Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Renaults

• 10-08-2017 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

Nearly every second new car I see in the roads these days is a Renault (at least down in Cork anyway). What are they doing right to sell that amount of cars or is it just they stand out a bit more to me when passing them due to there two tone colours.

Are they working out a bit cheaper than rivals? Better Finance deals? Newer modals than rivals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

They are as rare as when's teeth here in North Louth. Maybe it's the dealerships locally, or the lack of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

In Cork, it's Kearys dominance moving Renault really. They are shifting a serious amount of them, something like 4000 units last year.

I suppose it's actually a good example of how a good dealer can really get a brand that wouldnt be too highly regarded moving. Most people in Ireland still categorise Renault as muck, but your dead right, I was only thinking it myself the other day Cork is full of them and it's because they are pushing them hard and people are seeing they are actually a good buy, in most cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

I suppose it's actually a good example of how a good dealer can really get a brand that wouldnt be too highly regarded moving.

I hate that dealership...

I approached them three times with serious interest in buying (a Megane, later a Grand Scenic and Zoe this year) and two times I actually bought from a different dealer - and every time they managed to piss me off and discourage from doing business with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

In Cork, it's Kearys dominance moving Renault really. They are shifting a serious amount of them, something like 4000 units last year.

I suppose it's actually a good example of how a good dealer can really get a brand that wouldnt be too highly regarded moving. Most people in Ireland still categorise Renault as muck, but your dead right, I was only thinking it myself the other day Cork is full of them and it's because they are pushing them hard and people are seeing they are actually a good buy, in most cases.

So what are Kearys in particular doing to sell them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

To be fair the quality of Renault products has stepped up a lot in the last few years.. the Laguna II and Megane II were so unbelievably terrible that it did a lot of damage to the brand here. My in-laws run a Megane estate and a Kadjar, both a year old and I have to say they are decent. Feel like a quality car. Renault don't have a car in the category I would buy, but if they did I would half consider.

Patww79 wrote: »

Espace is stunning. But the looks seemed more important than functionality and I have heart users complaining about it...

When it comes to Talisman - maybe better it is not sold here... It will improve over time, but it is Laguna II 2.0 if you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I like Renaults - but their lack of care when building cars for the right hand market bothers me. The parking brake, bonnet release are often on the wrong side and the cubby is often tiny due to them not bothering to move the fuse box to the opposite side.

FGR wrote: »
    I like Renaults - but their lack of care when building cars for the right hand market that bothers me. The parking break, bonnet release are often on the wrong side and the cubby is often tiny due to them not bothering to move the fuse box to the opposite side.

But it is the same with Citroen, Peugeot, Opels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

grogi wrote: »
    But it is the same with Citroen, Peugeot, Opels.

Agreed. It's becoming more common too and it often turns me off. The MK2 Octavia did it right but then the MK3 was done like the Renaults.

It seems to be the premium marques and those larger cars or cars originally intended as RHD like the Japanese that are offering proper conversions.

I wouldn't mind - but surely the cost involved is insignificant when building so many cars for the right hand drive market?

It's the little things that matter imo. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

6% market share nationally. 8.5% in cork.

grogi wrote: »
    I hate that dealership...

They must be doing something right. They may not have got you but that's not to say they're not in prosper.
    mengele wrote: »

Investing in the brand. Big revamps on both of their passenger car showrooms and a new dedicated LCV showroom, lots of advertising, product placement with new age crap like bloggers and influencers, every gimmic under the sun but it seems to be working.

That and the Kinsale road roundabout dealership gets more than a little passing trade on the busiest roundabout off the busiest stretch of road in the county.

They must be doing something right. They may not have got you but that's not to say they're not in prosper.

A new supermarket has opened by them too...

http://www.kearys.ie/web/Kearys-Carstore-Coming-Soon

Is that to dispose of trade ins that some franchises don't allow to sell from the forecourt?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is that to dispose of trade ins that some franchises don't allow to sell from the forecourt?

BMW might not allow to sell anything else, but Nissan or Renault weren't that strict. But that might be it - they probably want to sell only Renaults at Renault dealership, Nissans at Nissan etc. The rest would go to the CarStore.

colm_mcm wrote: »

Yeah, basically.

