Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Open Championship 2017

• 16-07-2017 10:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭

Back to the scene of Padraig Harrington's Major win in 08 beating Poulter by 4.
    He won €893,000 for his endeavours, John Rahm last week collected a cool €1.16 million winning the Irish Open.

Will anyone pull out a shot like like that on 17 to win again? I hope so- my favourite Major. Roll on Thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Both in good form again too, wind and rain forecast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭luvthegame

Stenson, Spieth, Rahm are my picks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

I always refer to it as The Open Championship. Bugs me to hear it called anything different. Justin Rose is my pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I think Sergio could do an 'O'Meara' this week.
    O'Meara won the Masters after his 15th attempt then won again at Birkdale.

Sergio won after his 19th attempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Rors. I think it could click this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Speith, Fowler, Poulter, Sergio I think will do well. Hope Rory starts to find some form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Seve OB wrote: »
    Rors. I think it could click this week

Don't think so.

He's married now so every time he goes to play/ practice, he hears:
    "FFS, you're not going golfing again, are you???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Spieth or Rahm would be my picks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I like Brian Harman. Six top 10 finishes in 2017, including the Wells Fargo (1st) and US Open (tied 2nd).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge podge

I would have gone for him anyway - but I'd say his odds are poor now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

I would have gone for him anyway - but I'd say his odds are poor now ?

You never know, especially if forecast is bad :) Fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭cellosid

Bryson DeChambeau ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

cellosid wrote: »
    Bryson DeChambeau ! :)

With that computer he's using to analyse his game he has a serious edge on the rest.Frankly I'd be surprised if he didn't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I see its not live on Eir Sport this year :(...did they have a deal that expired like BBC??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

Don't think so.

He's married now so every time he goes to play/ practice, he hears:
    "FFS, you're not going golfing again, are you???"

He has never won a major while in a relationship (i was told this in the pub) so would have to verify if its true:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Russell Knox

I know they are trying to modernise and all that - but, it is still The Open Championship.

This is daft stuff R&A involved.

What is the link to Mercedes ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

We'll keep the gambling chat to the gambling mega thread thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

I know they are trying to modernise and all that - but, it is still The Open Championship.

This is daft stuff R&A involved.

What is the link to Mercedes ?

As they are an official partner I guess they get to use the claret jug in promotional stuff for their company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Webbs wrote:
    As they are an official partner I guess they get to use the claret jug in promotional stuff for their company?

Surprised someone had to drive it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Marc Leishman plays really well in the wind, i fancy his chances.

Tommy Fleetwoods hair will look great blowing in the breeze

Padraig!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Rickie Fowler is my pick. Playing decent this year and has the experience of several top 5 finshes at Majors.

Was just thinking and listening to the experts on Sky. Picking a winner for The Open is like the Grand National.

Like Spieth is favourite on Paddy Power - I can't make sense of that. But he could win it - but you could name 20 to 30 players and make a case.
    Lowry - Harrington could easily be in mix - and what I want out of event.

The last winner I picked was Clarke and that sums up the craziness of The Open .

The draw the weather etc, even the likes of Ross Fisher - a lad in no ones mind could come out this week have a good week. 90/1.

Then you see Pouter at 70/1 and you scratch your head.

The only people in my mind you can make a great case to win are Rahm (but has he got it on a last day in major yet?)
    Rose (Does he play over here enough)
    Fleetwood (due a big week)
    Garcia (enjoyed his win too much?)

Sorry not sure that is a gambling post - but used to explain the bizarre, throw the form out the window Open we love

It is funny - But should we change thread title - Up to OP I guess.

Agree - The Open (TM) is a stupid name. Outrageous arrogance to the name. And you always have them "golf lads" ready to correct you and then tell you a rule about singles having no rights on a golf course.

Should be an element of location - always considered it The British Open.

The Open Trousers event.
    The Open Door
    The Open Quidditch championship

Anyway - fair play to Sky , they have given way more to the event.

