Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting started in the running world!

• 20-06-2017 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

Hi guys just looking for advice really to help me along the way.
    Last year I injured my back and since have not been extremely active used to be playing rugby a lot but since the injury I just can handle it.
    Basically I have become extremely unfit and I have hit the point where I need to get into something.
    My aim is to go from couch potato to a marathon this time next year. While I think i will be able I would love to know what ye think is this achievable ?
    What are the basics needed getting into running? Best footwear etc.
    All advice is welcome thanks ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

As i starter i would never reccomend going out getting too much good gear.

A few pairs or running shorts & running tops that are climacool or dri-fit or similar are a good starting point.
    I started running on adidas marathon runners and still buy them 6 years later.

I would reccomend the couch to 5k program to get started. Once you are into the program a bit, then find interesting places to run. I often run by the coast or on forest trails etc keep changing it up to keep it interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Finding other people to run with can help. Do your local parkrun if you have one (don't worry about not being able to run the whole way, plenty don't). Or a work or school colleague or neighbour. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 rya_bren

Currently I am walking the Mahon walking trail that goes around blackrock castle. It's a beautiful spot and have found one or two other trails aswell. It definitly helps to keep interest in it.
    Anyone suggest good programmes for couch to 5k ? I have seen a few apps about that keep you pace tracked and warn you when you drop off anyone find these handy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

rya_bren wrote: »
    Currently I am walking the Mahon walking trail that goes around blackrock castle. It's a beautiful spot and have found one or two other trails aswell. It definitly helps to keep interest in it.
    Anyone suggest good programmes for couch to 5k ? I have seen a few apps about that keep you pace tracked and warn you when you drop off anyone find these handy ?

you shouldn't worry about your pace when you are starting to run.
    Couch to 5k is about running for the prescribed period of time, not running to a particular pace.

And in general, for most runs, you shouldn't be trying to hit a particular pace, or getting alerts if you slow down a bit. Easy runs should be easy.

(For a race, or a particular training session, maybe think about pace. But arguably you should be running to a particular effort, and forget about the pace)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Also there's a couch to 5k thread here have a read through it I'm sure it's filled with answers to your questions from others who've gone before. Best of luck with the journey, running rocks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

The best tip I got when I was at your stage was to google dynamic stretching techniques. Always warm up with a dynamic stretching routine and always static stretch post run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

rya_bren wrote:
    Currently I am walking the Mahon walking trail that goes around blackrock castle. It's a beautiful spot and have found one or two other trails aswell. It definitly helps to keep interest in it. Anyone suggest good programmes for couch to 5k ? I have seen a few apps about that keep you pace tracked and warn you when you drop off anyone find these handy ?

That path continues all the way to Passage. You should also try the Lee Fields and the Straight Road. I wouldn't be too worried about pace yet. Just do all your runs at easy effort - what they call conversational pace - for now. As in you should be able to speak in complete sentences when running. The faster stuff can come later when you've built up some fitness. Best of luck. Also check out the Strava app. You can see where other people run near where you live and find new routes for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

There's a crowd in Ballyvolane "Wibbly Wobbly Wonders" or Wibblies for short who are always doing C25K and the like. They meet every Tuesday and Thursday in Dunnes carpark I think. They have groups for all abilities including walkers. They have a Facebook page. Mightn't do you any harm to check them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

The NHS programme is brilliant. As Annie said, get yourself over to the Couchto5k thread and have a read and ask questions.

What worked for me getting started in the running world was this:

1. Get gait analysis in running store, and buy expensive runners.
    2. Upload NHS C25K podcast to ipod.
    2. Feel guilty about not making use of expensive runners so stick rigidly to programme.
    3. Book a 5k race for end of programme.
    4. Run race and set a personal best to better.
    5. Increase distance a little each week.
    6. Do more 5k races and improve time.
    7. Addiction to running achieved:D Never looked back :)

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

RayCun wrote: »
    you shouldn't worry about your pace when you are starting to run.
    Couch to 5k is about running for the prescribed period of time, not running to a particular pace.