Well it's actually a solution to 2x problems for them. To get new-ish non franchise gear off site as they are seriously stuck for space on both sites and to get a squeeze out of older stock themselves that'd usually get sent to the trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭goochy

Does the used place replace the Nissan place at kinsale road?
    The motorworld Nissan place needs a serious revamp terrible premises.
    kearys seem to go for volume over profit. It's interesting that it was set up by a dub who worked for his uncle in o callghans then went into competition with him!

goochy wrote: »
    Does the used place replace the Nissan place at kinsale road?

No. It is on the same road, going to an post delivery office. But much earlier, shortly after you exit the mini roundabout.

https://www.donedeal.ie/dealer/kearys-carstore/contact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Renault are giving the people what they want- good looking cars, reasonable quality, very competent dynamics, long warranties, chape tax, good fuel economy and very fresh models in the key new small SUV sectors- all at very reasonable prices with a strong dealer network (seems to be at least one in every county). All adds up to the huge sales succcess here- they are no 5 or 6 in the sales charts usually?
    The reliability question has been largely addressed by the long warranties I think especially when new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭shamrock55

they have a really good range of cars now,very pleasing to the eye,i love the new Megan coupe/saloon,even the new espace is a savage looking yoke
    Much more reliable too these days which always helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭goochy

Think you mean scenic not espace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The Megane TCE 205bhp is an interesting proposition, especially in estate form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭shamrock55

goochy wrote: »
    Think you mean scenic not espace

Oops your right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

The fact that they did Toyotas for so long, and are so well known in Cork probably helps no end, they would have built up a LOT of customers from that so they undoubtedly had a decent customer base to begin with.
    Of course the fact that modern Renaults are as reliable as anything else out there helps a lot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

The fact that they did Toyotas for so long, and are so well known in Cork probably helps no end, they would have built up a LOT of customers from that so they undoubtedly had a decent customer base to begin with.
    Of course the fact that modern Renaults are as reliable as anything else out there helps a lot too.

Not that id agree entirely with this but how does it help them a lot? I mean they still have a terrible reputation from past renaults, especially the mkII megane/laguna which were still in production not all that long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Not that id agree entirely with this but how does it help them a lot? I mean they still have a terrible reputation from past renaults, especially the mkII megane/laguna which were still in production not all that long ago.

Because they're a completely different car.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Because they're a completely different car.

Ya I know that but that will not make a massive difference to change peoples perception of the brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

road_high wrote: »
    Renault are giving the people what they want- good looking cars, reasonable quality, very competent dynamics, long warranties, chape tax, good fuel economy and very fresh models in the key new small SUV sectors- all at very reasonable prices with a strong dealer network (seems to be at least one in every county). All adds up to the huge sales succcess here- they are no 5 or 6 in the sales charts usually?
    The reliability question has been largely addressed by the long warranties I think especially when new.

This is the nail on the head for me. I ended up buying a Megane Grand Coupe last month. I went with the signature nav automatic. RRP with charges came to 30K plus change. Was able to get a 9% discount on the price. So worked out at 27 odd. For my money that is a huge discount on a what is essentially a new model. Full disclosure, I had no trade-in.

The spec at that level is class. Full leather, perforated. Dual cliamate Control, Nav, bluetooth, cruise control, speed limiter, reversing camera, sensors front and back, large boot, 18" wheels, excellent quality materials inside (steering wheel feels very high quality), MFSW, lot of poke from the 110 diesel and a boat load of other stuff.

5 year warranty is a piece of mind if I decide to keep it after the PCP. Build quality and materials is a huge step up compared to my fathers 1st gen Fluence.

Compared that to the Octavia I was considering, the value was a no brainer. speccing similar to the renault was mad money. About 8k or so in the difference.

TL;DR, Great spec, good looking car, Big discount, reliable

Ya I know that but that will not make a massive difference to change peoples perception of the brand.

You could use the same argument for Toyota. I bet if Toyota just stuck their badge on a MkII Megane or Laguna, the parish faithful would have bought in their droves no matter how bad it was because it was a Toyota. Toyota have made some very ordinary cars recently with average reliability yet they still sell here in strong numbers because of their brand perception. An example of this is the current Avensis, it's nearly a 9 years old design, totally outclassed by most of the competition yet it still sells here to the Sunday mass goers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

bazz26 wrote: »
    The Megane TCE 205bhp is an interesting proposition, especially in estate form.

