Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

You're dead right....

I didn't watch FC in the Billy Meehan days, but my mam gave me the lowdown.

She told me Carol tried to frame poor auld Leo for Billy's murder so her precious Lorcan - the real killer wouldn't go down for it.

At the time, according to Mam, a lot of people had sympathy for Carol, until she tried to frame Leo, that is.

I think one of Billy Meehan's mates should have put her out of her misery years ago, because yeah, it's always the same auld s***e with her. (A pair of concrete boots involving the Liffey job)

And she's no one to throw stones either because she cheated on Christy.

She's been there for God knows how many years and still playing out the same old tired, predictable storylines, whereas Aoife is a new character and hasn't really been given a chance yet.

I think people should wait until the Karen thing is solved before passing judgement, because at the moment we've only seen very few facets of her character.

I think that maybe it's because she reminds a lot of people of Niamh looks wise that she's not really liked - at least by some of the people I know in real life who watch, they'll always bring up her resemblance to Niamh first before telling me how much they hate her! It's always - not with the people on here - but real life friends: 'That Aoife yoke is the image of f****** Niamh, I can't f****** stand her!' :pac::pac:

To be fair Aoife has been on for a few months now . We’ve seen her as the cool Mum , the concerned Mum, then the Mum who didn’t give a damn as she got it on with Robbie (when Karen had just found out about Dan) and broke up his marriage (deserved or not), so we have actually had a bit of time to decide......well as much as we would have had with any other new character .
    Initially I liked her, now I don’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

To be fair Aoife has been on for a few months now . We’ve seen her as the cool Mum , the concerned Mum, then the Mum who didn’t give a damn as she got it on with Robbie (when Karen had just found out about Dan) and broke up his marriage (deserved or not), so we have actually had a bit of time to decide......well as much as we would have had with any other new character .
    Initially I liked her, now I don’t.

That's what I meant when I said we've only seen a few facets of her character :) We only know her as Karen's mother in varying degrees of motherly care/concern/or what might seem lack of the same, the woman who was raped by Dan,and as Robbie's first love who broke up his marriage to Carol.

We haven't really gotten to know her as anything other than an extension of the above.
    We haven't heard all that much about her late husband, her parents, her life before Carrigstown, or haven't seen her make proper friends yet and seen how she interacts with people as Aoife the person, not Aoife the mother/homewrecker/rape survivor/bereaved,angry mother. But I get where you're coming from. :)

The nice thing about this thread is you can disagree with someone and not fall out. :)
    BTW, I agree with a lot of people 100% about Yates, though, even though he's old enough to be my dad. :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Why did Carol go to the cop station to ask Deegan about Karen's case, she is not a relative plus lied about her alibi as she fought with Karen and anyways sure everything is revealed and overheard in Spar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭threetrees

Nice to see Kerri Ann sporting a baby bump!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Did anybody like Farrah's roots tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Where has Sharon's husband gone?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

threetrees wrote: »
    Nice to see Kerri Ann sporting a baby bump!

It'll have disappeared the next time we see her.

That's what I meant when I said we've only seen a few facets of her character :) We only know her as Karen's mother in varying degrees of motherly care/concern/or what might seem lack of the same, the woman who was raped by Dan,and as Robbie's first love who broke up his marriage to Carol.

We haven't really gotten to know her as anything other than an extension of the above.
    We haven't heard all that much about her late husband, her parents, her life before Carrigstown, or haven't seen her make proper friends yet and seen how she interacts with people as Aoife the person, not Aoife the mother/homewrecker/rape survivor/bereaved,angry mother. But I get where you're coming from. :)

The nice thing about this thread is you can disagree with someone and not fall out. :)
    BTW, I agree with a lot of people 100% about Yates, though, even though he's old enough to be my dad. :o:D

Don’t worry it was just my opinion 😏.

My point is that we often see one faceted characters , who are never developed unless they are permanent and I doubt that Aoife is going to stay long in carrigstown after her daughters murder.

Take Miriam , or Debbie, or Hannah, or the girlfriend of Dan who played basketball, and many many more, none of them had friends or a background . FC never delves into people’s backgrounds, their past, previous partners, life before Carrigstown etc . People just appear ! And after their storyline they disappear. :confused: I think this is the fickle nature of soaps.

