Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,720 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think its one of those new digital flare guns from North Korea. They're nuclear powered. Much safer and less collateral damage.
    You can buy them on Wish!

Instant hit. The victim doesn't even have time to let a cry of pain or discomfort out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Art Deko

aktiv-x2-transit-01.jpg

Only two previous owners, Turlough and Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Me too! As it's sending out the wrong message entirely. Namely; that if you die/are seriously injured after trying to play the hero, despite your past crimes, you're instantly forgiven.

I can't help but wonder if a character along the lines of Cathal had, in the past, raped someone would be he treated with such magnaminity were he the one to have taken the shot for Robbie?

Yeah, people would say on FC ''what he did was good'', but that doesn't make him any less a rapist.

So, if everyone is supposed to forgive and praise Wheelie now, would they do the same if it had transpired that he'd abused kids in his youth, instead of a grown woman?

And to see that preview on the Player just sickened me!

They wanted him to avoid prison, get away with a crime, and have everyone liking him again! :mad:

Ahh in fairness to Dan, yer one only changed her mind half way through the shag. It wasn't like he planned it. Lets not forget he also saved Carol's life. He is still a daycent bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭threetrees

I've only realised from the previous posts that Oakley is Geraldine Plunket's son IRL. He is a good actor, pity it's short lived - well most likely short lived.

I always liked Geraldine Plunket. She will always be Sean O Casey's best Juno imo. She's more old-school acting trained, very professional and just brilliant but probably more suited to stage than TV.

I hope Rose comes back from Aunt Kitty's (I have that mixed up, don't I?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

Wheelie Dan taking a bullet/flare/jet of water scene made me piss my pants a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

"It's as bad as a bullet at that range"..... really? Maybe a rubber bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

What I didn't like about lastnight was how they made it about Robbie and Dan. I mean, those characters had NOTHING whatsoever to do with the cult and yet one of the biggest things to come out of this will be Dan dying and Robbie being a hero- Dan obviously decided to leave FC so they decided to throw in a dramatic death into the cult storyline and why did Robbie have to stick his big oar in- now this will mean more air time for Carol.

Out of interest does anyone know if Carol and other long termers are on a rolling contract year after year that can be cut at any time or are they permanent? Its probably different in the acting industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

There was no need for Medics there was a find Dr in the house!

‘There’s been a fatality...we need paramedics’

Can they bring her back from the dead?

And Dan standing up!

A miraculous night !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

threetrees wrote: »
    I've only realised from the previous posts that Oakley is Geraldine Plunket's son IRL. He is a good actor, pity it's short lived - well most likely short lived.

I always liked Geraldine Plunket. She will always be Sean O Casey's best Juno imo. She's more old-school acting trained, very professional and just brilliant but probably more suited to stage than TV.

Shes too good for FC. Put Damo and Carol on a stage and they wouldn't know what to do. Carol would light up a cigarette and bemoan her tough childhood and Damo would headbutt the nearest person and demand to see his DAWWWWWWWter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭LushiousLips

When I saw Caddle running to the house to see if Robbie was ok I thought, oh here we fcuking go again. More drama for her :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,505 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When I saw Caddle running to the house to see if Robbie was ok I thought, oh here we fcuking go again. More drama for her :eek::eek:

Remember the last time Carol was running around and broke her heels. You'd think she'd at least carry a pair of runners in her handbag for these situations!

I remember that, nearly choked laughing. Surprised a fag isn't hanging out the side of her mouth on these runs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Carrigstown Top 70 Hits for the week ending Friday 12th January 2018 have just been announced. We have all the hits, falling, rising and new entries.