Agree!

Current clio is a very good looking car that sold well, but new megane is just a big step up for brand, specially that petrol 205hp version.

That megane looks very nice, interior is even better. Not many manufacturers offering petrol engine with 150-200hp too. Its aither paddy spec with tiny engines or top of the line hot hatches. No middle ground.

You could use the same argument for Toyota. I bet if Toyota just stuck their badge on a MkII Megane or Laguna, the parish faithful would have bought in their droves no matter how bad it was because it was a Toyota. Toyota have made some very ordinary cars recently with average reliability yet they still sell here in strong numbers because of their brand perception. An example of this is the current Avensis, it's nearly a 9 years old design, totally outclassed by most of the competition yet it still sells here to the Sunday mass goers.

Except You can't really use the same argument for toyota though. Their cars are still very reliable and use tried and tested technology for the most part. You say average reliability but what problems do they give?

I mean cars like the prius and corolla use well proven engines and don't really give any issues at all.

The avensis is not a great seller here anymore either and it's probably why it hasn't been replaced so that argument is moot.

You can be sure that a toyota badged mk2 laguna/megane would of damaged the brand image and altered the perception of the brand somewhat.

The mk2 laguna and megane sold well for renault who didn't have a great reputation beforehand but these effort sunk whatever bit of a reputation they had left.

Toyota's average reliability -

The current Avensis is nothing spectacular in terms of reliability imo, door hinges were a problem on them right up to the current facelift, electric parking brake, flimsy build quality which the Japanese were always proud of. D-4D engines were not bulletproof either and now they have BMW diesel engines with a history of being unreliable. You also had gearbox issues on the D-4D Corollas upto a few years ago. I'm sure there are other issues I'm not aware of.

You'll probably dismiss or discount most of the above as being acceptable as you like the brand but the above examples to me say average reliability, nothing special but these things didn't sway devoted buyers because of their strong brand perception. If they were Renaults then people would say it was to be expected because what else do you expect from a Renault or French car?

The current Avensis is nothing spectacular in terms of reliability imo, door hinges were a problem on them right up to the current facelift, electric parking brake, flimsy build quality which the Japanese were always proud of. D-4D engines were not bulletproof either and now they have BMW diesel engines with a history of being unreliable. You also had gearbox issues on the D-4D Corollas upto a few years ago. I'm sure there are other issues I'm not aware of.

You'll probably dismiss or discount most of the above as being acceptable as you like the brand but the above examples to me say average reliability, nothing special but these things didn't sway devoted buyers because of their strong brand perception. If they were Renaults then people would say it was to be expected because what else do you expect from a Renault or French car?

Tbh you are clutching at straws in an effort to prove your point.

The gearbox issues haven't been a problem in many years, the last gearbox problems I have seen was on early corolla e150's (from nearly a decade ago)and it wasn't all that common and confined to one replaceable bearing in the box. Renault have a history of gearbox problems and unlike toyota their gearboxes tend to cr@p themselves withouth a chance of repairing the box.

Hinges on the avensis have been rectified as has the handbrake but really only the handbrake was a reliability item . The d4d engine in those was decent and more reliable than most other diesels of the era. Can you name a more reliable comparable modern diesel engine?

The bmw engine was a poor move by toyota, I will give you that but it remains to be seen how reliable it will be in the avensis and if it has been modified in anyway to improve reliability.

Renaults gave far more problems than a door hinge or a handbrake problem though.

Electrical issues,dash boards dying, electric windows dying(which was an issue on mk3 cars) gearboxes(still an issue on mk3's) key cards etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

The gearbox issues haven't been a problem in many years, the last gearbox problems I have seen was on early corolla e150's (from nearly a decade ago)and it wasn't all that common and confined to one replaceable bearing in the box. Renault have a history of gearbox problems and unlike toyota their gearboxes tend to cr@p themselves withouth a chance of repairing the box.

Hinges on the avensis have been rectified as has the handbrake but really only the handbrake was a reliability item . The d4d engine in those was decent and more reliable than most other diesels of the era. Can you name a more reliable comparable modern diesel engine?

The bmw engine was a poor move by toyota, I will give you that but it remains to be seen how reliable it will be in the avensis and if it has been modified in anyway to improve reliability.

Renaults gave far more problems than a door hinge or a handbrake problem though.

