Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catríona Perry and the wink..

• 28-06-2017 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭

Has this girl been a bubble her whole life, a man winks at her to tell her he'll seduce her in the future and she calls it bizzare and it makes word news headlines.
    She's a good looking girl surely someone has winked at her before or have us Irish men lost the art of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Whom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Eh, I think it's slightly more than just a wink that made the whole thing bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

You talking about this?

I'm no fan of that Orange idiot, but I think it's been blown out of all proportion all right.

https://twitter.com/CaitrionaPerry/status/879804904696496128

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

It was a compliment, if Obama said it he'd be called a gentleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I don't think she's actually made a fuss at all. As is common these days, half the world is taking offense on her behalf.

All she said it was bizarre, which it was. It's not her that has ran with it since, it's others, including the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I think she called the whole episode bizarre - going from reporting outside the building, to being called into the President's office and involved in a phone call with the Taoiseach. She usually reports news rather than gets involved in it, so I could see how she thought that bizarre. I don't think she has commented on the wink, or harassment as some refer to it, at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Wow...now saying "she has a nice smile on her face" is harassment...what a great world we live in. He wasn't even saying it to her, but to the phone...so not a single way that could be seen as an "approach" as it's been idiotically reported by many news outlets. As far as I can tell, the woman herself didn't kick up the fuss - she's clearly smart enough to understand.

Better watch out, a lady at the office has a new haircut and I told her it looks nice on her this morning, I should be hearing the Garda sirens soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Trump was creepy imo. It didn't need be said, it's a professional environment, leave the compliments to a more appropriate time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

brevity wrote: »
    It didn't need be said, it's a professional environment, leave the compliments to a more appropriate time.

It was an organised photo-op session for Trump to speak to Leo on the phone in front of everyone. What is professional about that setting?

It's work. If it wasn't Trump would be on the golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'm not a fan of Trump but that seemed fairly benign and jovial. All his own doing of course but he's at the stage where he can't do anything right.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    He wasn't even saying it to her, but to the phone....

Silly woman, she should know she shouldn't acknowledge comments about her unless she's spoken to directly.

WTF is wrong with some of the men on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Silly woman, she should know she shouldn't acknowledge comments about her unless she's spoken to directly.

I know right?! Silly stupid men in here...

Of course, there's always the option NOT to bother yer hole reading and replying if the topic doesn't suit you.
    Just saying, that's a choice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

nothing bizarre there, the man was only trying to be civil. As someone said, if Obama done it he'd be a gas and a great bloke. Trump can't win.

I did find it bizarre that she was obviously filming the room on her iPhone and still held it in position even when she was called over to his desk.

And is that the whole clip? I read she talked to Leo, no sign of that in the video.

ThisRegard wrote: »

If you had spent more time reading my post, rather than getting "offended on her behalf", you'd also know that I've clearly gotten that the journalist herself made no fuss about the situation - just called it "bizarre", which it can be defined as - afaik, she's doesn't even normally report from the INSIDE of the white house. It's the media that's spinning the "Trump tries to chat up female journalist" story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I almost feel sorry for the Donald sometimes. He admitted that he never thought that being President would involve as much work. And he can't do anything right.

I'm kind of reminded of the Kim Jong Il song from Team America:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    If you had spent more time reading my post, rather than getting "offended on her behalf", you'd also know that I've clearly gotten that the journalist herself made no fuss about the situation - just called it "bizarre", which it can be defined as - afaik, she's doesn't even normally report from the INSIDE of the white house. It's the media that's spinning the "Trump tries to chat up female journalist" story.

Lads calm down and don't be jealous...I'm sure ye have lovely smiles too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

brevity wrote: »
    it's a professional environment

IMG_9901.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Given Trump's history, the backlash was inevitable. It was weird and creepy but his continued obliviousness (and that of his supporters) to how such an 'invitation' would be perceived around the world beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm sorry but if you think what the Donald did was 'weird and bizarre' then I'd say you are weird and bizarre yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

IF Justin Trudeau did it-the media would be all 'lucky girl'. He's been given special permission to 'manspread' after all. And he's coming to IReland sometime.

https://www.facebook.com/HuffPost/posts/10155129207341130

Good auld huffpost with their double standards-and they disabled comments an the 'feminism' and 'mansplaining' articles. (Also changed the heading on this article, on their main page, but not on the fb page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭jamesthepeach

I just watched it got the first time now.
    If anyone thinks there's anything wrong with that then they have problems they need to get seen to.

I'm no fan of trump but people are reaching here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

IMG_9901.jpg

Must have been Bills cigar she was looking at there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

It was pretty bizzare alright, in line with absolutely everything about his entire presidency!

I was expecting him to dig himself out of it Fr Ted style by telling the entire press corps they have lovely smiles... Except CNN, The Guardian and the Washington Post of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Given Trump's history, the backlash was inevitable. It was weird and creepy but his continued obliviousness (and that of his supporters) to how such an 'invitation' would be perceived around the world beggars belief.

In what way was it weird and creepy?

Seeing as you have stated that it was you should have no problem providing examples.

He paid her a compliment in a room full of people, she doesn't seem to have a problem with it but everyone seems to have the pitchforks out for him.

Granted Trump was no angel in his younger years but compared to Clintons carry on when he was actually in office as both a Governor and President they are not even in the same league.

Yet Clinton is seen as a saint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Every report everytime is anti Trump never any balance

I would pay no heed to this unprofessional idiot

In what way was it weird and creepy?

Seeing as you have stated that it was you should have no problem providing examples.

He paid her a compliment in a room full of people, she doesn't seem to have a problem with it but everyone seems to have the pitchforks out for him.

Granted Trump was no angel in his younger years but compared to Clintons carry on when he was actually in office as both a Governor and President they are not even in the same league.

Yet Clinton is seen as a saint.

I don't know anyone who thinks Clinton is a saint. The man is well creepy too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

That was surprisingly uncreepy for Trump, I despise the man but I really don't see anything strange about the video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ah it was innocent enough for Trump. Not as if he called her 'sweetie' or something.

Lads calm down and don't be jealous...I'm sure ye have lovely smiles too!

Aahh, finally someone gets it! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jaysus,

Yiz are lucky nobody recorded or overheard what I said about her arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Her chin is far too small

This kind of lack of focus is how people like Trump can get away with their bull****. There's enough **** without making **** up and reaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Jaysus,

Yiz are lucky nobody recorded or overheard what I said about her arse!

Nothing wrong with your eyesight anyway, Donald!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Yes It was bizarre.

Bizarre in that the press were allowed into the Oval Office, bizarre that one member of press is called to the desk.

For the professional press corp, it would not be normal to be "courted" by the president. But it was a well publicised call to Vararka and as ireland is not a major political country it was seen by trump as an opportunity of light relief.

Usually such light moods are reserved for St Patrick's day

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Well this seems to the usual fodder for those who enjoy getting offended on behalf of others. Most US presidents since FDR have played on the vanities of some segments of the Whitehouse press corp., and Mr. Trump seems to just following in that tradition.

Gavan Reilly outed himself as a prize snowflake.

IMG_9902.png

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No offence to the lad, but who the hell is Gavan Reilly? Man, I am so out of the loop. Though going by that I'm assuming some Newstalk journo? Maybe the Indo? They seek out offence and trumpet it widely as a professional duty.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    No offence to the lad, but who the hell is Gavan Reilly? Man, I am so out of the loop. Though going by that I'm assuming some Newstalk journo? Maybe the Indo? They seek out offence and trumpet it widely as a professional duty.

Today FM, their man in the aras. It's ok I don't listen to him either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Not offended but not surprised given his hatred of women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Today FM, their man in the aras. It's ok I don't listen to him either.

is he the same lad who used to write in thejournal.ie?

heard him on todayfm a few times...complete tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

She's a ****ing idiot.

She's also been obviously disdainful of him for a long time. Can't stand her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Wibbs wrote:

He's another gob****e. A white knight.

I recall him stating that the first thing he thought of when Pitt and Jolie were divorcing were their kids......what bollox that is!

Maybe he's a eunuch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Jesus Christ, what a trivial thing to be in the news.

Its not as if Trump doesn't have literally anything else that could be brought up as a stick to hit him with. But no, we'll take one of the few innocuous conversations that he has actually had and try and whip up a nice campaign for people to convince themselves that their outraged.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Though going by that I'm assuming some Newstalk journo? Maybe the Indo? They seek out offence and trumpet it widely as a professional duty.

None of the above, he's actually quite an intelligent and insightful journalist.

Put it this way, how many here when having a meeting in a professional setting would call the pretty girl up to the front and complement her in front of everyone else?

I'm not in the least bit offended on behalf of anyone, but his behavior was blizzarre given the circumstances in which it occurred.

It's great that to have a president that shows it's ok to pass a compliment to a lady.
    Women do like to be complemented at anytime i've noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

It's great that to have a president that shows it's ok to pass a compliment to a lady.
    Women do like to be complemented at anytime i've noticed.

She's very well put together it has to be said