Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting people to ring you back

• 10-08-2017 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else find its impossible to get someone to ring you back.

As in I sent away something lately to be welded with an engineer. Three weeks have passed now and I am after ringing him about 4 times and he says he will do it this evening and ring me when its done. He never rings.

Im finding more and more its nearly impossible to get people to ring back and I end up badgering them myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Can't understand how people can ring busincess like that . I not dare not ring Someone back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

It must be the resurgence of the Tiger. Too many boys being offered more lucrative earners by city-based unit mongers who need work done fast so they can move onto the next plot of land to slap units up onto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Well from my point of view some days can be impossible to call people back.

If your on landline or mobile and the other phone rings. Meetings. Out on road And actually Trying to do work.

Phones are fantastic but they are a fecking curse also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

heres the thing, what have you to get done? how much do you expect to get it done for? Are you stuck for it?
    I hate seeing farmers coming near me for to get things done. most don' t realise the costs associated with a workshop. most want it done there and then and most dont like parting with money too easily.
    I know it mightnt seem like it but chances are its not worth his time doing it and hes either doing it for peace sake or as a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Who2 wrote: »
    heres the thing, what have you to get done? how much do you expect to get it done for? Are you stuck for it?
    I hate seeing farmers coming near me for to get things done. most don' t realise the costs associated with a workshop. most want it done there and then and most dont like parting with money too easily.
    I know it mightnt seem like it but chances are its not worth his time doing it and hes either doing it for peace sake or as a favour.

That's the only post I have read from you that I agree with :) ha
    My oul fella is ridiculous for dropping jobs on people that could have been done a week prior but he drops it in expecting it to be done as quick as and then pay feck all as well...

Yep so many cute hoors around and not to tar them with the same brush a good few of them happen to be farmers. I was caught myself a while back when I cut down a few trees for a lad just to get the timber, when I came to collect the timber most of it was gone (sold presumably). So next time he calls round he'll be told to find some other eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

It must be the resurgence of the Tiger. Too many boys being offered more lucrative earners by city-based unit mongers who need work done fast so they can move onto the next plot of land to slap units up onto

Boom defo back in the greater Dublin area, very hard to get hold of any sort of tradesperson, they're all commuting to Dublin, and doing 6day weeks etc. No sign of the Polish or another replacement eastern European labour force coming yet tho lol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

And in term's of me calling people back who need me to do something for them, I'll happily tell them that I'm a busy person with a never ending todo list, and that they need to annoy and remind me if I haven't got back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

the hope is they're working and too busy to take the call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Oh gets calls to move machinery or whatever. Farmers are the worst. They ask for a price to a certain place and then when you have the item loaded it's actually going 20miles further down the road. Always happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Yep so many cute hoors around and not to tar them with the same brush a good few of them happen to be farmers. I was caught myself a while back when I cut down a few trees for a lad just to get the timber, when I came to collect the timber most of it was gone (sold presumably). So next time he calls round he'll be told to find some other eejit.

And that's exactly what he'll do until he runs out of people to do it or gets a bad name for himself whichever comes first. A farmer around here built up a big dairy herd on leased quota around 20 years back every year he got different silage contractors and of course no payment was made. When no one would go to him he had to buy his own silage gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭visatorro

Sam Kade wrote: »
    And that's exactly what he'll do until he runs out of people to do it or gets a bad name for himself whichever comes first. A farmer around here built up a big dairy herd on leased quota around 20 years back every year he got different silage contractors and of course no payment was made. When no one would go to him he had to buy his own silage gear.

You'd wonder how lads still get away with this carry on. And there is lads at it.

visatorro wrote: »
    You'd wonder how lads still get away with this carry on. And there is lads at it.

There's some lads out there that try anything and seem to get away with it.

Sam Kade wrote: »

that's only possibly as the laws in Ireland to recover bad debts is a absolute mess. cost €100s to get it to court then postponed.

Ever watch that " cant pay, we seize " from UK. Zero ****e is given. they would have been to that farmer and took machinery, cows to cover the debt.
    they seem to do payment plans also . between 33/50% there and then cash or card and rest over 2/3 months.

if that was enforced here it would sweeten up everything and business could survive

that's only possibly as the laws in Ireland to recover bad debts is a absolute mess. cost €100s to get it to court then postponed.

Ever watch that " cant pay, we seize " from UK. Zero ****e is given. they would have been to that farmer and took machinery, cows to cover the debt.
    they seem to do payment plans also . between 33/50% there and then cash or card and rest over 2/3 months.

if that was enforced here it would sweeten up everything and business could survive

It is a mentality more than anything. These fellas pride themselves when they're sitting along the bar with a pint of Guinness on having caught someone to do work for nothing but they're caught themselves if they ever want to go away for a few days and nobody will do anything for them anymore

Proper order too. A lot of cases in the small claims court here never get paid, nobody around when the sheriff calls so the sheriff doesn't bother after that. In the US if you write a cheque that bounces they take it very seriously even sending the culprit on a compulsory money management course and if they offend again it's jail. They also have some crazy laws where a parent can get a credit card in their toddlers name and max it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

mengele wrote: »
    Does anyone else find its impossible to get someone to ring you back.

As in I sent away something lately to be welded with an engineer. Three weeks have passed now and I am after ringing him about 4 times and he says he will do it this evening and ring me when its done. He never rings.

Im finding more and more its nearly impossible to get people to ring back and I end up badgering them myself

I had the same problem with a lad. Ringing and ringing and begging to do any job and then pay London for the privilege.

Found another fella now and it's a pleasure. He is an excellent welder/fitter, does the job the way u want it and within a reasonable time of u wanting it. You pay him. But u have to pay them all. As another lad said to me, he takes pride in his work. Getting to be a rare thing nowadays.

It is a mentality more than anything. These fellas pride themselves when they're sitting along the bar with a pint of Guinness on having caught someone to do work for nothing but they're caught themselves if they ever want to go away for a few days and nobody will do anything for them anymore

Its not mentality, its the ability to get away with it.

Id work with anyone over been owed money but its always lads that can pay that act the pr1ck.

my colleague says, "Those who cant pay, and those who wount pay"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭kk.man

The op talks about call backs...i couldn't agree more..society has changed drastically in the last 30 years...There is no consumer service like there used to be.
    I was brought up in a business and a farm. Let me tell ya the auld lad knew how to deal with customers properly and he left school at 14. Just met a guy who was reared in similar circumstances to me and we had this exact same conversation. Employees of these firms just don't care and loyalty to the customer is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

kk.man wrote: »
    The op talks about call backs...i couldn't agree more..society has changed drastically in the last 30 years...There is no consumer service like there used to be.
    I was brought up in a business and a farm. Let me tell ya the auld lad knew how to deal with customers properly and he left school at 14. Just met a guy who was reared in similar circumstances to me and we had this exact same conversation. Employees of these firms just don't care and loyalty to the customer is gone.

its all about the customer they don't have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

kk.man wrote: »

But the big difference is, that markets are no longer localised. you can find whatever you want in seconds on the internet. does loyalty lye for the business owner nowadays by whoevers purchasing? realistically no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

When a person says they will ring you back they are essentially fobbing you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Muckit wrote: »
    ...... As another lad said to me, he takes pride in his work. Getting to be a rare thing nowadays.

Saw this here a while back. Father and son working here laying concrete. Father kept checking everything. Son kept going 'its grand, it's grand'.

Rang a lad in April to get some decorating done in house. Have bumped into him a good few times since and said it to him then too. He only lives up the road. Arrived yesterday evening to price it and said he Will be here Thursday to start. I'll believe it when I see it

whelan2 wrote: »
    Rabg a lad in April to get some decorating done in house. Have bumped into him a good few times since and said it to him then too. He only lives up the road. Arrived yesterday evening to price it and said he Will be here Thursday to start. I'll believe it when I see it

Same here with a plumber I know with years he never finished a job last year and every time I contact him he said he forgot about it and says he'll be on before the end of the week :rolleyes:

whelan2 wrote: »
    Rang a lad in April to get some decorating done in house. Have bumped into him a good few times since and said it to him then too. He only lives up the road. Arrived yesterday evening to price it and said he Will be here Thursday to start. I'll believe it when I see it

You were a minute too late :D