Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's my last day in the office. Have you ever spectacularly burned any bridges on you

• 08-08-2017 7:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

As the title suggests, I'm currently sitting down to my last day of work with this company. Should I steal something ? Tell my manager what I really think of him ? Trash some important files ? Try it on with an attractive co worker ? 
    I probably won't do any of that as my job was pretty decent and my manager was cool (co-worker is pretty hot in fairness), but it got me thinking. Have you ever hated a job so much that you f**ked **** up on your last day ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 josobrie

Well I made a mess of the title anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

How about you do your 7.5/8 hours, say goodbye to everyone and wish them well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Say goodbye, maybe over a drink after work and leave it at that. You want them to have happy memories of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

josobrie wrote: »
    As the title suggests, I'm currently sitting down to my last day of work with this company. Should I steal something ? Tell my manager what I really think of him ? Trash some important files ? Try it on with an attractive co worker ? 
    I probably won't do any of that as my job was pretty decent and my manager was cool (co-worker is pretty hot in fairness), but it got me thinking. Have you ever hated a job so much that you f**ked **** up on your last day ?

Do your job and go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

You don't want to be "that guy" who made an idiot of himself on the last day. It would make you look stupid and would be disruptive to those who are trying to get their work done. Tidy up your work station, pass on your files to the next person with clear instructions of processes etc.

Be that guy people remember for being a sound guy, not the idiot who made things difficult on his last day and thank god he's gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Don't think he/she is going to do anything, just looking for some anecdotes from others in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

josobrie wrote:
    As the title suggests, I'm currently sitting down to my last day of work with this company. Should I steal something ? Tell my manager what I really think of him ? Trash some important files ? Try it on with an attractive co worker ? I probably won't do any of that as my job was pretty decent and my manager was cool (co-worker is pretty hot in fairness), but it got me thinking. Have you ever hated a job so much that you f**ked **** up on your last day ?

I assume you feel that a future employer will not ring for a verbal reference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Ireland is such a small place and with everyone knowing everyone so burning bridges, as much as it might feel good at the time, has a great chance of coming back and biting you on the ass.

You never know when you'll need a favour from someone or bump into them again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I was leaving a job once and hated the boss, she was a bitch of the highest order. She invited me out to lunch on the last day and I text my sister the following: "I've to go out to lunch with the cnut now, how much longer do I have to suffer".

Only I sent it to the boss instead. Realised straight away, packed up my stuff and ran. Had to send my sister back to get my P45, mortifying. Lucky enough I already had another job but it was really embarrassing.

So in short, don't do that. :)

If you really fancy your co-worker though ask them out right before you leave, what have you got to lose there? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I had a thunderc*nt of a boss in my second job, I used to fantasise about telling her exactly what I thought of her on my last day.

I then heard a story about a 'colleague' in my first job who was a horrible bully, she quit that job on the same day as one of the senior managers retired. She had her leaving do in the town centre then everyone was invited to the senior manager's do at a local hotel. She turned up drunk and bawled all the management out of it.

I then decided to leave my second job with dignity as I didn't want to lower myself to the level of the bully.

I did ask my boss' boss for a reference from my second job though... when he asked me why him, I replied that I had no respect for her and left it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Clog up the jacks, and then do a whole Terry Wogan 'Fire ME from the BBC!??. I MADE the BBC!!' type rang until you are escorted from the premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

A lot of people like too become a phantom shítter on their last day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

josobrie wrote: »
    Why would you be so stupid? Are you sure that you will never be in a position where you want to return to that company?

I know that you are being hypothetical but a person would want to be pretty pissed off with a company to go down that road.

I will say one thing for you, fair play for being that organised that you can mess around on boards on your last day. Anytime I have changed jobs I was up to my eyeballs on the last day getting stuff cleared and with handover etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

This woman made quite the exit :pac:

424581.png

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I left about 3-4 hours early on my last day. Hid my jacket at the entrance, completed all my weekly tasks and just strolled out without telling anybody. I left a thank you card but never heard from anybody at the company again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

I once left a job at lunchtime. Went for lunch and just never came back. It was a part-time college job and they treated me like crap - due to my nationality (I was actually told at interview that they didn't normally employ my type as we weren't honest! I'm Irish and this was in Ireland btw! Not an Irish person interviewing me, needless to say I'd reckon) I'd had enough one day and I just headed out for lunch and never came back. Have never regretted that, in fact, I often look back at it and am glad I did it then because I would never do it now that I'm in a professional job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

AH response: Mass email the whole company about your last day OP, and don't forget to put the line " I don't care what kind of spam you regard this email as "

Work & Jobs response: Assuming you're in Ireland, compared to the likes of the US or continental Europe or even the UK, the work scene in Ireland can behave like a very small village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

As a kid, maybe 13/14, I didnt turn up for my last day in superquinn.

Apart from that, worst I would have done would have been not exactly pull my own weight on a last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭griffin100

A friend of mine was leaving a job a few years ago where she had been treated like sh1t (according to her anyway). On her last day she went into the company's customer contact database and changed a digit / letter or two in every clients contact numbers and email addresses. Not sure I'd agree with that though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Many years ago now the boss of a team in a certain bank was leaving and several of the team decided to tell him exactly what they thought of him. A few weeks and the bank announced it was merging with the old boss's new employer... no prizes for guessing who their new boss was....

It is never a good idea... you never know when you'll bump into someone again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

It seems the OP has left Boards the same day as he left his job.

Or did he work for boards??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Jim2007 wrote: »
    you never know when you'll bump into someone again.

So true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭sanna

I was told in one job my services after nearly 4 yrs werent required my job was gone, so last day I deleted all the emails Id gathered over my time, also neglected to inform my old boss of where files were located.

I did tell my best mate from work about a wk down the line as I figured she would get the job of looking for things, but apparently she was never asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

On the last day at my last company, I took a 2 hour lunch with a colleague. ��(His boss was very easygoing and I got on well with him) and I left at 4.30. I had everything done by the week before, and it was a Tuesday, so there was no point hanging about. I said goodbye to a couple of people on my way out, and that was it.
    I spent the day downloading some useful files , and clearing out my computer.