It still should be on regular TV - but another days debate.

Yes was always and will always be The British Open to me also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Seve OB wrote: »
    Yes was always and will always be The British Open to me also
    Ah, I wouldn't get my knickers in a twist about it. The first one gets the pick of the names in my book. It's just like it's the RFU and not the ERFU or the FA and not the EFA or FAE etc.

Martin Kaymer, brandt Snedeker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Marv8

Beeeeeeeeeeeeeeef!
    Or Tommy Fleetwood.

beeeef is a joke gone wrong, for non golfers to enjoy, the same ones that shout mashed potatoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Interesting point from Rory there on Sky suggesting that he will be hitting very little wedges... should mostly be going into greens with mid-irons. This can only be a good thing for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Marv8

AnneFrank wrote: »
    beeeef is a joke gone wrong, for non golfers to enjoy, the same ones that shout mashed potatoe

Not even close to the same. Agree the mashed potato thing is stupid but the Beeeeeeeef thing is showing support for a golfer whos a great character around the course.
    I'm sure plenty of golfers enjoy it too.

Marv8 wrote: »
    Not even close to the same. Agree the mashed potato thing is stupid but the Beeeeeeeef thing is showing support for a golfer whos a great character around the course.
    Yeah, not much different from Kuuuuuuuuuuch being called for Matt Kuchar. When I first heard it, I thought they were booing him. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Don't forget Luuuuuuuke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Fleetwood

Dbu wrote: »
    He has never won a major while in a relationship (i was told this in the pub) so would have to verify if its true:P
    Not for his last two iirc, but he was in a relationship with Holly Sweeney followed immediately by Caroline Wozniacki which would have covered his first two majors.

I think I recall Holly Sweeney being present when he won the US Open in 2011, but I could be wrong.

HighLine wrote: »
    Interesting point from Rory there on Sky suggesting that he will be hitting very little wedges... should mostly be going into greens with mid-irons. This can only be a good thing for him.

I said that on Rory thread . He is hardly reading boards . :P:D.
    But a world class golfer not good at wedges never ends happily.

Marv8 wrote: »

No it is a pain the arse. And a massive distraction to the bloke the whole show around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Agree - The Open (TM) is a stupid name. Outrageous arrogance to the name. And you always have them "golf lads" ready to correct you and then tell you a rule about singles having no rights on a golf course.

Should be an element of location - always considered it The British Open.

The Open Trousers event.
    The Open Door
    The Open Quidditch championship

Anyway - fair play to Sky , they have given way more to the event.

It still should be on regular TV - but another days debate.

You may think it stupid but that's what it's always been - why should they change the name because people don't understand the history? It was the first championship "open" to all comers - other open completions followed but had to differentiate themselves usually by stating where the competition was i.e. Irish open

I've no idea why so many predominantly non-British people have some kind of illogical beef with this!?!?

I said that on Rory thread . He is hardly reading boards . :P:D.
    But a world class golfer not good at wedges never ends happily.
    It's crazy when you consider how good he used to be with them. It may dovetail with your pet peeve (the gym) and the effect that may have on his finer motor skills.

Now I've gone and done it. :(:D

You may think it stupid but that's what it's always been - why should they change the name because people don't understand the history? It was the first championship "open" to all comers - other open completions followed but had to differentiate themselves usually by stating where the competition was i.e. Irish open

I've no idea why so many predominantly non-British people have some kind of illogical beef with this!?!?

Because they are not British and they have their own Opens.

So they call it The British Open. Also , it is part of the history to play it in clubs with no female members - that has changed. Your are not always bound to your past in anything. Calling something The Open without reference to location in a modern world is out dated and linked to a Colonial past. :)
    It is pure arrogance - but look, you often have a hang up from the past in theses things :)

History doesn't make something correct in modern times.

