Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shameless hinting by snapchatters

• 29-08-2017 4:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭

Anyone else HATE the shameless hinting at things that want to get for free basically...
    Oh I'm out of that perfume I keep meaning to get some... hint hint...
    Or there is a particular one who is non stop hinting for a car sponsorship. It's so transparent... go buy a new one like the rest of us have to!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭nikkisclearout

Anyone else HATE the shameless hinting at things that want to get for free basically...
    Oh I'm out of that perfume I keep meaning to get some... hint hint...
    Or there is a particular one who is non stop hinting for a car sponsorship. It's so transparent... go buy a new one like the rest of us have to!!!

Yes!! Bloggers are shameless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Lindy97

Yes!! Bloggers are shameless!

If its who i think, that car was bought only about 18 months ago and is a BMW so hardly a car not built to last. Its prob still under bloody warranty even if it wasnt brand new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭yummymummyjay

Exactly... It's unbelievable like! The sense of entitlement is outrageous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I already mentioned it in another thread but a well known social media influencers girlfriend put up snaps last week saying she wanted to treat her dad to a round of golf at a specifically named golf club, and did any of her followers know how to make a booking.
    This is a woman in her 20's, she obviously knows how to go about this..I mean its a golf club, she wants to book golf, so why not ring and ask instead of asking her followers how to do it?
    Just came across as if she was hinting that she wanted it for free.

I remember Suzanne Jackson going on Snapchat asking about hotels in Belfast for a workshop as they couldn't find any...like seriously, Belfast is a big city and her team couldn't find a hotel with a ballroom sized function room, no one has a big wedding or event in Belfast. It was obvious she was looking for a hotel to contact her and offer a deal...either that or her team need firing. She didn't say it was due to lack of availability or an event in town so hotels were booked up etc. she was just looking for a freebie. Anytime these bloggers go on looking for any sort of recommendation for anything they are looking for freebies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

The worst I've seen is Grace hinting for a new iPhone, tagging the phone network and being soooo blatant.

What annoys me more is when you comment on this and you get all the minions "sure who wouldn't love a freebie, you'd be doing exactly the same".

I'm not saying I wouldn't like freebies but going on, and basically begging and expecting one from companies with no professionalism or guarantee how it will benefit the company etc. is going to get a hell of a side eye from me. I don't care if it makes me look like a begrudger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Wouldn't they be better of contacting what ever company/hotel whatever it maybe themselves and asking would they like to work with them! would work out better for both parties!!

Part of it could be, that if they do a call out and the company contacts them, then they know the hard work is done, the company wants to work with them.
    Don't you know how busy all these influencers are?? They don't have time to be calling around companies:getlost:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

True 😂

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

mod: yummymummyjay - please read the charter. You need to have over 50 posts and be a member for more than three months to post here. You are welcome to rejoin the discussion when you fulfil these criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Hate the shameless hinting for freebies. It's the worst. It's also annoying when they're like "ugh I've just used up all of this foundation bla bla does anyone know where I can get another one". Eh, you're meant to be the blogger. Isn't it your job to tell us where to get the shiz?
    The "does anyone know where..." line does my head in. If we can find out by googling, then so can you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Maybe I'm being generous but would the request for hotel, restaurant, hairdresser recommendations be looking for local knowledge? If you're not familiar with a city you might not know where dodgy areas are. But a quick trip advisor look would sort that.
    I know in my local town, the big name hotels are fine and rank highest on a google search but local recommendations would pick a family run hotel which hosts many local weddings and events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Bloody Facesbygrace BLATANTLY dropping hints that she needed a new buggy (she mentioned four times she left hers in her car which was being serviced) and today she said she gave her friend her nail appointment but that she was sad cos she wanted to get her nails done but 'Brenda is too busy to fit me in'.

She mentioned wanting a nail appointment about three times.
    She's so brazen..really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

fussyonion wrote: »
    Bloody Facesbygrace BLATANTLY dropping hints that she needed a new buggy (she mentioned four times she left hers in her car which was being serviced) and today she said she gave her friend her nail appointment but that she was sad cos she wanted to get her nails done but 'Brenda is too busy to fit me in'.

She's the worst for hinting that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭RoisinClare6

Make it staaaaap!!

The car one is blatant the last few days. Like stop. Get it sorted like a normal person.

Brenda caved her nails were done.

I'm sorry this may seem harsh but, it's like sitting on a street begging for money except they are looking for fancier things.

Same with MUF giving out about the price of her nails the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Lead

Wait doesn't Grace have her normal buggy and the one Bella Baby gave to her? Or did they take it back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Ray37

I thought it was so rude of her to let the world know her nail girl couldnt do x2 appointments, like she is probably running a business and then felt she had to do Graces nails or she'd look bad (seeing as she moaned about it numerous times...). I have gone off Grace hugely lately, she always hints for freebies and it's not a good look. She gets tons of free stuff anyway, she just looks really greedy IMO.

