Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The budget couldn't stretch for more than one member of the ARU :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

Dear God this is awful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

WOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Jesus that was a lot of questions. ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I'm glad Saorse (sp?) is safe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

That new regular guard who replaced Deegan is the most timid little creature. And one of the worst actors i've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

That’s was pure bile
    Btw Dans real name is Steve Gunn
    Steve Gunn shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Emmets facial expression in the back of the police car was just hilarious!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

In a siege surely the gardai etc get rid of all the locals.

The detective, gardai had everyone pulling out of them, literally. Then the running commentary from Katy and Debbie. Debbie: 'i hope Emmet is safe'. Katy: 'i hope Saoirse is safe'. Jaysus. Why would Katy be thinking about a neighbour's baby being safe over her brother? It's not as if she knew the baby, shur she was locked up with Ciaran for most of the child's life. Ok no one wants to see a child hurt but the way Katy said it as a priority over her brother. Gobsh*te and all as he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I’m still laughing.

RobertKK wrote: »

Obviously Miriam is going away for a while and not dependent on FC payments:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

A very strong episode and surprise surprise, the actors who have tonnes of acting experience OUTSIDE of Fair City shone the brightest- Oakley Dokily and Manson were terrific in that final scene, I don't think I drew breath once. I was fully convinced that he would blow up the whole cult house and bring the child with them.
    Now Carol and Damien- THATS how you act. A very very good storyline.

That’s was pure bile
    Btw Dans real name is Steve Gunn
    Steve Gunn shot

His jump showed a lot of 'flair':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

I particularly enjoyed everyone overhearing the radio chatter and then asking a load of questions - you've literally heard all of the information that the detective has!

Plus the "command centre" in the pub with a few laptops set up, not sure what they were doing..

Worst police perimeter ever, everyone just wandering around, entering neighbouring buildings etc.

Pure Fair City gold.

A very strong episode and surprise surprise, the actors who have tonnes of acting experience OUTSIDE of Fair City shone the brightest- Oakley Dokily and Manson were terrific in that final scene, I don't think I drew breath once. I was fully convinced that he would blow up the whole cult house and bring the child with them.

Please breathe Wanderer, we don't want to add you to the list of fatalities;)

Dan and Robbie were discussing cutting the cable ties and all Damien says is 'the place is full of petrol'.

He repeated that about 6 or 7 times. That's Maclean Burke acting at it's best since he gave Tom Hanks the rundown on the casualties in Saving Private Ryan.

In fairness the last few nights i haven't laughed as much as since Fair City in February 2009. When Turlough was doing a seance with Renee and Bob and talking to Bob's dead son.

One episode, a three hander i think they're called?

RobertKK wrote: »
    That was the worst armed unit response I ever saw, one person with a gun who would not give confidence....

Must be the same crew as in Kilinaskully. The lads who were at fortnight late at an incident.. the rapid response unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Always number 1

nagdefy wrote: »
    Despite bizarre storylines, inconsistencies, poor acting etc Fair City is Fair City.

In it's own mad way i've enjoyed it and it's been and continues to be something to watch in the evenings. Post Christmas the whole Oakley/Miriam/Group saga has passed a few dark January evenings and one thing is for sure...we don't know what's going to happen next.

I'll say one thing though. Back 21 years ago a guy called Terrence, drug dealer, held Lou hostage and himself and Billy Meehan were the best baddies in the show IMO. Better that Paddy Bishop or Oakley. Terence was after Eoghan (gay kiss guy) and when he heard he wasn't coming back to the flat he stayed in with Lou the shriek that your man Terrence let out still stays with me! The actors real name was Terrence McMahon and he had a half American drawl to his accent and shoulder length brown hair.

Here's a pic from later years when he appeared in FC.. The taller guy. He had these mean squinty little eyes.

085_c8650b8372a19f4c7c6a3afcf5eb63b2aad0a805.jpg

Not being pedantic but Terence had a grievance with Liam (the other half of the gay kiss)

If memory serves me right, Lou was sister of Pauline (cant remember her second name but she married Leo at one stage) and in a bizarre twist of fate, Terence killed Lana (she too married Leo at one stage) and Leo had a face off with him at the side of a cliff and Terence fell to his death.

Jaysus when you think about it, Leo has had more wives than Paul Brennan!! And has probably slept with more Carrigstown ladies than Tommy.. forget the ram - Leo the lothario is about... he must have a way with those wayward hands of his

Not being pedantic but Terence had a grievance with Liam (the other half of the gay kiss)

If memory serves me right, Lou was sister of Pauline (cant remember her second name but she married Leo at one stage) and in a bizarre twist of fate, Terence killed Lana (she too married Leo at one stage) and Leo had a face off with him at the side of a cliff and Terence fell to his death.

Jaysus when you think about it, Leo has had more wives than Paul Brennan!! And has probably slept with more Carrigstown ladies than Tommy.. forget the ram - Leo the lothario is about... he must have a way with those wayward hands of his

He wanted to get to Liam through Eoghan though. Eoghan had some info at that stage, or Terrence thought he did. That's why he went lula that night.

Leo and Bella were competing for Pauline at one stage! Pauline was married to Florrie Knox (Bryan Murray) in The Irish RM in the 1980s! So that links us back nicely. Leo was a boyo. Affair with Niamh and she had an abortion.

If memory serves me right, Lou was sister of Pauline (cant remember her second name but she married Leo at one stage) and in a bizarre twist of fate,

Fitzpatrick.
    Pauline was played by Lise-Ann McLaughlin (the lovely Sally Knox in the Irish RM). She is married to Nick Dunning, English actor who is in loads of stuff from late 80s to now. He has a minor credit in Lamb.

Your one Lou was Ann Callanan of Pajo's Junkbox fame (the Failte Romhat Café specifically). Another Fair City actor Mick Nolan (Ray) also appeared in it.

Just talking about Bond and The Man With The Golden Gun wouldn't Marcus Lamb make a decent Irish Bond. He's more masculine that Pierce Brosnan..

Or a Bond baddie :)

Fitzpatrick.
    Pauline was played by Lise-Ann McLaughlin (the lovely Sally Knox in the Irish RM). She is married to Nick Dunning, English actor who is in loads of stuff from late 80s to now. He has a minor credit in Lamb.

Your one Lou was Ann Callanan of Pajo's Junkbox fame (the Failte Romhat Café specifically). Another Fair City actor Mick Nolan (Ray) also appeared in it.

Sin é! Ann Callaghan was born in Mountrath, Laois.

At a certain age, 60ish in Bella's case, maybe a little younger in Leo's, FC ended their lothario days. Paul Brennan and Tommy Dillon must be nearing that stage:D

Who will the new womanisers be? Wayne had a few wives but seems to be settling. Not many charming men between 20-45 yrs now. Decco, Damien, Robbie, Emmet. We're stuck with Mondo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Dr Oakly - Dokley......

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTP-Be1JTWc3X9HWNQZ-wT8cQi7HSPfG80bq6XG40P2juBbKZpn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Honestly, I haven't laughed so much since Only Fools & Horses ended.

That female cop has one nasty attitude, she spent more time shouting at the bystanders than freeing the hostages.

Gutted today that The Brick wasn't nominated for an IFTA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

Well said Wanderer, credit where it's due - they were both excellent in that scene. Hope Miriam stays on, the credible acting might rub off on the likes of Caddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,720 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Are there folks actually crediting these pile of sh1t episode(s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,505 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

aktiv-x2-transit-01.jpg