Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 EnMarche!

This must be the timewarp episode because I feel like I've just taken a trip back like four months ago, Joakely, Miriam, Dolores and Ronan, Carol Aoife Robbie and all the rest of them. Even Sean has made has made a comeback! But seriously what does Aoife actually do for work? She spends more time spooking around Carrigstown then doing any work.

The cancer patients carer is tracker mortgage guy isnt he?

He was in Legend (a terrible terrible series) with Padraic Delaney back in 2006

Cormdogg wrote: »
    Dregs. Pity RTE couldn't bin FC and use the funds to secure 6 nations and Allianz league rights

The viewership it gets is staggering. I think it reflects the people of Ireland more than the quality of the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Legend came out in 2015. It was a movie though, not a TV series. 6/10. Padraig Delaney and that other guy weren't in it either. I think you're thinking of something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

This Oakley nonsense just won't go away...unfortunately.
    Dean and this food business. ..yawn.

Effects wrote: »
    Legend came out in 2015. It was a movie though, not a TV series. 6/10. Padraig Delaney and that other guy weren't in it either. I think you're thinking of something else.

No there was a series with the same name on RTE back in 2006 set around a Tallaght housing estate. Your thinking of the Tom hardy Krays biopic?
    The series im on about, Padraic Delaney played a man who had just lost his young wife and was faced with bringing up their two young daughters plus paying off the debts she racked up to a moneylender (Who was the same guy who didnt know what a tracker mortgage was in the ad)

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2073546/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

The cancer patients carer is tracker mortgage guy isnt he?

Whoever he is he's up to no good... I'm basing that just on the way he has 'spoken lines' and not a silent extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Claire McSweeney is absolutely hilarious. Wandering around on a Sunday running errands for Oakley. When she said Fionnuala Tooley I couldn't help laughing out loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Next Sunday!
    Sash is shocked to discover Kerri-Ann's deception

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Dolores about Ronan "I thought he had more time"....

Really? The man is barely able to move without a zimmer frame, looks about 200, is gaunt, winces with pain with every word plus needs a carer with him.

Nice to see Manson still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Whoever he is he's up to no good... I'm basing that just on the way he has 'spoken lines' and not a silent extra.

I thought he was a much younger guy before he was in the close up shots with Dolores -first time he appeared I thought he might be Ronan's nephew or something (and it looks like he's already borrowed Wayne's blue jacket :))

Dolores about Ronan "I thought he had more time"....

Really? The man is barely able to move without a zimmer frame, looks about 200, is gaunt, winces with pain with every word plus needs a carer with him.

Nice to see Manson still around.

It looks like the actor that plays Ronan lost a fair bit of weight (not that he ever needed to, but to get into character, I mean :) ) just to play the part, because he looks much gaunter than last time he was in it.

The series im on about, Padraic Delaney played a man who had just lost his young wife and was faced with bringing up their two young daughters plus paying off the debts she racked up to a moneylender

Nah, his wife died at the end. It was about the Krays. Main actor was Tom Hardy. Not sure who played the other brother though.

It looks like the actor that plays Ronan lost a fair bit of weight just to play the part, because he looks much gaunter than last time he was in it.

Fair city actors don't do that good a job, are you mad?

I'm a bit confused over the whole/Jim/Oakley craic.

I get the gist of it:

Oakley bailed Jim out/spoke up for him/lied in court to get him out of a malpractice suit in which a woman died, some years back, I imagine, and now he's blackmailing Jim, mostly via phone calls and the solicitor, to get back at - likely kill - Miriam.

Grand so far, makes a bit of sense...

This is where it gets a bit WTF for me:

When Oakley phoned him last week out of the blue, and Jim said ''it's all in place'', it sounded as though he was well on board with whatever plot Oakley had.

Now he's all... ''No, I won't compromise a patient/get back to eating youur slop/why would i want to hurt Miriam O'Reily'', etc, when last week he was 100% into the whole thing - obviously without knowing crap all about it! :D ....

I'm a bit confused over the whole/Jim/Oakley craic.

I get the gist of it:

Oakley bailed Jim out/spoke up for him/lied in court to get him out of a malpractice suit in which a woman died, some years back, I imagine, and now he's blackmailing Jim, mostly via phone calls and the solicitor, to get back at - likely kill - Miriam.

