The official AH McGregor vs Mayweather thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

pjohnson wrote: »
    Just saw weigh on news. What an national embarssment.
    Your spelling is a national embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,870 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Mayweather DQ
    Pighead wrote: »
    Your spelling is a national embarrassment.

Well done. Doesnt mean your hero is anything more than a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Well done. Doesnt mean your hero is anything more than a twat.

Looks like you're not any classier than Conor. Maybe people like you are the national embarrassments, and shouldn't throw stones from glass houses?

Mayweather DQ
    moneyman wrote: »
    Looks like you're not any classier than Conor. Maybe people like you are the national embarrassments, and shouldn't throw stones from glass houses?

Because of a spelling mistake? Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

McGregor's confidence is infectious. I'm coming around to the idea that he may very well be able to pull off one of the biggest shocks of all time.

Because of a spelling mistake? Jaysus

"Doesn't mean your hero is anything more than a twat."

You're hardly a bastion of class now, are you?

Mayweather DQ
    "Doesn't mean your hero is anything more than a twat."

You're hardly a bastion of class now, are you?

Soz if I triggered you hunbun. I'll leave ye alone then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

McGregor DQ
    McGregor is 7/2 with the bookies. I know a lot of that is weighed by bets but it does show how cautious the bookies are.

Soz if I triggered you hunbun. I'll leave ye alone then.

You couldn't make it up. You call McGregor a national embarrassment, and I'm the one that's triggered? Scamper along now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

McGregor DQ
    Mod- Moneyman and pjohnson do not post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Pighead wrote: »
    McGregor's confidence is infectious. I'm coming around to the idea that he may very well be able to pull off one of the biggest shocks of all time.

I'd say Conor is so far in Floyd's head he is picking out curtains :D

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,560 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Mayweather K.O.
    I'm gonna lump on Mayweather being knocked down have already done €4 at 11/4, he hasn't been knocked down in a fight since 2001 for an 8 count I believe, might do McGregor TKO and Mayweather split Decision, plus a fiver on Mayweather by dq Conor to stitch him a loaf. :D

The ref has a good reputation for keeping control of fights looking forward to this now should be fun event either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭Motivator

silverharp wrote: »
    I'd say Conor is so far in Floyd's head he is picking out curtains :D

Doubtful. McGregor screaming in his face won't affect Mayweather. He's too experienced for it.

McGregor to get his face knocked in - hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Mayweather DQ
    Motivator wrote: »
    Doubtful. McGregor screaming in his face won't affect Mayweather. He's too experienced for it.

McGregor to get his face knocked in - hopefully.

You'd like to see a woman beater defeat a fellow countryman, stay classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Mayweather DQ
    I hope and i pray on my bended knees that........................................
    ................................................................................................
    .....................McGregor gets his block knocked off, i can't stand him, he's an obnoxious arrogant prick

...do we really want someone like him as a role model? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,791 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Mayweather K.O.
    BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Whatever. Life is too short. Friends around later, game of cards, take out food, few cans and then watch the fight. It's the entertainment business and although iv'e no real interest in boxing or MMA this entertainment show for me is interesting and i'll be watching it. Maybe for others sitting back on a Sunday morning reading the papers before they go to the national concert hall is entertaining, fair play to them.

There's an element of snobbery from some people looking down on people who have an interest in the fight.

They are probably Irish Times readers, you know the sort.

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    You'd like to see a woman beater defeat a fellow countryman, stay classy.

McGregor is Irish, so what? He doesn't represent me. He is an embarrassment.

Did you also rejoice when the IRA were bombing innocent people just because they were Irish? This line about backing him because he's Irish is a load of bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,901 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Mayweather DQ

Did you also rejoice when the IRA were bombing innocent people just because they were Irish? This line about backing him because he's Irish is a load of bollocks.

And with that, you've jumped the shark..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

everlast75 wrote: »
    And with that, you've jumped the shark..

No problem. Enjoy wasting your money on the pantomime tonight.

Claiming he's racist but won't back it up. You know it's a weak argument.

