Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2017 - Round 9 Austria

• 06-07-2017 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭

F1 returns to Austria, to Spielberg the place bought by RedBull. Last years race saw the epic final lap collision between Hamilton and Rosberg, the Ferrari revival increased the ticket sales, so RB is very happy.

DD5g3q1XYAEm1Ma.jpg:small

TV Times with lights out
    Friday Grand Prix first practice live Sky Sports F1 09:00
    Thursday Grand Prix second practice live Sky Sports F1 13:00
    Saturday Grand Prix third practice live Sky Sports F1 10:00
    Saturday Grand Prix qualifying live Sky Sports F1 13:00
    Sunday Grand Prix live Sky Sports F1 13:00

Weather Forecast says rain storms/thunderstorms but this is unlikely to happen on Sunday during the race. Will be nice, humid and warm.

Talking Points:
    Will RedBull be able to compete at home turf competitively?
    Will the new legendary Honda engine, be competitive with last years Ferrari engine?
    Will Vettel again crash into someone?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Can the mods change the title of this thread, as its confusing as to which is the competition! I think the title is probably just Round 9 Austria for this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Harika

antodeco wrote: »
    Can the mods change the title of this thread, as its confusing as to which is the competition! I think the title is probably just Round 9 Austria for this!

LOL you see it was a hard working day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Kerbs might claim a few victims again this year, they seem to be damaging a few cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Interesting to see the McLarens in 7th and 9th after FP1, could the new "spec 3" engine actually deliver?

Just see that they were 8th and 12th after FP2. Really positive signs there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    As I said in the last round thread. Its FP

Spoil-sport :p ..... didn't they revert back to the old engine after FP in Baku?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Phoenix Wright

LIGHTNING wrote:
    As I said in the last round thread. Its FP

Didn't Ricciardo win after you made that comment to me last time ;)

(Albeit in exceptional circumstances)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,841 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Interesting to see the McLarens in 7th and 9th after FP1, could the new "spec 3" engine actually deliver?

Just see that they were 8th and 12th after FP2. Really positive signs there.

Ye there going backwards. Wrong way. So by the time Qualifying comes around Alonso might just get into Q3.

Also has anyone heard rumors of Honda wanting to drop Alonso. I think that would be a big mistake a crazy as he is the best driver thee is. No other driver is going to be able to push that car like Alonso does. Think its bad now it would be worse with another driver.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Lewis Hamilton will take a five-place grid penalty at this weekend’s Austrian Grand Prix. This might add some extra spice into the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

AMKC wrote: »
    Also has anyone heard rumors of Honda wanting to drop Alonso. I think that would be a big mistake a crazy as he is the best driver thee is. No other driver is going to be able to push that car like Alonso does. Think its bad now it would be worse with another driver.

Jesus, in terms of PR disasters that would be about the same as Jerry Lee Lewis deciding that it was a great idea to marry his 13 year old cousin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Harika wrote: »
    Lewis Hamilton will take a five-place grid penalty at this weekend’s Austrian Grand Prix. This might add some extra spice into the race

Crazy but it makes interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Lewis can't catch a brake this weekend :pac:

His front right brake exploded at the end of the main straight. Interesting to see how these Carbon Industries brakes perform this weekend!

Edit: here's a tweet of it...

https://twitter.com/SkySportsF1/status/883625130617851906

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

Alonso and The Hülk out in Q2.

Grosjean parked on track in Sector 2 and Max in the gravel, tomorrow should be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Bottas with Pole Position with Vettel beside him on the grid, Hamilton would start 3rd but he has a gearbox penalty of I'm thinking 5 positions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

Yeah, Hamilton will start P8 with the penalty.

Davide Valsecchi doing his best to make the interview as awkward as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Valsechhi the Italian Eddie Jordan in the interviews.

He was trying to force a handshake there between Ham and Vet but they already shook hands.

Davide Valsecchi doing his best to make the interview as awkward as possible.

Looks like he's a permanent fixture now...

Yer man from Sky Italia trying to conduct a handshake between Hamilton and Vettel - can only imagine whoever does podium interviews tomorrow will try the same if both end up on podium

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Valsechhi the Italian Eddie Jordan in the interviews.

He was trying to force a handshake there between Ham and Vet but they already shook hands.

it's a bit crappy thing to try and stage... they both want to move on so reporters should just let it go at this stage

Hamilton and Verstappen struggling a bit

What a tasty grid for tomorrow, and throw in some rain if you can please!

1) BOTTAS 2) VETTEL
    3) RAIKKONEN 4) RICCIARDO
    5) VERSTAPPEN 6) GROSJEAN
    7) PEREZ 8) HAMILTON
    9) OCON 10) SAINZ

it's a bit crappy thing to try and stage... they both want to move on so reporters should just let it go at this stage

Hamilton and Verstappen struggling a bit

Yeah now all the media will hype it up that he refused.

He litterally just shook his hand before the interview started.

People need to move on ffs

Sky already hyping it

Here we go Sky already talking about it rather than qualifying "it would be easier to shake it than not"

You can get another earful of Davide Valsecchi if you tune into the F2 race now.

If you can put up with him, the racing has been great all year.

https://twitter.com/f1broadcasting/status/883676180871876609

Anyway, hope this GP2 race is good. It usually is a good race to watch.

