Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

I think these last 2 episodes have pushed Fair City through the barrier from being 'bad' to being 'so bad its good'.

I was very disappointed in Robbie, was it the army catering corps he was in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Yeah Robbie's attempt at punching Oakley was pathetic. A strong ex army man should have been well able to overpower a noodle armed choir boy like Oakley. Although the guy who plays Oakley is a decent actor in fairness. The scene at the end with him holding Saoirse in the attic was well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭almostbroke

Delighted that the plastic baby survived....hope she gets recycled.

Did Dan momentarily regain the use of his legs when he lunged in front of Robbie and took a flare for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Did Dan momentarily regain the use of his legs when he lunged in front of Robbie and took a flare for him?

It would appear so. That's what made me laugh so much last night when I watched the preview. Dan has had a severed spinal cord now for what - two years - yet all it took was his (former) bromance with Robbie to help him put his two feet under him again. Pity it will likely be for the first and last time since the accident. Actually, I find it sort of sickening that they've apparently made Dan a martyr in order to redeem him and absolve him of what he did to Aoife. From now on, when people think of him, it'll be as ''Dan the hero''/''Dan the selfless martyr'' - not, for the fact remains still; ''Dan the rapist.''

One thing, though, the doc has great healing powers, just being in his vicinity caused a paraplegic to walk again. He did somethng that no other medic could - he made a paraplegic walk! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

The armed response unit that was supposed to be going through the attic must have gotten lost along the way. "Agh sh!t this isn't the right attic. Wait a minute, what are all these video tapes? 'Tommy's Tipperary Tales'? 'Judie's Movements November 2011'? 'Blondie from Leopardstown - 6/10'? Whos attic is this?!"

Think I'm going to stop watching the previews as it gave away the best bit of tonight's episode. All the rest was just Bean Guard shouting at Katy/The Ram/Caoimhe/Hughie/Stripey/Gripey/Caddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Always number 1

It would appear so. That's what made me laugh so much last night when I watched the preview. Dan has had a severed spinal cord now for what - two years - yet all it took was his (former) bromance with Robbie to help him put his two feet under him again. Pity it will likely be for the first and last time since the accident. Actually, I find it sort of sickening that they've apparently made Dan a martyr in order to redeem him and absolve him of what he did to Aoife. From now on, when people think of him, it'll be as ''Dan the hero''/''Dan the selfless martyr'' - not, for the fact remains still; ''Dan the rapist.''

One thing, though, the doc has great healing powers, just being in his vicinity caused a paraplegic to walk again. He did somethng that no other medic could - he made a paraplegic walk! :P

His Hippocratic oath obviously gave him magic powers

Thank God it's apparently over now - in a week's time Carrigstown will have likely forgotten about iit too, and we'll see the return of Farrah et al who have been missing in action lately, and the next big (long drawn out and convoluted) ''plot'' will start simmering away.

As to the whole Oakley motive thing - it was nebulous, to say the least.... First, it was because of the baby. Then it wasn't because of the baby, but because Miriam ''stole'' his group. Then finally, it was all about the baby again....

He might be a fantastic healer whose actions made the maimed for life walk again, but he'd be so damn indecisive as a trauma surgeon. Can you imagine him: ''We need to stop that bleed, it's coming from the stomach'' then suddenly, ''there is no bleed, we need to get to get this patient stitched up and back in recovery,'' then ''oh wait, first of all we need to stop that bleed, it's serious by the looks of things''. At this stage he's sobbing and whinging....... :D :P

His Hippocratic oath obviously gave him magic powers

Which he broke! Jaysus, but I hope all docs don't follow his lead by taking a house full of hostages in the hopes of curing the terminally ill and paralysed (only to, apparently kill them) like magical Oakley did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

What was Dan's actual injury from the flare?
    Whay didn't the flare ignite the petrol ??
    Where was all the smoke from the flare ???
    Have the writers never seen a flare ????

So many flare questions left unanswered.

football-fans-throw-flares-in-stadium-428x298.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Thank God it's apparently over now

Careful what you wish for!! Cult story gone, Dan dead and his rape story gone, Damien story gone. Means one thing. A Kerrie Ann overdose!!!!:(:(:(:(:(

And in other news... Dan's ex girlfriend Sally has replaced her wheelchair fetish for bursting balls in Aldi commercials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,505 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Careful what you wish for!! Cult story gone, Dan dead and his rape story gone, Damien story gone. Means one thing. A Kerrie Ann overdose!!!!:(:(:(:(:(

I think we're also in for Dan's and Aoife's affair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Damo bundling out of the house roaring at Caoimhe "Heeeere I wanna see my DAAAAAUGHTER! Gerya hands offa me!" gave me a good laugh.

Was half expecting him to start telling her she can't take her away from him and he has the right to see her.