Again yesterday with the car hinting... It's a joke... It's a daily occurence...
    I couldn't agree more its like sitting begging and I'm sorry she lives at home with her parents. Her and Chris both have a good wage I'd imagine and yet she has the audacity to expect to not have to run and deal with the expenses of her fairly new bmw might I add like any normal person would have to...
    It's a joke

I'm puzzled: how does leaving your buggy in the boot of a car that's being serviced mean that you need a new one?
    In relation to the nail appointment - I don't follow her so I don't know does she work other than her blogging which would be self employed. If that's all she does, and rear a child, surely she can work around when the nail technician is free as Grace would have more control over her own hours. If your nail technician isn't free, don't whinge about it - praise her that's she's doing so well at her business! Lastly, I'm sorry but not being able to get a nail appointment is a first world problem IMHO.

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I'm puzzled: how does leaving your buggy in the boot of a car that's being serviced mean that you need a new one?
    In relation to the nail appointment - I don't follow her so I don't know does she work other than her blogging which would be self employed. If that's all she does, and rear a child, surely she can work around when the nail technician is free as Grace would have more control over her own hours. If your nail technician isn't free, don't whinge about it - praise her that's she's doing so well at her business! Lastly, I'm sorry but not being able to get a nail appointment is a first world problem IMHO.

I dont think she is hinting at a new buggy as she already has two but I think it's constant shameless hinting they need a new car. She wants to be sponsored by a car company like some other bloggers are. Allllllways something wrong with the car. Allllllways giving out about it. Allllllways giving out she has no buggy coz Chris has the car and it's in the boot. Oh i have no car today i was going to get the luas to said event. It's just constant begging... It's embarrassing... that's the impression I get from it anyway

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

mod yummymummyjay, this is your last warning. You can't post here until you have 50 posts and are here more than three months. Ignore mod instruction again and I'll have to take action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭noaddedsugar

I didn't think she was hinting for a new buggy at all. She blathers on at the camera about everything it's only natural that when she does something like forget the buggy she will blather on about that too. I remember having kids that age, the not quite walking stage and it is fecking annoying having to lug them around without a buggy, they are heavy, wriggly lumps, who want down then up, then down then up. I'd be reluctant to go on a day out without a buggy too.

Having read quite a few posts on this board I think some peoples dislike of certain bloggers/snapchatters/whatevers are clouding their view of them and making them see things that just aren't there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I think given the recent decline in her popularity and the fact nobody takes her at her word anymore, i can't see too many car companies rushing to sponsor her.

I really hope they dont, a few I have been delighted for. Laurasviews. Doireann. Grace has sickened me the way she's gone on though. I feel like she has this attitude she's entitled to everything for free... it winds me up.
    I do agree I think brands are waking up to the amount of people that dislike her now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Babyspice13

Well, Grace ‘forgot’ to order Sienna’s party supplies from a Malahide based party shop.

Mmmmmmm watch this space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Here's a mad thought, delete Snapchat?

Well, Grace ‘forgot’ to order Sienna’s party supplies from a Malahide based party shop.

Mmmmmmm watch this space
    Hahaha, right

mod corcaigh07 If you don't have anything relevant to add to the thread, don't post.

Mmmmmmm watch this space

Hahaha it's so transparent isn't it...

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    Here's a mad thought, delete Snapchat?

Why even comment?

Mmmmmmm watch this space
    I'm sure she could go to Woodies, Smyths or Celebrations and buy some like the rest of us. Even Tesco does a decent selection of party supplies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Babyspice13

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I'm sure she could go to Woodies, Smyths or Celebrations and buy some like the rest of us. Even Tesco does a decent selection of party supplies.

Oh she did say she had to do the rounds of all the ‘poundlands’ and Dealz because she forgot to order online. The hint was there though

100% it was there. There is alot of them that are always hinting at what they need or want but by FAR FBG is the worst of the lot

I'd say she's still hoping they'll send some extras and freebies, why mention it otherwise?
    Its not exactly a local shop for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

mod corcaigh07 If you don't have anything relevant to add to the thread, don't post.

If you don't like a product (i.e. Snapchat), why continue to use it?

Moaning about bloggers begging but will continue to click into their begging is the definition of insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Moaning about bloggers begging but will continue to click into their begging is the definition of insanity.

If the "moaning" is upsetting you to the point that your compelled to comment on it, maybe you should take your own advice and stop reading the product (ie. thread).

Are you one of these bloggers yourself? Can't think of any other reason you'd defend someone embarrassingly hinting for freebies.