1. Dr. James Oakley- We Didn't Start the Fire (cover of Billy Joel)
    2. Ben Fahy- MmmBop (Hansen)
    3. Damien Halpin- Hit Me With Your Rhythm 'Brick' (Ian Dury)
    4. The Group- Zombee Jamboree (Harry Belafonte)
    5. Miriam O'Reilly- I'll Be There (The Jackson Five)
    6. Ray O'Connell- One Piece At a Time (Johnny Cash)
    7. Kiero111- Girls, Girls, Girls (Jay Z)
    8. Doug Ferguson- Walk Like a 'Pidgeon' (The Bangles)
    9. Katy O'Brien- Living in a Box (Living in a Box)
    10. Hannah Mark- Born To Die (Lana Del Rey)

11. Dan Keating- Crossfire (Brandon Flowers)
    12. Carol Foley- Seven Drunken Nights (The Dubliners)
    13. The Rapid Response Unit- Dangerous (David Guetta)
    14. Nora Keogh- Son of a Preacher Man (Dusty Springfield)
    15. Caoimhe Dillon- Have You Seen Her (The Chi-lites)
    16. Orla Molloy- Fuc*!n Perfect (P!nk)
    17. Hayley Collins and Jane Black- Hot Stuff (Donna Summer)
    18. Dermot Fahy- Barbados (Totally Tropical)
    19. Paul Brennan- I'm Too Sexy (Right Said Fred)
    20. Vivienne Bishop- All About The Bass (Meghan Trainor)

21. Dan Keating and Robbie Quinn- Shame (Gary Barlow and Robbie Williams)
    22. Kerri Ann Bishop- Prima Donna Girl (Marina and the Diamonds)
    23. The Chili Brothers- Bomboleo (The Gypsy Kings)
    24. Dermot Fahy- Loco in Acapulco (The Four Tops)
    25. Kerri Ann Bishop- California Dreamin (The Mamas and Papas)
    26. Leo Dowling- The Parting Glass (Various)
    27. Bella Doyle and Charlie Kelly- I Got You Babe (Sonny and Cher)
    28. Decco Bishop and Eddie O'Dwyer- Jailhouse Rock (Elvis Presley)
    29. Laura Halpin- Keep On Running (Spencer Davis Group)
    30. Niamh Brennan and Michael O'Brien- Mrs. Robinson (Paul Simon)

31. Dean Dowling- The Boxer (Simon and Garfunkel)
    32. Emmet O'Brien- The Whole Town's Laughing At Me (Teddy Pendergrass)
    33. Tommy Dillon- The Combine Harvester (Brendan Grace)
    34. Junior, Jack and Ruthie- Manah Manah (The Muppets)
    35. Zumo Bishop- Kung Fu Fighting (Carl Douglas)
    36. Ciaran Holloway and Tommy Dillon- Every Breath You Take (The Police)
    37. 'Mondo' Raymond O'Connell- Il Mondo (Jimmy Fontana)
    38. Mike Gleeson- Brother Louie (Modern Talking)
    39. Dr. James Oakley and Tommy Dillon- Classic (Adrian Gurvitz)
    40. Karen- I Think We're Alone Now- (Tiffany)

41. Karen- Dancing Queen (ABBA)
    42. Karen- Shake It Out (Taylor Swift)
    43. Tommy Dillon- What's New Pussycat (Tom Jones)
    44. Doug Ferguson- Girlfriend in a Coma (The Smiths)
    45. Hayley Collins- Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (Cindi Lauper)
    46. The Group- YMCA (Village People)
    47. Dan Keating and Robbie Quinn- 19 (Paul Hardcastle)
    48. Kevin Phelan- Born in The USA (Bruce Springsteen)
    49. Dr. James Oakley- Walk Tall (Val Doonican)
    50. Emmet O'Brien- Under Pressure (Queen)

51. Carol Foley- B!tch (Meredith Brooks)
    52. The Group- Rooms On Fire (Stevie Nicks)
    53. Barry O'Hanlon- St. Quentin (Johnny Cash)
    54. Damien Halpin- An Puc Ar Buille (Sean O'Shea)
    55. Cass Cassidy- One Too Many Mornings (Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan)
    56. The Group- We Shall Overcome (Joan Baez)
    57. Tommy Dillon- Jealous Guy (Lennon/Roxy Music)
    58. Robbie Quinn and Cathal Spillane-Friends in Low Places
    59. Emmet O'Brien- Coward of The County (Kenny Rogers)
    60. Dan Keating- Dead From The Waist Down (Catatonia)