Grand so far, makes a bit of sense...

This is where it gets a bit WTF for me:

When Oakley phoned him lat week out of the blue, and Jim said ''it's all in place'', it sounded as though he was well on board with whatever plot Oakley had.

Now he's all... ''No, I won't compromise a patient/get back to eating youur slop/why would i want to hurt Miriam O'Reily'', etc, when last week he was 100% into the whole thing - obviously without knowing crap all about it! :D ....

Even given how badly the FC scriptwriters are remembering one script/event from the next, I think there is some kind of weak plan in place and it has to do with Kerri Ann and her baby. Maybe he plans to blame Emmet for being the father or some madcap story like that, then they will accuse him of rape etc, anything to get Manson swept up in it.

Effects wrote: »
    Fair city actors don't do that good a job, are you mad?

It's the scripts/writers/producers IMO more than the actors themselves. Because I've seen some current FC actors in other things and they were grand. Granted, there is some fairly poor acting from some, but not all of the actors, some are actually quite good if they were given a proper script.

I just think that Ronan does look a lot frailer than he did before Christmas, not necessarily that he's Oscar winning material.

But the guy who plays Robbie is good, the woman who plays Jane, as is the guy who plays Oakley. :) But that's just my opinion; they just do the best with the scripts they're given. :) ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Great the weasel is back, hate him.

It's the scripts/writers/producers IMO more than the actors themselves. Because I've seen some current FC actors in other things and they were grand. Granted, there is some fairly poor acting from some, but not all of the actors, some are actually quite good if they were given a proper script.

I just think that Ronan does look a lot frailer than he did before Christmas, not necessarily that he's Oscar winning material.

But the guy who plays Robbie is good, the woman who plays Jane, as is the guy who plays Oakley. :) But that's just my opinion; they just do the best with the scripts they're given. :) ..

They have no control over their scripts but even given that, some actors have natural talent like Heather, Oakley, Manson, Renee and Bob, Melanie etc whereas others are just cruising for the paycheque and are stinking up the place for years now like Paul, Carol and Delores.

Even given how badly the FC scriptwriters are remembering one script/event from the next, I think there is some kind of weak plan in place and it has to do with Kerri Ann and her baby. Maybe he plans to blame Emmet for being the father or some madcap story like that, then they will accuse him of rape etc, anything to get Manson swept up in it.

You're probably right, I think it's because there's way too many writers and they don't read over what the other writers scripted properly, they just scan through and get on with writing whatever is on their own minds.

It would be kinda gas though, if it was something stupid like Jim framing Emmet for getting Kerri-Ann pregnant.....

The funny thing is - KA being as stupid as she is, would probably have a false memory of having a fling with Emmet instead of being raped, and it would all back fire horribly when they decided to make a go of it and become a proper couple..... Thus causing Oakley and McSweeney to come up with yet another plan to get at Miriam......

BTW, didn't McSweeney say to Oakley a couple of weeks ago that she wasn't going to help him anymore, that he could report her for the embezzlement if he wanted but no one would believe him...??

Now she's all Team Oakley again..... Maybe he got more dirt on her during his jail break.

They have no control over their scripts but even given that, some actors have natural talent like Heather, Oakley, Manson, Renee and Bob, Melanie etc whereas others are just cruising for the paycheque and are stinking up the place for years now like Paul, Carol and Delores.

That's the gist of what I was saying but I didn't want to name the actors I believed weren't the greatest.

BTW, I'm loving Melanie, I went from thinking ''God, she's a bit abrasive'' to thinking 'I'd rather be Melanie than KA or Harmony, or bloomin chain smoking/feeling sorry for herself/threatening violence, Carol any day.'' :D

I can safely say that Melanie is my favourite female character (hope they don't give her a personality transplant), and Carol is my most hated...

Oh my God did anyone see that preview for Tuesdays FC on Player? Amateur doesn't even begin to describe it. I'm actually surprised they let that loose, even knowing how shocking some of the movements and scripts are.

