Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Carol is the biggest hypocrite on the show. She has had plenty of affairs herself and then she throws a strop and storms out just because Robbie made one tiny mistake. And after all he did for her the past few years, listening to her whingeing about her childhood then taking on her scumbag father to die in his house- hes a saint!

The sooner they cut Carol from this show the better, shes up there with Niamh as to how pathetic she is.

All the flaws you point out about Carol are all down to the writers/directors. What do you think of Aisling O'Neill who plays her? I was actually keeping an eye out last night and she's definitely not the worst actor/actress on the show in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Did Niamh leave to move onto something else acting wise or was she shafted?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,505 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Did Niamh leave to move onto something else acting wise or was she shafted?

It was a very odd exit for such an established character. She was gone all off a sudden with out any real warning. The same thing happened to Jo a few years ago but she was fairly vocal about being axed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

It was a very odd exit for such an established character. She was gone all off a sudden with out any real warning. The same thing happened to Jo a few years ago but she was fairly vocal about being axed.

Ya but that the difference, Niamh hasn’t said anything bad about FC so my understanding is that she will be back in the not too distant future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

It was very quick and odd to say the least. There was an exit there that could have been made good around the time of the 'plan'. Then it all seemed rushed. Looks like a row or something or maybe something in her personal life that has pushed her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

EIREDriver wrote: »
    All the flaws you point out about Carol are all down to the writers/directors. What do you think of Aisling O'Neill who plays her? I was actually keeping an eye out last night and she's definitely not the worst actor/actress on the show in my opinion.

I don't rate her as a good actress at all. I know she can only play the scripts that are handed to her but she doesn't even do that particularly well. When everyone was creaming themselves a year or two ago about her portrayal as a sex abuse victim, I was left very underwhelmed. All she did was light up a fag, curl her lower lip and shed some false tears. Awful. And shes been doing it since she walked into FC. Rough upbringing, gangsters and a woe-is-me aura. Someone like Carol wouldn't still be in Carrickstown after all that's happened to her. She would have left years ago.

Nora, in a five minute scene explaining her past in the Laundry, was more powerful than anything Carol has ever done. As for Aisling O Neill always mentioning her dad being an actor in her interviews? SO what?! She seems to think that being the daughter of an actor entitles her to elevate her skills above what she deserves. She has hit the end of the road in my view.

fin12 wrote: »
    Ya but that the difference, Niamh hasn’t said anything bad about FC so my understanding is that she will be back in the not too distant future.

I think lots of us were expecting to do Dancing with the Stars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I am sorry but I keep laughing at this :o:pac:

My friend's daughter had to wear one of these. It was anything but funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Jack asked why he stayed in his Grandma’s the first night but no questions at all about living in the pod for a few days and then moving into Jane’s.. and who was this great friend of hers she was ringing before turning to Jane?

Hughie throwing on an auld Sunday roast just for himself..like you do..loads available to feed half the street but none of them wanted to go. Jackie probably getting something else round at the ram’s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I predict Niamh will be back. They left it open for this to happen.

There has been some clearout of major characters over the last few months. Dermot, Niamh, Dan and Ama all gone. We see less of Paul, we see hardly anything of Leo, Bela, etc. and there will surely be a few more crashing out permanently before the year is out.

EIREDriver wrote: »
    What do you think of Aisling O'Neill who plays her?

She's all talk, no meaningful action.

Spoiler Tuesday 6th!
    Looks who's back!
    Cathal tempts Carol with a chance to get revenge on Robbie. Meanwhile, Farrah gets caught up in the media attention surrounding Emmet, and Miriam lands herself in danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

There has been some clearout of major characters over the last few months. Dermot, Niamh, Dan and Ama all gone. We see less of Paul, we see hardly anything of Leo, Bela, etc. and there will surely be a few more crashing out permanently before the year is out.

Every one of those got some kind of send off. Even if Ama’s was just a quick call from home to say the guy who drove her away from home was sick so she returned for good.. Maybe Niamh only gave 6 months notice and the poor writers couldn’t come up with anything in that time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

I'm happy see the back of the lot of them, although I'd keep Paul

He's not a true baddie like Cathal who can be used as a prick and/or proper scumbag

Paul is good as just being the dickhead like his smug carry on before the plan it was really pissing me off.

The only thing that annoyed me is he wasn't brought down a proper peg or two. I mean end of the bloody day he now owns a restaurant like and still has the house

I remember Aoibhean McCaul who plays Caoimhe said in an interview they only get short term contracts every time and then get dropped for a bit and brought back again and that's why you'd only see certain ones appear for a few months then disappear for ages while the last missing crop appear for a few months

That explains the likes of Farrah back now while Caoimhe is gone along with others disappearing while others drop back in

I used wonder why lots of em would be doing loads of voice overs and stuff. She said a lot them work normal jobs cause they'd never keep going other wise

Would love to see pay breakdown by character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

nagdefy wrote: »
    You're a really nice poster nagdefy.

Thanks donkeykong, that's very kind of you :)

I have my bad moments too though :)
    Nagdefy . Why have you got banned under your name. Hope it's not cos I said you were a nice poster. ?????

Would love to see pay breakdown by character

Yes that would be interesting. I imagine Paul, Delores and Carol get the most money because they seem to get the most screen time anyway. I don't remember Carol being off our screens at all in 2017...

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/heres-how-much-fair-city-actors-get-paid-for-a-day-shift-34707943.html

Best I could find

Imagine, a script writer MINIMUM pay is just over €1,800 PER episode and this what we get for it :(

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/heres-how-much-fair-city-actors-get-paid-for-a-day-shift-34707943.html

Best I could find

Imagine, a script writer MINIMUM pay is just over €1,800 PER episode and this what we get for it :(

Wow, that is crazy money and for taxis and food etc. Its certainly a great gig if you get it (script writing). The quality doesn't need to be any good and you get some money for it. Easy knowing that RTE and the script writing Guild are heavily unionised bodies.

The problem is there are just too many script writers. It should be quality not quantity. With that many people scripting a character its easy to lost sight of quirks and past events etc hence all the changes in personality..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Has Dermot officially left or his whole storyline just on the back burner.

If he has left can someone explain how they rounded up the story not sure if I missed something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Cathal Spillane rowing lol

I'd prefer to be in prison than coming home to Debbie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

Oisin and Harmony could be twins.

Great timing my Manson. Still only one tone of voice and facial expression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Jaysus, Emmet's walking fierce funny since he got out of the Joy

Dusty Springfield get a spray tan?

Paul's gonna ride Harmony. Chalk it down

I don't get why Paul still has the smug Dean working for him. It's not like he does anything special.

Just when we thought we were rid of her!

How do they justify various characters who own their own premises that serve coffee going somewhere else for a coffee, even for take away! Hughie, Christiania, Robbie how often do we see them having a coffee in Vinos or the Community Centre or Spar getting a coffee? Maybe I could imagine them going to Vinos for a daycent coffee but why the Community Centre or Spar? Ah sure why the f*ck would anyone be in Spar that often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Just when we thought we were rid of her!

She'll be leaving again tomorrow.. :rolleyes: