Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weird stuff your school banned

• 01-07-2017 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭

blatant thread plagiarism.

what's the weirdest thing your school banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The school band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    The school band.

The school banned the school band just before their single "their single was dropping" was dropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

Girls foe some reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Sex with teachers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Back many, many years ago we used to line the halls and slap the head of anyone that walked down it.

We also had a ball made of masking tape that we used to throw at people, my god it hurt. School principal banned both activities, the spoil sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

One of the local Priests, and previous to that one of those Ouji Board things after some final years decided to invite in Elvis or someone like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Smoking in front of the school. Very annoying, we had to move across the road and smoke there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

We had two stairs, one in the old part of the school and the other in the new wing. For some reason only teachers and 6th years could use the new stairs. Everyone else had to use the other ones, even if you had your classes in the new wing you had to walk through the entire building. Breaking the rules meant detention.I never understood why it existed, seemed like a pointless rule with no real purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭bingocat

Any footwear that wasnt black shoes. We were a school in the middle of the countryside where people took days off to farm, not some exclusive boarding school.

Chickatees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭the14thwarrior

shoes - we had to wear plain black or navy slippers. no fur, no mules, remember those plastic house / shoes?
    runners only on PE days
    any coat except the gabardine

the new headmistress took away the mirror in the 5th and 6th year locker rooms. thought it was too vain. she took away the table where we put our bags on while we were getting our stuff together.

talking on the stairs (we had 13 flights of stairs from the top of the building to the basement where we had daily assembly.) a prefect stood on the corner of each landing and marked you down if you were talking, or not having one hand on the rail.

make up, dangly earrings, fancy hair slides, any stockings that weren't navy, and tights had to be tan. hair dye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Not weird, but we were not allowed down the town during lunch hour unless we had permission.
    One day my friends and I were heading back to school after going for a walk down town during lunch hour when we met the Principal, he said to go and wait outside his office as we didn't have permission.
    In the meantime I met my father downtown and he didn't mind.
    While waiting for the principal outside his office a teacher/nun opened a swinging door and said 'you must be very bold to be outside the Principal's office' she was too busy admonishing us to bother look and see the swinging door was coming back onto her hand. She let out and 'ow' and quickly went about her way.
    The principal told us we were not allowed down town with permission and he would have to let our parents know, to which I said 'I met my father down town and there is no problem'.
    We were quickly sent back to class. Being in the wrong but winning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

People who could actually teach, save one

*Just remembered now, they ended up sacking that person two years after I left.

so yeah, They did ban anyone who could actually teach

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

More than one student in the room with the Christian Brother at time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

They banned students from parking their cars in the staff car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Walking anti clockwise due to a one way system. If your classroom was to the left of the room you exited, you had to do a full lap of the school, including 20 yards outdoors from an annex to the main entrance. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Murder ball

Which in hindsight was fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I went to the "tech", I think murder was banned, but I've been wrong before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Long hair. Lads had to wear pony tails if their hair was longer than shoulder length, so I bought an obscene amount of bobbins when at school.... they thought they could embarrass lads into getting their hair cut but it didn't work.

Earrings were confiscated if lads were found wearing some also.

Mate of mine was found with a 12" picture disc of W.A.S.P.'s Animal (F**k Like A Beast). Posting a picture of it here might even get me banned and it's almost 30 years later so understandably I suppose. Said he could only have it back if his folks came and collected it. I suspect it's probably still in that office to this day as not a chance he was telling his folks.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Jackets. You couldn't wear your own jackets, you had to buy the €60 "school jacket" with the school crest if you wanted to wear a jacket into school. Other jackets would be confiscated. Okay..

Buuuut they were adamant that these jackets still weren't part of the school uniform so we had to take them off during class. No matter how cold it was.

I'm still trying to figure that one out. I think it still goes on in a lot of schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

My OH's school banned black knee length socks.

White knee length socks were the regulation school socks.

Black knee length socks were too sexy...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Kissing boys (or girls I guess!) in front of the school. A girl in my class was sent to counselling by the principal as she was caught giving her boyfriend a kiss goodbye outside the school gates. This was in 2005.

We had the jacket with the school crest thing too. Ridiculous. And the school was always freezing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Their were rules about uniforms regarding things such as having black shoes. They people who'd had issues with it would wear the same style/brand pair in brown but had an issue with the black pair. To me they were just being awkward. They had no issues with wearing black shoes at work tough.
    Their was no weird rules to be honest. Just generally every day rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭ZeroCool17

There was 2 sets of stairs in our primary school. Stairs and Back stairs. Lol. Anyway we were not allowed use the back stairs. I used it once and had the pleasure of writing out 'I will not use the back stairs' 100 times.

Still annoys me as I wasn't the only one that went up there but only one that got caught. :-) Damn you Mrs. Santry!! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

In primary school they banned skipping ropes and balls (tennis balls, basketballs etc, ye pervs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Rubber bands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

we used to do that.
    fill them up and put them under someone's tyre . passenger side wouldn't be noticed . nice little pp and they would jump out to see what happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Chewing gum

Had a principal who had an irrational dislike of chewing gum

Also holding hands with the opposite sex and rather overly strict on the uniform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

In primary school our principal banned water bottles with sports caps as he believed they were "designed so junkies could se them to take ecstacy at raves".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Chickatees

Now that is terrifying.

Surely not cheezels as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No fireworks in the school.
    The rule came into effect after a rocket was fired down a corridor.

At the time it seemed unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Decent education, competent teachers and teachers who didn't sleep with students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Me for about 2 days in the early 9'ties in the midlands of Eire
    Why ? Cause I had a shmig when I was in second year.

Had a meeting with the principal and my mother, the principal asked
    "Brendan why do you think nobody else in your year doesn't have a shmig"
    I answered with pure instinct without even thinking about it " cause no one else can grow one sir"

That confused the funk out of him for a few seconds.

My Mother nearly pissed herself (though she didn't show it at the time).

In the end I relented and shaved it off but I was a legend for a week or 2 in the school after words.

Simple and fun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I was a boarder. Two of us could go out to buy newspapers on Sundays - the indo and the press but not the Sunday world - that was banned because the nun in charge of the boarders said it was an IRA newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Soccer and rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Bomber jackets or any jacket that ended at the waist. If it came down past the waist, it was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭pocketse

Owryan wrote: »
    Back many, many years ago we used to line the halls and slap the head of anyone that walked down it.

We also had a ball made of masking tape that we used to throw at people, my god it hurt. School principal banned both activities, the spoil sport.

In Marino by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Gambling. Two people would toss €2 coins against a wall. The person who tossed the coin closest to the wall takes the money. Lads would be making a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Males with long hair could not wear it tied up! Principle was a very strange guy

I'm old enough (30) to remember mobile phones and Laptops being banned at school.

Back around 1999, I remember walking into the lunch-hall one day as one of my classmates was coming out, speaking on her mobile phone.

The girl beside me just turned to me, rolled her eyes and said 'Dope. She must think she's starring in Clueless'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I went to the "tech", I think murder was banned, but I've been wrong before.

I went to the 'tech' and the only thing I remember being banned was students going to the 'blacker' for lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Gambling. Two people would toss €2 coins against a wall. The person who tossed the coin closest to the wall takes the money. Lads would be making a fortune.

Loved that game...we did it with pound(punt)coins...

Weird stuff banned in school...green pens...but not the green ones that were in that 4 in 1 big pen:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Wearing hoodies. They would be confiscated and returned at year end. Reason was people running out of the school to go on the hop couldn't be identified on cctv when their hoods were up. Was a pain in the arse but I can see their point now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Playing baseball with Tipp-ex and the window pole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Odelay

Playing baseball with Tipp-ex and the window pole

I don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Watches that beeped on the hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,470 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Mobile phones

I think teachers are a bit too strict in that regard, it could be a family emergency or anything but if any mobile made noise it was confiscated and a parent or guardian had too collect it. Today phones/tablets etc are essential too everyday life and can sometimes aid education (Im dysleix and in third level they installed software that would proof read my work and fix grammer/spelling etc).

I only found out i was dyslexic at the age of 23 when i went too third level, i was just called Lazy and careless in school :mad::mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Wearing hoodies. They would be confiscated and returned at year end. Reason was people running out of the school to go on the hop couldn't be identified on cctv when their hoods were up. Was a pain in the arse but I can see their point now.

What about a rain coat with a hood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

The burka.