This is the best advice....all C25K plans are about spending time doing the activity.....They start off doing 20misn and building it up to 30 minutes and then from walking to Jogging to running 30mins

The distance really is irrelevant.....(at the beginning)
    Just concentrate on spending time at it and it sounds like you have started that.

Gently add in some jogging every now and again to your walk...so walk ->jog -> walk approach. Whenever you feel tired/out of breath stop jogging and walk again until feel ready to go jogging again.

Then build up to a run every now and again. Same approach. and in a very short space of time you will be able to run for the whole 30 mins.

Once you hit this point then it is time to start to look at pace etc....

And one last point, Listen to your body. I can't stress this enough, especially since you are recovering from an injury. You don't want to be picking up another injury and setting you back further. If you feel an niggle, cramp strain etc, just ease back and start walking.....you will need to let you body get used to running again.

And Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Ososlo wrote: »
    2. Feel guilty about not making use of expensive runners so stick rigidly to programme.
    7. Addiction to running achieved:D Never looked back :)

:D:D:D that's pretty much it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Hi guys just looking for advice really to help me along the way.
    Last year I injured my back and since have not been extremely active used to be playing rugby a lot but since the injury I just can handle it.
    Basically I have become extremely unfit and I have hit the point where I need to get into something.
    My aim is to go from couch potato to a marathon this time next year. While I think i will be able I would love to know what ye think is this achievable ?
    What are the basics needed getting into running? Best footwear etc.
    All advice is welcome thanks ðŸ˜

What position did you play in rugby out of interest?

Thanks for the advice guys I will post an update in about a month or so once I am properly into it ðŸ˜

Chivito550 wrote:
    What position did you play in rugby out of interest?

Used to play Tighthead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

Used to play Tighthead

I did couch 2 5k, gave a good base and then used Half Higdon for a 10k plan, currently working towards a half marathon, unless things go swimmingly well I'll leave the marathon to next year.

It can help to have some mates involved, a few of us at work signed up to a race and trained individually for it, it was good having a support network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Used to play Tighthead

If you were looking for a competitive sport to take up now that your rugby days are over, I'd look into something like shot putt, discus etc. Being a prop you've obviously got a lot of explosive power, which could be put to good use in those very explosive disciplines. Obviously see how your back holds up in such endeavours.

Front row forwards do not make good marathon runners! Biggest advice I could give if you are going to do one, is to slim down massively. Lugging a front row forwards body around 26.2 miles doesn't sound like fun.

Best of luck anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Staplor wrote: »
    I did couch 2 5k, gave a good base and then used Half Higdon for a 10k plan, currently working towards a half marathon, unless things go swimmingly well I'll leave the marathon to next year.

It can help to have some mates involved, a few of us at work signed up to a race and trained individually for it, it was good having a support network.

Staplor, if I were a coach to people who were doing this (Couch to 5k to Marathon) I would make coaching them conditional on that: NOT doing the marathon in your first Half marathon year.

I'd bet the house on a study finding that those who waited at least one year, and who trained fairly well in the interim, had better times and experiences than those who insist on doing a marathon as soon as possible. I'd say the figure would be around 90%

Folks, have patience. So to you I'll say, may your Half go swimmingly well, but do not do a full this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

Itziger wrote: »
    Staplor, if I were a coach to people who were doing this (Couch to 5k to Marathon) I would make coaching them conditional on that: NOT doing the marathon in your first Half marathon year.

I'd bet the house on a study finding that those who waited at least one year, and who trained fairly well in the interim, had better times and experiences than those who insist on doing a marathon as soon as possible. I'd say the figure would be around 90%

Folks, have patience. So to you I'll say, may your Half go swimmingly well, but do not do a full this year.

Relax lads, as I said, only if everything goes really well, and so far it's not, so we can chill a bit :)

Now here's a question, what is the etiquette on saluting other runners while both running? Is it frowned upon? I usually give a nod or hello it that OK??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Staplor wrote: »
    Now here's a question, what is the etiquette on saluting other runners while both running? Is it frowned upon? I usually give a nod or hello it that OK??

The canonical answer for this question is contained in this post:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94437535&postcount=27