Dean and Paul are talking about Oisin being involved with Dean. Paul says "He just needs an opportunity" and Dean fluffs his lines and stammers when he replies "He had nothing but opportunities eh eh he had the Pod.....ehhh ehhh the nightclub..ehhh" He even LOOKS AT THE RIGHT OF THE CAMERA at this point, as if motioning to the director to shoot again.

Even for RTE that's fairly pathetic.

https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/fair-city-extras-30003038/10842394/

fin12 wrote: »
    Great the weasel is back, hate him.

Paul? :D If so, that's what my mam calls him too :D :P

threetrees wrote: »
    Ah I'd say he is used to it. Bryan Murray and Una Crawford O'Brien, aka Bob and Renee are married in real life.

I know. My sis and her hubby were on a weekend break in Letterkenny a few years back and they were eating or in the bar of the same hotel (the actors that play Bob and Renee that is) - can't rightly remember which, I usually zone out of my sis's long monologues. :D

Paul? :D If so, that's what my mam calls him too :D :P

No Oisin.

I don’t mind Paul, I find him pretty funny.

For some reason - I know the storylines are getting dafter and dafter, and given his escape he'd be kept in a more secure unit, therefore not able to get his hands on a mobile, etc - but I really want Oakley to stay and get away with it! :D :P I'm getting attached to the character and all his unique madness at this stage (he must have me brainwashed) and I'd miss him if he was gone.

Best thing about tonight's episode - no Kerri-Ann. :D

fin12 wrote: »
    No Oisin.

I don’t mind Paul, I find him pretty funny.

He's a good actor though, but I still want to slap Oisin every time I see his smarmy face and have to listen to Paul sticking up for him all the time - I much, much more prefer Callum. :)

Oh my God did anyone see that preview for Tuesdays FC on Player? Amateur doesn't even begin to describe it. I'm actually surprised they let that loose, even knowing how shocking some of the movements and scripts are.

Dean and Paul are talking about Oisin being involved with Dean. Paul says "He just needs an opportunity" and Dean fluffs his lines and stammers when he replies "He had nothing but opportunities eh eh he had the Pod.....ehhh ehhh the nightclub..ehhh" He even LOOKS AT THE RIGHT OF THE CAMERA at this point, as if motioning to the director to shoot again.

Even for RTE that's fairly pathetic.

https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/fair-city-extras-30003038/10842394/

Ya I watched, they probably couldn’t be arsed re shooting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 BellaMama

Wasnt a great episode tonight.

Aoife now living under the same roof as Robbie, its all a bit far fetched. I have to say too I just despise Karen, I feel bad for doing the so, but she is just annoying and the way she delivers her lines, even tonight with Sean, when he asked her about the leg, like she could have been saying in response the colour of this stool is black, everything she says is in the same monotone voice, devoid of any emotion!!

I am totally confused by the Oakley/Jim situation too, i get there was malpractice and he accidently let someone die, and Oakley somehow knows about it, but what was the soliciter lady on about when she said 'the grandchildren, i think it was you never met?!" or did she mean the grandchildren of the lady who died, whatever way it was phrased was confusing!

I actually think the one sort of moving thing this evening in a poor epsisode was Ronan and Dolores. There friendship has grown on me and seems genuine wonder whats gonna happen there.

BellaMama wrote: »
    Wasnt a great episode tonight.

Aoife now living under the same roof as Robbie, its all a bit far fetched. I have to say too I just despise Karen, I feel bad for doing the so, but she is just annoying and the way she delivers her lines, even tonight with Sean, when he asked her about the leg, like she could have been saying in response the colour of this stool is black, everything she says is in the same monotone voice, devoid of any emotion!!

I am totally confused by the Oakley/Jim situation too, i get there was malpractice and he accidently let someone die, and Oakley somehow knows about it, but what was the soliciter lady on about when she said 'the grandchildren, i think it was you never met?!" or did she mean the grandchildren of the lady who died, whatever way it was phrased was confusing!

I actually think the one sort of moving thing this evening in a poor epsisode was Ronan and Dolores. There friendship has grown on me and seems genuine wonder whats gonna happen there.

Now that Kevin is gone away and come out as gay, I'd say Karen and Sean will get bck together.

When she arrived first, she was Sean's girlfriend for a while. So Sean might - boring as it'll probably be - have a storyline for the first time in God knows how long.