
    Access.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

jerryg wrote: »
    There is a mast in for planning in our area on Coillte land, I was wondering if you live within 1Km.
    1. What health risk is there from such a mast ?
    2.What criteria could one use in an observation?
    3.Has anyone been successful in stopping one being erected?
    e.g.
    Devaluing land,
    Health issues,
    Access.

If you are worried about masts, throw your phone in the bin

Have a repeater seventeen years now and the other day i asked the esb meter fella does it use much power.he reckoned 100 euro in that in the 17 years so if the power aint going in its hard to see coming out

K.G. wrote: »
    Have a repeater seventeen years now and the other day i asked the esb meter fella does it use much power.he reckoned 100 euro in that in the 17 years so if the power aint going in its hard to see coming out
    We have the rebounders about the same amount of time, one local lad was saying it was like standing inside your microwave being beside one of them. The only thing that bugs me is when I am in the field were they are I have full bars on my phone but my phone wont work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

We have the rebounders about the same amount of time, one local lad was saying it was like standing inside your microwave being beside one of them. The only thing that bugs me is when I am in the field were they are I have full bars on my phone but my phone wont work!

What do you mean your phone won't work?

Floki wrote: »
    What do you mean your phone won't work?

Cant make calls, cant text, cant go on internet when in that field. Was the same with the phone I had before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

Cant make calls, cant text, cant go on internet when in that field. Was the same with the phone I had before

Was there a ring fort or similar in that field before? 😲😲😲😲👻👻👻🕵️*♂️🕵️*♂️

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

alps wrote: »
    Was there a ring fort or similar in that field before? 😲😲😲😲👻👻👻🕵️*♂️🕵️*♂️

Go away out of that! :D

The rebounders are placed on a mast and they are angled out to each side of the mast to cover all angles but being on a mast are probably just angled above Whelan's height. The phone picks up the proximity of the mast showing the full bars but the radio waves are just going above her head height.
    The rebounders were put there in the first place because it was a bad reception area and the phone can't contact another mast.

She's a bit like the Aussie light horsemen at Gallipoli in Ww1 charging the Turkish positions. She's underneath the guns of sorts. ;)