So far the f2 race is a snore festival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Harika wrote: »
    So far the f2 race is a snore festival

I hope the race tomorrow isn't like that.

KC161 wrote: »
    I hope the race tomorrow isn't like that.

Last laps are now good fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

kopite386 wrote: »
    Here we go Sky already talking about it rather than qualifying "it would be easier to shake it than not"

They've talked about pretty much nothing else since the incident. They're insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

Strange that Vandoorne has the higher spec engine.

Gizmo55 wrote: »
    Strange that Vandoorne has the higher spec engine.

Alonso had mgu-h problem which meant he had to go back to older spec
    10-30hp difference between the different specs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Why are some races live on C4 and others not.?
    Tomorrow it's not on until 5.45pm on C4.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Jeff2 wrote: »
    Why are some races live on C4 and others not.?
    Tomorrow it's not on until 5.45pm on C4.:(

That's the rights deal Channel 4 inherited from the BBC which started in 2012. Basically Sky has exclusive rights to show every weekend live. The BBC had the rights to show 10 races a year live with the other 10 or 11 as a highlights package.
    Here in Ireland we have a handy loophole in that eirSport also have rights to show every race live but as eirSport don't have the budget to have their own commentary team they rent the commentary from Channel 4, however it's only the commentary we get. No analysis or build up, grid walk etc, just the official F1 sting 5 minutes before and end transmission straight after the podium. Speaking personally, the excellent commentary from Ben Edwards and David Coulthard is enough for me to decide I don't need to sign up to Sky for the bigger package, there is enough between Channel 4 and eirSport to keep me interested.

However this all comes to an end in 2019 when a new deal sees Sky Sports get exclusive access to all races and Channel 4 and eirSport get none.

This too shall pass.

Bit of crash at the end of the gp3 race. Driver OK but car rolled once or twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,841 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

flazio wrote: »
    That's the rights deal Channel 4 inherited from the BBC which started in 2012. Basically Sky has exclusive rights to show every weekend live. The BBC had the rights to show 10 races a year live with the other 10 or 11 as a highlights package.
    Here in Ireland we have a handy loophole in that eirSport also have rights to show every race live but as eirSport don't have the budget to have their own commentary team they rent the commentary from Channel 4, however it's only the commentary we get. No analysis or build up, grid walk etc, just the official F1 sting 5 minutes before and end transmission straight after the podium. Speaking personally, the excellent commentary from Ben Edwards and David Coulthard is enough for me to decide I don't need to sign up to Sky for the bigger package, there is enough between Channel 4 and eirSport to keep me interested.

However this all comes to an end in 2019 when a new deal sees Sky Sports get exclusive access to all races and Channel 4 and eirSport get none.

Its a terrible deal as well. Sure Bernie must have thought it was great for some reason but its not. I think they thought sure we will just ease the fans over to Sky if your dedicated you will switch and if not well then good bye.
    I really hope Liberty Media can renegotiate that deal or F1 is going to lose a lot of fans. Even if they could keep it just the way it is. Personally I would prefer if C4 got to show more races live and did not bother with the Free Practice. The FP could be done in highlights before the Qualifying.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Its a terrible deal as well. Sure Bernie must have thought it was great for some reason but its not. I think they thought sure we will just ease the fans over to Sky if your dedicated you will switch and if not well then good bye.
    I really hope Liberty Media can renegotiate that deal or F1 is going to lose a lot of fans. Even if they could keep it just the way it is. Personally I would prefer if C4 got to show more races live and did not bother with the Free Practice. The FP could be done in highlights before the Qualifying.

All i can say is thank god RTE won't end up with it again.

Peter "Monacko" Collins was brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Any sign of rain clouds???

Its a terrible deal as well. Sure Bernie must have thought it was great for some reason but its not.

Money, Bernie could never see past big lumps of the green. It'll be interesting to see what happens.

KC161 wrote: »
    All i can say is thank god RTE won't end up with it again.

Peter "Monacko" Collins was brutal.

Indeed. It's bad because I thought Kennedy was really good. There were a handful of races where "tragically" Collins couldn't attend and it was a decent show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Indeed. It's bad because I thought Kennedy was really good. There were a handful of races where "tragically" Collins couldn't attend and it was a decent show.

Wasn't Declan Quigley involved with RTE too?

I remember he was on Setanta with David Kennedy and Gary Anderson.

Jordan 199 wrote: »

He was the pit lane reporter with RTE

Yes i liked David Kennedy, he actually knew his stuff!

The one thing that sticks out for me with Collins was the 2001 Malaysian GP.

The downpour resulted in RTE losing their commentary for about 15 minutes.

That was brilliant :)

Jordan 199 wrote: »

Never really took to Gary Anderson.

Declan Quigley was fair enough.

There's a zombie thread in here somewhere criticising Collins and RTE heavily defending him saying that he knew his stuff on F1 basically.

Couldn't have been further from the truth :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

The state of Helmut Marko in lederhosen

Ah eir, can't get enough of it. Thankfully I don't have to listen to "it's lights out and away we go".

Must admit I rather watch on Sky than touch anything related to eir ever again. The single most draining contractual period of my life. They have the worst customer service I've ever experienced.

Max FFS

Fabulous start from Grosjean.
    Disaster for Verstappen

Max is fooked already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Feel bad for all the Dutch fans that are there