You'd wonder is it Maclean Burke or the writers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I enjoyed the Garda demanding to know where “the medics are?!??!” and being informed rather testily “...they’re on the way!!!!”
    There’s an armed siege in a house in a built up area.
    There’s hostages, petrol a small baby and a flare gun.
    The cops are swarming all over the street.
    But:
    1. None of the residents ring any journalists
    2. There’s no need to have ambulances and paramedics standing by.
    No need whatsoever .

There was no need for Medics there was a find Dr in the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

EIREDriver wrote:
    Damo bundling out of the house roaring at Caoimhe "Heeeere I wanna see my DAAAAAUGHTER! Gerya hands offa me!" gave me a good laugh.

That was so funny....like give it a minute Damien!!

Loved when carol ate the head off Tommy as well ...."hhhheeaare...."

EIREDriver wrote: »

Was half expecting him to start telling her she can't take her away from him and he has the right to see her.

That was a bit odd alright. After locking the door on Caoimhe, abducting her daughter and then bringing her into a madhouse full of lunatics and putting her life in danger, he then has the neck to ask to see his daughter. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

cringe, i was in a similar situation to damo in real life and by acting absolutely nothing like him whatsoever i've overcome all the "teething" issues and have a wonderful experience as a father :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

nagdefy wrote: »
    In a siege surely the gardai etc get rid of all the locals.

The detective, gardai had everyone pulling out of them, literally. Then the running commentary from Katy and Debbie. Debbie: 'i hope Emmet is safe'. Katy: 'i hope Saoirse is safe'. Jaysus. Why would Katy be thinking about a neighbour's baby being safe over her brother? It's not as if she knew the baby, shur she was locked up with Ciaran for most of the child's life. Ok no one wants to see a child hurt but the way Katy said it as a priority over her brother. Gobsh*te and all as he is.

The whole lot of them should have been frogmarched down to the Garda station for repeatedly obstructing the Gardai from doing their job. They should have been cabletied to their barstools first of all....for running around like headless chickens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

aktiv-x2-transit-01.jpg

Can see the ad on Done Deal.

'2 year old wheelchair in good condition. Can be used for sporting activities like basketball. Formerly occupied by rapist.'

Yeah Robbie's attempt at punching Oakley was pathetic. A strong ex army man should have been well able to overpower a noodle armed choir boy like Oakley. Although the guy who plays Oakley is a decent actor in fairness. The scene at the end with him holding Saoirse in the attic was well done.

Oakley could be stronger than lads give him credit for, he's a wiry looking lad. Look at the reach he'd have with those arms. No spare flesh.

Still Robbie looked like he was in the Brownies, not an army.

It sounds like such a great name. A Western movie star or something. He doesn't do that name justice!

My mam often wonders if Maclean is his real name or a stage name, because she says every time she sees/hears that name, it reminds her of a toothpaste brand she used to use. :D

Yes i've used Macleans toothpaste too!!

He had it at a young age as he's credited as Maclean Burke in Saving Private Ryan, made in 1996 when he was about 18, some of us calculated. Though as you say maybe he has it from 16 or so.

He wrote about being bullied a lot so in a way i feel bad for slagging him.. Incase he reads here!

Maclean you're not the worst actor, but you're not great...if you're reading!

I wonder will Dr Oakley tell the Gardai that Charlotte killed her Daddy!

Prediction: The judge at Oakley's trial will take his crimes far less seriously than the judge in Eoghan's case. Accidentally pushing someone into a desk in order to protect them, thus inadvertently causing them to strike their head and die, is a far more serious offence than the deaths of two people, hostage taking, pouring petrol all over a house, because - hey - he's a respected surgeon, whereas Eoghan was only a taxi driver living in a rented house. Knowing FC he'll probably get community service and a suspended sentence, then one thing or the other will happen:

The first being: He'll return to Carrigstown, stay in hiding and start plotting revenge via a newcomer (we won't know he's behind it for about a year and a half, though)
    The second being: He'll return a reformed character, make amends with everyone, get the GP job in the surgery and probably have a fling with Ama when she comes back - I'm certain this isn't the last we've seen of her.

The reasons for my theories? It's Fair City, where anything and everything goes, normal laws and rules do NOT apply there...

He had it at a young age as he's credited as Maclean Burke in Saving Private Ryan, made in 1996 when he was about 18, some of us calculated. Though as you say maybe he has it from 16 or so.

He wrote about being bullied a lot so in a way i feel bad for slagging him.. Incase he reads here!

Maclean you're not the worst actor, but you're not great...if you're reading!

Ah, God.... Hope he wasn't bullied because of the name.

I wonder will Dr Oakley tell the Gardai that Charlotte killed her Daddy!

They wouldn't believe him even if he did - then again, FC being what it is, they probably would.... :P

He had it at a young age as he's credited as Maclean Burke in Saving Private Ryan, made in 1996 when he was about 18, some of us calculated.

I didn't know he was in Saving Private Ryan....