My thoughts exactly

Watched a few secs of FBG snaps this morning and the first thing I noticed was she mentioned she needed the party supplies. Wait and see, some company will suddenly 'sort her out' with what she needs. I think she has damaged her reputation as a 'blogger' beyond repair now, and I'd imagine we will start to see her collabs drying up. I was quite shocked to see she has teamed up with some shop to be brand ambassador, but then maybe it's only a small local one? I don't know. I don't think she even cares that people don't take her at her word, it seems like she's only in it to get as much free gear as possible, even her childs bday she is doing #sp snaps... Like take a day off!

I noticed yesterday some company sent Mags and Linzi some kind of bracelet(s) for Frankie and Grace didn't hesitate in jumping on to Snapchat to tell the world.

I don't actually get why Mags is being sent stuff when she's not a blogger at all?

Yes definitely thought Grace was hinting for party decorations today. I'd be mortified if I were her reading this.

Still waiting for more car hints to come soon; she can't have given up on her dream to be given a free one like Doireann and Rosie C.

Well, if she does read it she will be right onto snap in tears saying we are mean and 'damaging her mental health', aka, we are saying it like it is, and calling out what she does.

Sorry, that probably sounds v heartless, but I totally changed my mind on her after she tried to shut everyone up about the ASAI thing by saying it was damaging to her mental health that people were discussing it. Gross.

Ray37 wrote: »
    Sorry, that probably sounds v heartless, but I totally changed my mind on her after she tried to shut everyone up about the ASAI thing by saying it was damaging to her mental health that people were discussing it. Gross.

No you're dead right, Ray, she WAS using that as an excuse.

Grace cannot take criticism at all and it makes me wonder is she socially intelligent at all?

If I was a blogger I would seriously take people's views on board. After all, these would be people following me for a reason and if I was doing something that was annoying the majority of them or not giving them what they originally signed up for, I'd really have to have a sit down and think about those points, not blame them all for making my mental health worse.

It's disgraceful.

How many times have people told FBG or mentioned on here how much they're sick and tired of the constant Sienna Snaps yet she carries on posting eleventy million Snaps of the child, not caring if she's alienating/annoying her audience!

100%, you need to LISTEN to your followers, if they don't like your 'content' (using the word loosely in this case), they will unfollow. I genuinely think a few of the big names have a lot of people who 'hate follow' them, but don't realize. They need to wake up and learn to take criticism, sure you have to do that in a normal job on a daily basis, and if you don't, you won't last.

Gals I totally agree. But what's even sadder is that there are people out there who absolutely love her content. I've no doubt they get up in the morning and click into Snapchat to see the goings on of a complete stranger's baby. If Grace ever decided to take her off Snapchat, there'd be a cohort of followers who'd be ragin! It's so odd. Imagine being so obsessed with the child of an absolute stranger. I've seen the mentions and retweets she gets on Twitter. People absolutely adore Sienna and I find it so bizarre and concerning.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

anna080 wrote: »
    Gals I totally agree. But what's even sadder is that there are people out there who absolutely love her content. I've no doubt they get up in the morning and click into Snapchat to see the goings on of a complete stranger's baby. If Grace ever decided to take her off Snapchat, there'd be a cohort of followers who'd be ragin! It's so odd. Imagine being so obsessed with the child of an absolute stranger. I've seen the mentions and retweets she gets on Twitter. People absolutely adore Sienna and I find it so bizarre and concerning.

She's a cute baby and the very occasional snap of her would be fine but it's so much oversaturation at this stage that it feels very uncomfortable imo. I have friends with babies at that age and I don't know half the things about them that I know about Sienna!

Anna, are you living in my brain?? My thoughts exactly. I think a lot of her followers maybe don't have a lot of friends or family, and seeing as she is on snap 24/7, they look to her for some kind of 'friendship', if that makes sense? It freaks me out how much they invest in a total stranger, who only uses her following to get free stuff if I'm totally honest. I remember when she was being investigated by ASAI some eejit was tweeting saying that as FBG was a new mother with anxiety, 'this was the last thing she needed'. Are you joking me??? They eat up her 'normal girl' gimmick, it's cringe for them really.

I know, same! I was just thinking like if it was my sisters baby and I was seeing the mentions and outpouring of love of complete strangers for her on Twitter, I think my protective aunty instincts would kick in and I'd think enough now. She's a bloody baby like.
    But not them, it seems. They seem perfectly happy to exploite her most vulnerable years and use it for content to get free stuff.

Yeah, there is definitely something that makes me uneasy with sharing as much as she does. If I had a child I like to think I'd be treasuring the private moments and first milestones, not sharing them to thousands on FB and following up with #sp posts on snapchat... It's so alient to me tbh.