Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What he spreading ?

• 08-08-2017 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

There a lad near by spreading something in big spreaders filled from a lorry load dumped fardest away point from the gate that smells like human waste .

Any idea what it is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's exactly what you said it was, a farmer around here got them to spread it on his land a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Did not know u can get it pellet form ?

Would that be sludge or is that a different thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Must be fairly heavy if its with a muck spreader, Go get some samples and post up some pics. Feel the texture in your fingers while your at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

If it looks like it, feels like it, smells like it, it might just be it.

Must be fairly heavy if its with a muck spreader, Go get some samples and post up some pics. Feel the texture in your fingers while your at.

No I mean big lime / fertlizer spreaders .

Will i taste it as well !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Could be waste from an anaerobic digester. Think theres a few in south east. I think it can be used as an organic fertiliser.Is he organic farming?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Sewage sludge, is there any flies?:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

.Is he organic farming?

No talking land near us . It's the same smell as he emptied a specitc tank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Is there much soggy white looking paper with brown stains in them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

Is it tillage ground? could it be chicken manure, farmers usually take the sloppier stuff and the mushroom houses take the dry manure

No after sillage . It seems to be in Pellet form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Take a look at Quinn's of Baltinglass website, loads of info on" Biofert" and "Biocake " lovely stuff from the Ringsend sewage treatment plant.
    Basically it's dem Dubs shi##ing all over the Culchies ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

More than likely lime treated and pelletised dairy Sludge. I think you're around Charleville OP? By any chance twas a contractor by the initials JD spreading it? PM if you like.

You close to the area . Did not really look for writing in tractor but there was 2 spreading . That might be it all right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Chicken litter?

Muckit wrote: »
    Chicken litter?

No there no trace of anything been spread apart from the smell

You close to the area . Did not really look for writing in tractor but there was 2 spreading . That might be it all right

Not really....about 30 miles. He spreads lime here, was telling me about it last year. He's West limerick based if it's the man I think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

License to spread that human ****e is only a couple years so must be bad, open to correction as neighbour here spreads it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Chicken litter?

I'd say muckit is spot on. I worked for a contractor years ago spreading chicken litter with a bredal lime/fert spreader.

Chicken litter?

I'd say muckit is spot on. I worked for a contractor years ago spreading chicken litter with a bredal lime/fert spreader.

Would it mark the ground ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

I think it's waste from the co op .it's has lime added.
    Was it a fendt and large spreader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

Human waste was always used on farmland. It was very much sought after.

Don't know if it was the invention of bag manure or the household chemicals that could be in it was the reason for it's demise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

You need a permit for human waste and it's highly regulated by epa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

kerry cow wrote: »
    You need a permit for human waste and it's highly regulated by epa

Due to the pharmaceuticals and heavy metal that we ****.

Can't be used on any ground to grow human food so grass or an animal feed crop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

ganmo wrote: »
    Due to the pharmaceuticals and heavy metal that we ****.

Can't be used on any ground to grow human food so grass or an animal feed crop

But because of that coming out of your body I bet you wouldn't eat organic food?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Lime sludge/waste from a co-op is white in colour, and none of that peppery smell off it, that you get with a septic tank. You need something like a Sampson rear discharge spreader to get it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

123shooter wrote: »
    But because of that coming out of your body I bet you wouldn't eat organic food?:)

I've organic carrots!

But they were only bought cause they were cheap

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Lime sludge/waste from a co-op is white in colour, and none of that peppery smell off it, that you get with a septic tank. You need something like a Sampson rear discharge spreader to get it out.

A lot of that stuff produced around the ops area is pelletised. Spread by a Bredal or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Would it mark the ground ?
    Have you found out what it is yet. At this stage I would nearly drive there to find out :rolleyes:
    Why don't you just ask him? IMO there is nothing worse than surmising neighbours who can't be arsed asking you directly.

Base price wrote: »
    Have you found out what it is yet. At this stage I would nearly drive there to find out :rolleyes:
    Why don't you just ask him? IMO there is nothing worse than surmising neighbours who can't be arsed asking you directly.

I was told today that I was selling up the farm.

One local busybody, with not enough to keep himself occupied was telling another similar specimen, and he then spread it around the area.

Jeez, what the hell is going on in their heads? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

One local busybody, with not enough to keep himself occupied was telling another similar specimen, and he then spread it around the area.

My father was told that he was dead.:D

This was 20 years ago before the mobile phone and social media.
    He went into work on Monday morning and it was spread around that he was after dying that weekend.
    Everyone got a shock when he walked in the door.
    He never did find out who started the rumour.

If I meet him I ask. He not from around here and leases the farm So u not meet him much . Land owner on holidays so might find out when his back !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I love living in the country but its the one thing that drives me mad is fellas talking s##t about other guys.god some ladsjust cant say anything good about people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

K.G. wrote: »
    I love living in the country but its the one thing that drives me mad is fellas talking s##t about other guys.god some ladsjust cant say anything good about people
    Couldn't agree more. By the way, is it true that Nek is seling up?

I hear he's come out, and the wife is looking a divorce and more than half the place.

Don't say a word, till you hear it from someone else .... ssssh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Who2

I hear he's come out, and the wife is looking a divorce and more than half the place.

Don't say a word, till you hear it from someone else .... ssssh

your way off, now i heard straight from the horses mouth, that the wife walked in on him in the middle of doing a job and decided to give him a hand. its all grand now because your mans moving in with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Track9

Got really interested in this . Sounds like a good plot line for the next Bond Movie .