61. Katy O'Brien- Wuthuring Heights (Kate Bush)
    62. Miriam O'Reilly and Eoghan O'Brien- A Winter's Tale (David Essex)
    63. Niamh Brennan- Leaving On a Jet Plane (John Denver)
    64. Cristiano from Chile- Don't Worry, Be Happy (Bobby McFerrin)
    65. Hughie Phelan- Delirium Tremens (Christy Moore)
    66. Dermot Fahy (2015)- My Love is in America (Dolores Keane)
    67. Dean Dowling and Louise Doyle- A Pair of Brown Eyes (The Pogues)
    68. 'Sash' Sasha Bishop- Both Sides Now (Joni Mitchell)
    69. The Group- You'll Never Walk/Wheel Alone (Various)
    70. Kerri Ann Bishop and Orla Mulloy- When Will I Be Famous (Bros)

Note: All unfamiliar songs can be seen on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

As we say on the Liveline thread,

Well done, caller, well done.

Brilliant nadgefy :D:D

Number 12 LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

People talking about the crap acting have to remember that in the big soaps in Britain they would have numerous takes for a scene. In Fair City it’s pretty much one and done for each scene.

The portrayal of the Gardai was a bit ridiculous in the whole siege. As someone pointed out the guy going through the attic disappeared. I loved the comedy of hughie’s sketch of the attic to show them where the gap was though.

Lucky nobody was lost at sea with that flare gun that caused no sparks at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Always number 1

Art Deko wrote: »
    Only two previous owners, Turlough and Dan.

*may lead to dying an unnatural death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Always number 1

nagdefy wrote: »
    Carrigstown Top 70 Hits for the week ending Friday 12th January 2018 have just been announced. We have all the hits, falling, rising and new entries.

1. Dr. James Oakley- We Didn't Start the Fire (cover of Billy Joel)
    2. Ben Fahy- MmmBop (Hansen)
    3. Damien Halpin- Hit Me With Your Rhythm 'Brick' (Ian Dury)
    4. The Group- Zombee Jamboree (Harry Belafonte)
    5. Miriam O'Reilly- I'll Be There (The Jackson Five)
    6. Ray O'Connell- One Piece At a Time (Johnny Cash)
    7. Kiero111- Girls, Girls, Girls (Jay Z)
    8. Doug Ferguson- Walk Like a 'Pidgeon' (The Bangles)
    9. Katy O'Brien- Living in a Box (Living in a Box)
    10. Hannah Mark- Born To Die (Lana Del Rey)

11. Dan Keating- Crossfire (Brandon Flowers)
    12. Carol Foley- Seven Drunken Nights (The Dubliners)
    13. The Rapid Response Unit- Dangerous (David Guetta)
    14. Nora Keogh- Son of a Preacher Man (Dusty Springfield)
    15. Caoimhe Dillon- Have You Seen Her (The Chi-lites)
    16. Orla Molloy- Fuc*!n Perfect (P!nk)
    17. Hayley Collins and Jane Black- Hot Stuff (Donna Summer)
    18. Dermot Fahy- Barbados (Totally Tropical)
    19. Paul Brennan- I'm Too Sexy (Right Said Fred)
    20. Vivienne Bishop- All About The Bass (Meghan Trainor)

21. Dan Keating and Robbie Quinn- Shame (Gary Barlow and Robbie Williams)
    22. Kerri Ann Bishop- Prima Donna Girl (Marina and the Diamonds)
    23. The Chili Brothers- Bomboleo (The Gypsy Kings)
    24. Dermot Fahy- Loco in Acapulco (The Four Tops)
    25. Kerri Ann Bishop- California Dreamin (The Mamas and Papas)
    26. Leo Dowling- The Parting Glass (Various)
    27. Bella Doyle and Charlie Kelly- I Got You Babe (Sonny and Cher)
    28. Decco Bishop and Eddie O'Dwyer- Jailhouse Rock (Elvis Presley)
    29. Laura Halpin- Keep On Running (Spencer Davis Group)
    30. Niamh Brennan and Michael O'Brien- Mrs. Robinson (Paul Simon)