I'm a fan of Conor but not of everything he does, and I think he has pretty much 0 chance tonight. I just can't stand people who don't know anything about the sport making stupid claims. It's funny you claim others are buying into his spiel - most of his fans recognise it's self promotion. You're the one that's bought it hook, line and sinker. You think it's his real personality. You'll watch the fight tonight, thus contributing to his rise to even greater fame. You're here talking about him, giving him even more credence. No doubt you'll pretend you have no intention of watching it, but we all know you will.

Look at you - stuck in a thread, post after non-sensical post, about a topic that you claim to be so against. You're a bigger fool than any of his fans.

As I said earlier, I admire him and I'm fascinated by him. It doesn't mean I like him or I'm proud of him.

I work in PR and advertising so it's more of a professional fascination I have with him than anything else. No, I won't be watching the show tonight as I need to be in Croke Park early tomorrow morning ahead of the match. I hope you enjoy it though.

Take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

McGregor DQ
    I'm not a big fan of the "back him cos he's Irish" slant, there's plenty of Irish sports stars that I don't give a fiddlers about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,633 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Mayweather DQ

Grade A flawless logic there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mayweather DQ
    I'm not a big fan of the "back him cos he's Irish" slant, there's plenty of Irish sports stars that I don't give a fiddlers about.

But, but, but his ma and da had sex on the same piece of rock as your ma and da, so obviously you have to follow him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Mayweather K.O.
    But, but, but his ma and da had sex on the same piece of rock as your ma and da, so obviously you have to follow him!!!

Yet you follow the exploits of a the Irish national soccer team, a lot of whom aren't even born here? Gwanawayoutathat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

fryup wrote: »
    I hope and i pray on my bended knees that........................................
    ................................................................................................
    .....................McGregor gets his block knocked off, i can't stand him, he's an obnoxious arrogant prick

...do we really want someone like him as a role model? :cool:

Not really but then again he is a self made rags to insane riches story, so a lot of people will gloss over his antics or just say it's part of mind games and business savvy. For many people, your ability to make money trumps all other flaws or behavior.

I think he's far too much in his element when he's shredding opponents to ribbons verbally. You can see he really gets off on it.

Would be interesting to see what would happen if he was to win and/or go onto have a few years in boxing. Would he be as lauded by the Irish establishment as McGuigan, Dunne or Katy.

Arghus wrote: »
    Grade A flawless logic there.

The amount of Wolfetones songs being sung by Celtic jersey wearing gurriers at his fights is astounding. It's fact.

The mindset of his followers is hilarious.

Mayweather DQ
    If I had to call it, I hope he wins. He may be an utter skanger in a Mickey Mouse sport, whose wit amounts to jeering racist and misogynist abuse. But he's not a wife beater.

I love this Mickey Mouse sport type of crap. Mixed martial arts is based on a multitude of diciplines, some of which are literally thousands of years old, such as karate and Roman-Greco wrestling as well as boxing, sambo and BJJ. If it's not a legit sport, then why doesn't your Everyman from down the road just breeze on in and become world champion and earn millions in the process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Mayweather DQ
    The amount of Wolfetones songs being sung by Celtic jersey wearing gurriers at his fights is astounding. It's fact.

The mindset of his followers is hilarious.

the dregs of irish society, another reason not to like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Mayweather K.O.
    Omackeral wrote: »
    I love this Mickey Mouse sport type of crap.

Two fighters in combat with nothing but their strength and skill is about as pure a form of sport as you can get.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mayweather K.O.
    KERSPLAT! wrote:
    Won't get to watch it and can't see him winning it, but I hope he does

Why is everyone rising to the obvious trolling?

Have to agree. This thread is only going to get worse the closer we get to the fight. No point in even dignifying some of the posts here with a response.

Having a few lads around tonight for a few beers, bit of craic and watch the fight. Something I haven't done in years. It's entertainment, sit back and enjoy it if you're into that sort of thing.
    I don't consider 25 quid an extreme expense given I'd spend multiples of that in a pub if I went out tonight