Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Politicians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,208 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

John Halligan got in on the fact that he was all about change and got the popular vote. He tries to keep this going for the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Freddio

But the fact remains we are represented by gombeens across the board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We tolerate them and their system I think that's something they seem to forget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

everytime Leo Varadkar claims he was elected Taoiseach I want to punch him in the gonads

koumi wrote: »
    everytime Leo Varadkar claims he was elected Taoiseach I want to punch him in the gonads

He was. Insofar as he was appointed by the Oireachtas, like all his predecessors. The electorate don't elect a Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Ted Plain

All I know is that the collective noun for politicians should be shower; a right shower of kunts politicians.

Re Leo : Please stay on topic. His views of love actually are not solving the housing and drug problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You gets what you votes for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Freddio wrote: »

24.3% of the voting electorate cast their vote for them.

Politics should be about consensus, not letting the party that gets 50.1% of the vote f*ck over the other 49.9% of the country.

(Not that that is happening, just in principle i mean.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

"A people that elect corrupt politicians, imposters, thieves and traitors are not victims... but accomplices"

- Orwell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

_ZeeK_ wrote: »
    "A people that elect corrupt politicians, imposters, thieves and traitors are not victims... but accomplices"

- Orwell

And watch people vote in FF next election. And in 8/10 years time sit their scratching their heads when FF tank the economy, as they always do, on another property Ponzi scheme.

But FG are no better.

Taking a quote from George Carlin and amending it a little:
    Everybody complains about politicians. Everybody says they suck. Well, where do people think these politicians come from? They don't fall out of the sky. They don't pass through a membrane from another reality. They come from Irish parents and Irish families, Irish homes, Irish schools, Irish churches, Irish businesses and Irish universities, and they are elected by Irish citizens. This is the best we can do folks. This is what we have to offer. It's what our system produces: Garbage in, garbage out. If you have selfish, ignorant citizens, you're going to get selfish, ignorant leaders. Term limits ain't going to do any good; you're just going to end up with a brand new bunch of selfish, ignorant Irish. So, maybe, maybe, maybe, it's not the politicians who suck. Maybe something else sucks around here... like, the public. Yeah, the public sucks. There's a nice campaign slogan for somebody: 'The Public Sucks. F*ck Hope.”

He was. Insofar as he was appointed by the Oireachtas, like all his predecessors. The electorate don't elect a Taoiseach.

I think it's time for a GE

You really want FF back in power?

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Cowboys Ted the lot of em.

And we're paying for them.

Off topic: nothing will change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Naw, it's time for a cull,

I call open season on all politicians....

Really?

FF wouldn't have the numbers, although I'm hoping they are desperate enough to collaborate with SF. Might as well sure.

That would not end well...

why? The DUP are now powersharing in London

This is not Vincent Browne : I'm not looking for political commentary as to who might be the next batch of twits in Leinster house

All the same you can't ignore, they'll be whoever we vote for.

Unless the mechanism of governance is turn on its head . . .

Why not?

Whoever wins, we lose.

Unless the mechanism of governance is turn on its head . . .

Do you have a magical mechanism in mind?

Why not?

Whoever wins, we lose.

Exactly

I don't have a utopian dream that has never been tested, at the same time I believe there are enough intelligent people in the country with no vested interests who could put a system together. But these type of people are not the type to start revolutions

Capitalist Democracy doesn't work
    Communism doesn't work
    Scandinavian type Socialism would not work as Irish people would not be willing to pay the high taxes to fund the system

Why not try a Technocracy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Communism doesn't work
    Scandinavian type Socialism would not work as Irish people would not be willing to pay the high taxes to fund the system

where has Capitalist Democracy been tried?

Because the Technocracy movement couldn't even get itself beyond a theory. Read William Akin's Technocracy and the American Dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Communism doesn't work

Ireland is a successful social democracy very much of the Scandinavian model.

Really?

I'd take them over a Government that is only interested in lining Denis O'Brien's pocket.

In what context is it a success?

friend of mine has been living in sweden for years, our public services are vastly different, apparently

In what context is it a success?

In less than 100 years we have gone from independence to being one of the world's most prosperous, fair and peaceful countries in which to live. The quality of life here is extraordinary for almost everyone. It's a fine example of post-war social democracy.

I don't want to get abusive but if you believe that, you clearly represent the ignoring views that are held by the system and personalities I am calling into question with this thread. The quality of life for the population of this country is very polar and disproportionate

has that prosperity been equally distributed in our society?

I'd take them over a Government that is only interested in lining Denis O'Brien's pocket.

Instead we'll line developers pockets allowing them build sub-standard, shoe-boxes and tank the economy.

Again.

Wonderful.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    has that prosperity been equality distributed in our society?

Yes, for the most part.

Our wealth distribution is slightly better than the European average.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/these-claims-about-great-inequality-in-ireland-are-just-bunkum-30992651.html

Wealth distribution in Europe is far above any other part of the world.

Our progressive tax system ensures those who earn more, pay more.

You live in one of the last great examples of a social democracy. Even if you claim the dole, you remain in the top 10% in terms of overall wealth of people living on this planet. If you make a graduate salary of 25k per year, then you are lucky enough to be in the wealthiest 1.5% of people living on Earth.

http://www.globalrichlist.com/

Bang in your wage there and see where you really sit.

Yes, for the most part.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/these-claims-about-great-inequality-in-ireland-are-just-bunkum-30992651.html

You live in one of the last great examples of a social democracy. Even if you claim the dole, you remain in the top 10% in terms of overall wealth of people living on this planet. If you make a graduate salary of 25k per year, then you are lucky enough to be in the wealthiest 1.5% of people living on Earth.

'lovely stats', but as people such as joe stiglitz have shown, inequality is growing particularly in countries that have implemented neoliberal policies over the last couple of decades leading to growing equality, this is slowly happening to countries such as ireland, probably not as bad as countries such as america, but if we keep playing this neoliberal game, we ll get there eventually. its time for us to move on from these ideas as they have failed

The majority of the population living between the canals in Dublin either struggle to make ends meet or have fallen between the cracks. I can't speak for other parts of the country but I can say the political system and the politicians either do not work (function) or plainly do not work for their constituents. The fact that most of the world is below the poverty line does not validate your argument as we have a typical first world governing system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭Allinall

The majority of the population living between the canals in Dublin either struggle to make ends meet or have fallen between the cracks. ......

I'd be very interested to see back up for that claim.

Allinall wrote: »
    I'd be very interested to see back up for that claim.

http://www.thejournal.ie/poverty-ireland-2-2862501-Jul2016/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

I don't want to get abusive but if you believe that, you clearly represent the ignoring views that are held by the system and personalities I am calling into question with this thread. The quality of life for the population of this country is very polar and disproportionate

It isn't actually. Most people are bunched in the middle. After transfers there's not much difference between middle income and poor.

Yes, for the most part.

I put 1,000 a year in and it still called me rich. Top 48%.

The stats seem way off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's such a broken system. Anyone who wants to be a politician should not be allowed within an asses roar of the wheels of government. Anyone who actually aspires to be a TD or county councillor is nine times out of ten a slimy self serving ego tripping sleeveen, that's the kind of person the profession attracts unfortunately.

Disposable income excludes housing costs. It's not very useful. We should be looking at discretionary income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Tell that to the victims of Roman Catholic terror.

Kids raped up and down the country. Women forced into gulags. Kids taken away from their mothers. All with the connivance of FF, FG, and Labour.

Members of the RC church who helped move child rapist around the country to avoid detection have not been prosecuted.

Bribe a government minister to win a lucrative contract and there is no prosecution or attempt to seize the crook's money.

Sit down on the road when there is a so-called government minister around and you end in court.

There's always money to throw at politicians' salaries, expenses and pensions, but not enough to stop people dying homeless on the streets or dying on trolleys in hospital corridors.

A great little country indeed. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Tell that to the victims of Roman Catholic terror.

Kids raped up and down the country. Women forced into gulags. Kids taken away from their mothers. All with the connivance of FF, FG, and Labour.

Members of the RC church who helped move child rapist around the country to avoid detection have not been prosecuted.

Bribe a government minister to win a lucrative contract and there is no prosecution or attempt to seize the crook's money.

Sit down on the road when there is a so-called government minister around and you end in court.

There's always money to throw at politicians' salaries, expenses and pensions, but not enough to stop people dying homeless on the streets or dying on trolleys in hospital corridors.

A great little country indeed. :rolleyes:

Not perfect by a long stretch but i'd still rather live here than under 90% of the governments around the world.

It's still far from acceptable and we shouldn't be discouraged from striving for something better.