31. Dean Dowling- The Boxer (Simon and Garfunkel)
    32. Emmet O'Brien- The Whole Town's Laughing At Me (Teddy Pendergrass)
    33. Tommy Dillon- The Combine Harvester (Brendan Grace)
    34. Junior, Jack and Ruthie- Manah Manah (The Muppets)
    35. Zumo Bishop- Kung Fu Fighting (Carl Douglas)
    36. Ciaran Holloway and Tommy Dillon- Every Breath You Take (The Police)
    37. 'Mondo' Raymond O'Connell- Il Mondo (Jimmy Fontana)
    38. Mike Gleeson- Brother Louie (Modern Talking)
    39. Dr. James Oakley and Tommy Dillon- Classic (Adrian Gurvitz)
    40. Karen- I Think We're Alone Now- (Tiffany)

41. Karen- Dancing Queen (ABBA)
    42. Karen- Shake It Out (Taylor Swift)
    43. Tommy Dillon- What's New Pussycat (Tom Jones)
    44. Doug Ferguson- Girlfriend in a Coma (The Smiths)
    45. Hayley Collins- Girls Just Wanna Have Fun (Cindi Lauper)
    46. The Group- YMCA (Village People)
    47. Dan Keating and Robbie Quinn- 19 (Paul Hardcastle)
    48. Kevin Phelan- Born in The USA (Bruce Springsteen)
    49. Dr. James Oakley- Walk Tall (Val Doonican)
    50. Emmet O'Brien- Under Pressure (Queen)

51. Carol Foley- B!tch (Meredith Brooks)
    52. The Group- Rooms On Fire (Stevie Nicks)
    53. Barry O'Hanlon- St. Quentin (Johnny Cash)
    54. Damien Halpin- An Puc Ar Buille (Sean O'Shea)
    55. Cass Cassidy- One Too Many Mornings (Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan)
    56. The Group- We Shall Overcome (Joan Baez)
    57. Tommy Dillon- Jealous Guy (Lennon/Roxy Music)
    58. Robbie Quinn and Cathal Spillane-Friends in Low Places
    59. Emmet O'Brien- Coward of The County (Kenny Rogers)
    60. Dan Keating- Dead From The Waist Down (Catatonia)

61. Katy O'Brien- Wuthuring Heights (Kate Bush)
    62. Miriam O'Reilly and Eoghan O'Brien- A Winter's Tale (David Essex)
    63. Niamh Brennan- Leaving On a Jet Plane (John Denver)
    64. Cristiano from Chile- Don't Worry, Be Happy (Bobby McFerrin)
    65. Hughie Phelan- Delirium Tremens (Christy Moore)
    66. Dermot Fahy (2015)- My Love is in America (Dolores Keane)
    67. Dean Dowling and Louise Doyle- A Pair of Brown Eyes (The Pogues)
    68. 'Sash' Sasha Bishop- Both Sides Now (Joni Mitchell)
    69. The Group- You'll Never Walk/Wheel Alone (Various)
    70. Kerri Ann Bishop and Orla Mulloy- When Will I Be Famous (Bros)

Note: All unfamiliar songs can be seen on youtube

I would applaud your post but I now have Manah manah (do do do do do) stuck in my head so I'm rescinding my thanks ;-) ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

threetrees wrote: »

I think she's in Galway with a sick friend named Molly. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Denise McCormack was very much a young actor when she was on FC though. And why are people so bothered about the gun? It's actually plausible, a flare gun would easily do serious damage, they are generally that colour and he explained he got it on his boat. I mean a well to do Doctor is going to find it hard to get a glock or the likes.

I usen't watch it back then - I was only a kid. :) And the only reason I got to know whom was who was from my mam when I started watching it with her. :)

I suppose the whole gun thing is down to the fact that Oakley looked liked the type to have some criminal connections, or maybe that's just my take on it. :)

Niall_76 wrote: »
    The portrayal of the Gardai was a bit ridiculous in the whole siege. As someone pointed out the guy going through the attic disappeared. I loved the comedy of hughie’s sketch of the attic to show them where the gap was though.