More often than not we only see the one side to these characters. Renee’s mad daughter was another (what was her name ?) however despite playing the one character with severe psychiatric issue (Munchausen by proxy) she was a brilliant actress! If someone is a good actor you see it, even if their character isn’t developed .

Sexy cop is another ..... he can act and is a strong character. I don’t see that with Aoife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

Different strokes for different folks I suppose but personally I despise the character of Carol- its been decades now since Billy Meehan and Aisling O Neill is still dining off it. You can tell she is just cruising to retirement and would happily light up fags and snarl at the locals forever. You could set your watch as to what Carol is going to do and she has never really played any other character so she technically really shouldn't even be called an actress!

All she does is bang the drum of having a rough upbringing- her gangster mates, Trigger Foley, mentioning Billy Meehan, playing the hard nut but the worst thing about her character is how hypocritical she is- she had had loads of affairs and treated men like crap and yet she blows the lid when Robbie goes off with Aoife, and he who had the patience of a saint when she hurled insults at him and got drunk night after night- in short, shes an absolute cnut of the highest order and the praise she gets baffles me- anyone can light up a fag and snarl, and at least Aoife and Nora HAVE acted elsewhere and can out-act Carol in 2 seconds!

Is it really realistic that after all that's happened to her in that town, that she would still be hanging around? She should be gone long ago and I would safely bet a years wages that she will be back with Robbie before year end.
    Have to agree about Carol the same acting with the last twenty years fag in the mouth and spitting venom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

I'm guessing week after next there will only be one episode of fair city for the week they'll take it off Sunday for the bank holiday and it probably won't be on the Tuesday and Thursday either over the Eurovision finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Don’t worry it was just my opinion ��.

My point is that we often see one faceted characters , who are never developed unless they are permanent and I doubt that Aoife is going to stay long in carrigstown after her daughters murder.

Take Miriam , or Debbie, or Hannah, or the girlfriend of Dan who played basketball, and many many more, none of them had friends or a background . FC never delves into people’s backgrounds, their past, previous partners, life before Carrigstown etc . People just appear ! And after their storyline they disappear. :confused: I think this is the fickle nature of soaps.

More often than not we only see the one side to these characters. Renee’s mad daughter was another (what was her name ?) however despite playing the one character with severe psychiatric issue (Munchausen by proxy) she was a brilliant actress! If someone is a good actor you see it, even if their character isn’t developed .

Sexy cop is another ..... he can act and is a strong character. I don’t see that with Aoife.

I have a feeling that Aoife will be a long term character (they need people to replace cast members who've left) and that Karen was really just the plot device to get Aoife to Carrigstown in the first place, and never did they intend that Karen be a long term character; just a means to an end who they decided would leave in a memorable way.

There were quite a few FC characters - regulars now - who I couldn't stand for the first few months, some even longer. Eoghan O'Brien being one of them. He came on the show as a loud mouth who was a bit of a bigot and definitely a homophobe, but he's had a big overhaul and is a nice guy these days. Whereas the opposite happened to Debbie. initially I liked her, I thought she was a saint to put up with Eoghan, then by the time she left, I hated her and still do - hope she stays in Scotland!

Same goes for Miriam. Initially I thought she was just to be a temporary, nice enough character, then she started pushing the whole Phoenix Way thing and I thought, evil, manipulative b***h, until the truth came out about Oakley, and it turns out she was genuine and as much a victim as the others after all. And now that she's making friends with people other than ex-Phoenix Way crowd, I like her more.

Niamh is another person who went through quite a few transformations. According to my mam (the fount of all soap knowledge :P) she came into FC as Dolores' dead daughter's best friend as a teen, and tried it on with her teacher, lied about almost everything and was totally unlikeable, until she started working with Paul, Nicola and some other guy in the IT office.

She went through phases since then of being liked and loathed, last time I checked she was horrible, but she has had a lot of character development over the years.

The likes of Carol, as far as I can see, never has. It's always the same auld crap with her. And it's hard to believe that Bela used to be a womaniser - apparently he had numerous affairs back in the day.

