Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you love about Ireland..

• 07-06-2017 4:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭

Following the negative thread, let's see what people love about our little island.

Mine would be

Lack of extreme weather

Lack of killer insects and reptiles

Generous welfare

Drinking culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Since when has Ireland's destructive and excessive drinking culture become something positive about the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

That I am racking my brain to think of something positive is worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Sense of humour. Brilliant in Ireland and just not the same anywhere else.

Decent weather. Yes it's not the Costa del Sol but pretty ok and nothing like the moaners make it out to be.

Safe. One of the safest countries in the world.

GAA. Love it or hate it, it's unique and I love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

The people. It's a shame the people are so nice and walked all over, but at least everyone knows how nice the people are here. It's comes at a cost to those people though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Belfast city.... if you ignore the unionists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I love how all my mates and family are up for a pint and bit of craic down the pub no matter what time or day it is.

Not everyone who drinks regularly is a raging destructive alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The mild weather is definitely something to be thankful for. Other than that, nada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Departures Dublin airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Covert world domination- one pint at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Whether is car insurance, car tax, water charges, tv license ,fuel cost, heating costs , so on the people are kept down , not allowed to get ahead.
    But they're so nice eh .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,338 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

My roommate. She's from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

So many miserable pr*cks all living in harmony. There's something beautiful about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭irishfeen

When you ask someone to do something and they say "I will Yeah" .... which everyone knows means fcuk right off.. :)

valoren wrote: »
    The mild weather is definitely something to be thankful for. Other than that, nada.
    Departures Dublin airport
    Whether is car insurance, car tax, water charges, tv license ,fuel cost, heating costs , so on the people are kept down , not allowed to get ahead.
    But they're so nice eh .

Why bother living somewhere if there's little or nothing positive that you can find about it? Big world out there, go somewhere you'll be happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

The price of fruit and veg ... was in the US last week and saw a white cabbage for over 8 dollars! Same cabbage you'd get here for less than a Euro.

Living in the country but still being 20 mins from the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Why bother living somewhere if there's little or nothing positive that you can find about it? Big world out there, go somewhere you'll be happier.

Yeah because it's that easy to give up job mortgage loans and family commitments....

Plenty of people have done it. The alternative is live out your days in a place you don't want to be. That's pretty depressing.

Clonmel you are just a negative person, Its not your environment it comes from within. I see your posts and 90% are moaning of some sort, mostly about the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Sense of humour. Brilliant in Ireland and just not the same anywhere else.

Decent weather.

I guess you had to have the first thing on your list, in order to write the second!

The music.

No earthquakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

The quality of conversation. Best talkers in the world, bar none. It's an art form, and it is superb. The command of irony, satire, humour, pace, response... Inimitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The standard and price of food is one people take for granted I think.

Healthy mistrust of authority by and large, though that comes with drawbacks.

The landscape. There really are some world class places here, way more than should be in such a small place. Some places people wouldn't even think of are amazing.

The way people use language, and the wit, it's a big cultural resource.

In fairness, that motorway system is coming along nicely.

Irish people.
    The countryside.
    Irish wit.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

The fact that the word "Well" when uttered as a question is considered a more than acceptable greeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

The people, scenery, fresh air + the fact that it's relatively peaceful .....

Nice country to bring up children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

PARlance wrote: »
    So many miserable pr*cks all living in harmony. There's something beautiful about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

The countryside.
    The community.
    The Hurling.
    The green lushness this time of year.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Syphonax

No skyscrapers.

The rain.

If we don't start building skyscrapers our cities will get bigger and our beautiful countryside will get smaller.

Irish people are warm-hearted and effortlessly funny, and the best thing about the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

A good slagging, and people beginning their sentences with "Sure.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

valoren wrote: »

It says a lot about you rather than the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Ahhhhhh, f**k off.

That does sum it up nicely. Our society is built on miserable pr*cks and it's all the better for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There are at least three castles within walking distance from me (walking distance being a little over 20 miles).

419332.jpg

419334.jpg

419335.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Plenty of good aspects.

