Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda vetting

• 28-08-2017 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭

In a case where someone committed sexual child abuse years ago and the guards were involved but it was settled between the familes, would this show up on a garda vetting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I should fcuking hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

woody84 wrote: »
    In a case where someone committed sexual child abuse years ago and the guards were involved but it was settled between the familes, would this show up on a garda vetting?

How can child sexual abuse be "settled between the families"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Are you taking the michael.how would the guards say "ah tis grand ye sorted it out amongst yourselves no problems here anymore"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭woody84

Firstly I'm not the guy in question. Just to make that fully clear. This happened back when he was 15/16. He went through therapy etc for a couple of years.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Firstly I'm not the guy in question. Just to make that fully clear. This happened back when he was 15/16. He went through therapy etc for a couple of years.

If he was not convicted there is likely to be nothing to show up on vetting?

From what I was told him and his parents and the child's parents attend some sort of a meeting with social workers and a member of the garda. It was decided that therapy was the best thing for him and the guards were no longer involved.

It does not matter he/she should not be working in a situation where Garda vetting is required its not as if he/she would not get a job there are lots of job where Garda vetting is not required. Its a bit concerning that someone like that would even be considering applying to a job or a college course where Garda vetting is required it demonstrates somewhat of a lack of insight.

There are lots of jobs that do not require Garda vetting.

The job he's going for has nothing to do with children or even being near them. But this company has a vetting policy just as a precaution to check for criminal records.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The job he's going for has nothing to do with children or even being near them. But this company has a vetting policy just as a precaution to check for criminal records.

Thats nonsense.

Garda vetting can only be applied for by companies whose staff work with people classes as vulnerable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Stheno wrote: »
    Thats nonsense.

Garda vetting can only be applied for by companies whose staff work with people classes as vulnerable

I need to be garda vetted for security risks within my role. Nothing to do vulnerable people so your wrong on that one.

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    I need to be garda vetted for security risks within my role. Nothing to do vulnerable people so your wrong on that one.

https://vetting.garda.ie/

See above

Lost of companies claim they do garda vetting but cant as its restricted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Thats nonsense.

Yeah that's not 100% accurate I need Garda vetting for airside security pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

https://vetting.garda.ie/

See above

Lost of companies claim they do garda vetting but cant as its restricted

In my role it's in the EU Regulations and Also Irish Regulations that I have to be vetted or else I cannot do the job.

So is vetting just for the act in the link above with vulnerable people. I'm curious now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Was he charged with any offences and did he attend court?

If no conviction then its unlikely to show up on Garda vetting but there may have been a PULSE ID created for the individual concerned as way of the initial crime report.

It sounds like it may have been resolved through the JLO scheme is he was a minor ie under 18

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    In my role it's in the EU Regulations and Also Irish Regulations that I have to be vetted or else I cannot do the job.

So is vetting just for the act in the link above with vulnerable people. I'm curious now?

So am i. Ive had multiple roles where ive been told they will do a criminal check but cant due to the limitations in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

Thats nonsense.

And that's complete nonsense.

You should really know what you're talking about before stating something as fact on such a serious topic.

kravmaga wrote: »
    Was he charged with any offences and did he attend court?

If no conviction then its unlikely to show up on Garda vetting but there may have been a PULSE ID created for the individual concerned as way of the initial crime report.

It sounds like it may have been resolved through the JLO scheme is he was a minor ie under 18

No offences or court hearing. Would the pulse of show up?

Allinall wrote: »
    And that's complete nonsense.

You should really know what you're talking about before stating something as fact on such a serious topic.

I went and checked this

Vetting only applies to those working with vulnerable people and where required by regulation which i was unaware of

My apologies :)

However a lot of companies claim they need to do a criminal check when in fact they cannot as they do not fall into the criteria above