It's the same with all soaps, new characters aren't always immediately liked, except by a few, then a few years down the line, they have become fan favourites. Emmerdale's Robert being a prime example. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Different strokes for different folks I suppose but personally I despise the character of Carol- its been decades now since Billy Meehan and Aisling O Neill is still dining off it. You can tell she is just cruising to retirement and would happily light up fags and snarl at the locals forever. You could set your watch as to what Carol is going to do and she has never really played any other character so she technically really shouldn't even be called an actress!

All she does is bang the drum of having a rough upbringing- her gangster mates, Trigger Foley, mentioning Billy Meehan, playing the hard nut but the worst thing about her character is how hypocritical she is- she had had loads of affairs and treated men like crap and yet she blows the lid when Robbie goes off with Aoife, and he who had the patience of a saint when she hurled insults at him and got drunk night after night- in short, shes an absolute cnut of the highest order and the praise she gets baffles me- anyone can light up a fag and snarl, and at least Aoife and Nora HAVE acted elsewhere and can out-act Carol in 2 seconds!

Is it really realistic that after all that's happened to her in that town, that she would still be hanging around? She should be gone long ago and I would safely bet a years wages that she will be back with Robbie before year end.

Wanderer, I'm sorry, but can you not see the irony? :pac:

You complain about Carol/Aisling O'Neill repeating the same old things for years. Yet over the past few months, you've had countless posts attacking the character/actress, repeating the same arguments each time.

Not sure if your problem is actually with the actress or the character, but Aisling O'Neill is a better actress than a lot of the current cast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Sean 18 wrote: »
    Have to agree about Carol the same acting with the last twenty years fag in the mouth and spitting venom

Not to mention getting away with a crime that she openly admitted to. Lying to the Gardaí is an extremely serious crime and she just casually said she lied because of her reputation and then swans out of the Hungry Pig as if it was nothing, and the cops say nothing???!!!

And yet every other character is hounded every few seconds in Spar, the pub and Vinos. Big plot hole there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭maurv2

Orla really sickens me. Her "in your face" way of talking to everybody. I hope she's arrested and locked away (whether she actually murdered or not.. I don't care)

EIREDriver wrote: »
    Wanderer, I'm sorry, but can you not see the irony? :pac:

You complain about Carol/Aisling O'Neill repeating the same old things for years. Yet over the past few months, you've had countless posts attacking the character/actress, repeating the same arguments each time.

Not sure if your problem is actually with the actress or the character, but Aisling O'Neill is a better actress than a lot of the current cast.

Hi EIREDriver,

Its the character I hate as I don't know the actress but my reference to her is true- she has dined off the whole Billy Meehan thing now for a very long time with precious little extra in her acting range. You say shes a good actress I respect your opinion, can I ask what particular storylines where you considered her good or you thought she was better than others?
    For me I just see the same old cycle of her putting on the hard nut act, lighting up a fag, moaning about her old gangster buddies be it associates of Meehan or Trigger. Why doesn't she just leave Dublin or Ireland if it was that bad?

As a character, its always the same storyline with her! Hooks up with guy, has affair, some gangster comes into her life, man eventually gets bored of her and moves on, repeat as above. And this praise for her sexual abuse story was bizzare to me- she literally just lit up a fag and put on fake tears and that was supposed to impress me?! Nora in 5 minutes talking about the Laundry was 100 times more effective than anything Carol ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Hi EIREDriver,

Its the character I hate as I don't know the actress but my reference to her is true- she has dined off the whole Billy Meehan thing now for a very long time with precious little extra in her acting range. You say shes a good actress I respect your opinion, can I ask what particular storylines where you considered her good or you thought she was better than others?
    For me I just see the same old cycle of her putting on the hard nut act, lighting up a fag, moaning about her old gangster buddies be it associates of Meehan or Trigger. Why doesn't she just leave Dublin or Ireland if it was that bad?

As a character, its always the same storyline with her! Hooks up with guy, has affair, some gangster comes into her life, man eventually gets bored of her and moves on, repeat as above. And this praise for her sexual abuse story was bizzare to me- she literally just lit up a fag and put on fake tears and that was supposed to impress me?! Nora in 5 minutes talking about the Laundry was 100 times more effective than anything Carol ever did.

I agree her character has gotten tiresome. It's the same old formula but I think she can genuinely act better than most of the Fair City cast. It's just the writers have her regurgitating the same old shyte for as long as I can remember. Is she any worse than the actors who play Orla, Delores, Jane etc? Also it's difficult to judge an actors range when they've been playing the same character for years.