Education
    Security with freedom of movement
    Healthcare (I've Private healthcare)
    Friendly people as a whole.
    Beautiful scenery
    No extreme in weather.
    No earthquakes or volcanoes or tornadoes
    We enjoy a good standard of living.
    Plenty of great sports facilities for everyone to enjoy.
    Stunning parks and forests to explore
    We produce great food and if you make the effort great artisan producers.
    There's good crack to be had at festivals and any weekend in most towns is a good night out.
    There are theatres within short distances no matter where you live.

When you travel most people are happy to chat to Irish nationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Since when has Ireland's destructive and excessive drinking culture become something positive about the country?

Yawn.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

The standard and price of food is one people take for granted I think.

Healthy mistrust of authority by and large, though that comes with drawbacks.

The landscape. There really are some world class places here, way more than should be in such a small place. Some places people wouldn't even think of are amazing.

The way people use language, and the wit, it's a big cultural resource.

In fairness, that motorway system is coming along nicely.

Not really. people have no problem with the government providing healthcare, education, paying rent, children's allowance etc
    Also given the voting patterns it seems people are more than willing to have more of the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Luke Kelly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

No matter what happens ...it will be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

The area I live in......mountains, forests, sea .......glorious in good weather but still beautiful all other times.......looking out at a calm bay at 6 in the morning sets off my day perfectly.

I know you'd get this elsewhere but add that to reasonable services, local pub, shops, most things you need being convenient and there's not much more I'd ask for.....maybe a little more sunshine :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'm not being smart but I cant think of anything I actually love about Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

No shortage of small minded people and people who would stab you in the back when the think you are down I love that about Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

One of the safest countries on earth with one of the lowest rates of poverty, lowest rates of homelessness, highest education rates, equality for women, ethnic minorities and lgbt people yet some of you cant even appreciate how good you have it.
    So So so so ignorant its beyond belief.
    Yes Sweden and Australia and a select few other countries are objectively better places to live but don't forget about the other 100 or so nations where extreme poverty, war, crime and misery are part of everyday life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bopipi

Oh no don't say that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Apart from good stuff mentioned already

I'll add, Irish music , ancient and modern ,

Fresh plentiful food , now prepared to world class standards.

the general high level of intellect, leading to great conversations .

And I like Irish weather after it been explained to me how good our changeable irish weather is by an Australian from a dust bowl.

No need for air con.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 247 ✭✭primary 2

the way we handle funerals,where it always leads to a big booze up,it is unique in ireland i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I like drinking and pubs because its fun. All my friends and everyone I know who Ive gone out with drinking just has a good laugh. Not many people are destructive when they drink
    I worked at forbidden fruit festival this weekend for instance, only saw one fight. People were shocked and a few girls were frightened, as its not a common thing . And it was broken up quickly
    Most people just enjoyed themselves
    Pretty huge exaggeration by you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

I'm not a native and when I first moved here many moons ago it would irritate me beyond belief how lackadaisical everything was.

These days I go off somewhere and their efficiency freaks_me_out! I LOVE the laid-back-ness of it all.

I love how approachable and kind a huge chunk of this island is. Should you want help, hell, just look like you may need a hand and there's sure to be offers shouted.

It's ridiculously progressive - No, no! Don't laugh! Hear me out! I know there is a long way to go but as far as the gap between generational attitudes and expectations go, Ireland must be one of the fastest changing 1st world societies out there.

I'm not sure how many of the naysayers and cynics have experienced life elsewhere...while every country has its faults, I think Ireland has much more going for it than against. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

I really enjoy seeing Padre Pio stickers on car windscreens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

The scenery, our built heritage as well as the natural landscape.
    The more laid back and less strict culture(but it is catching up with the UK).
    The family-centric culture, the rich literary and musical tradition, the folklore.
    A sense of community is still just about alive, at least compared to the UK. The high quality food, especially in comparison to the very unhealthy, heavily processed food in places like the US and Belgium.
    The mild approach to life, the accepting attitudes toward people who are different; there might be remarks passed and gossip mongered, but no real harm is usually meant or done to others. The Irish have a sense of fairness imo.
    The lack of inane drama, and the level headedness of the Irish.
    The scenery.
    The scenery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Ireland must be one of the fastest changing 1st world societies out there.

In the space of a generation we went from perhaps Europe's most theocratic state to being the first country to vote for marriage equality, and it looks like we're going to have a Taoiseach from the gay community.