Electrical issues,dash boards dying, electric windows dying(which was an issue on mk3 cars) gearboxes(still an issue on mk3's) key cards etc.

But you cant argue with the fact that Toyota are a seriously dull car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Was looking at a Kadjar recently, a lot to like about it but every one I drove had rattles, one had a horrible buzz deep within the dash, another had the trim on the window coming adrift, some internal plastics squeaked horribly when pressed. Felt built to a price point and assembled in a hurry. These were 2017 models where all these bugs should be ironed out. I can only imagine what they will be like in an few years.

And a renault is not?

I'm not clutching at straws. I gave you examples of what I see as average reliability and as expected you have discounted them as either not being big issues, are isolated problems or being from a decade ago so nothing to see here.

And I'm not denying Renaults didn't have their problems, they did and were a disaster at one point but they have improved in leaps and bounds since then. But it seems Toyota who were a benchmark in terms of reliability for decades that earned their good reputation and selling point, have instead just lived off their laurels with some of their models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I'm not clutching at straws. I gave you examples of what I see as average reliability and as expected you have discounted them as either not being big issues, are isolated problems or being from a decade ago so nothing to see here.

And I'm not denying Renaults didn't have their problems, they did and were a disaster at one point but they have improved in leaps and bounds since then. But it seems Toyota who were a benchmark in terms of reliability for decades that earned their good reputation and selling point, have instead just lived off their laurels with some of their models.

When your presented facts, not opinions, as an accredited long established and well informed poster are discredited, you may as well give up

Fear not as there are a handful of people know better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

My only experience with Kearys was very positive, they called me back regarding the new Zoe and were quick to offer a weekend long test drive as I was very interested.
    I have nothing but positive things to say for them - which is more than I can say for the renault dealers in Dublin and the GDA.

ELM327 wrote: »
    My only experience with Kearys was very positive, they called me back regarding the new Zoe and were quick to offer a weekend long test drive as I was very interested.
    I have nothing but positive things to say for them - which is more than I can say for the renault dealers in Dublin and the GDA.

Weirdly enough I got called 2 hours after I posted my negative experience... :D

Anonymous internet forum my ass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

i was in portugal recently and came across a Renault Talisman.

Feck its some machine.

Not available in ireland i believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Gearboxes on the VVTi Corollas and Mk2 Avensis also had the potential to give trouble. Toyotas generally are very reliable cars but as you say the Mk3 Avensis has its problems with the door hinges, they've had to be replaced twice on my Dad's 7 year old Mk3!

The engine has been solid, there is over 185,000 miles on the D-4D engine and still on the original clutch and DMF. No other engine problems of any description either. You can't say that about many diesels in fairness, and even with Toyota insisting on 20k km service intervals for models with the BMW N47 engine (I bet if N47s had their oil changed at much more sensible intervals there wouldn't have been half the problems with the timing chains), I bet the latest Avensis won't be so trouble free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

An example of this is the current Avensis, it's nearly a 9 years old design, totally outclassed by most of the competition yet it still sells here to the Sunday mass goers.

I bought a 2016 in the past few days. I agree it is an old design, but still looks and drives as well as anything else out there. The spec is good too and they are great value nearly new over in the U.K.

I bought it because my toyotas (Mk1 Avensis, Celica Gen7, Landcruiser) have been invariably exceptional, and the other stuff I have had hasn't been (Passat, Focus, C Class). In fact I'll never part with the 'cruiser.

I could have bought a 3 series and gave consideration to a 335d which is far and away the best in the class but apart from a leap in power that I cant really put to good use there wasn't much I was getting for another 18/20k.

Renaults are popular because most people view cars as an appliance; which by and large they are and will become more so as the homogeneity of electric power takes over.

Don't buy anything without a carb or a k-jetronic (at a push) if you want to avoid dull. Everything else is a white good. Don't please argue a 318d is any less dull than a kadjar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I bought new Renault in 99, 00 and 04, and then moved on. Never gave any trouble. Tried a good few things and laSt year bought a 12 Megane GT Tourer with EDC 'box - because of the warranty. Its been great so far and the VAG's at work give a lot more trouble. I really like the new one.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭TheShow

styling on the new renaults is very good IMO. I think the new GT megane is very eye catching and not too expensive.

The Megane saloon is not going to age well, looks wise.