Oh, she is as bad as others like Orla and Delores and the reason why I mention it a lot is that she hasn't got one single break since Trigger came back into it last year- weirdly, she has been in it practically every episode since with no sign of the 2 months break that other characters get so she is really grating on my nerves more than usual.
    I would disagree about the range- she had her chance to show a softer side when both Trigger was dying and her sexual abuse (as tiresome as that was because again, it beat the old gangster upbringing drum) but she made a balls of it and reverted to her same old snarly shouting routine, plus fake tears talking about her past, it was like something from an amateur play. I think she should be cut loose personally. Fair City has had some really interesting and fresh storylines the last year like Aoife/the cult/Harmony etc, it makes the old amateurs look terrible by comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

Yates is a breath of fresh air, good actor, handsome for female fans, witty.

The investigation itself has become predictable in it's duration. Sean a suspect for a week. Next Oisin, for a week. This week it's Wayne's turn. Probably Orla for a week next week. Getting tedious with all the mid episode breaks and episode endings featuring the worried face of that particular week's accused. I wonder how many characters a week we'll go through before we conclude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

Jaysus.. Gerald Kean's younger brother has arrived..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Hi EIREDriver,

I think she's been good so far in the Karen storyline. But my point is more that if you wanted others to complain about, there's an abundance of other worthy candidates. Instead you constantly bash Carol? I know she's featured a lot but that's hardly her fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Fair play to kerrie Ann, That Charlotte one would want to mind her own business

EIREDriver wrote: »
    I think she's been good so far in the Karen storyline. But my point is more that if you wanted others to complain about, there's an abundance of other worthy candidates. Instead you constantly bash Carol? I know she's featured a lot but that's hardly her fault.

Ive also bashed Niamh a lot too in recent times as well as Delores. Carol being in it all the time just emphasises how bad she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

I have FC recorded on SKY, himself is watching the Arsenal match. I never thought I'd have withdrawal symptoms from Fair City, I need my regular fix. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

NAGDEFI wrote: »
    Jaysus.. Gerald Kean's younger brother has arrived..

He's an ex-patient of the Palliative care nurse guy....
    Does anyone thing that is a bit of a plot hole?

I'm falling more and more in love with Sexy Cop Steve, He is gorgeous.... His dimples are so cute... Oh, I feel like Kerry-Ann when I see him.

Why is Decco working out of the community centre and other eaterys? Plus he seems to have a lot of physical paperwork, I thought everyone was paperless.....

And, last nights episode, what was that urgent package that Carol got that needed to be installed? Was it a new Sim? :rolleyes: I thought everything was done remotely nowadays. :confused:

Oh, she is as bad as others like Orla and Delores and the reason why I mention it a lot is that she hasn't got one single break since Trigger came back into it last year- weirdly, she has been in it practically every episode since with no sign of the 2 months break that other characters get so she is really grating on my nerves more than usual.
    I would disagree about the range- she had her chance to show a softer side when both Trigger was dyingand her sexual abuse (as tiresome as that was because again, it beat the old gangster upbringing drum) but she made a balls of it and reverted to her same old snarly shouting routine, plus fake tears talking about her past, it was like something from an amateur play. I think she should be cut loose personally. Fair City has had some really interesting and fresh storylines the last year like Aoife/the cult/Harmony etc, it makes the old amateurs look terrible by comparison.

Did she though? Surely she has to go with the script? Any actor in a soap is always going to be limited in terms of range.

And, last nights episode, what was that urgent package that Carol got that needed to be installed? Was it a new Sim? :rolleyes: I thought everything was done remotely nowadays. :confused:

I was more baffled by the fact that she was able to ascertain an incredible amount of information, (like when someone could come out to repair it) just by opening the corner of the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

He's an ex-patient of the Palliative care nurse guy....
    Does anyone thing that is a bit of a plot hole?

He must have come back from the dead!

I like Carol, it's not her fault that she's giving the same script.

I seen Zoe in a film last week on RTE 2, I can't remember the name of the film but she was brilliant!... Watching her on FC she's was like, like, she didn't want to be there!.. Which leads me to believe that anyone would thrive outside of FC.