Yes that was totally ridiculous. Surely it would have been a lot quicker to just show the guards where the gap was. The whole situation could have been dealt with by the time Hughie finished his sketch. And when they eventually did barge in, there was only one guy in SWAT gear. :rolleyes:

Take Denise McCormack, for instance; according to mam she was the worst Farrah ever - I wasn't aware that there were three in all - but her favourite was the first. She said her acting was terrible....

Then I saw Denise in Love/Hate, Red Rock, and, lately, Eastenders, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with her acting talent.

Therefore, it was the FC crew were to blame if people believed her to be a bad ''Farrah Phelan'', not Denise herself.

There have been four Farrahs!

Here's one I made earlier.

26239421_10159981948880089_1125513831116355119_n.jpg?oh=dbae9c38128b03413e24699948d4b0c3&oe=5AE58009

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

There's a big elephant in the room question posed over the last few episodes (and i don't mean Oakley or Miriam!) which a lot of posters are pointing at..

Can/should society in general forgive a rapist if they've done a lot of other good things in their life? It's a very subjective question and no doubt we all have our own opinions.

Also what about society and murder/manslaughter? Obviously these can take place in a myriad of context.

Where stands rape in relation to the most heinous of crimes?

Personally i think these questions should be left to other threads rather than a soap one. In any case i really don't have the answers, as a practicing Christian i should forgive Dan Keating. If it was my sister or my girlfriend would i be so forgiving. Maybe several years down the line if justice was served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

LOL @ Loco In Acapulco for Dermot Fahy : Carrigstown's very own Buster Edwards or Ronnie Biggs :D

There have been four Farrahs!

Here's one I made earlier.

26239421_10159981948880089_1125513831116355119_n.jpg?oh=dbae9c38128b03413e24699948d4b0c3&oe=5AE58009

Bottom left Farrah is very purdy. The current Farrah looks like she would ate ye without salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

jos28 wrote: »
    Well said Wanderer, credit where it's due - they were both excellent in that scene. Hope Miriam stays on, the credible acting might rub off on the likes of Caddle.

Seriously? I'd really like to know what your bench mark would is? Their performance would stink up the screen on a real drama, they are 2 ham artists. If Fair City is 1 and Love Hate is 10, I'd rate them at 3! You're entitled to your opinion but mine is that they are polished turds in a sea of sh1te.

Cormdogg wrote: »
    Seriously? I'd really like to know what your bench mark would is? Their performance would stink up the screen on a real drama, they are 2 ham artists. If Fair City is 1 and Love Hate is 10, I'd rate them at 3! You're entitled to your opinion but mine is that they are polished turds in a sea of sh1te.

I'd give her a 3 and him a 6. She was nowhere near as good as Heather but I thought Oakley's performance was good.

Can/should society in general forgive a rapist if they've done a lot of other good things in their life? It's a very subjective question and no doubt we all have our own opinions.

It is a heinous crime, but there are many levels to it. Rape is just a word. To understand it it needs to be looked at on a case by case basis.

Many men have been convicted and many have been acquitted of the charge of rape where it's a case of he said she said......No real evidence apart from the female saying she said no, and the male saying no, you didn't. Where drink has been involved, nightclubs, women voluntarily going off with men they have met on nights out etc....

Then there are the very aggravated and clearly violent and brutal cases. To feel the same about these as about the he said she said ones is just not human nature.

That is just my view.

Hence why I have always maintained that every man is a "potential" rapist when you think of what rape is, and how you can be labeled a rapist.

You can bet there are many many good and caring and decent men out there who have gotten into sticky situations where they could easily have been accused of rape in the wrong. Many have been convicted in the wrong. So, it goes back to my view that all men are potential rapists in that context. It's sad, but it is true.

Cormdogg wrote: »

I am with you. WTF are people watching to come out with any semblance of credit, acting wise or plot line wise for the recent pile of sh1t on FC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Has the actor that plays Oackley been in an Irish speaking acting role? How do people know hes fluent in Irish?

An bhfuil an actoir Doctuir Oackley liofaiocht sa Gaeilge?