Sure the R&A themselves are inconsistent calling it The Open in their new logo . Where is the "championship" gone. Maybe, didn't look great on branding - all about the look these days.

So yes, a reasonable compromise is British subjects can all it The Open to their little brexit hearts - once they know what spot it is and non British can call it The British Open - as Palmer and Nicklaus did - because you know what, they have an Open too.

You shouldn't expect people who are not British to keep up with a nonsense in a non colonial world.

So they call it The British Open. Also , it is part of the history to play it in clubs with no female members - that has changed. Your are not always bound to your past in anything. Calling something The Open without reference to location in a modern world is out dated and linked to a Colonial past. :)
    It is pure arrogance - but look, you often have a hang up from the past in theses things :)

Sure the R&A themselves are inconsistent calling it The Open in their new logo . Where is the "championship" gone. Maybe, didn't look great on branding - all about the look these days.

So yes, a reasonable compromise is British subjects can all it The Open to their little brexit hearts - once they know what spot it is and non British can call it The British Open - as Palmer and Nicklaus did - because you know what, they have an Open too.

You shouldn't expect people who are not British to keep up with a nonsense in a non colonial world.
    I think you're over-thinking this. The colonial stuff seems a bit ott. As for 'British' Open, what does that make the Scottish or Welsh Opens? Are they not British too?

It's 'The Open' because it's the first one. Not because of some innate superiority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

By you reasoning then it should be the 'US Masters' not the Masters as there is also a British Masters golf tournament?

If a mod would edit it yeah work away.

Like I do like title .

Buton a golf forum we should have the thread titled correct. No matter what an opinion on event name . ;)

was it not always called the British Open and just shotenend to the Open in recent years?? You would/should be in a position to know better though and give me a slap for being so stupid ;)

thats my recollection anyway when i was a kid, it was always referred to as the Brititsh Open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

It's a formality thing for me :D

e.g.

Mr Robert Taylor = The Open Championship
    Robbie Taylor = The British Open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭martinkop

It was originally a territory thing, now the R&A want to make it The Open, from the great wiki.....

"In Britain, the tournament is best known by its official title, The Open Championship, or simply the Open.[23] Outside of the United Kingdom, the tournament is often referred to as the "British Open" to disambiguate the tournament from other national open golf tournaments, such as the U.S. Open. Likewise, the Masters and PGA Championship are often referred to as the "U.S. Masters" and "U.S. PGA Championship" outside of the United States, the latter being distinguished in the UK from the European Tour's BMW PGA Championship.[24][25] In recent years, the R&A has worked to discourage media outlets from referring to the event as the British Open; for instance, the tournament's current television deal with U.S. network NBC contractually forbids the broadcaster from doing so. Lead personality Johnny Miller admitted that he had "trouble" with the mandate during NBC's first year, sometimes having to correct himself on-air when accidentally referring to the event as the British Open.[23]

Some U.S. critics have argued that the insistence of referring to the tournament as "The Open" expresses an opinion of exceptionalism for the event by the R&A in comparison to other open golf tournaments, albeit one that is justified due to its history.[23][25][24] Alastair Johnston of IMG, who markets the tournament and its media rights internationally, remarked that negotiations in some regions had been complicated by local executives who did not believe it was appropriate to refer to the event as simply "The Open Championship".[23]"

Anyways, winner still gets a major, a wad of cash and a claret jug!!!!! Lets talk bout the golf now!!! Weather looks ****e for Friday, make or break day!!!!

Buton a golf forum we should have the thread titled correct. No matter what an opinion on event name .

I'll admit I worded it to initiate debate. It's going to take a few years for people to automatically associate The Open with what it is this weekend, and not darts or tennis or whatever.

martinkop wrote:
    Anyways, winner still gets a major, a wad of cash and a claret jug!!!!! Lets talk bout the golf now!!! Weather looks ****e for Friday, make or break day!!!!

Was just on way into PP now. Think I'll leave it til the carnage has dwindled.